BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

Reed's Jewelers

Phone: (877) 406-3266Fax: (910) 350-3353PO Box 2229, WilmingtonNC 28402-2229 Send email to Reed's Jewelers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

BBB has determined that Reed's Jewelers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Reed's Jewelers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Reed's Jewelers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received my Christmas Bonus the first week of October and began Christmas Shopping. Purchased a bracelet and several charms from Reed's, after I had checked the return policy would be good because this is a Christmas Gift. The Bracelet was for my daughter, it was too small. I returned it for a larger size. When I received the larger size, It was still too small. The Birthday Charm was also for my daughter, for her new Pandora Bracelet.The package had to be postmarked by 12-31 to be covered, It was postmarked 12-30.They have returned these 2 items back to me, will not refund the purchase because I am now told because I Christmas shopped in October, The return policy was no longer valid.They have no record of me asking, Of course they don't. I made a simple phone call before placing an order online.
Product_Or_Service: Pandora Bracelet/Pandora Charm
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want to return the bracelet and charm for a refund to the credit card that I purchased it on.I will be happy to send the merchandise back for the 3rd time. I do feel at this point, They should cover the postage!Thanks!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ************
Contact Phone: 910.350.3123
Contact Email: *************@reeds.com
The original purchase was made on October 17, 2014, our return policy is ten days from the receipt of the items, but we also offer a 30 day exchange period. The exchange was done on November 24, 2014. As one of the items the customer was returning was from the October 17, 2014 purchase and the other was from an exchange from an item from the October 17, 2014 purchase neither was met the return policy. The return policy mentioned in the email was our Christmas return policy and it covered purchase made starting Thanksgiving weekend, the purchase in question was not covered because it was an exchange from prior to that period.

All that being said we do not want the customer to have a bracelet that his daughter is unable to wear so we will be contacting the customer and sending him a return label to return the two items in question. Once we receive them we will refund the amount associated with these items to the card used to make the purchase as long as that option is available to us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/17/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lifetime warranty is not provided.
I bought the diamond ring for my wedding on 11/20/204 and the sales representative told me that you don't need to be worry about main diamond because it's got lifetime warranty on it. So my wife lost her main diamond from her ring on her work on 12/02/2012 and I called the Reeds jewelers on 12/03/2012 to get my lifetime warranty on her ring, but they told me that we must brought her ring every 12 month for review to maintain that lifetime warranty. First we move almost 3 years ago to California and they don't have any stores in here and second that sales person didn't mention anything about that too.
So now the Reed Jewelers refused to cover my wife ring.
The original date I bought it is 11/20/2004, item # XXXXXXXXX, assoc XXXXXX, payment 1410.50$ plus NC tax, I paid in full with my Discover credit card.

Desired Settlement
Refund or full replacement.

Business' Initial Response
I will be happy to assist this customer with their "lifetime warranty". Can you please provide copies of the full warranty document so that we can better assist you.

Please forward this information to xxxxx. Once received, we will promptly provide and accurate response

Business' Final Response
I have reached out to this customer and he forwarded his "lifetime warranty" to our corporate office. The validation section of our warranty clearly states that "validation is recommended every six months and required by REEDS every 12 months."

We require these evaluations to inspect the ring and make any adjustments, stone tightening, etc that may be required. Ultimately, these inspections can prevent the loss of diamonds from a piece of jewelry. Inspections are free of charge to a customer that brings an item into one of our REEDS locations.

This particular customer moved outside of the regions where our stores are located and did not fulfill the validation requirements for at least 8 years. Our corporate office handles the validation in these cases and this particular ring has never been sent in to our office.

While we cannot replace the customer's diamond for free, I have offered to personally evaluate the ring and provide him with an estimate of the cost to repair.

Please advise on what additional steps we may take to satisfy this customer!

07/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested replacement of diamond not completed on two occasions
My diamond was purchased and was taken in for routine checks and cleaning. There was a "rough" spot on one side of the ring and was repeatedly told there was no crack or chip. Finally the store manager confirmed that indeed there was a crack in the diamond. My ring was sent to the insurance company who supposedly does the warranty work for Reed's. The diamond in question was CLEARLY marked. Two weeks later my ring returned to the store UNREPAIRED. It was sent again and once again was returned with the diamond in question not replaced. The store manager has offered to send the ring to a local jewelry repair but I frankly don't trust the store's judgement in repair services. I am really disappointed in the the quality of customer service and probably will never purchase anything from Reed's again. I asked for a full purchased price refund or to choose another ring but was denied.

Desired Settlement
The ideal settlment would be full purchase price of the ring plus the cost of my diamond band purchased from another jeweler that has been soldered to the ring in question. I don't want to separate them for fear of damaging the band. I don't really want a replacement ring from Reed's for fear of going through this again.

03/26/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an engagement ring from for the advertised clearance price. The ring was never sent, payment was taken.
I purchase an engagement ring from reeds jewelers on . The ring in question was never sent after took payment via paypal. My phone number was included with the order and I purchased overnight shipping with intentions of proposing the following week. The ring was advertised for the price of 54.95 on clearance. After placing the order I waited till the day before I was supposed to propose and Called to ensure the ring was in transit. Upon calling I was informed the price was incorrect and the ring was never sent. I was not contacted by phone nor was my money refunded until the call. The only explanation offered was that they had it priced wrong. The price said on the page it was good till . This ruined all the plans and other money I had invested in making my proposal special. I am highly upset at the situation and reeds refusal to rectify the situation. I fail to see how I am at fault and suffering ultimately from 's error. It might have been a different outcome if I had received a phone call after placing the order, but for me to have to call them after not receiving my product or my money returned to me is ridiculous. I can not understand how a company that specializes in engagement rings and special occasion jewelry could have no sympathy or common sense to call someone and let them know there was an error with the product. It seems to me like common business sense to give a courtesy call to the customer to ensure they know there is a problem. IT should not have taken me calling them 2 weeks later to find they were not honoring my purchase. The lack of care taken by is quite disgusting to the person who recommended using them for one of the most special moments in my life. It seems like I am bearing all of the loss in this transaction, ranging from looking like an idiot to my future wife, losing out on my money vested in the proposal arrangements, and being without the money spent on this ring to invest in purchasing a new one.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the ring that was advertised that I purchased. It is the least can do for the amount of money I spent to make this once in a lifetime ocasion a success, which was hindered by their gross lack of resonable care in the transaction. It is not my fault I made a good faith purchase from their website at the advertised clearance price. I think it is fair that I receive the ring I purchased at the price I purchased it at.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Watches-Service & Repair, Jewelers-Retail, Gold Buyers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/03/1999Business started: 04/11/1946
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1946, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Edward Smith (VP Operations)Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Kresge Jaime Bailey (Executive Assistant)
Number of Employees

864

Business Category

Watches-Service & Repair, Jewelers-Retail, Gold Buyers

Alternate Business Names
Reeds Financial Services Inc, Reeds Wilmington Jewelers, Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 2229 

    Wilmington, NC 28402-2229(877) 406-3266

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Reed's Jewelers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Watches-Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.