BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2008

Myrtle Grand Vacations, LLC -Long Term Rental Division

Phone: (843) 249-0200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/30/2016Problems with Product / Service
10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Condo is balcony is not useable for 2 months of the 7 months we rented it for. Rent starts October 1, 2015. Also, views blocked by plastic on windows.
Rent condo for seven months. Starting October 1, 2015.
Paid $1650 and $1450.
Notified by ***** at their office on 9/21/2015 that she just found out that we would not be able to use the condos balcony for two months because they were replacing the roof. T

Desired Settlement
We need our money refunded. We have to find another place to live.

Business Response
Thank you for notifying us of the complaint. The guest has checked into the property. We have offered her $300 credit to her account since she wanted to clean the condo herself. Also, she explained that her husband has cancer and he needed the condo cleaned a certain way. She is also upset about HOA repairs that we cannot control.

She has checked into the property. It is my understanding that she was happy with the $300 credit as that is what she asked for and we approved it.

On her way to check in, her Jeep broke down in Georgia and she explained that they were stressed financially as they are in a rental car. This is another reason I approved the $300 credit to help her out in her situation. Another reason we gave the credit.

She complained about the vacuum not having a hose wand to clean so we replaced the vacuum as well.

We wish Mr. Mrs. ******** the best in there situations. We hope they are happy now in there upscale oceanfront condo for the winter.

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Long Term Rental was not fit to live in at time of arrival.

Long Term Agreement for a rental that was to start on 12/30 at the ******** ******* ***** ********* The address I agreed to rent was **** ******** ****** **** ***** ***** ****** ****** *** After signing lease they took me to the condo and the odor was terrible, toilet seats were broken, and the floors were filthy dirty. The kitchen had food splattered behind the stove and the burners were black. Condo was not in any shape to live in, left and called the police. Owner offered to allow me to stay in short term rental until my rental was cleaned, I refused. Owner told officer that I had insufficient funds in bank account and that I arrived early which was not true. Gave owner 4 keys back but refused to give owner parking pass and copy of lease. Owner denied debiting my account for the $1700.00 called bank and they informed him that the funds were withdrawn on 12/19. Don't trust owner so I refused his offer of a short term rental.Going to Chamber of Commerce and letting the original owner of the actual unit know what shape the condo was in when I arrived. Also going to contact Home Owner's association. I was told by the owner that the place had been vacant for a week and a half prior to my arrival. He stated that he would not refund my $1,700.00.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my $1,700.00 that I put down for first month rent and damage deposit.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****, OWNER
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@MYRTLEGRAND.COM
Thank you for faxing over the complaint from ***** *****. As you are aware from the complaint, Ms. ***** signed a lease for Barefoot Resort **** **** at ***** *********

Ms. ***** signed a lease for one year to rent the condo at Barefoot. After turning utilities in her name, opening a new bank account at HCSB and then starting the process to move in at Barefoot, she realized that she did not want to be in North Myrtle Beach, SC. She returned to the office and we saw another side of ***** *****. She called the police and Office Bishop asked her to leave because of her behavior.

We have discussed her issue with the homeowner of the unit and as long as we can re-rent the unit, the homeowner is willing to refund her money. According to her rental application and the lease she signed, she must follow the procedure. In every dealing with Ms. *****, her complaints change but the real issue is that she told our staff she didn't want to reside in this area. She is not an honest person at all; however, we will be happy to refund Ms. *****'s money once her unit is re-rented. I have attached a copy of the lease and rental application (see page 3) for reference.

Thanks again for notifying us of the complaint. We will contact Ms. ***** when the unit is re-rented. We wish Ms. ***** nothing but the best in the future.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not address the fact that the place was not cleaned and was not ready to be rented. I am aware that I signed a lease but the place that I agreed to rent was not available to me. Also, I am currently renting a condo in North Myrtle Beach so I did not leave the area and plan to stay. I just did not want to reside in their place because of the shape that it was in and not to mentioned that he lied stating that he did not receive my money when the bank had proof that he in fact did.

Final Business Response
2014/2/6 ** business responded:

The business stated that the checks provided by the consumer for payment have been returned as non payable. The business is no longer pursuing any further payment and they have closed the account. The business considers this matter to be closed.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled a reservation and they informed me I could get a refund. But they did not honor it.
Seven months ago I booked a reservation with Myrtle Grand Vacation. In July They informed me my condo was no longer available. So they moved me to a different resort. I informed them I wanted to stay at the resort I booked with. They informed me that they could not honor my request. They said I could get a refund, if I choose. So I made my own reservations with the resort and called them back to get my refund. They told me they would process it and I will get my refund in a couple weeks. I never received my refund and since I have contacted them more then 15 times. they tell me to leave messages with certain people and I do. But they never called me back. They are giving me the run around and I don't know what to do at this point. I just want my money back and no one can answer nay of my questions there. I left messages with accounting. management and several employees.

Desired Settlement
I want my refund but I feel they owe me so much more I have at least 4 hours rolled up in phone calls.

Business Response
We have issued this customer a refund. Their refund was on hold because of a CSA Travel Insurance hold request. We have worked with CSA Travel Insurance and the customer and have taken care of the customer. Thanks.

10/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.