BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2009

Condolux, Inc.

Phone: (800) 624-6418Fax: (843) 361-1370

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to refund my deposit back after the owner of the condo sold the property and they could no longer rent it.
I reserved a condo with CondoLux for May 10th-May 17 at the Bayview on the Boardwalk and paid a 300.00 deposit on January 13 2014. I received a email from ****** ******** from CondoLux on 2-11-14 informing me that the owner had sold the property and they no longer could rent it out, so they had to cancel my reservation. She informed me that they would upgrade me to a different condo at no cost to me. The condos she offered did not sleep the required guest that we had which is 12. I informed her of this and she sent me a few other that she called upgrades. The were far from a upgrade, we had oceanfront and she was sending me second row with no ocean view or hardly any view. I informed her these would not work because we were not willing to downgrade. She sent me a condo that was comparable to what we had at the Bayview but they wanted and additional 1131.82 to upgrade us. At this point I told her I wanted my deposit back and would look elsewhere. I called into the office on 2-12-14 and told them to put my money back on my card, they said no problem it would be back on in 3 to 5 days. On 2-18 when I still never received my money back I sent Ms. Birdsong a email stating I still have not received my money she wrote back saying no it was not 3 to 5 days but 7 to 10 business days. So on Friday 2-20-14 I sent her a email stating I had not received my money back yet. I got no response from her. I sent another email on Monday 2-23-14 I still had not received my money with no answer. I sent another email yesterday 2-25-14 stating I still had not received my money and I still have received no reply email or phone call and I still don't have my money.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my money back. I now have to worry about finding my family another condo and hope they are not all booked by the time I receive my money

Consumer Response
My complaint was against CondoLux not Bayview. Condo Lux did finally refund my money after contacting them a few times. Nothing else was ever offered as in a discount or a true upgrade. I guess I'm just lucky I received my money back and will never do business with them.
Thank you ************

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to get my deposit back for a condo that I cancelled in North Myrtle Beach. I cancelled one day after I rented it. Issue with refund policy.
I called Condolux on July 11, 2013 and rented Unit B of a two Unit condo at NMB through Condolux Realty. They charged me 30% for a deposit which was immediately taken out of my bank card. Neither side was rented at that time and still is not rented. Due to illness I called the next day to cancel and was told unless they rented the Unit B we would have to forfeit the entire deposit. Since my not renting the unit did not cause them the inability to rent it I don't think they should be allowed to keep my entire deposit which is high after seeing the other places with much smaller deposits required. Now I hear that unless they rent both sides they will keep our deposit. How can a company legally take this much money for nothing. They lost nothing from me not taking the unit yet want to keep that money that I cannot afford to lose. My wife called and they said they would talk to the manager to see if anything could be worked out. After seeing the other complaints filed I thought I may as well try to settle this since evidently this house will not be rented for that week. I hope you can be of help solving this matter. My wife did not sign the contract and it is a joint bank account and she is a senior citizen.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking to get a refund of our deposit less the administrative fee of $100.00. We do not think they should keep our entire deposit because our not renting the unit is not the reason they did not rent it since at the time neither unit was rented and still is not. Thank you for your help.

Business Response
It is mandatory that all guests agree and accept our company terms and conditions for confirmation of rental. These terms are included in our Policies listed in the confirmation agreement:
Cancellation Policy
If you do NOT purchase travel insurance: A full refund, less a $100 administrative fee, is given only if the property is re-rented and if the cancellation occurs more than 30 days prior to your arrival date. If the property is NOT re-rented, your money is forfeited. Also, if you cancel with less than 30 days until your arrival date, all money is forfeited.
If you purchase travel insurance: CSA Travel Insurance provides insurance against certain types of emergency cancellations. For the most up-to-date coverage provided by CSA Travel Insurance, you may visit their website or contact them by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX. If you purchase the insurance and need to use it, your claim must be made through CSA, not through CondoLux.

This information is also posted on our website, from which Mr. ***** selected his property of choice. Additionally, Mr. ***** had the opportunity to purchase Travel Insurance through provider CSA for coverage of such situations as illness, as listed as his reason for cancellation. In cases where a reservation is cancelled and the same unit is rebooked for the same time period by another guest, CondoLux immediately issues a refund less a $100 admin fee to the original renter. However, as stated previously by Mr. *****, the unit in question failed to rebook. Therefore, in keeping with the terms and conditions Mr. ***** agreed to upon booking and the fact that he failed to purchase Travel Insurance, no refund will be issued as his deposit is forfeited accordingly.

02/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to honor online pricing on a site they had advertised on.
On January 26,2013 we saw a rental home listed. (name)in North Myrtle Beach SC had home advertised on (name) called (name) oceanfront beach house. This is a duplex home. The price listed on this site ranged from $1,250-$6,495 per week. In order to book this property it stated on (name) when we called to book were told it was $7,528. We explained we found this rental on (name) for on the high side of the pricing $6495.00. We were told they didnt know where we saw that price. The rental was $7528.00 and they would not honor price $6495.00 as it was advertised. On this site (name) was a phone number. It was for (name) which said owner details where the phone number for (name) was listed in order to make a reservation. There it said to state "I found your listing on (name). when we called to book and spoke with Rep- (name) we were told it was $7,528 and they would not honor the (name) price. This is $1033.00 more than advertised. We were told it was an error on the site. This is not our problem. I believe you honor what you advertise. We also were willing to negotiate a better price but were rudely told this is the price that it was a mistake on the site and they were fixing it. We had arranged with 4 families that this home would work for us as far as price and accommodations. This is false advertising and I believe they should have honored the price listed on vacation rental direct. We should be reimbursed the advertised price.

Desired Settlement
refunded advertised price adjustment of $1033.00

Business Response
**** last rented the property Diamond Dunes in 2010. That booking was made one month prior to arrival, in the middle of our summer season. Being a last minute rental, at the peak of the season, she was able to take advantage of a Summer Inventory Liquidation Sale and paid a discounted base rate of $5995 as opposed to the original pricing of $7995. During this past week and into this week as well, **** and other group members have repeatedly berated our staff for simply doing their jobs accordingly. They have also made several attempts to book said unit under other group members' names. Though they have made the repeated claim that we must be in violation of a law refusing service to their group, we have continually maintained that in keeping with "SOUTH CAROLINA CODE OF STATE LAW : TITLE 45 : SECTION 45-2-30" CondoLux Inc. is opting to refuse service by right.
Attempting to utilize an expired price range listed in owner posting on a non-affiliated website from 2007 is a clear attempt to extort a non-existent discount with the use of slanderous attacks upon our staff. Our staff was at no point rude or disrespectful regarding the handling of this group, as correspondence has mandated the involvement of senior mgmt, company officers, and our business owners. **** is not a current customer and CondoLux stands behind our decision act upon our right to refuse all future business with her group accordingly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Condolux is responding like we are trying to extort a non-existing price which was listed on vacationrentaldirect.com. The site had Diamond Dunes and another property listed which I printed out as proof. Don't know how we as a consumer would know that it was expired. They should be familiar with the site if units are advertised on them. When we inquired they said they couldn't see where we saw that price. Condolux rep named Hannah had said she would have to check it out and get back to us. Upon her return call we were told they couldn't honor that price. We did not be berate the staff. I even told Hannah that I wasn't blaming her that the price wasn't being honored. I just stated I didn't understand how they weren't aware of the price posted and would not honor it. To me this was not an except-able answer. The price was over a $1000.00 more. We were told that was the price if we wanted to rent. I have rented this unit twice, once in 2009 at full high season price I believe $9000. In 2010 took advantage of reduced rate when we booked a last minute getaway. I was previously very pleased with renting from Condolux. Neither of my previous times did we have any issues that weren't addressed in a professional manner. I also have been renting in North Myrtle beach using many realty companys with total satisfaction and paid high season rates. They weren't very customer friendly this time. We had asked for a supervisor or office manager to contact us but that never happened. This could have been handled in a more professional manner but they failed to do that. Condolux has now banned myself and anyone in our party from renting from their company. It is very upsetting to me that they treat their customers with such disrespect.

Final Business Response
In keeping with our first response, we at CondoLux stand firmly behind our position.

12/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The week before arrival my contract was dishonored because of maintenance issues. This left my family with no vacation rental for the holidays.
On September 29, 2012 I reserved and paid a deposit of $300.00 from my Visa Checkcard on a four bedroom condominium for Ocean Bay Club in Myrtle Beach, SC. I received my confirmation of #XXXXXX from ****** **** through email on September 29, 2012 and the date for my final payment. On October 23, 2012 I paid my final payment of $283.52 from the same Visa Checkcard and received my confirmation of payment along with directions to the site.

Now on 11/12/12 I received a voicemail on my home phone of XXX-XXX-XXXX from ***** ******** in which she stated due to maintenance problems the condo that was reserved would not be available on the 21st but she did have a 4 bedroom that she wanted me to take a look at on line at the Ocean Crescent Shore. She says it was an actual upgrade from what was already reserved. After listening to this message, I returned *****'s call and ******** answered the phone. She says that she did not know what ***** was talking about because there were no units available that they were responsible for. I asked her if ***** and she said no ***** had stepped out.

******** placed me on hold to search. When she returned she said there was nothing available. She tried to give me 2- 2 bedrooms units at Laguna Keyes. I informed her that that was not enough room for 8 people but to put on hold and I would call her right back. I told her that I had already paid for this reservation and something needed to be done.

After 10 minutes of time lapse I informed her that if I could not be accommodated with the upgraded that ***** mentioned I wanted a refund. I asked her if ***** could call me back and she told me to hold on because ***** was back.

Terry apologized and says she thought she had something available. She had talked with maintenance and maintenance would not have the unit ready by then.

This whole situation has ruined my family's Thanksgiving for 2012. I would never recommend this company to anybody.

Desired Settlement
I would love to be able to have Thanksgiving at Myrtle Beach but as of today most of the affordable condos are booked. Now I am in tears because my gift to my family has been ruined. I feel that this issue will not be resolved before the holiday so the only thing left would be a free nights stay at a later time.

Business' Initial Response
I apologize for the delay in replying to this complaint. It has not come to my attention until today.

Yes, the situation did happen as stated. We tried our best to find suitable accommodations for Ms. **** and her family, but due to the holiday, most of our condos were already booked. The Maintenance issues that had come up in the condo that was originally booked left the condo uninhabitable for that time. I feel very bad about this. We did give a full refund. If Ms. **** will give us chance to make this up, I can add a free night to a new reservation of 4 nights or more.
Sincerely,
***** ******** / Condolux

10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Elevator has not operated at all since day 2 of my visit, I am on fourth floor of condo. We are now at day 5.
I am retired and a disabled veteran with heart, lung, knee and back problems. Several more in our party also have back problems. We have been confined to our condo with the younger members of our group bringing food up the several flights of stairs. The elevator has not worked at all since the second day of our visit. We have called continuously to the rental office and received various answers: it will be fixed soon, we have parts coming. and even "I wasn't aware of this", when one member of the condo rental company came to the room on Day 4. Our first day here was Saturday June 23 2012 and our last day is June 30 2012. That is if we can figure out how to get the people and luggage down four flights of stairs.

Desired Settlement
I feel that we should have a partial refund of our fee for this disaster. The rental office keeps saying that the elevator is part of the amenities they are not responsible for. Are you kidding - the elevator. Do all the other high rises here at Myrtle Beach have the same problems with their elevators, or does condolux just not care since they already have your money.

Business' Initial Response
The business responded to the complaint:

Condolux apologized for the inconvenience, but they have no control over the elevators or their maintenance. The elevators are controlled by another property management company (xxxxxxx Property Management). Any type of refund would have to be given by xxxxxx Property Management.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had several issues while staying here the week Of july 19-26. The biggest issue was cockroaches.
We arrived july 19 and noticed several things were misrepresented or missing. We had seen pictures of a game room with pool table and ping pong. There was no such thing and the futon my 8 year old was to sleep on was broken. We immediately called about those issues and broken light bulbs, etc. We were told we would receive a call back that night. It never happened. The next morning, we noticed our firstcockroach. Hoping it was a fluke, we waited on the call. It never came. We called the next day after seeing several more cockroaches. Still no call except for the repair man to fix the light bulbs. We told him also about the roaches. We never saw anyone to deal with roaches until thursday. So they had 6 days to crawl through our belongings. Multiple calls and emails during and after our trip resulted in no response by management other than one message on my machine that he would call me back. I triedcontacting him afterwards

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund due to the inconvenience and stress this caused on our vacation. We were very concerned that we would carry the cockroaches home with us. We had to perform extra cleaning during what should have been a relaxing trip to the beach. We had to leave our condo on Thursday for the spraying which was part of my families last day there. We also had to buy things for the condo because it was poorly equipped for the amount of people we had. Simple things like silverware. We did not even reach capacity with the condo. We have stayed close to 20 years at Myrtle beach staying in a multitude of different condos and with different realty companies. We have never had such a terrible experience before. I took this log to file in hopes the company would contact us or try to make this right.

Business Response
Saturday , July 19th at 5:09 pm, the ******* called our after-hours emergency services, noting issues found upon check in the unit. Among the issues reported, the guests mentioned that were upset that neither a pool table nor a ping pong table were not featured in the unit. Guest stated she "saw somewhere that these units had these amenities in the condos." However the website she was referencing was not Condolux.net , as our units do not have those amenities, as clearly presented on our website. Guests also mentioned some issues with a light bulb in a shower upstairs, as well as a loose carpet edge/carpet tacks in another area of the home. Our maintenance staff was dispatched to the unit to correct these issues for the guest.

Monday, July 21st at 10:24 pm, guests sent an email to our office stating that no one had been out to address the issues that were reported on Saturday and their disappointment. However, our staff had in fact been out to address the reported issues. Guest stated in this email that along with these issues of Saturdays report they have now seen a palmetto bug in the unit. Upon receiving this email in our reservations dept, it was forwarded onto our Director of Guest Services, as well as the on-site building management company. The HOA employs the on-site building managers for pest control, grounds keeping, pool maintenance and all other issues that may affect the building communally. This direct control of the services rendered to the facility is beyond the jurisdiction of CondoLux. Legally, and for the sake of poison related safety, we are not allowed to provide any form of chemical treatment regarding pest control. However when a bug of any variety is seen we immediately report it directly to the HOA so they can handle the issues in accordance to their contractual obligations to unit owners. As was the case for the circumstances presented in this case. During this initial email; she warned that she would be using internet complaint forums upon her return home, to leave a negative remark about her stay with CondoLux.

Tuesday, July 22nd at 9:37am, the guest reported another work order item, stating that the light in the master bedroom upstairs "flickers" when in use and to report that the supplemental futon was broken again. Upon receiving this work order, our Maintenance staff decided it was best to remove the broken futon and work with the unit owner for authorization for a replacement, as well as replacing the faulty light bulb. No mention of bugs at this time, nor any statements of dissatisfaction.

Tuesday afternoon, July 22nd, the Director of Guest Services contacted the guest via return email, noting an apology for any inconveniences the guests might have experienced. Additionally, he offered any additional assistance, noting that they should be enjoying their vacation and the freedom to contact him at their earliest convenience regarding any issue of concern or oversight by our staff. The guest, in turn, responded that the biggest problem they had was communication. As well as the fact that they did not know maintenance and on-site mgmt had already addressed their issues previously reported in the week. The guest stated that they had not seen or heard from anyone regarding the palmetto bug issue and were worried that they would take them home. However the HOA had been contacted twice by our office to make sure the pest control service was done, which was confirmed both times that it had in fact been addressed.

******* ******, CondoLux Director of Guest Services, opened the discussion of terms of monetary compensation for inconveniences experienced. At no point did the guests seek compensation. Though these issues were beyond the control of CondoLux, we wanted to make certain that every effort was made to assure the guests had a pleasant stay with us. No terms were agreed to by the guests upon checkout. Therefore, no compensation issued.

On Aug 28th, CondoLux sent the guest an email containing discounting on a future stay with CondoLux. The guest replied back to that email stating she did not agree with the terms of compensation offered. No reply request was made in response to the Director of Guest Services, with regards to supplemental compensation. We made ever effort to correct the issues reported in a timely manner. Additionally, we were threatened with negative reviews prior to even being to respond accordingly, while we still continued to provide exceptional service to the guest. In keeping with our company policy, no compensation is issued if both parties are not able to agree upon term of said compensation. The guests are free to resume contact with our Director of Guest Services no later than Decemeber15th 2014, regarding what compensation CondoLux is at liberty to offer the guests at this current juncture, as company policy mandates compensation agreements not reached within 30 days of departure date do not allow for monetary compensation in accordance with contractual agreement with our Home Owner Alliance. However, this case may be considered an exception. Additionally, only in cases were both parties agree to the terms and conditions will any form of compensation and/or discounting be provided.

(signature not to be posted publicly)
******* *****
CondoLux - VP / Director of Operations

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I read the complaint and disagree with several things in it. I have tried to contact the company including the director of operations who wrote the response and the director of guest services several times since reading the response. I emailed and telephoned both and left messages. I did not receive any phone calls or return messages. I was told I had until the 15th to contact them and tried several times throughout the weekend and on the 15th (at several times throughout the day). I was never offered anything by the company - EVER! The email I received on Aug. 28 was an email sent to everyone on Condolux's email list. It was not a compensation offer to me. I have never had a returned phone call or email from the company since I left SC.
We did not agree to terms at checkout because I asked to speak to someone about our experience and was just handed a card with the VP's info on it to call after we returned home. ******* ****** never opened the discussion of terms of monetary compensation. Again, these are all lies.
Perhaps someone was told about the roaches on several occasions but we had no way of knowing that since we were never informed. We called, we waited, and waited and waited until Thursday. We also had no way of knowing that things were looked at at the condo because we weren't told that until a maintenance person arrived several days later. The tacks were still in the floor sticking up, the futon was still broken, and our bathroom light still not functioning correctly. As for the bugs which Mr. ***** chooses to call Palmetto bugs - they are roaches. I had to look up what a palmetto bug even was - a roach. A roach by a pretty name is still a roach. We called on Monday because I thought I would get a call sooner from a manager but when I didn't, I called and reported them. Not having the room sprayed until Thursday is unacceptable even if they can't do it themselves, they need to make sure it is done.
Mr. ***** also said I threatened to use internet complaint forums before I left. The only one I threatened to use was trip advisor. I had no intentions of contacting the better business bureau until every effort was ignored. Trip advisor only can be used against the condominium which I don't have a complaint against Cherry Grove Villas but Condolux Realty because of their negligence. There are some reviews on Trip Advisor that deal specifically with Condolux and they had similar experiences to mine. Roaches, lack of items required for day to day cooking/eating, etc. My hope is that the company will take these complaints seriously and improve their units or that others will be warned and not book through Condolux.

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a maintenance problem with house. Called multiple times to fixed.All calls/emails to manager have went unanswered after the first response I got.
First night at rental house (sat) a toilet backed up/overflowed upstairs and leaked through ceiling into kitchen/dining rooms. We had no,choice late Saturday night but to clean bathroom and kitchen/dining area. Luckily we had brought Clorox wipes and used those up cleaning downstairs sewage mess. Called after hours maintains sat night and after calling again Sunday afternoon got someone out there. They of course looked and said everything seemed to be fine. Used that toilet only a couple times in next few days and leaked downstairs every time after toilet was flushed. Called maintenance again and they came out Thursday afternoon and actually fixed the issue this time. During this whole time I received one email from the guest service manager, ******* ******, in which he said he'd have housekeeping come Tuesday and Thursday as well as a $120 credit for our troubles. Neither of these things happened. He also stated the problem could not have been predicted...not true. It was very evident on the ceiling that water issues had been present in the past. Obviously it was never fixed properly. Besides the plumbing issue, which is pretty major, there were numerous other problems. The outside deck lights did not work, pool lights didn't work (my husband whose an electrician got those working for us), outside outlets didn't work- wanted to plug in a radio, overall cleanliness of the house was just ok-no deep cleaning was done. Dust and dirt behind and under furniture, no batteries in TV remotes. Hot tub and pool both dirty. Hot tub drained all day Tuesday and sat empty til Wednesday morning when it got filled, which gave us very little water pressure in house. This isn't something we expected for a house we paid $3000 for the week to rent, let alone the horrible customer service. You'd think we''d actually get to talk to someone at least by phone about this but no, just the one email. My family and I are not satisfied customers.

Desired Settlement
We would appreciate a full or at least partial refund for our in convenience and lack of communication and neglect by the guest service manager. Once again, we didn't pay $3000 to have toilet water leak into the downstairs of the house when they could and should have fixed the problem right the first time. They should definitely fix the issue now before it happens to more families. I still have the photos to prove the water issue had happened before our visit.

Business Response
Mrs. ****** initiated email interaction with the the CondoLux Director of Guest Services, ******* ******, directly after contacting our after hours emergency services, regarding the issue of an overflowing toilet. Plumbing services were sent accordingly and reported/corrected a "user error overflow, caused by a clog in the line" to functional order. Mrs. ****** requested a return call by Mr. ******, which was attempted twice to no avail. In an effort to make certain to contact with Mrs. ******, Mr. ****** then emailed Mrs. ****** to apologize for the inconvenience of the occurrence and to address any outstanding issues accordingly. Mr ****** also offered additional complementary housekeeping services during their stay, as well as a $120 compensatory refund for the inconvenience of only four out of five bathrooms located throughout the beach house. Mrs. ****** refused to accept the compensation and additional services offered, along with a refusal to sign a compensation release agreement. Though we understand the impact of temporary amenity inconveniences, all issues were addressed in a timely manner and no additional compensation was authorized beyond Mr. ******'s proposal. In keeping with CondoLux policies and procedures, no monetary compensation is issued upon refusal by guests.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since when is normal use of a toilet considered "user error". It's not like a toilet is a difficult item to operate, you simply go to the bathroom and flush. The issue of water leaking through to the kitchen was never addressed? That was a major part of this incident as well. Plumbers did come, after I had to make a second phone call Sunday afternoon because no one had shown up yet. I would think an overflowing toilet leaking into the kitchen would be up on the priority list of houses to visit first. The toilet leaked though the ceiling into the dining/kitchen the 2 times we used it after the plumbers returned it to "functional order". This doesn't qualify as "corrected" to me. After the 2nd timed we used that toilet and the leaking occurred, I made another call to maintenance. This was on Thursday morning, and maintenance came out again Thursday afternoon and did a more thorough job/inspection of the issue and from that point it was "fixed correctly". But as stated before, the leak in the ceiling is evident to me that other families dealt with the same issues we had and CondoLux did a poor job of fixing it correctly the first time.

I deny Mr. ******* attempts at calling me and was unable to reach me. I made sure to have my phone with me because I was hoping someone from CondoLux would contact me by phone so I could actually talk to someone. And as for the refund/maid service that was offered, no where in that email did it state that I had to accept or refuse these items. And never heard of the "compensation release agreement", I was never told I had to sign this so how can there be a refusual? I never stated that we didn't want the refund or maid service in my response. I have copies of all emails I've sent along with the 1 response I got from Mr. ******. I'd also like to state that once we were home from vacation I attempted to contact Mr. ****** again. I sent a final email on Sept. 11 and of course this went unanswered as well. It is disappointing that CondoLux is choosing to support the lack of communication and support that their guest service manager Mr. ****** provided my family and I.

I would hope that CondoLux at least looks into the plumbing issue in the Emerald Dunes house and makes sure it is fixed CORRECTLY so that no other families has to have their vacations ruined.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ocean Bay.#xxx,4/05/XXXX-X/13/2014. 8 days, $1471.68. It never should have been rented due to health and safety issues. Total refund requested.
Ocean Bay Club Issues, 105 Ocean Drive, N. Myrtle Beach. unit ***** 4/05/XXXX-X/13/2014. 8 days at $1471.68 Credit card payment. Reservation #XXXXXX
Dishes were found to be dirty and the coffee maker was disgusting with old coffee grounds still in the basket. On arrival one bed was only partially made and the master bed did not have a mattress pad. This 4 Bedroom is supposed to be equipped for 10 people to stay in unit, but Kitchen had 2 wine glasses, 5 forks and 5 knives. Cookware was rusty and not usable. Uncovered GFCI outlet on patio bare wires showing. (SAFETY ISSUE) SMOKE DETECTORS: Only one tested properly. 2 had batteries half inserted and appeared to been pulled out due to beeping. One detector had no batteries. (SAFETY ISSUE). No stopper in left master bathroom sink.
Faucet in master bath shower had minimal flow and we used another shower in hall bath.
Kitchen wallpaper was peeling in several places.
Paint peeling in Master shower ceiling.
Lamp shade in 2nd bedroom torn.
Vacuum cleaner does not work.
Kitchen counter top and back splash loose and wet. Recommend checking for mold. (HEALTH issue).
We were interrupted numerous times for repair work in the unit which should have been done before renting. At one point I told the kitchen counter top repair man he would have to wait as we were entertaining at that time. We were entertaining external construction people who were working on the balconies which were not usable during our stay. The sliding door, which have lost their seals years ago, did not have a lock, so when we were out anyone with access to the balconies could enter. We were not informed of the construction process before entering the unit.
Clothes dryer was not vented properly. condensation from dryer created a puddle on floor which is a slipping danger
We called CondoLux several times when we should have been enjoying our stay. Twice we were told we would be compensated for the disgusting conditions and interruptions. No calls back with promised compensation. We have stayed with CondoLux for 10 years. NO MORE. Most of the concerns were corrected with interruptions. We had added any extra night about a month ago, without a discount. But we left one day earlier due to all the problems. Our contact people were Sherrie Watson and Mr. *******. Ms. ****** called back twice with a hint of compensation after speaking with Mr. *******, who never returned his promised calls.
**** and ******* **** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
TOTAL REFUND because of safety, health and construction issues. This unit was in no condition to be rented due to the previously listed conditions. We are senior citizens who never had any trouble sleeping until we went on vacation???

Business Response
Guest checked in on Saturday at 3:00. Initially complained the the unit did not have a 4th bathroom. Informed me that every 4 bedroom that he has ever stayed in had a 4th bath and he wished to be moved. I informed guest that this was not the case with this unit and that I was sorry he was initially dis-satisfied that we had no other 4 bedroom units available since it was Easter week starting on Saturday the 12th and his reservation lasted until the 13th of April which Mr. **** was not satisfied by my explanation.

After this conversation Mr. **** called back and put in 3 work orders within a 45 minute time frame. Each one was resolved with an hour. I had one of my reservationists explain to him that we do not provide dish towels as stated per the contract that was emailed to Mr. ****. He was upset that a twin spread was missing which was removed from the unit that morning to be dry cleaned due to previous guest damage. Mr. **** was offered a loner spread but was adamant that the original one be brought back immediately.

On Monday the next day that we were open, Mr. **** again put in 3 new work orders which ranged from new dishes to bath fan making a noise. Our employees went out fixed the noise, replaced all smoke detectors, and fixed light bulbs that were requested by Mr. ****. Also our housekeeping department went to Walmart and purchased new wine glasses as well a "juice" glasses requested by Mr. ****. There were already cups in the unit but they were not "juice" glasses so we went out and purchased. Also Mr. **** stated there was no king mattress pad on his bed, as it had been removed and a new one had been ordered. Instead of waiting on the arrival of the new one we went to Walmart again and purchased a King Mattress pad for Mr. **** and it was placed in unit on the same day of his complaint.

On the 9th of April Mr **** called again to inform us the sink sprayer was not working. Our maintenance staff went out and determined the sprayer was malfunctioning and we had to order a new part. This was the one complaint that we were unable to fix immediately due to having parts not in stock.

On the 11th of April Mr. **** again called and said that the backsplash of the unit was coming off. Our staff went out again to the unit and Mr. ****'s wife told our staff that they did not want it fixed and could "care less about it being fixed."

Mr. **** repeatedly complained daily from the 8th until his departure on the 13th. Upon his departure he brought the frying pan that was complained about and slammed it on our front counter. He has continued to pursue reimbursement but we feel that it is not warranted due to every issue that he had was handled extremely promptly. Even issue he just wanted to complain about to have our staff come out to the unit we handled promptly.

Mr. **** contacted our office again that he has called the better business bureau, as well as with the health department. After this notice communication has stopped and we are going through BBB to resolve the issue accordingly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Sirs:
Now Condolux are liars too. My comment was on the bathrooms in the unit. Only one private bath, not about 4 baths. We only had 2 couples in the unit. We had no need for 4 baths. My bad on dish towels.
No one came to address sprayer or back splash issues. We called about the bed not completely made, not needing the original bed spread immediately. Ridiculous!!!
Below are the 13 items not addressed or corrected. We have pictures of all concerns if needed.
On arrival one bed was only partially made (NOT resolved)
Dishes were found to be dirty and the coffee maker was disgusting with old coffee grounds still in the basket. (NOT resolved)
Light cover was missing in the entry way. (NOT resolved)
Patio was totally unusable, very dirty and under construction. No lock on patio door (NOT resolved)
Uncovered GFCI outlet on patio bare wires showing (NOT resolved)
Faucet in master bath shower had minimal flow and we used hall shower. (NOT resolved)
Kitchen wallpaper was peeling in several places. Paint peeling in Master shower ceiling (NOT resolved)
Lamp shade in 2nd bedroom torn to pieces (NOT resolved)
Vacuum cleaner does no work (NOT resolved)
Kitchen counter top and back splash loose and wet. Possible MOLD. HEALTH concern (NOT resolved)
We were interrupted numerous times for repair work. At one point I told the kitchen counter top repair man (ON THE PHONE) he would have to wait as we were entertaining at that time (NOT resolved)
Clothes dryer was not vented properly. Condensation from dryer created a puddle on floor which is a slipping danger (NOT resolved)
We called CondoLux several times when we should have been enjoying our stay. Twice we were told we would be compensated for the disgusting conditions and interruptions. No calls back with compensation. We have stayed with CondoLux for 10 years. NO MORE. Most of the concerns were corrected with interruptions. We left one day earlier due to all the problems. (NOT resolved) **** and ******* **** XXX-XXX-XXXX




Final Business Response
CondoLux stands behind the original response posted. In keeping with our standard company policies and procedures, all legitimate issues in need of correction were done accordingly and in a timely manner. No retractions nor compensation considerations will be made regarding Mr. ****'s claims/demands.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We will end our 12 year relation with Condolux because of such poor customer relations. It is hard to believe they could stay in business with such poor rental units.
**** ****

07/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received incorrect keys, dryer did not work and water pipes above our condo burst.
Some of my family members and I rented a four bedroom condo, room **** at Ocean Bay Club through Condolux for. We were so excited because we had never vacationed together. I arrived at the Condolux office around 3:20 p.m. on Saturday, June 15, 2013 to check in. Received four keys; three of them did not work. It took two hours to get our things to the unit because check in is at 3:00 on Saturday and everyone was trying to get their luggage and other belongings to their condos at the same time so the elevators were constantly jam packed. I stopped by the office on Sunday at 10:30 a.m. to exchange the keys, but the doors were chained. I exchanged them Monday morning. Monday evening we tried to do some laundry only to find out the dryer didn't work. I called the Condolux office Tuesday; they sent a maintenance guy over. He said that the dryer couldn't be fixed he would have to bring another one. He brought it Wednesday, but the vent hose wasn't the right size and he never returned with the right size. My brother and I went to Home Depot that evening and bought one and replaced it. Thursday morning we were awakened by maintenance inquiring of any leaks in our unit. The floor was covered with water. A waterline above our unit had busted. We were moved to another condo. Both units in that building were empty and there were dead bugs laying around inside and outside which made us think that it was empty because it had been fumigated. I spoke with the maintenance manager and he said that it had not been fumigated since April. This same person offered to give us a $200 refund and 10% off our next booking with them. My family members are so disappointed that they have told me that they are planning to attach the Condolux website to their facebook accounts with the complaints and ask their facebook friends to do the same.

Desired Settlement
We would like a refund of the $2,453.92 and 20% off of our next stay at Myrtle Beach in a condo or a beach house that is well maintained so that we may be able to relax and enjoy our vacation.

Business Response
Mrs. ***** occupied a unit during the time frame 6/15 - 6/22. Her party checked in at 3:20 and proceeded to her property. It is an unfortunate incident with the elevators however we do not manage the building and the elevator situation is out of our control. Mrs. ***** reported the dryer not working on 6/17 and a new one was installed on 6/18. Due to unforeseen problems with the dryer we proceeded to replace the whole appliance rather than order the part to fix the dryer which would have delayed the appliance to be back functioning for Mrs. *****. On 6/20 a unit in Ocean Bay Club, on the floor above the unit Mrs. ***** stayed in, had a pipe burst which caused water to leak down into her unit. We immediately responded with moving Mrs. ***** to a private ocean front house instead of having her stay in the unit while we extracted water and repaired the ceiling. Mrs ***** agreed to the move and the upgrade was made at the expense of CondoLux with no extra charge to Mrs. ***** party. Upon relocation Mrs. ***** called to report that her party was not happy with the fact that she had to be moved to another unit. She mentioned that she found bugs in the new unit and inquired if the house had been sprayed for bugs. Upon reviewing the file the last record CondoLux had on the house being sprayed was at the end of April. She never requested to have housekeeping come out and clean while on the phone with management. While on the phone with Mrs. ***** she was offered 20% off her next vacation with CondoLux for the inconveniences that she experienced with the dryer and the pipe bursting.(all unforeseen problems) She stated that the discount was not sufficient and she was notified that she would have another option shortly for her. Mrs ***** was then contacted with the option of $200 refund on her credit card as well as 10% off her next stay. Mrs. ***** asked why she would no longer be receiving 20% off and she was informed that with immediate reimbursement on her credit card we would only be able to offer her 10% off her next stay. Mrs ***** agreed to the offer and her credit card was refunded on 6/20 for the amount of $200. On 6/24 Mrs. ***** contacted CondoLux saying she felt that $200 dollar refund was now insufficient due to the fact that they had ten people in their party and they split it evenly for 20 dollars each. Mrs ***** stated that she willingly accepted the terms that we offered to her on 6/20 but now she thought she deserved more and that she would be contacting the BBB.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I was given the offer of a $200 refund and 10% off our next stay, I was advised that that was the best that Condolux could do to rectify the situation. When I spoke with the manager at Condolux on June 24th, 2013, I said something to the effect that they would be reimbursed for the cost of that condo for that week by the insurance company. He did not deny that they would be. My family and I are the ones that endured the losses of our time and our relaxation. The business should not receive double payment for the condo. The company should be required to reimbursed us the amount that we paid for the condo for that week minus the $200 that was refunded.

10/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being charged for alleged damage to wall in condo rental.
I rented a condo from a company named condolux from 8/31/2012 till 9/3/2012. I arrived after hours and the company did not provide the correct keys to enter the property. It took 5 hours to receive the correct keys and enter the property. I had to report several maintenance issues to the owners. For example, some of the screens were missing to the patio doors, pieces were missing from the verticle blinds, kitchen drawer was broken on one side, cable wire was missing from the television, some of the light fixtures were not operable, one of the patio doors came off the hinges and almost fell on one of the guests. The company credited me back one night for the entry mishap. After check out, we inspected and took pictures to validate the condition of the condo after our check out. On 9/5, I checked my account and noticed I had a charge from condolux. After speaking with the owners, I learned they were charging me for a hole in the wall. This damage is not shown in our pictures. Condolux is planning to send a picture of the damage.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to return the $120.00 back to my checking account.

Business' Initial Response
The unit, xxxxx was painted in the days just prior to xxxxx's arrival. Upon her departure on September 3, 2012 the unit was inspected by CondoLux staff and the damage to the corner of a curved wall in the entryway was found. A photo of this damage has been sent to the guests email address, xxxxxxx@yahoo.com. Due to the cost of repairs in the amount of $120.00 that CondoLux incurred because of the damage made by this guest, no refund is due.

Consumer's Final Response
I am not happy with the response. I disagree with the response of hitting the wall repeatedly and not being aware. The damage was to corner of a wall, and you would feel the corner of the wall. I am not sure of how the damage occurred, but it was not present prior to our departure. I would like the company to refund the $120.00 they charged my checking account.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals, Golf Packages, Real Estate, Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.