BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Colossal Consulting

Phone: (843) 732-0663 (Disconnected)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was deliberatly mislead into signing a contract with a travel club that in no way provides the dicounts to warrent the outlay of the membership fee.
On 09/05/2013 I attended a sales seminar at the Huntington Hilton presented by Colossal Consulting( A marketing company representing the travel company Saver Express. Saver Express is a vacation club that claims to give outstanding deals on vacations around the world. Some of the areas they proudly display during their presentation are cruises, hotels, airfare, timeshares, among many other things. during the presentation we were repeatedly shown examples of their savings as compared to Expedia and other bargain sites totaling 30% and higher. After having many questions answered I put the salesperson (***** *******) to the test and asked him to retrieve a price from their travel agents for a specific cruise and date. I used the cruise I had just been on as an example. Carnival Valor July XX XXXX out of San Juan. If I could compare the price he could give me and the price I could get through Carnival directly in real time then I would have proof to sway my one way or the other. Sure enough the sales person came through. I found the price for the specific date to be $349 pp. and he came through with $205 pp. a savings totaling $576 dollars for a family of 4. At this point based on the presentation and the price given, I felt secure that I could recoup the cost of the membership fee over approximately 4-5 years. My wife and I signed on and began planning vacations we would love to take now at our new deep discounted savings. The following day I contacted the Colossal consultant's travel liaison. We began working together on a trip to Las Vegas and a winter ski trip. She was very nice and very eager to help. She provided me with travel choices that although were very accommodating, only proved to have a 10-20 % savings. Its illogical to pay $4500 on top of a $100 annual fee only to save $100-$200 dollars annually. Conveniently, I was not yet given access to their website which I was told provided endless pages of unbelievable savings. I would have to wait past the refund grace period to access the site. As a result, I went back and forth with agents over seven days. As I felt that the savings were questionable, I asked the agent to provide me with the price originally asked for during the sales presentation. This time the savings was only 5%. But not even a 5% over the price given by carnival; This time it was a 5% savings over an inflated price. I would actually pay more to book it through saver express after handing them $4300 for Wholesale prices. I have no other choice than to believe that the sales person blatantly lied to us when retrieving the price over the phone. I have proof of this because I made sure I reserved the cruise through carnival on the exact same day as I received the quote from saver express as proof. Carnival does not email a price quote so I made an actual reservation. They are both for the exact same date, ship, and cabin. I received email confirmations from both. I am comparing apples to apples. Furthermore this website they tout as the answer to our dreams couldn't be the furthest thing from the truth. I found that not only does it run incredibly slow but it is merely a site that redirects you to other sites for savings. Other sites that I could access merely by doing a search on Yahoo. Condo direct, Interval international, to name a few. When I asked about the website I was told that although I am redirected, I am given special member privileges on these other sites. So far, almost all the inquires I've made have resulted in "no accommodations available for that date". The 6 requests that did go through returned with either no savings or just a small percentage. The sad part about this whole thing is that I really wanted this to work out if I was only given what I was told I would get. I am still waiting for a request on 2 vacations I asked for 2 weeks ago. I have email confirmation of the open ticket on this.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund and the the airline tickets I was promised

Business Response
In response to Mr *********'s complaint. Mr ********* purchased his membership with Saver Express on Sept 5, 2013. On Sept 6, 2013, he received a welcome call from our New Member Liaison. During this call he indicated he would like to make plans to travel to Las Vegas in October and plan a ski trip to Pennsylvania in Feb. He also indicated he would like to receive communication via email. On Sept 7, 2013 we emailed him 4 different Las Vegas properties packaged with airfare for his desired dates. On Sept 8, 2013, we emailed pricing for 5 additional Las Vegas packages. On Sept 9, 2013, We emailed information about 5 different 2 bedroom condos at $759.99 per week available for his February ski trip. On Sept 10, he requested 5 hotel rooms and Massachusetts that we provided pricing for a couple of weekends away. Every quote was provided directly from Saver Express's website or from a Saver Express Travel Concierge and all provided during his rescission period. Mr ********* never indicated he was unhappy with any of the pricing and seemed quite pleased.
In the travel industry, pricing is constantly changing. A quote, especially with cruising and airfare can change daily based on supply and demand. We at Colossal Consulting feel that we went above and beyond to provide Mr ********* with immediate service. Also part of Mr *********'s contract with Saver Express is the Apples to Apples program that ensures that he is always getting the best pricing not only for his vacations, but also the other 3 families on his plan. We also find it interesting he doesn't mention all of the other vacations that we provided pricing for and that his membership includes 3 other families that he elected to include to use his membership that will also be saving every time they travel. We are also confused as to why, when he has obviously sent and received emails from us, why this is the first time we are hearing of his complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response makes no mention of the deception of the sales person in his price quote. Nor the fact that I emailed the supervisor at saver express the confirmation that I reserved a vacation for less than what they could give it to me for. They do mention that they provided me with numerous price quotes. This is very true because none of the prices they gave were discounted enough to warrant a reservation. Logic would dictate that if the prices were worth taking advantage of then I would book something to recoup the cost of the membership fee and yet I was forced to keep digging for deals that aren't there

11/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to a sales talk like a dummy I fell for the high pressure lies they told. They represent saverexpress a vacation company. We were told we would receive substantial saving on each vacation we booked through them. There was way to verify this until we received our membership packet in the mail 10 days later. When I looked up the prices that was not true. I could book exact same thing on Travelocity. I am not prejudiced but it is a big plus when they say "you will always speak to a American so you will always understand them" When I call saverexpress I was connected with a person with a thick accent. It appears the company is a small place where they all sit together. When I spoke to the "supervisor" he was very arrogant and when I made the mistake of mentioning we were told "American" he started calling me a racist. unfortunately for me I signed the contract for 4000.00 on my credit card. It seem to me saver express has covered their bases but colossal misrepresented the company at my expense.

Desired Settlement
full refund and to change the way they explained thing.

Business Response
Dear Sirs,

In response to a complaint that was closed because of no response, we at Colossal Consulting never received any type of communication stating that we had a complaint.
We at Colossal Consulting provide immediate service and bookings to our newest members. Within 24 hours of a member joining Saver Express, they are called as a welcome and also to let a new member have the ability to try out the service. Members can enjoy substantial savings on a wide range of travel. We work hard to ensure all of our new members receive their personal login to the Saver Express website in a timely manner.
In response to the matter of having American speaking employees, in America we do have Americans with different accents that make up the melting pot of the United States. To complain about a person's accent is a frivolous complaint when the member could have easily asked to be transferred to another agent.

With regards,

Colossal Consulting


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was NOT welcomed in a timely manor and could not look up prices . When I did I immediately asked for my money back. I called colossal, saver express and the hotel where I had the meeting. I have since learned that apparently colossal has a sales person and they rep for saver express. If this is how saver express works then maybe colossal should explain better. I think colossal is the one who wasn't being truthful.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Time Share

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.