BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2014

Audi Nashville

(615) 385-1900View Additional Phone Numbers1576 Mallory Ln, BrentwoodTN 37027-2859 Send email to Audi Nashville

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale of new and pre-owned vehicles, parts and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2014

BBB has determined that Audi Nashville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Audi Nashville's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Audi Nashville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Defective product and low level of service response to fix the product. I have given the dealership 15 months and 11 visits to do so.
In January of 2013 I bought my first, brand-new car, a 2013 Audi A4 2.0. In addition, I purchased
an Audi Care package at the advice of the salesman who helped me with the purchase. To date, it was
my largest purchase and I would characterize the overall purchase experience as great. Since the time of
the purchase I have had to contact Audi of Nashville and Audi North America on eleven different
occasions because of issues with the car and issues with the service received. With exception to two of
the eleven interactions, each has been characterized by a low or non-existent level of service and a
disregard to quickly and honestly address and resolve my concerns. The issues with the car range from
tire pressure sensor malfunctions, steering malfunctions, transmission malfunctions, alignment and
calibration issues, sound system malfunctions and unusual, if not unacceptable, wear and tear items.
Some of the issues are on record while other issues have simply gone without mention because of the
time and energy it has taken to address the issues I feel have the ability to pose an immediate danger to
the driver. The following is my recollection of events surrounding the 2013 Audi A4 from the month of
March, 2013 through present.
I begin to notice that at times, when I drove the car the steering would feel notchy. Because of
my busy schedule and because of my passive nature, I chose to take a 'wait and see' approach for the
next several months hoping the issue would simply go away. Instead, the issue became increasingly
worse to the point where I thought, if the issue quickly escalated, the steering may lock-up and create a
potentially serious situation.
After the steering issue seemed to worsen, in late December of 2013 and at the time of my 15k
mile schedule maintenance I made the Audi of Nashville service member aware of the issue. In addition,
for the past several months I had been experiencing a startling 'pop' sound at random through the
sound system. The sounds volume was not in correlation to the volume of the actual sound system
setting but rather exponentially louder. The first time I witness the 'pop' sound through the stereo
system I was driving down I-65 at approximately 70mph. The sound was loud enough that I truly believe
I had hit a large object in the middle of the highway. Needless to say, the loud random sound coming
from the cars sound system were dangerous to me, my passengers and anyone within a reasonable
distance of the car in motion. I also was concerned that I would be financially responsible to repair any
blown speakers in the car due to the sound. I also brought the matter to the attention of the service
member during the 15k routine maintenance.
The maintenance on the car took longer than quoted but regardless, I was happy that the
service member declared the car had been serviced and fixed. According to the service member both
the steering and sound system issues were attributed to software issues. At the time, I could understand
the explanation for the sound system issues being software related but was skeptical that, what felt like
a mechanical steering issue, could be fixed with a simply software update. It seemed like a band aid
fixed for a more serious issue and unfortunately my intuition was correct. Nevertheless, I accepted the
explanation and gave Audi of Nashville the benefit of the doubt.
After driving the car for several weeks I came to the conclusion that the issue had not been
addressed as indicated from my previous discussion with Audi of Nashville. I then called Audi of
Nashville back to let them know I was having the same issue with the steering and another appoint was
scheduled. When I brought the car back in and spoke with the Audi representative, the message I
received was that I was becoming more of a nuisance than desired. I simply chose not to react but
pressed for a solution to the issue with the 2013 Audi A4. After 24 hours the repairs were 'completed'
and the ca

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a 50% refund of all funds paid for the defective product.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************
I regret to read that Mr. ******** is not satisfied with his vehicle. Each customer enters our dealership with varying expectations. It is our goal to always meet the heightened expectations of each and every customer. I have attempted to contact Mr. ******** multiple times since our meeting on Thursday October 23rd. I welcome the opportunity to again try to resolve his concerns.

According to our records, Mr. ********'s A4 has been in service eight times since he leased it on January 7, 2013. The visits include a 5,000 miles service, a 15,000 mile service, a 25,000 mile service, a flat tire repair, and multiple complaints of stiffness in the steering. To my knowledge, after the steering rack was replaced on his A4 in June of this year, Mr. ******** has not experienced any additional issues with the steering. Although I regret the inconvenience that these visits may have caused Mr. ********, the diagnostic process for a repair can sometimes take multiple visits. In an effort to inconvenience Mr. ******** as little as possible, he was provided a loaner vehicle at no expense each time.

Mr. ******** and his mother ******* ******** leased the A4 for 42 months starting in January 2013. After putting $2,000 down upfront, the lease payment is $621 per month. The lease will end on July 2016,. Per the numbers above, Mr. ******** is requesting to be paid roughly $7,500. Because the warranty for Mr. ********'s A4 is provided by Audi of America, I have advised him to discuss his requests with Audi of America. At the dealership level, myself and the staff are committed to providing Mr. ******** with the best possible ownership experience. Because of this commitment, I have offered to purchase Mr. ********'s A4 for $1000 over market value and to assist him with the purchase of a different vehicle at a reduced price.

As stated upfront, I am willing to work with Mr. ******** to resolve his concerns. I can be reached anytime on my cell at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Audi A4 purchased in January 2013 (as brand new) has been taken into service eleven times or, on average, once every 2.09 months. Outside of the routine maintenance, that leaves 8 visits in less than two years for non-routine maintenance on a brand new car. A majority of that maintenance dealt with a faulty steering column. For more details, go to google and search 'Audi A4 notchy steering' to see video after video of others having the same issue.
The reply through the BBB from Audi has left me to believe they simply needed time to determine the cause of the faulty steering. That is simply inaccurate. For the first 9 months of my complaint after complaint, Audi did not recognize or acknowledge that there was an issue. Instead, they elected to allow me to drive an Audi A4 with a faulty steering column blaming my complaints on 'driver preference' and letting me know that was how the car was designed to drive. Once the issues were recognized and acknowledged, Audi spent the next several month's making small 'adjustments' that had little to do with the actual problem. Those 'adjustments' can best be described as band aid fixes to a much larger problem. After 15 months of frustration and ill treatment by the staff at Audi of Nashville, Audi replaced the entire steering column seemingly acknowledging the steering column as faulty.
Now, I am faced with a strikingly similar scenario. I am having issues with the car out of gear on incline hills. When the gas pedal is initiated, the car then jerks into gear some .5 to 3 seconds later. I took the car in to have it looked at and encountered poor customer service. When I reached out to the customer service manager, the excuse for the quality of customer service was pointed at me for being 3 minutes late. Audi is also failing to acknowledging the problem but is stating that it is a 'driver preference' issue. It should be noted that the same reasons given to me now for the transmission issue were once given to me for the faulty steering column issue.
When I contact Audi North America, they have pointed me back to dealing with the Audi dealership. From the response given, Audi of Nashville is pointing me to Audi North America.
I have spent the last 15 months dealing with a faulty product at great cost to myself of time and money. Audi of Nashville has conclude that if I write them a check for an estimated $4,100 I can be released from my lease. Taking into consideration the past 15 months', that is not an acceptable resolution. I seeking a refund of 50% of the funds spent on the car along with a buy-back of my lease from Audi of Nashville.

Final Business Response
Although I regret that Mr. ******** has had to visit the dealership multiple times, both vehicle issues (notching steering, jumping transmission) have been addressed and resolved. As I explained to Mr. ********, we attempt to resolve every issue quickly and accurately. Sometimes, however, the diagnostic process requires multiple visits. With each of his visits, Audi of America has authorized the dealership to complete repairs. Ultimately, the process worked and the corrections were found. As a gesture of goodwill, I discussed the possibility of purchasing Mr. ********'s A4 from him for his payoff. Because this option requires the dealership to invest $4,100 more than the current market value into Mr. ********'s A4, I will need to seek approval. Mr. ******** is considering the option before I proceed with the approval process. With the issues addressed, he is also considering keeping his A4 for the remainder of his lease.

****** *******
General Manager
Audi Nashville
(XXX)XXX-XXXX Dealership

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/12/2014Business started: 01/07/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Robertson Pkwy., 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hartman (General Manager)
Related Businesses
Porsche of Nashville - 1580 Mallory Ln, Brentwood, TN
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Radios & Stereos - Sales & Repair, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair, Auto Customizing, Auto Accessories, Auto Detailing, Automobile Reconditioned Detailing, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Electric Service, Auto Repair & Service - Airbags, Auto Repair - Suspension, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Seat Covers, Tops & Upholstery, Auto Upholstery Cleaning, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Service - Steam Cleaning, Auto Service - Sound Systems Sales & Service, Auto Service - Rust proofing Shops, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Services, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims

Alternate Business Names
SAI Nashville Motors, LLC
Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair
Automobile Financing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Audi Nashville

1576 Mallory Ln

Brentwood, TN 37027-2859

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1576 Mallory Ln 

    Brentwood, TN 37027-2859(615) 385-1900

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Audi Nashville is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 566-2400

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Automobile - Repair
Automobile Financing

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.