BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2014

Busy Bee HVAC, Inc.

Phone: (615) 775-7833Fax: (615) 288-479114464 Lebanon Rd # A, Old HickoryTN 37138-1650 Send email to Busy Bee HVAC, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial HVAC Heating and Air Conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2014

BBB has determined that Busy Bee HVAC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Busy Bee HVAC, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Busy Bee HVAC, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised half of my bill to be refunded. Total bill $546.00 half would be $273.00. I never received refund.
*******, claimed to repair an AC unit on a rental property of mine. When I questioned what he had done and questioned the additional service and price he proposed. He said he would not do the repair, and would refund half of what I had already paid ($273.00). After several minuets of arguing, he said he didn't care what he said he changed his mind. I have never received the refund.

Desired Settlement
I just want the $273.00 refund ******* promised.

Business Response
Mr. ***** called for service on XX-XX-XX ******* was the call taker on that Saturday Mr. ***** stated that he had a property that was not cooling, we set an appointment for him while in the process of setting his appointment he ask if the unit could be frozen up or low on Freon I responded yes it could but we will not know until we arrive and look at the unit. We dispatched a service tech out to the rental property. The service tech found the condenser fan motor bad. We called Mr. ***** explained that the unit may have a warranty and that we did not have the correct motor with us. I promised him I would research the serial number with temp-star on the following Monday. Mr. ***** called our office on Monday and I had not found anything out about the motor. Shortly after that I responded to his call explained the price break down to him and he approved the repairs. On XX-XX-XX the part came into stock we arrived to make repair replaced bad motor and checked complete system operation unit worked okay. We called Mr. ***** from the job and got credit card info and charged the job out. We also rechecked with the tenant to make sure the unit was cooling before our tech left. On XX-XX-XX Mr. ***** called back to our office around 4-5 pm and stated the unit wasn't working again and that it was frozen he had went and looked at it. I told him that there would be a $70.00 service call and that Freon was $75.00 per LBS he stated that we didn't fix it and that it never cooled. I explained that the repair that we made had would not have made the unit freeze up or cause anything like that. He stated he wasn't going to pay $75.00 per pound of Freon so I told him that I would come out for free but that if it was in fact a Freon issue he would have to pay for the Freon. He stated he did not want us back out to his property. Mr. ***** was charged for a repair that was necessary and needed. If the unit needed another repair like Freon I am not sure how that gives him the idea that we should refund half of the money from a non related repair? Ac units leak Freon and can just like a car tire be fine then a problem. I would have like top have came back out on a free service cal to ***** the issue with the unit. But I don't believe that we are responsible for a non related failure. Thanks!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Most of the conversation above is inaccurate. However that has nothing to do with the fact ******* stated to me he would refund half of my repair charges. I am expecting a refund of $273.00. We never had a conversation about refunds for any Freon related issue. ******* stated to me he would refund half of my repair.
I would hope he has enough integrity to follow through with his promise.

Final Business Response
He wants a refund on a fan motor replacement because 2 days later his unit was low on Freon! Let me make this clear. I was agreeable to refund 1/2 of the fan motor repair cost and put another motor on if in fact the new motor was defective. But I explained to him that on a FREE service call if the FAN MOTOR was operating and it was a FREON issue which is NOT related in any way WE would charge 75.00 per pound of R-22 FREON used! Mr. ***** stated that he wasn't paying for any freon and that he did not want us back out. SO please explain to me how in trying to resolve this matter #1 I was willing to come my self for FREE. 2# If the motor we put on had failed we would refund 1/2 the repair back and make it right!. But we were told NO i don't want you back out I just want half my money back. Seems to me there was another issue that was unrelated to the repair that was made and Mr. ***** either wanted the new issue fixed for free and wanted 1/2 his money back on a non-related problem. I will refund $200.00 just to resolve this matter. We had mailed the invoice to a *** *** XXXXXX ********** ** XXXXX. It was returned Not deliverable so we will forward this to the address listed on this complaint. Thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This story from ******* keeps getting more strange and way off from the point.

He said he would refund half of my money. It was that simple. I didn't want the FREON because his price was a little excessive.

I will accept the $200.00 to make it go away.

I know this is ******** way of proving a point. I'll cancel my complaint when I see the $200.00.

Also, either address is okay with me. The **** *** is actually XXXXXX. That is what I gave him for billing my Credit Card.

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to service heating system in the fall.
I signed a service agreement with this company to provide preseason air conditioning service and pre season heating service. They provided the pre season air conditioning service in the spring. They added freon at the time of the service. They also discovered that a contactor was defective. They came back and replaced the contactor, at which time the fan motor was deemed to be bad--they then replaced the fan motor. The invoice for the contactor was paid--no **** was given for the fan motor. I called on November 1, 2013 to check on when the pre season heating check up would happen--he told me he would be calling the following Monday. He finally called 2 weeks later and set up an appointment for the ******* before ************* He called on ****** and cancelled the appointment because of rain. He said he would call on Friday after Thanksgiving to set up a new appointment. I finally called him today (1/3/14) and asked for a refund for the pre season check up. He said he would not give a refund, but would come and do the pre season check up. I told him that I would not deal with someone who lied and that I did not want him servicing my heating equipment. He then went into a discussion about my political party affliation and questioned whether or not I was a *********. I can't deal with people who are unethical in their business practice.

Desired Settlement
$50.00

Business Response
Responce,
When we came out for the (cooling) check we did find the unit in very bad shape. We also did add freon and recommed a contactor be replaced. We also notied on that day that the fan motor barrings were going out and motor was over amping. A day or two later we did return to replace the contactor and while doing so the fan motor stopped running and would not start. We put a new one on at no cost "due to the fact it was working before we repaired it". We did call for the "heating Check" and set up to conduct the service on Tuesday and we had to cancle due to "weather" cancel it was *********** ************ outside. Mr ******* was told he would be called back by friday to book a nother appointment. Our Office did fail to due so. Mr ******* called our office this past friday and was very angry. He demanded his money back and questioned my integerty calling me a lier cheat and a rip off. ( Have a audio recording of it). I then asked him if he attend church he said yes I asked him if i could come to church with him. I asked him why he was treating people this was over a missed communication or short fall. He became more agressive. I explained to him that we would conduct the last service but it was not refundable. He was very angry and said you don't know who you are messing with!And i don't allow cheats liers or rip offs on my property. We have went the extra mile with *** ******* in the cooling season and I don't want his busniess and **** not refund any money to him. However if any miss leading reviews and or unturths at any time are told we **** sue for damages. He has cancled and non refundable service VIA telephone and was told that. He is unreasonable and I am not going to deal with some one like that. Have a blessed day. Thanks, Busy Bee

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It seems that Busy Bee goes back and forth. In his last response he stated that he would not perform the work. It is hard for me justify not refunding money when no service was rendered. I would consider that stealing, which goes along with him being dishonest about coming out and rendering the service.

Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,

We **** not be refunding any money. We conduct busniess in a calm, honest and christain like manor. We do make mistakes and are human just like everyone eles. We **** not be threatened or bullied. We don't treat our customers like that and **** not tollerate it. *** ******* I made it very clear over the phone that we would conduct the last service but that it was non refundable. *** ******* cancled the service on his own accord.

Thanks,
**** ***

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/08/2012Business started: 10/05/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2012, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Matheny (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Busy Bee Hvac Heating and Air Conditioning Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Busy Bee HVAC, Inc. has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Busy Bee HVAC, Inc.

14464 Lebanon Rd # A

Old Hickory, TN 37138-1650

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14464 Lebanon Rd # A 

    Old Hickory, TN 37138-1650(615) 775-7833

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in 45 counties in MiddleTennessee and Southern Kentucky. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Busy Bee HVAC, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.