BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1981

Beaman Motor Co.

Find a Location

Phone: (615) 446-2308Fax: (615) 259-4652View Additional Phone Numbers1525 Broadway, NashvilleTN 37203-3121 Send email to Beaman Motor Co.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1981

BBB has determined that Beaman Motor Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Beaman Motor Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Beaman Motor Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a new Toyota Corolla in July, 2014 and paid cash for it. When I took my car in for its first "check up" on October 21, 2014, I took the time to talk to someone (Mr. ****** ****** in the extended warranty division. I just went to inquire, and the man was a slick salesman. He talked so fast, and gave me so much information, that I could not process it. Then they kept coming in to tell me my car was ready to go. Like a fool, I signed some papers...and am embarrassed to say, don't know exactly what but I was charged $434 dollars on my American Express card.As soon as I got home and settled my brain, I realized that I was "scammed" royally. I immediately called Mr. ***** and told him to please cancel any warranty that I had signed. Numerous attempts to talk to him have failed. I Then called American Express and opened a dispute to get my $434 back.I take responsibility that I got so bummed out. I live on a Social Security check and could never pay the fees he was quoting. I really feel being a 74 year old woman, I was taken advantage of. I curse my actions.

Desired Settlement
I would like that any extended warranty to not be written and the $434 charged to my account at Am Ex be refunded. Other than that I have no problems with ****** Toyota.

Business Response
On Saturday, November 1, a refund of $434 was processed to Ms. *****'s American Express account. Ms. ************ Financial Services Manager call Ms. ******** let her know this has been taken car of.

Consumer Response
I checked my email from American Express today and the $434 have been restored to my credit account with American Express. Thank you for the help you gave me in getting this settled. Since the money was sent on Nov. 1,2014, I realized that it possibly is in a holding pattern with the inquire center at American Express. They had told me that regardless they would not take out the money until the case is closed. I am assuming that if they received the money, and I have not been notified, that it is not "funny money" and the case will be or already is closed. Thank you for all your help. *** *****

08/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ALL DOOR LOCKS EXCEPT DRIVER SIDE AND HATCHBACK ARE NOT WORKING.

I own a 2010 Toyota Venza and the three door locks and hatchback are not working. One door lock started to go bad about 2 years ago (36500 miles. I brought to Beaman Toyota to see if they can help me with it since the car only just pass the warranty and the service department told me that I had to pay $590 to repair it even though it seemed like a defective lock to me. On a Toyota car, I expected the lock should last longer than that. And now 3 doors locks and hatchback are all not working (84000 miles). It was so inconvenience to me to craw into the car to open doors for my kids everyday and couldn't not use the hatchback.
August 13, 2015. My brother-in-law dropped off the car at Beaman Toyota service department around 7:30am and told the service Rep. that 3 doors locks and hatchback lock were not working. About 9:45am, ***** called me from Toyota service dept. and told me that it's $1590 to repair which I was very unhappy about it since the car is 84000 miles and the locks shouldn't be bad that soon. ***** stated that after all the locks have been repaired, you should not have anymore problem. I told him to go ahead and fix them. About 11:37am, ***** called me and told me that he did not know anything about the hatchback so it will cost more to repair. So I told him not to repair the locks at all and I will pick up the car without repair. ***** then told me the mechanic has already started on it which he was lying to me about that. About 12:30pm, I called to let them know that I will be picking my car and ***** told me that the work has already been done. About 12:35pm, I came to pick up my car and only one door-lock replaced and the door panel has not put back together. At that time, no one come help me, so I took the car anyway because I don't trust them:Like they told me that all work have been done which they actually lie about that because only one door-lock replaced and it undone. They wanted to rip me off by not letting me pick up my car without repair. They quote one price then call later to change the price because they don't want to admit that the service rep. made mistake by not checking my hatchback when they quote me the total repair.
Also, ***** was making fun of me when I told me my car trunk instead of hatchback (corrected term.
We had some disagreement...
Service Department: **** ******* ***** ***** and ***** were involved and no one wanted to help.
Vice-president and ****** of customer relation were involved also. They were no help to me.
I called Adrien about the issue that I have, and she told me that she would call me back. I waited for couple hours and called her back because I did not hear back from her. Someone answered and told me she was at lunch and she should be back by 12:30pm. I still did not hear back from her so I called her again at 12:35pm and she was still not back from lunch. So I waited and called her back at 1:20pm and she had not done anything about my issue.
Even though I told ***** not to repair the work after they change the price, they still repair one lock and charged me $543.50 and the vice president told me if I don't pay, she will take legal action so I paid. They are so bad of ripping me off.
Please tell costumers to be careful when taking the car into Beaman Toyota.

Desired Settlement
Please repair the 3 door-locks and hatchback at no charge since I think the all locks are defective ( one door-lock went bad at 37K and 3 door-locks and hatchback went bad at 84K)and refund the $543.50 that I already paid.

Business Response
Customer's vehicle is out of warranty with 84,182 miles. She authorized the door lock on 3 doors to be replaced for an estimate of $1590. The hatch was not included in this estimate. She left and the vehicle was moved into the shop and the technician started to work on one door. She later called back and wanted to cancel the repair. The technician had finished one door and we told her he had already stated on the repair. When the technician went to lunch, the vehicle disappeared from our shop. We called the customer and told her we were going to report it to the police as stolen. She said that she had it and it was not stolen. I told her that we had a mechanic's lien on the vehicle and it was taken from our shop without our permission. We agreed that she would pay for the one door lock repair that had been completed. She called our service cashier and paid $543.50 by credit card.
The estimate did not include the hatch repair.
We sincerely apologize if *****'s comments offended her. He did not intend to be offensive in any way.
It is our position that she authorized this work to be done and we started it in good faith. when she changed her mind, we had already completed a third of the agreed upon repair and she paid us for that work. We are offering an apology and feel that this should close this case.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Beaman's statement is not 100 percent correct. When ***** called to give me the total cost of repair which was $1590 for everything that I requested that morning, 3 doors and hatchback. One of the lock went bad at 37k miles which they should have a record of that. I cancelled the work order because they made a mistake of the total cost of repair and they should honor that. They did not check the hatch which was broken and the service Rep. acknowledged that when I dropped the car off that morning. They made a mistake when they gave me the total cost of repair. They lie to me when I told them that I wanted to pick up the car, and I told them that don't repair if they would not include the hatch. They still proceeded with the work order and that was why I went in to pick up the car. No one came to out to help me so I took my car back. I paid them because I had no choice. They repair one of the door anyway even though I told them not to. I authorized the work order which included 3 doors and a hatch which I stated when I dropped my car off. Please do not let Beaman lie to other consumer like me. Also, when told ***** that I would pick up my car and don't repair repair my car. He then told me that the car has been done which was a lie because when I picked my car, only one door has been repaired. Beaman forced customer to do the work so they can charge customer at a higher price. They have a very bad business practice. Therefore, I will tell all my friends and families about what they did to me. I never heard a company force customer to do the work even though customer did not agree to do so. Well, Beaman did that to me. They forced me to pay them for the repair that I did not authorized.

12/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
dishonest sales. not honoring there contracts or there deals
I got a call from salesman ***** saying that he had 2011 Nissan titan for $23900 and payment at $420 a month for 60 month. After test driving the vehicle and signing the deal he comes back telling the he had the wrong truck and that truck now is $32000. I told him you need to honor your deal and he's answer was I CAN'T because they are loosing money. the manager for used car sales came out after going back and forth with ***** to help me, he told that they are going to help on my financing.
Here's the help: now the truck was $28,000 the payments $520.00 A MONTH for 75 MONTHS. NOW I'LL BE PAYING $39,000 FOR USED TRUCK NO WARRANTY.

Desired Settlement
It would be really hard for me to consider a settlement because I have lost the trust and honor of there sales people. And I have being a costumer for a while and had bought several vehicle in that dealership.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding the complaint of Mr ******** to us. We are familiar with his concerns and sincerely apologize for the mistake that our people made on pricing of the 2011 Nissan Titan. We had 2 grey 2011 Nissan Titan trucks and he was shown the more expensive model with a higher level of equipment and given a price of the other one. We offered to sell him the more expensive one at a discount, but he chose not to purchase either truck. Our sales consultant, ***** ******** offered to fill his tank with gas when he left, as a goodwill gesture, but he refused. That offer still stands and I will be happy to send him a gas card, if he will accept it. Just let me know.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/18/1985Business started: 01/01/1945Business started locally: 06/11/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tn.gov/regboards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1981, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee A. Beaman (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Ann Eaden (Customer Relations)Mr. Doug McClanahan (COO)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers the sale and service of new and used automobiles.

According to information supplied by the company, if the sale and service of automobiles.

Alternate Business Names
Beaman Buick GMC, Beaman Ford, Beaman Toyota, Beaman Body Shop, Beaman Used Cars
Industry Tips
Automobile Financing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Beaman Motor Co. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Beaman Motor Co.

1525 Broadway

Nashville, TN 37203-3121

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1525 Broadway 

    Nashville, TN 37203-3121(615) 251-8400

  • Beaman Motor Co.
    1525 Broadway 

    Nashville, TN 37203(615) 446-2308
    Fax: (615) 740-7043

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Beaman Motor Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (615) 251-8400

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (615) 740-7073
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobile Financing
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.