BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2003

Murfreesboro Appliance Repair Service

Phone: (615) 890-4334Fax: (615) 890-0107

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/25/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service, missed commitments
1-5-15 Murfreesboro appliance repair service (MARS) sent a technician to inspect my dryer which had begun making a mechanical noice.
The technician was at my home for 5 minutes, and never so much as removed a screw from my dryer. He said he's heard that noise a hundred times and that the motor on my dryer was pulling too many amps. He said the only way to fix it was to replace the motor, which would cost more than replacing the dryer. He left, but documented with MARS that he was at my address for an hour.
The dryer still worked, so I continued to use it and dealt with the noise, intending to replace it when it no longer worked.
In April, the dryer stopped drying. I had purchased a home warranty service, so I submitted a claim and they sent another appliance repair company to my home. He fixed the heating issue, then said he could correct the noise with new rollers and a belt. He replaced them and the noise was gone.
I paid MARS 65.80 for their service call in January, a payment for services that were not rendered.
I contacted MARS three times to ask for a refund. The first through email, which was never even acknowledged. The second by phone, and a conversation occurred where the woman promised a return call after talking to her supervisor. She never followed up as promised.
On June 15th, I called again, spoke to another female, who apologized and said she wold discuss the refund with the owners on Thursday 6/18, then would follow up with me again.
As of today, 6/21, MARS has again missed their committment.

Desired Settlement
MARS should refund the service fee I paid of 65.80 since no services were provided.

Business Response
Customer never called back in the warranty time period. You can always call back for 30 days after a Trip & Diagnostic fee. He called back over 5 months later. You must follow the warranty time period and get us back out there within that time period and there is no fee.
We never received an email. And if he sent one it was 4 months after the warranty ran out.
Please respond within the warranty time period.
Thank you.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their argument does no hold water - how else would I have known that the issue could be fixed unless I had another issue which needed repaired? Based on their tech's recommendation, replacement was the best way to correct it, and if I had done that, I would have spent $400+ to fix $30 worth of rollers and a belt.

Final Business Response
We stand by our repair and our warranties and guaranties. This client did not contact us in the time allotted for us to return or refund. Again, you cannot call back 5 months after when you should have called back within 30 days. We did speak to the technician via phone and he said he never gave a diagnosis in that way and never would. Now it becomes a "he said" - "He said" conflict and all the client had to do was call us within the warranty time that was stated on the invoice and that he signed at the time of service and we would have had a different technician come out to review the issue at no charge. Check your warranties and invoices that you agree to and please contact us "within" that stated time period.
Thank you.

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MAR's was asked to replace the entire water line to our fridge. Instead they spliced in a piece. It started leaking later. They refused to help.
Mars Invoice #XXXXX on 6-3-14
When I had a leak, they were asked to replace the entire water line to our fridge because the plastic lines commonly leak. I was not home at the time of the repair. Instead of replacing then entire line, they spliced in a 18 inch piece of line and charged $164.62. I was not happy about the price being charged for such a minimal repair but decided not to complain. Recently, the part of the line not replaced started to leak. I contacted Mars and they say since it is outside their 90 day warranty, they will not assist in any way. The issue I have is not a warranty issue with the minimal repair done but rather not doing what was asked and charging an outrageous amount for such a minimal repair. I have made arrangements with another company to handle the repair.

Desired Settlement
I have used Mars several times in the past. They always had high charges but did a good job. This repairman did not. I want a total refund because if they had done the job correctly the first time, I would not be having to have another repairman come out to now replace the line.

Business Response
We stand behind our warranty and service. All customers must contact us before the repair warranty is out of date and we will be glad to come back out and check out the repair and make any adjustments that the customer needs. This customer never called us back within the warranty period after agreeing to the repair, paying for it and signing off on the warranty agreement. If he would have called within the warranty date, we would have been more than happy to return.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not just a warranty issue. The repair that was done did not fail. The issue is the repairman took the easy way out and did not do what had been asked in replacing the entire part and did not charge a fair price. I chose not to complain until I had later problems with the part he did not replace and the company wants to penalize me for waiting instead of doing the right thing. It is their choice but I don't have to like it.

Final Business Response
We have been in business a long time and we always stand behind our warranty and our technicians. The technicians always explain what the repair is and the price prior to doing the service repair. This technician did get approval to do the repair before the service was done. We are not out to penalize anyone. If the customer has a problem with any repair he has plenty of time to contact us. The client has 90 days to call us back and we would have come back with no charge to him to see what the issue was. This is why we have warranties in place.

09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called Mars on 8/12 asking for a tech to come to my *********** store to repair Our washer. They have been out 3 times, washer still inoperable.
Called on 8/12/13 for a tech to repair my washer, I was told the tech would be there on 8/15/13. The tech stated the washer's hair filter was clogged he cleaned it and stated it was working properly and left. That night we started a load of towels. When the spin cycle started it sprayed water everywhere out of the hair filter because it was not closed correctly. This damaged the dry wall behind the washer. I never asked for the drywall to be repaired, nor did *** offer or say she was sorry. I called Mars on the am on 8/16 they sent the same tech out on 8/16 he wrapped black electrical tape on the hair filter, and said he would order a new hair filter for the back of the washer. He stated he would be back to replace as soon as he received the part. The washer was working but temporarily. On 8/19 the tech came back and installed the new hair filter, stated he ran it through a cycle and it was draining properly and asked my stylist to sign off on his work. She signed off believing what he said to be true. That night I received a call my stylist explained the washer still wasn't draining. So I called Mars again on 8/20 in the am. I spoke with one of the owners ***. She stated it would be Thursday the 22 or Friday the 23rd before they could get a tech back out to my shop. I explained this had been an ongoing problem and we were a hair salon could they not do any better than that it would be almost 2 weeks without a washer and we have to have clean towels it is very important. *** became very unprofessional raising her voice stating they were in the process of hiring more techs. That was the best she could do. I told her we would no longer use Mars for our repair needs and I was going to contact the BBB. She became really angry at this point yelling at me to the point I told her never mind I would call another repair company out that wanted my business and would treat me with respect and be professional to me.I guess the owners need a lesson in customer service, she behaved horribly because she stated I threatened her, by stating I was going to take my business elsewhere. I explained this was my right to choose who I used and didn't use. I told her to have a good day and hung up on her. *** then proceeded to call my *********** store and yell at my staff about the situation telling them it was their fault, that they shouldn't have signed off on the invoice if the washer had not been repaired. They explained her tech had told them he ran it through a full cycle and it worked properly, and they believed him. They were cutting our client's hair and didn't go check until they started towels later in the day. *** was so angry and verbally abusive to my staff and this was completely unnecessary. My stylist who spoke with her ended up crying and hung up on ***. Anyone who has the thought of using these people need to think twice because they have no customer service skills nor can their techs repair a washer. They have been out 3 times and my washer still was not operating properly. I called another company out they came out the same day and had our washer working in no time. They could not believe the story we told them about Mars, but said they had heard quite a few clients complaining on Mars customer service issues.

Desired Settlement
I do not believe I should be obligated to pay Mars because they behaved very unprofessional and did not complete the repair. I had to pay another repair company to repair our washer.

Business' Initial Response
Hello ******
Here is my BBB response to ** ****** Case#XXXXXXXX:
First of all I never spoke to ***** ******. She stated in her complaint that she spoke to "***" to schedule the 1st call and spoke to "***" about the return for parts, but I never spoke to her at all. Ms. ****** needs to get her facts correct before accusing someone of something - my name is *** and ... again, I never spoke to Ms. ****** at any time ever. She never spoke to me like she says in her statement, she accused me of yelling at her, I never spoke to her so not sure why she is accusing me personally.
Ms. ****** actually spoke to ***** who does all of our scheduling. All calls are scheduled through our service department. A little while later, ***** did inform me that a Ms. ****** had called and was upset that the *********** washer wasn't draining and Ms. ****** wanted us to return immediately to fix it. ***** said she let Ms. ****** know that we would be glad to return, but she would need to find the ************ invoice and find a time for our technician to return, and that we would try to get Ms. ****** in but we would need to call her back. ***** stated that Ms. ****** was insistent about wanting an answer right then and was trying to bully ***** into getting someone out there instantly. ***** stated Ms. ****** was unreasonable at the very beginning of the phone call and was not willing to listen, that is when ***** became firm with her and told her we will try to get someone out there and we would need to call her back. Perhaps Ms. ****** was confusing firmness with rudeness or anger but ***** was not going to be spoken to in the manner Ms. ****** was speaking to her.
*****, a second time, told Ms. ******, in a firm manner, that we needed to locate Ms. ******'s invoice and talk to the technician and then move other appointments around so we could accommodate her, Ms. ****** just started the bullying technique all over again. Ms. ****** even threatened ***** that "we better get out there or she was going to call the BBB and complain and also tell everybody else and bad-mouth MARS" and then she promptly hung up on *****.
I have asked my technician to write down what he did at the call and that is enclosed below. Our technicians are very professional and take their job seriously, so when I told ****** and ******* (both technicians were present) what had happened, they were kind of "bowled over", because they said they took their time with this repair, spoke to the staff and showed the "assistant manager" what the problems were, took pictures, showed the "assistant manager" what the pictures were and even talked to the staff members there who were standing around for quite some time talking to our technicians. Here is what the technician did and there are also pictures attached that will help to explain what he is stating here and why he took the pictures:
First Visit: I went to *********** with a work order for a washer not draining. Upon arriving, I saw that the washer had a drain line protector that appeared clogged. I removed the drain line protector from the drain hose so that I could remove the filter and clear the stoppage. At that point, I took a few pictures to show my trainee who was with me that day what a drain protector was, and how it can become clogged. I also noticed a piece of vinyl tubing that isn't part of the drain protector holding the cap of the protector closed tightly (see Picture C). I cleared the hair from the strainer (see Picture A, B). I reconnected the drain protector and made sure the piece of vinyl tube was on to hold the cap shut tightly (see Picture D). I filled and drained the washer twice to leak check the connections, and found no leaks. After I completed the work I explained what I had done to ************** whom I had been communicating with on the call. I also explained how she could clean that filter herself, and possibly save the company ************* the cost of a service call if the washer wouldn't drain again due to the filter in the protector being clogged. She signed off on the work order, and I returned to the shop **********. I decided to waive the labor charge and only charge a trip & diagnostic fee for the work because the task wasn't very difficult, and *********** was at the time a repeat customer. The office staff agreed to that, and the service request was closed only charging a trip fee.
Second Visit: I was called back to************ due to a leak coming from the protector. I arrived and was confronted by who I assumed was an assistant manager (not the same lady I had worked with in-store before), and she was irate. She said that the cap on the protector was popping up during the drain cycle and causing a leak. I immediately noticed that the piece of vinyl tubing (see Picture C) was missing from the protector. I showed this person that it was missing, and even showed her the picture I took of the tubing previously. I explained that it was wedging the cap shut and the protector would leak without it. She understood, and I searched the floor and found the piece of tubing on the floor under the washer. I suggested that possibly an employee had checked the filter and didn't notice the piece of tubing had fallen off when the cap was replaced. I spoke with the woman about the necessity of the drain protector, and how it was quite rare to find. I asked her if it was required by the manager of the retail facility to which she responded that she wasn't involved in the build-out and wasn't sure. I didn't want this to be a reoccurring problem, so I decided to replace the protector out right and re-scheduled to return and replace the drain protector. She (the lady I assumed was a manager) was pleased and agreed to the repair.
Third Visit: I returned and replaced the drain protector. I wasn't satisfied with the original tubing coming out of the protector to the stand pipe (wall drain) because I felt it kinked too much. I decided to go ahead and replace that (the tubing) along with the protector to allow for maximum efficiency in draining. You can somewhat see the kinked original tubing in Picture D. I had an extra piece of tubing that was more rigid on my truck and used it as a replacement so that there wouldn't be a kink in the 90 degree bend that was necessary to go into the drain. The kink in the original tubing was actually noted on the original service request, as was the labor charge being waived. Three employees were in the back where the washer was while my trainee and I were completing the repairs. We filled and drained the machine four times to leak check the protector, and found no leaks. We talked briefly with the employees before we left. They asked where we got our hair cut, and other small talk. They (at least two) were in the back room with us the entire duration of the repair. The employee who had originally signed off on my work order for the first visit was working that day. I explained what I had done, had her sign off again and left.
Ms. ****** implied in her statement that she waited 2 weeks on service, but she only called us a couple of days prior. We booked her as soon as we could. We always try to give businesses that need repairs priority - and move appointments around to get them in, but it takes a minute or more to contact people and rearrange schedules.
In conclusion, *** (who has still never spoken to Ms. ******) did try to reach Ms. ****** later that day so I could rectify the situation and we could get the technician back out there but when I called Ms. ******, her staff member ******** picked up the phone and decided to discuss the issue with me instead of getting Ms. ****** on the phone, I asked for Ms. ******. The staff member ******* was rude and impolite and yes, as stated in Ms. ******'s complaint, ****** did hang up on me. Just like Ms. ****** hung up on ***** after the "bullying" technique she was using did not work. Again, *** never spoke to Ms. ****** at all.
****** was not crying when I was on the phone with her - she really did not say anything except state the issue again- then she hung up before I could say anything else.
Also a ************** signed off on the invoice that we had completed the repairs and the machine was working fine. Ms. ****** needs to let her employees know that their signature means something, or perhaps Ms. ****** should be there to sign off herself on something she is scheduling. Ms. ****** was never present at the shop when the technicians were there that they could see. Ms. ****** was never on the phone with me or at the shop when I tried to contact her, therefore how could she know if ****** was rude and impolite- or that someone needed to sign off on the repair when the machine was operating fine at the time of service. Ms. ****** needs to set parameters in place so Ms. ****** can be available or she needs to have someone go back to the machine and be responsible to check it and sign off on the work being done. Ms. ****** was not present at any time for any repair nor ever spoke to *** on the phone.
I am uncomfortable that this situation arose - but I tried to do the best job of reaching Ms. ******, even though I left her messages, she has never returned my call.
Ms. ****** had even stated to ***** that she has used our company for over 2 years and has never had a problem and has always been pleased with our service. Perhaps Ms. ****** was just having a bad day and when we couldn't give Ms. ****** an answer about going back out there immediately, she got upset.
We have not charged *********** anything except a Service Call. We did not charge for the part that was lost under the washer either as explained in our technician's statement above. We are truly regretful that Ms. ****** is now unhappy with our service. Ms. ****** never gave us a chance to get back out there and see what the issue may have been because she seemed unwilling to give us a chance to fit her in our schedule.
I am very sorry there was any confusion, it is our intent to keep a customer for life. I am sure *********** cannot please everyone who comes in their shop, but their intent is to do so. As is ours.
Thanks for your attention to this matter,
*** *******
Manager
920 W. College St.
Murfreesboro, TN XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told by ***** she was the owner and ther was no one else I could speak with above her about this situation. *** is correct I did not speak with her, I did speak with *****. I'm sorry for stating it was *** I spoke with. But I was told by ***** the lady I spoke with there was no one above her for me to speak with. I was not upset when I called and spoke with ***** until she became overly rude and raised her voice with me. I didn't ask for them to come out immediately, I did question why it would take 4 more days when this whole situation started a week and a half prior to me making this call. And stated it looked to me like they would put the ongoing situation with my washer priority because this was ongoing issue and they had been out several times and the issue still existed. I was told they take calls in order as they are received. ***** did not have to look for the invoice she pulled it while I was on the phone with her. Explained they were hiring new techs and running behind schedule. I explained if we waited till Thursday to have the tech come out I would be without a washer for almost 3 weeks. This is a salon and we have to have washer. I never tried to bully anyone. This is a false accusation! I explained I would contact the BBB, and we would no longer use them for our repair needs. I told ***** to have a great day and hung up on her because I knew if I continued to speak with her I would have became unprofessional with her and I was not going to stoop to her level. So all of **** response are complete lies. I never said they better get out to my location. I never demanded anything I questioned why this was taking so long to get our washer repaired. This is one of the many lies *** has concocted. There was no assistant manager at the store when the tech was there. Not sure where that came from. The technicians were professional I agree but they don't know what they are doing. The 1st call was made on Aug. 12th they came out on Aug. 15th, 2nd call was Aug. 16th when our washer was spaying water everywhere out of the back of the washer. Never complained to them about the damage done to the drywall behind the washer. Tech came back on Aug. 19th replaced the hair trap filter. 3rd call was on Aug. 20th when ***** was unprofessional and unreasonable, I was told the earliest they could have someone out was Thur. 22, or Friday 23.This would have been 10-11 days after the original call. When the tech came out the 2nd time he told me he had never seen a washer with the hair filter trap before.
*** did not call me until Aug. 27th not the same day as she stated. I have her voice mail saved on my phone if it is needed with the date and time she did call. 1 more of the many lies she has told. My stylist was upset because she was being screamed at by *** or ***** not sure whom she actually spoke with. I know my staff very well and ****** is a very down to earth 22 year old stylist and was herself being bullied by this women. If they wanted to speak with someone they should have called me not my store! they never had a problem calling me to receive payment. As for ******* she was told by the tech the washer was fixed and he had ran it through a cycle, she trusted him and signed off on the invoice. We run a business where our customers come first and customer service is 1. Our clients needed a service and my stylist were there to service them. *** is correct I didn't return her call because I'm done doing business with a company that has no morals or standards. I gave them 3 chance to resolve this situation and they failed greatly!
Thanks,
***** ******

Business' Final Response
From: *** ******* (mailto:*********@comcast.net)
Sent: Thursday, September 12, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *************
Subject: Response to #XXXXXXXX

Response to Case # XXXXXXXX

I am very sorry Ms. ****** felt like she received poor customer service. We went out 3 times to diagnose the problem, to repair and to return with parts. Ms. ****** was only charged for 1 service call. We will not charge her for the part or repair.

Thank you and have a great day.

*** *******
Manager
920 W. College St.
Murfreesboro, TN XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.