BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2005

Pogue's Body Shop

Phone: (615) 890-0920Fax: (615) 890-4119915 W College St, MurfreesboroTN 37129-2333 Send email to Pogue's Body Shop

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2005

BBB has determined that Pogue's Body Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pogue's Body Shop

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The company replaced my air-compressor on my car saying that they could fix it and the issue is still occurring.
I visited *****'s body shop to have body work done on my car. As I was there I mentioned that my A/C didn't work. The secretary said if I wanted I could have her workers look at it to see what the issue was. I agreed. She and her workers later said in confidence that it was my air-compressor that had gone out. They would charge about 500 dollars to fix it if that is what I wanted to do.

I agreed, so my car stayed there for several more days as the compressor was being switched.

After getting my car back the A/C blew cold air fine and that was the end of it until about 2 weeks after it stopped blowing cold air. They had mentioned if anything were to go wrong that I could take it back up there. So I did. When I got there the secretary got her workers to look at my car again immediately.

After awhile they asked if I could come out to the shop so they could show me what the problem was. They showed me a cable that leads to the clutch of the compressor saying that when they jiggled the wire it started the compressor. So it was an electrical issue.

I was telling the owner that I was aggravated about spending 500 dollars on a new compressor when I was told a couple weeks back that that's what they said it was. But now they were telling me it is an electrical issue with the wires going to the compressor. So my question to him was "why did I buy a new compressor if actually it was the wires doing the whole time? I spent money on a new compressor for nothing when in reality it was just the cables having and issue which could have been a way cheaper fix"

The owner then got frustrated saying "he should not have told me anything" I said if you didn't tell me anything I would think of you as a crook. At that point the owner started to raise his voice and lose his temper with me, knowing I was upset, and started to use profanity that I had not started using or yelling yet. He at one point raised his fists up at me saying something of the lines of "If you don't shut up, I'm going to knock you out"

I just wanted my A/C fixed and did not request money back that day. I would rather just have it repaired then getting my money back. Which I did not know was rebuilt. I was told it was new. I was also not told that the workers were not mechanics. I also was not told that THEY weren't the ones doing the repairs but a third-party instead. Not once was I told that there weren't mechanics, nor was I told the guy down the road, a third-party, was actually doing the repairs (which why didn't they just send me to him in the first place).

At the end of a long visit of yelling and getting nothing accomplished or fixed they owner just suggested to go through the third party to have my car fixed. Which they should have suggested in the first place if they actually don't do mechanic work.

Before I left the secretary gave me her personal number saying that she was going to "scrounge" some money together "about 200" to give to me in return. She told me just to hold off during the labor day weekend and see if my A/C is fixed. If not to contact her.

After the weekend my A/C still doesnt work. She contacted me saying that she spoke to the owner again about the situation and to just go through the third-party about it. So no refund was given to me after I was told I would get some back towards a job that they did but should NOT have done in the first place because
1)they are not mechanics but I was not told
2)they didn't do the work a third-party did
3)the compressor isn't actually "New" it is a rebuilt one.

If I was told or knew those things from the beginning I would have declined the service.

Desired Settlement
Send me a refund of the amount of the labor that was done to my car for the air compressor. I know that the labor was at least 200$ dollars. I understand that I did buy a rebuilt compressor and still have it but the labor should be refunded to me knowing now that your workers are not mechanics, nor are you the ones who did the work. So the labor should have never been done in the first place but neither should a rebuilt compressor be bought.

I never received an itemized receipt showing what the labor was or the price of the compressor but I do recall the third party mentioning he got paid up to 200 or more for that labor.

Business Response
Yes, he did come to our body shop for body repair on his car. We saved him $250 off of his repair(did the repair for less than the insurance estimate.) The day he came to pick it up from the shop, I pulled it around and noticed that the air conditioner was not working. Since it had been extremely hot and humid, I mentioned that the mechanic down the street would take care of him. So he took the $250 savings and put toward the a/c compressor replacement(to which is still under warranty). About 2 weeks went by and he came into the shop and wanted it looked at. So from that point I called the mechanic right in FRONT of him-nothing to hide-and the mechanic said he did not have time at that very minute to look at it but did say they he could get to it first part of the following week. So again, trying to be nice, I had one of our auto body repair man, NOT A MECHANIC, to take a quick look at it. That is when the burnt plug was found. ****** showed the owner and that's when things got heated. So from that point, I told him to stay in touch and the mechanic would look at it. As of today, the offer still stands.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You had never told me that your people who checked my air compressor were not mechanics.

You never told me a guy named ***** down the road would do the repairs.

Why would you not have referred me to go to him instead of being a third party to take the money? Why not just send me to ***** to have an inspection done by a real mechanic and not one of your workers.

The air compressor is not the issue and may not have been the issue before. If we had REAL mechanics actually inspecting the work. Your workers who I know now are not mechanics inspected my ac unit incorrectly and gave a quick look into it. You sold me on your confidence that they knew what they were doing. NON MECHANICS told a mechanic to do a specific repair. So that's all that ***** did. Why did we not have ***** actually inspect it? ***** never inspected it himself. No mechanic ever did any inspection of the AC unit.

Again I NEVER was told that your workers were not mechanics and I was never told that all of this was being done by ***** down the road. If I knew I would have just gone there myself.

When I did speak to ***** in confusion wondering why I had to call ***** not knowing who he was he never said he could get to it in the following week. He told me he was so far behind I would have to call again later next week to see if he could fit me in his busy schedule.

Also the ending of that last day I was told when I was in my car about to drive away. "I will get some money together for you to give back as a refund." I finally accepted that offer. I was to wait through the weekend and see if my ac was to work again through that Saturday, Sunday, and Monday, which was memorial day, and I would then contact you on Tuesday.

When Tuesday came you fell back on your offer and said you talked to ****** and mentioned that I just need to put it up with the mechanic *****.

Final Business Response
There is A LOT I would like to make more clearer about this situation, but I do not have the time nor do I feel like writing a book.....We did him a favor. It stopped working.the part is under warranty..all he needs to do it to take it to ***** at ********** Automotive-615.********MAKE AN APPOINTMENT-this has been STRESSED to him more than once.
Although I will say that the statement made about not knowing about the REMAN compressor and about the third party mechanic-is very FALSE!
His mother was in here the day that the decision was made. As a matter of fact, she is the one who walked through my door and said, "We are going to go ahead and get it done." She was here the day I explained and actually while I was on the phone ordering the part from Auto Zone. He seemed to be well aware at the time and acted like he knew what I was talking about....But at this point there will NOT be any refund given.

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/10/1998Business started: 05/01/1997
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donnie Pogue (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

According to information supplied by the company, it offers auto paint and body repair services.

Industry Tips
Automobile - Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pogue's Body Shop

915 W College St

Murfreesboro, TN 37129-2333

To | From


1 Locations

  • 915 W College St 

    Murfreesboro, TN 37129-2333

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pogue's Body Shop is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Automobile - Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.