BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

Reed's Jewelers

Phone: (877) 406-3266Fax: (910) 350-3353PO Box 2229, WilmingtonNC 28402-2229 Send email to Reed's Jewelers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/27/2011

BBB has determined that Reed's Jewelers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Reed's Jewelers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/17/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Lifetime warranty is not provided.
I bought the diamond ring for my wedding on 11/20/204 and the sales representative told me that you don't need to be worry about main diamond because it's got lifetime warranty on it. So my wife lost her main diamond from her ring on her work on 12/02/2012 and I called the Reeds jewelers on 12/03/2012 to get my lifetime warranty on her ring, but they told me that we must brought her ring every 12 month for review to maintain that lifetime warranty. First we move almost 3 years ago to California and they don't have any stores in here and second that sales person didn't mention anything about that too.
So now the Reed Jewelers refused to cover my wife ring.
The original date I bought it is 11/20/2004, item # XXXXXXXXX, assoc XXXXXX, payment 1410.50$ plus NC tax, I paid in full with my Discover credit card.

Business' Initial Response
I will be happy to assist this customer with their "lifetime warranty". Can you please provide copies of the full warranty document so that we can better assist you.

Please forward this information to xxxxx. Once received, we will promptly provide and accurate response

Business' Final Response
I have reached out to this customer and he forwarded his "lifetime warranty" to our corporate office. The validation section of our warranty clearly states that "validation is recommended every six months and required by REEDS every 12 months."

We require these evaluations to inspect the ring and make any adjustments, stone tightening, etc that may be required. Ultimately, these inspections can prevent the loss of diamonds from a piece of jewelry. Inspections are free of charge to a customer that brings an item into one of our REEDS locations.

This particular customer moved outside of the regions where our stores are located and did not fulfill the validation requirements for at least 8 years. Our corporate office handles the validation in these cases and this particular ring has never been sent in to our office.

While we cannot replace the customer's diamond for free, I have offered to personally evaluate the ring and provide him with an estimate of the cost to repair.

Please advise on what additional steps we may take to satisfy this customer!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Requested replacement of diamond not completed on two occasions
My diamond was purchased and was taken in for routine checks and cleaning. There was a "rough" spot on one side of the ring and was repeatedly told there was no crack or chip. Finally the store manager confirmed that indeed there was a crack in the diamond. My ring was sent to the insurance company who supposedly does the warranty work for Reed's. The diamond in question was CLEARLY marked. Two weeks later my ring returned to the store UNREPAIRED. It was sent again and once again was returned with the diamond in question not replaced. The store manager has offered to send the ring to a local jewelry repair but I frankly don't trust the store's judgement in repair services. I am really disappointed in the the quality of customer service and probably will never purchase anything from Reed's again. I asked for a full purchased price refund or to choose another ring but was denied.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/13/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Ordered an item through their eBay store 8 days ago and still have not received my item.
Ordered an item through their eBay store over 8 days ago and still have not received the item. Contacted them through eBay 5 times, tried their online chat, and called numerous times and still cannot talk to anyone. Have not responded to any eBay messages either.
They stated the item as shipped on eBay but the tracking number they issued does not work. The tracking number is invalid and I contacted USPS and they cannot even verify this is a real number.
I would like to get some kind of contact, I believe I am getting scammed. I am frustrated as I needed this item for a Christmas present and now that is not going to happen. Very poor customer service, I guarantee I will never purchase nor recommend anyone to purchase anything from your stores.

xxxxx

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/26/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with advertisement

Complaint: I purchased an engagement ring from for the advertised clearance price. The ring was never sent, payment was taken.
I purchase an engagement ring from reeds jewelers on . The ring in question was never sent after took payment via paypal. My phone number was included with the order and I purchased overnight shipping with intentions of proposing the following week. The ring was advertised for the price of 54.95 on clearance. After placing the order I waited till the day before I was supposed to propose and Called to ensure the ring was in transit. Upon calling I was informed the price was incorrect and the ring was never sent. I was not contacted by phone nor was my money refunded until the call. The only explanation offered was that they had it priced wrong. The price said on the page it was good till . This ruined all the plans and other money I had invested in making my proposal special. I am highly upset at the situation and reeds refusal to rectify the situation. I fail to see how I am at fault and suffering ultimately from 's error. It might have been a different outcome if I had received a phone call after placing the order, but for me to have to call them after not receiving my product or my money returned to me is ridiculous. I can not understand how a company that specializes in engagement rings and special occasion jewelry could have no sympathy or common sense to call someone and let them know there was an error with the product. It seems to me like common business sense to give a courtesy call to the customer to ensure they know there is a problem. IT should not have taken me calling them 2 weeks later to find they were not honoring my purchase. The lack of care taken by is quite disgusting to the person who recommended using them for one of the most special moments in my life. It seems like I am bearing all of the loss in this transaction, ranging from looking like an idiot to my future wife, losing out on my money vested in the proposal arrangements, and being without the money spent on this ring to invest in purchasing a new one.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Watches-Service & Repair, Jewelers-Retail, Gold Buyers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/03/1999Business started: 04/11/1946
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1946, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Edward Smith (VP Operations)Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Kresge Jaime Bailey (Executive Assistant)
Number of Employees

864

Business Category

Watches-Service & Repair, Jewelers-Retail, Gold Buyers

Alternate Business Names
Reeds Financial Services Inc, Reeds Wilmington Jewelers, Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 2229 

    Wilmington, NC 28402-2229(877) 406-3266

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Reed's Jewelers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Watches-Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.