BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2011

Cumberland Kia

(888) 440-3143View Additional Phone Numbers1556 Intersate Drive, CookevilleTN 38501 Send email to Cumberland Kia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/24/2011

BBB has determined that Cumberland Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cumberland Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cumberland Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2015 Optima during july at which time I was charged in the contract for a new tag registration and still have not received .

I have called several times and left messages and talked to the sales agent and was told they would send a check to the co clerks office in the county I live and as of Friday they still have not received a check . the dealership has issued us two temp tags. why can we not get a tag since july? I was told if I showed proof of Toyota ownership I would get a rebate , by showing proof of Toyota ownership my tags were transferred from that Toyota to the kia . which I had to pay to have transferred back to the Toyota.

Desired Settlement
I want a new tag bought for the kia as I have paid to get in the contract . I want the car to have current registration , not a temp tag that expired august 18, or oct 18th.

Business Response
Re: Case#XXXXXXXX
Cumberland acknoledges that we transfered a registration in error.. We overnighted a check to Cannon County Clerks office as soon as customer requested this (10/27 mail actually went out on the following day though). We even included the customer's wheel tax for them which was not part of the original contractual agreement. We did so due to the fact that the mistake was ours and we wanted to go above and beyond to correct our mistake. ********** knows that this was definately an inconvienance to the customer and have put internal processes in place to avoid a similar situation from happening in the future. A copy of the check and overnight package will be included in this response. Please inform us if more information is needed. Again we would like to appologize to the customer for the inconvienance and hope they can accept our attempts to remedy the situation.

*** ****
General Manager
********** Kia

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company did as they said after your assistance and they did include the cost of the wheel tax which was not included and I did appreciate there acknowledgement of the inconvenience . I am completely satisfied with the out come of this . Thanks to bbb and Kia!


10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a car and 5 days after it broke down , the dealership agent don't want to do the right thing.
I bought the car and when I did I ask if the car had any problems or been in a crash they said "No" and that the name of the dealership was backing up every car they sell , they told me that they will do right if any problems , well 5 days after broke down , they towing it and ******* is trying to fix it but after been only 5 days I can't trust the car so I only ask to exchange the car for other one , and they don't want to do it , I don't think that is right they new it was something wrong with the car and now they don't want to do anything about , also they let me borrow a car to cone back home but they told me I have to return it next day , they don't even know if the other car is going to be ready !!!!!.

Desired Settlement
I only wan my money back now and they can keep there car , because if that is the tipe of service and help I'm going to receive from them , I'm not sure if people can trust on there Word .

Business Response
Customer is accurate in stating that her vehicle did have a problem shortly after purchase. Car was repaired at no cost to the customer and a loaner/rental car was provided for the entire repair. Original manufacturer covered the parts under warranty and ********** *** covered the rest in an effort to keep a customer happy and prove our commitment to her. A solution to the customer wanting her money back was not available due to the fact she financed the vehicle. ********** did explore options of trading her out of the car. During the last visit, and after talking to the customer, we at ********** felt all concerns were addressed and corrected and customer was happy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Because the manager's contact me and got things straight , but they did talk to there personal and notbody should feel like I did so the CSR is very important to be trained , but they did fix my car they lend me a car and im really happy with the results

02/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
did not receive $25. ******* gift card for test drive as promised on their internet advertising after requesting card four times.
I printed a $25. walmart gift card off the business' internet site. The gift card was for test driving a vehicle. I went to the business on Oct. 31st and presented the print off to a salesman and test drove several cars. I bought a $20000. car. The salesman said the gift card would be e-mailed to me. I could then print off the card and they would scan it at Walmart. I did not receive the gift card. I have reminded the salesman three times and he tells me he told them about the card. I would guess them is someone in the office. I have still not received the card.I know they have my e-mail address. They e-mailed me wanting me to do a survey on their service department after I had the car serviced there. It would appear to me that they could send a $25. ******* gift card after me spending $20000. there.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $25.00 ******* gift card that they promised for test driving a vehicle.

Business Response


10/24/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The gas guage, mileage guage, and speedometer stop working and will come back on and then off. It is a safety issue for my family.
8/8/XX X:XX p.m. bought a van from kia then that night speedometer and instruments go out then come back on. Take it back that morning at eight. They say it must happen fot them to see whats going on. Finally show them and they want do nothing about it it was not even 12 hours after buying that this happend. Im sure that it done it before acquiring the van. The mileage might not be recording right on the van if the BCM and Cluster have no power to them during the time instruments are off. They told me they have a 30 day warranty before I bought it. now they say well that just the engine

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE THE BCM AND CLUSTER REPLACED AND A THIRTY DAY PERIOD TO SEE IF IT IS GOING TO DO IT AGAIN. IN GENERAL I WOULD LIKE THE PROBLEM FIXED FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY. I PAYED MORE FOR A VEHICLE AT A DEALER THAN I WOULD HAVE OF AN INDIVIDUAL SO THAT I WOULD NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS LIKE THIS. THEY HAVE LET ME DOWN.

Business Response
***** *****,

I apologize that you have not received any response from our company since you filed your claim. Today is the first I have heard of this situation and I am sorry you are displeased with your purchase.
However the vehicle purchased had a safety inspection completed when we traded for the vehicle and it was found to be safe, also the vehicle was sold as-is, which is reflected on the paperwork Mr ***** ***** signed. It is a 16 year old vehicle and there are always going to be issues that may arise. Customers enjoy the thought of purchasing an as-is vehicle because of the savings, however sometimes they don't understand that requires them to be responsible for any repairs that may arise in the future. As far as paying more to our company, we sold you the vehicle at a fair price that Mr ***** ***** agreed too. The vehicle I see was financed with **** of ****** ****** which leads me to think they were also involved in your decision to purchase and the value involved in the transaction. Regardless of whether you purchase from a dealer or an individual, As-is means exactly that.
We do appreciate your business and value our customers, however I ask that you please understand regardless of where you purchase a vehicle that in most cases regarding pre-owned vehicles any repairs are the customers responsibility.

Thank you,

****** *******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told 30 day warranty on this vehicle the problem happen with in hours after purchase and I went to you and the chrysler technician said it should have went to auction. Why do I have only 10 days to respond when you have 2 months.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/24/2003Business started: 03/01/1998New Owner Date: 04/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2010, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wes Dunn (General Manager) Brandon Hall (Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Shock Absorbers, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Truck Repair & Service, Truck Bedliner, Truck accessories, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Windshield Wipers, Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies, Tire Changing Equipment, Tire Retread & Repair, Tire Dealers, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Accessories, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Detailing, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles, service repairs, parts, auto body repairs, auto accessories and detailing.

Industry Tips
Automobiles - Buying Used
Automobile Financing
Automobile - Repair
Automobile - Transmission

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cumberland Kia

1556 Intersate Drive

Cookeville, TN 38501

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1556 Intersate Drive 

    Cookeville, TN 38501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cumberland Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (931) 520-4110
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.