BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
45 counties of Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/24/2013

S & T Appliance & Repair

(931) 378-77971224 Franklin St Ste B, ClarksvilleTN 37040-4654 Send email to S & T Appliance & Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and repair of appliances.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/24/2013

BBB has determined that S & T Appliance & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered S & T Appliance & Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised S & T Appliance & Repair's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on S & T Appliance & Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I bought a washer and dryer and the day after the warranty was up they both were not working.
I bought a used washer and dryer in july 2013 from this bussiness and I bought the 30 warranty with it and deleiver too. When the guy came to drop off the washer and dryer in his little red pick up truck the washer was dented on the bottom.While unloading the dryer he dropped it off his truck. And i noticed they were not the ones that i picked out, i asked him if those were the right ones and hes like ya they are they probally just give off a different look from the store. The first time I used the dryer all my clothes came out smelling like cat pee. I went in the store the next day to confront them about it and there on the sales floor is the washer and dryer that i originally picked out. when i told them they gave me the wrong one they said i was wrong and they just pulled those from the back. I asked them about the smell that the dryer was giving off and they said its probally because it was sitting not being used for a while. This was my first time buying a washer and dryer and i have no clue as to what to expect or anything so i took their word on it. Well 31 days later i wash clothes put them in the dryer turn it on and start a new load of laundry when the washers done i open it to take the clothes out and they are just dripping full of water, the spinner on the washer went out. so i open the dryer to take the dry clothes out and they are not dry, turns out the belt broke so it doesnt turn the dryer to dry the clothes. i call them the next day cause they were closed on the day it happened and they said well its past the warranty so we can have someone come out and look at it for $40. and any parts you need we will give you a returning customer discount. i was mad i said its one day and they shoudnt even have broken in 30 days. they said there was nothing that they could do so i asked to talk to a manager well the manager was on vacation for a week and they took a message and when she got back to me the only time i could get a appointment to have someone look at it i was going back home for 9 months because my husband was going to be deployed. She said not a problem i will write down in my file that you will be back in june 2014 and we will take care of you then. Well i have been calling them and they have told me thats not how they run the bussiness they just cant be giving things away for free. Basically they will not help me get this resolved.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: S & T Appliance and Repai
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
We, at S & T Appliance and Repair, appreciate all feedback as it helps with our quality of customer service. We always attempt to help our customers the best we can with the understanding of all possible outcomes. Also, there are certain professional verbiages we use when speaking with our customers; as we always strive to show empathy to their situation along with upholding our policies as well.

We are a used appliance store and 30 day warranties automatically come with all of our appliances because of such. We offer extended warranties to purchase as well. We do not sell 30 day warranties, as Mrs. ********* mentioned; moreover, we do charge a delivery fee. She signed a 30 day warranty form upon purchasing the washer and dryer set and we have her signature (attached)on file. The warranty states as follows:


S & T Appliance and Repair
30 DAY WARRANTY POLICIES: ALL SALES ARE FINAL. NO REFUNDS.
Thank you for your purchase! We will exchange at company's discretion. If a request is needed and we delivered the appliance(s) to your residence, and if available, we will make house calls and repair the purchased appliance(s) at no cost within the 30 Day warranty period for the Clarksville, TN and Oak Grove, KY areas if it is a fault of S & T Appliance and Repair, only. However, there will be a $35.00 per trip transportation fee applied. If you picked up or took the appliance(s) with you at the time of purchase, then you will need to get the appliance(s) back to our store for repair at no cost. However, if it is a malfunction matter; due to the customer's/homeowner's outlet/circuit breaker, etc. (no fault of S & T Appliance and Repair), there will be an additional inconvenience fee charged, unless the matter is too difficult for us to solve altogether. After the expiration of warranty and a repair request is asked of us and we are available for house calls, there is a $40.00 fee charged (plus parts, labor and transportation fee; if applicable) based on the location for all repairs. If you bring the appliance in yourself, the transportation fee will be waived at that time. VOID warranty if 1) The appliance(s) have been moved from the original delivery premise.2) The appliance(s) were tampered with, tested or attempted to be repaired by someone other than a representative from S & T Appliance and Repair. No warranty on electronic boards or ice makers.


It is unfortunate that the appliances stopped working 1 day after the warranty expired and unfortunately, determining how long an appliance will work is not a matter of detection. It is imperative to mention that we still would have allowed Mrs. *********, out of courtesy, to have the appliance repaired since it was so close to the date of expiration. Nonetheless, due to the fact that she was unable to have the appliances repaired until 9 months later, we, then, offered a "returning customer discount" for whatever repair service she would need; since the appliances purchased would be 10 months past the expiration of the warranty.

Concluding, we, S & T Appliance and Repair, keep an inventory of all appliances prior to sale and we keep all model numbers on file as well. Having stated that, Mrs. ********* mentioned that our deliverer failed to deliver the original appliances purchased to her residence and instead, the appliances delivered was another washer and dryer set.

Out of 5 years of our business being in existence, an incident as such has never occurred. Our process is to put a sold tag on all appliances right after purchase; in which we strongly adhere to. We also try to include all model numbers, to all appliances sold, on the actual invoice receipts that are given to our customers for extended proper accuracy.

As far as the appliances being "dropped off the delivery truck" by our deliverer once they reached Mrs. *********' residence, we certainly apologize for that incident; as situations as such are certainly not tolerable with our business. On the contrary, that incident is no longer applicable to the aforementioned. Nevertheless, we have certainly addressed the matter with that particular deliverer.

Conclusion: We will be interested in purchasing the appliances back from Mrs. ********* for an undisclosed price. Unfortunately, we would not be able to grant a refund due to the fact that the invoice receipt (attached), Mrs. ********* signed, states "All Sales Are Final. NO REFUNDS".

Thank you,
S & T Appliance and Repair

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Dryer broke within the month of purchase. Was charged to get it picked up and when returned it broke within the same day.
Bought dryer (***********************) on 05/08/2013, the dryer stopped working on 5/19/2013. Called and left a message on 5/19/2013 for a repair man to come fix it. Had to call back on 5/22/2013 to get someone to come out and look at dryer since it was under a 30 day warranty. Was called back by office manager saying that I would have to get the repairman on post because he left his I.D. at home (which is illegal for me to do) so I said no and she proceeded to tell me that someone will come pick it up within the hour. Two hours later two men come and get the dryer, one mentioning he was the owner and to look at the paperwork that was given during the time of purchase when my husband asked for paperwork from him saying he picked up our dryer. After two days and no phone calls I again called S&T Appliances and spoke to the same woman asking about my dryer. She said that it is ready and will be delivered on 05/24/13 but we would be the last delivery. Again was called by same woman an hour later saying my dryer was on the way and that there will be a $35.00 fee because they had to pick it up. The only reason that the dryer had to be picked up is because I refused to get someone on a military post illegally. But I went ahead and paid it anyway just to get my dryer back because this time it had been broken for almost a week at this point. The dryer was delivered but nothing was explained to me because I was too busy voicing my concerns asking why I was getting charged if under warranty but I was handed an envelope containing paperwork so I thought the explanation would be inside of what was broken and what they replaced. I was wrong, the paperwork was only a copy of the washer and dryer purchases and a return work order that states it was ran on a diagnostic machine and the idler arm pulley to the dryer locked up and they replaced the idler arm pulley. After running the dryer once it stopped spinning and only running hot air which was the initial complaint so instead of calling them back (since it was around 8 pm) my husband took it apart and discovered that the belt was bad and the idler arm pulley had a huge chunk missing from the side, and it wasn't tightened to keep the slack on the belt. We looked on Amazon to find replacement parts because we were not going to bother with S&T Appliances anymore and saw that the replacement parts only total around 6.00 plus shipping and handling and taxes. So all together the replacement parts equal to $11.00. I want to make sure that no one else has this problem with them again. When purchased the office manager told me same day or next day delivery and neither happened. I had to sit around all day to wait for her call.

Business' Initial Response
June 3, 2013

RE: ****** ***** v/s S & T Appliance and Repair

We, S & T Appliance and Repair, are responding to a complaint that was filed by the above party in reference to our business.

We want to clarify about our "same day delivery" policy. We definitely guarantee same day delivery for our customers if the appliance(s) are purchased by 3:30 PM on the day of purchase (depending on the location of the delivery); as our business closes at 5:00 PM each day we are opened for business. If the appliance(s) are purchased after 3:30 PM, we will deliver on the next business day in which we are opened. Mrs. ***** requested her dryer to be fixed via a voicemail message she had left on our business line. On May 22, 2013, upon receiving the voicemail message, we had given her a call to arrange to get the dryer repaired. Our hours of operation are Wednesday through Friday, 10-5; and on Saturday, 9-5. The reason she had to wait is because our business was not opened on the original day she called. Nonetheless, as stated, when we returned her phone call on Wednesday, May 22, 2013, we had arranged to have the appliance picked up that next day (May 23, 2013), and it was returned on May 24, 2013. So, technically, it took one (1) day for her to get her dryer back.

Mrs. ***** also mentioned that on the day she purchased the dryer she had to "sit around all day and wait on our phone call" as far as delivery of her appliance. We have a business where we are helping other customers', not just Mrs. *****; and it is obviously arguably very important that we give all of our customers a fair amount of attention when they come into our store; just as we did her when she came in both times (on two separate occasions) to purchase an appliance from us.
Having stated that, we do our best in handling all deliveries according to the purchase times as well as distance. We do not make it a habit to specify a specific time in which we will deliver an appliance(s), but we definitely state which day. We tell customers to provide us with their mobile numbers as well; and the reason being is because if they need to run errands, etc. we can call them to let them know that we are on our way, and between both parties, we can estimate the arrival time from our store to the location of delivery.

Lastly, Mrs. ***** is requesting a refund for a total of $46.00 ($35.00 for the trip fee charged by our business, and $11.00 for the cost of the part in which her husband allegedly purchased). We do not agree on this request at all, and the reason is because Mrs. ***** signed the "30 Day Warranty form" that states:
"ALL SALES ARE FINAL. NO REFUNDS. Thank you for your purchase! We will exchange at company's discretion. If a request is needed and we delivered the appliance(s) to your residence, and if available, we will make house calls and repair the purchased appliance(s) at no cost within the 30 Day warranty period for the ************ ** and *** ****** ** areas if it is a fault of S & T Appliance and Repair, only. However, there will be a $35.00 per trip transportation fee applied. If you picked up or took the appliance(s) with you at the time of purchase, then you will need to get the appliance(s) back to our store for repair at no cost. However, if it is a malfunction matter; due to the customer's/homeowner's outlet/circuit breaker, etc. (no fault of S & T Appliance and Repair), there will be an additional inconvenience fee charged, unless the matter is too difficult for us to solve altogether. After the expiration of warranty and a repair request is asked of us and we are available for house calls, there is a $30.00 fee charged (plus parts, labor and transportation fee; if applicable) based on the location for all repairs. If you bring the appliance in yourself, the transportation fee will be waived at that time. VOID warranty if 1) The appliance(s) have been moved from the original delivery premise. 2) The appliance(s) were tampered with, tested or attempted to be repaired by someone other than a representative from S & T Appliance and Repair. No warranty on electronic boards or ice makers. -S & T Appliance and Repair."

We give all of our customers' time to read over all paperwork that is presented to them before any purchase. And as far as the refund for $11.00 because of a part she stated that her husband had to order and purchase, we do not agree to pay that either. If you read the aforementioned in reference to any machine purchased from our business that has been "tampered with", it states that the contract is instantly VOIDED. Mrs. ***** stated in her initial complaint that her husband had to take the machine apart after finding something else wrong with it. We will not argue that something else could have occurred with the dryer, but our rebuttal is that because the machine was still under a 30 day warranty, we would have done all we could to make sure Mrs. ***** was satisfied. If she would have contacted us again, instead of allowing the machine to be "tampered with", we would have asked her to come back to the store and just pick out another comparable model dryer; or if she wanted to choose another dryer higher in cost, we would have applied what she had already paid toward it and she could have paid the difference. As mentioned before, we aim to satisfy all of our customers', and we understand that having a business sometimes does not allow the happiness of everyone. So, having stated such, Mrs. ***** had an opportunity to purchase an appliance brand new from another consumer, but she chose to purchase not one (1), but two (2) appliances from a used appliance store. Although we are grateful for all business we receive and we do not take it for granted, we have recommended some of our customers who, after conversing with them, respectfully have the expectancy use of a new appliance out of a used appliance to other consumers who sell new appliances only. That is good customer service. We would have recommended the same with Mrs. ***** as well, but on May 3, 2013, when she purchased a used washer from our store and again on May 8, 2013, when she purchased a used dryer from our store, she seemed very satisfied in knowing our policy.

-S & T Appliance and Repair

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The work order invoice that was given to me three times states that they replaced the pulley wheel when in fact they did not. The pulley wheel that was on the dryer after they said they fixed it was chipped, had burn marks from the belt, and looked like it had never been replaced. I want a refund for the trip that they made to fix my dryer but did not, and a refund to replace the part that they did not.If they would have replaced the part like they said they would I wouldn't be complaining and I would swallow the trip fee but since all they did was take my dryer to their store and not fix what was broken I want my money back.

Business' Final Response
The pictures presented does not prove that we did not replace the idler arm pulley. As stated in the original response paperwork (sent via postal mail to Mrs. ***** and BBB), after repairing the dryer and returning it to Mrs. *****'s residence, she insisted (and we agreed)that she tested the dryer by turning it on to make sure it worked before we left her residence. Therefore, after thorough review of this case, we, S & T Appliance and Repair, still do not agree to the refund Mrs. ***** is requesting, and we choose not to respond to anything else she submits. We will await a response from BBB.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/2013Business started: 12/11/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Terrance Cheatham (Owner)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. M Cheatham (Office Manager)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for S & T Appliance & Repair

1224 Franklin St Ste B

Clarksville, TN 37040-4654

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1224 Franklin St Ste B 

    Clarksville, TN 37040-4654

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*S & T Appliance & Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.