BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/1994

A-1 Appliance Company

Phone: (615) 352-5174Fax: (615) 352-0418

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

On 9/4/2012 we purchased Maytag washer ********** with a 5 yr. warranty. And also Maytag dryer # ********* with a 5 yr. warranty . Totaling $198.00.
Problem date 06/23/2014. Purchase date 09/04/2012 for both Maytag washer/dryer. ***************** Dryer # ********* . Totaling $ 2, 253.72. Purchased warranty for both above mentioned appliances. for 5yr warranty each costing $99.00. Total $ 198.00.
Delivery Order date for these was 09/11/2012.
Sales Rep. ******* ******* Paid with VISA. Warranty code that A-1 uses is *** . Serial numbers for appliances mentioned above follows washer CXXXXXXXX.
Dryer serial number is MXXXXXXXX. Called for service on these appliances on 06/16/2014 Bruce came out from A-1 to do and assessment on both washer and dryer due to problems with both. He stated sensor on dryer venting to sensitive and washer tub was now metal on metal and needed to be replaced. Close he quoted dryer 350.00 Washer 450.00 . We asked since not very old could this on the dryer and washer be considered a product recall. He said that the dryer venting issue he had been servicing alot and possible could be but not with A-1 . So NO. So under his recommendations we purchased on 06/17/2014 another set of washer and dryer called Speed Queen, sales rep. *** *****. Total cost $2,030.91. No extra warranty we bought due to Speed Queen came with 3 year warranty. I told *** our concerns with how soon we were having to purchase another set of washers and dryers. I had *** look up our account while in the store. And he did . He made no mention as to us having a ( 5 YEAR WARRANTY FOR THE MAYTAG'S PURCHASED ON 09/04/2012).So we proceed to purchasing and having delivered our new Speed Queens. Delivery date on these was 06/23/2014. Model # for washer is ******* Dryer model # ******* Serial # for this washer is XXXXXXXXXX. dryer serial # is XXXXXXXXXX.On 06/16/2014 we paid to ***** a check # **** for service call total $ 163.72. Our warranty per sales Rep. ******* ****** said that the *** would ALWAYS SHOW UP ON TICKETS FOR AND SERVICE CALLS AND REPAIRS. So after the delivery men left hooked up our new washer and dryer we went take out the old paperwork and replace with the New Speed Queen paperwork and that's when we discovered that we had purchased this 5 year warranty for all service and repairs on the Maytags. But all personnel from A-1 never mentioned to us at all. So we called the service dept. on 06/23.2014 and stated our discovery and they would only reimburse the service call check and add 5 more years of warranty onto the 3 year warranty that came with the Speed Queens. And the washer has a Agitator and A-1 personnel stated to us that Agitator's were being phased out . So our Maytag's didn't have Agitator. But we were just not sure about buying another non-Agitator so sales Rep. recommended these Speed Queens. Date 06/17/2014 while in the store to purchase per service man Bruce. We think this is a scam not knowing we had until we discovered that we had 5 yr. warranty's on both Maytag washer and dryer. They were not cooperative with us at all on the phone. Please help us with this matter. and we are making a formal complaint on this entire company.

Desired Settlement
They should repair the Maytag's and bring them back to us . And we keep the Speed Queens which are lower in cost when we purchased. And they should refund us for the cost of the Speed Queens total cost which is $ 2,030.91. Due to false representation to us the consumer.And a current customer owner of a 5 yr. warranty that wasn't used.
Lost time for the day , and all personnel not guiding us like sales Rep. ******* ****** and *** ***** who while I was in the store never mentioned we had a 5 yr. warranty on those Maytag's. Would also like for this to go on the company's record.
We have been customers for several years and purchased other appliances. So we feel very under served from this company in all ways from sales, to service dept. to delivery dept.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@***************
A-1 Appliance will refund the ******** ********* and they may keep the new Speed Queen washer and dryer. A-1 will return the repaired Maytag washer and dryer at no charge. A-1 will refund ******* paid for the cost of the service call to diagnose the Maytag washer and dryer.
I sincerely apologize for the way we handled the series of transactions for the ********* Our intent is to provide "Appliance Happiness" and we will never intentionally make a false representation in anything we do or say.
During the initial request by telephone, for service on the Maytag washer and dryer, the code FS5 was improperly documented on the work order . The representative at A-1 who documented the service request required the technician ***** to collect payment at the time of service when all charges should have been covered by the warranty. This error was also missed by the supervisor that day and the bookkeeper who deposited the payment.
A-1 audited all service records this year and could not find this issue with any other client. This complaint has helped A-1 Appliance insure records are properly documented in the future.
All involved are truly sorry and feel certain this will not happen again.
We hope and pray this resolution will be satisfactory. A-1 Appliance looks forward to serving the ******** in the future.
***** *******
A-1 Appliance Company

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They are fulling all of our above mentioned request.
*** and ******* *******

10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A-1 has not honored its promises to repair my washer or resolve subsequent issues. A-1 has attempted to railroad me into paying them more money.
Beginning July 22, 2013, *****, the repairman visited my home August 3rd to repair my washer. I had called the store earlier and made the appointment. He found that, "lid switch is clicking trying to lock, ordering new one." Service #XXXXXX I paid the $120.12 fee that included $75 labor, $109.95 and $66.75 for a water valve. ***** returned August 31st and, "replaced lid switch and checked operation, all seems ok." It wasn't. ***** told me it was fixed; however, when I immediately attempted to run a small load of clothes through the cycle, the basket would not audibly fill with water and the lid locked and would not open. I immediately called *****. He told me to unplug it and wait 10 minutes for it to reset. I did. The washer didn't. I called him back. He refused to return to even look at the washer further. I told him that now not only was the washer not working, my clothes were locked inside. I had paid an additional $208.29 in cash Service #XXXXXX. It was the Saturday before Labor Day. He told me I would have to wait until Tuesday. I called and left a message on A-1's voice mail. I followed up with a call that Tuesday. ***** returned September 4th. I arranged to have my mother drive from ****** ****** ** so that someone could be at my home for the earliest available appointment. ***** diagnosed a third time, "Seems it may be control board," and later said it would cost me nearly $300 additionally. I told him I would contact a decision-maker. I spoke w ***** in Service who promised to investigate, call me back, and "make it right." He called me back, explained the control board was only available through the manufacturer and would take two weeks more of a wait to obtain. He offered a refund or in-store credit toward a washer (further patronizing A-1). I visited the store, emailed the sales rep he prompted to assist me (who gane me "a deal" where I would pay $400 more for a new washer and delivery fees) and decided on the refund. I called him to confirm my request had been received, he told me the refund would go out Tuesday, September 24th. Check has not been received. If the correct diagnosis had been made initially, I would have had a choice to proceed or not. It seems A-1's guarantee of service after the call includes drawing the unsuspecting customer into a money pit. I am disappointed, still without a working washer and no refund.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund without any further delay.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******-President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
I regret my company was not able to repair this washer in a timely manner. Our technician ***** diagnosed a defective latch assembly and water valve. The water valve problem was not detectable until the lid switch was installed. The valve was not available for several weeks from the manufacturer. A total of $208.29 was paid to ***** at this point.
Ms. ******* stated that she could not wait as she had to do laundry on a daily basis and that she was considering replacing the unit if it could not be repaired soon. ***** ****** offered an in-store credit for what was invested in the repair. Ms. ******* stated that she would come in to see what would be available.
The lowest price new washer sold at A-1 with delivery, installation charges and taxes is $408.60. The washer is ***** by ********* model ********** It has one full year parts and labor warranty. Deducting the $208.29 would leave a balance of $200.31 for a new washer.
Ms. ******* stated that she would prefer a refund of what she had spent on repairs.
I apologize for not processing the refund for the washer repair sooner. A refund check was mailed today October 1st for $208.29.
***** ****** attempted a voicemail message and sent an email today as well.
A-1 Appliance is determined to provide the best service available and we will strive to be more timely with our process in the future.

05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bought a dishwasher and had continuous problems. They replaced it with an upgrade and I have had continuous problems. It runs by itself.
I purchased a dishwasher in XX-XX-XX I paid $2058.48, I had continuous problems with it cleaning. It was replaced with an upgrade. This one although it washed dishes, runs by itself or when a light turns on. In all I have had 18 service calls that I have record for. Brian Wright came out with the distributor. He looked me in the eyes and told me he would take care of me and would not leave me hanging. He did not call me back for two weeks. When I finally spoke with him, I told him I wanted a replacement of equal value. They offered the same dishwasher or a downgrade because that is all **** sells. I followed up again and said I wanted an equal value to the one they had replaced it with. I have been dealing with this since 2009. I have had numerous days where I canceled plans to be home for service only to have the tech call me to tell me he was running late or wouldn't make it. Over half the calls he got here after 5:00 when the department of the manufacturer was closed. He called me back finally and agreed that they would replace it with the brand of my choice for equal value to what I had. He said he had to find out the value of the one I had to get me the replacement. On April 22, I spoke with someone very rude who told me he would now be handling it. "He said they could not replace it with equal value to the one they had because they would have to get one in, put it on the sales floor and see what someone would pay for it. " I had my phone on speaker when he said this so the person I was with in a public store could here how unbelievable that was. Also, I repeated it several times. I told him he had until May 3 to get me a new comparable dishwasher. He told me not to threaten him. I have heard absolutely noting in a week and a half. I have researched the value of this dishwasher and it is on sale on online retailers for $2399 with tax would make it $2620.90. Also, the gentlemen that I spoke to said the replacement would be for $1359, he said that is what I paid. It was a quote they gave me when they offered that model number as a replacement to the first dishwasher. As you can see that is quite a bit less than what I actually paid. I have copies of all receipts. I want a refund in the amount of $2620.90 so I may purchase a dishwasher somewhere else or a ***************************. g5915sci as a replacement. I spoke with Tom Burns who said the ***** would be the best fit for my family.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund in the amount of $2620.90 so I may purchase a dishwasher somewhere else or a ******. g5915sci as a replacement. I spoke with ********* who said the ****** would be the best fit for my family. I have a family of 9. Seven children with 5 being 6 and under. I really do not have time to keep dealing with this. I have spent hours of time wasted.

Business' Initial Response
I, ****** ******, President of A-1 Appliance, called and spoke by phone to ****** ****** Friday morning X-X-XXXX after receiving this notice from BBB and finding a comment from ****** ****** on the Facebook page of A-1 Appliance. I identified myself and asked her If I could speak to her about her dishwasher and she agreed to speak with me. I apologized for all the trouble the dishwasher and A-1 have created for her over the past 4 years. I asked what could I do to make her happy. Ms. ****** expressed great displeasure with the actions of 2 employees of A-1 Appliance who would not return calls and where extremely rude to her over the phone. I asked her if the dishwasher ever worked and she said it worked most of the 4 years she has owned it. She said it is used 2-3 times per day except for Sundays as she has a family of 9 with 7 children who are home schooled. I estimated the dishwasher has ran XXXX-XXXX loads of dishes over this time and she agreed. I asked if A-1 ever charged ****** ****** for the 18 service calls or the new upgraded dishwasher installed in 2012 and she agreed she paid no charges except for the original purchase price of $2,058.48. I asked her if terminating the employees who were inept and refunding the full amount paid to A-1 would make her happy. She said most the employees of A-1 she dealt with were nice and she did not want anyone to lose a job over this. She agreed a payment of $2,058.48 would make her happy and she will not do business with A-1 Appliance in the future. I agreed and mailed a check for $2,058.48. The check was picked up by US Postal Service at A-1 today 5-3-2013. I sincerely apologize again and pray for peace with this agreement.


As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.