BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Map Destinations, LLC

Phone: (843) 712-2469Fax: (843) 712-2680

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

40 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues11
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service17
Total Closed Complaints40

Additional Complaint Information

It has come to the attention of the BBB of Coastal Carolina that the company is requesting its customers to withdraw complaints filed through the BBB or the company will not resolve the complaint. The BBB does not withdraw complaints when customers are intimidated by the company to do so.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (40)
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not told this was a lifetime commitment. Did not receive what promised. Stated I wanted to decline future membership. Harassed by payment comp.
I went to a presentation of this organization. in May 2012. I was told I won two vacations and would receive a copy of the contract and a booklet about the vacations in 45 days. Was told that if I did not get satisfactory vacations from my membership I could decline to have a future membership. I was NEVER told I was taking out a lifetime membership and I would not be able to cancel this membership ever. Over the past two weeks I have been called numerous times by ******* ****
** ***** **** **
Asheville, NC XXXXX. I have been threatened and told I have to pay or a penalty of an extra $250 will be assessed to my membership and that this will continue to be added repeatedly. I asked for a phone number to call to get in touch with Map Destinations or an address to write to and was told that this was not available by ******* ***** When I said I would report the company to the BBB and the Attorney General the phone was slammed down. As a senior citizen I do not make lifetime commitments. I do not have retirement money to spend this way. But above all I have no copy of a contract and I feel that this company is a scam.
Thank you for helping me. All I want to do is cancel my membership.

Desired Settlement
aq cancelled membership and an end to the harassment by ****** of ******* *****

Business Response
Thank you for notifying us about member's situation. Unfortunately, we were not aware of ANY circumstances or frustrations by the member.
They purchased their membership in May of 2013. We sent their Welcome Letter and all pertinent activation information on 5/10/14 and have not heard anything from them since. We would have no way of knowing there was a circumstance, unless they notified us directly; as their fulfillment company (RSI) would handle all of their travel quotes and reservations directly.
In any event, their contract fully discloses they purchased a lifetime membership product, however; they can certainly choose to "opt out" and not pay their annual dues and freeze the program at any time.
As the member has expressed a difficulty in exercising their option to suspend, we have notified RSI on their behalf. The suspension request will be processed in 7-10 business days. Once that is done, there should be no more collection phone calls. If the member experiences any further circumstance, we urge them to notify us directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept it as long as I do not get any more harassment and demands to pay. Which they say I won't.

06/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It appears that Map Destinations has completely misrepresented themselves and their service (i.e., lied!) in their sales presentation.
On April 30, 2013, I purchased a vacation package with Map Destinations during my stay in Myrtle Beach. I paid $3,995.00 for the package, including a $299.00 administrative fee. This package, I was promised, would allow me two free weeks a year (the silver package, versus the 4-week Gold package for nearly $6,000.00)...as long as I maintained membership fees of $199.00 per year. In addition to this, I was promised unlimited discounted condos, with most falling within the $200.00 price range.

When I received access to their website, I was soon disappointed by both the lack of availability and prices. They claimed in their sales presentation to have better availability (and prices) than RCI, and this is simply NOT TRUE. During the sales presentation, I asked to view the website, and the director of sales, Matt Payne, started to pull up the site...only to later claim that he was unable to do so at that moment (which I now experience as suspicious).

On May 24, after attempting to make a reservation and later learning that the website is NOT reliable, I was eventually contacted by a reservation consultant who informed me that she was not aware of any packages that included 'condo weeks,' that condos were only available 'for purchase' at the supposed? discounted rates. She stated that she could get me in a two bedroom condo (at a different location) for $1,499.00!?! Again, the availability stated via the website was inaccurate, and when I researched later that day...availability was next to null in the area I was hoping to travel.

I immediately contacted the sales office, that very same day, in the attempt to resolve my growing concerns, and I expressed via several voice messages that I was growing extremely leery and feared that I may have been misled (i.e., lied to!) in the sales presentation. (I believe the saleswoman's name was Doris...she had short blonde hair and is approximately 60-65 years old). The sales representative promised me(and I had a witness with me that day who sat with me and who also heard this promise and/or lie!)that I would be receiving 2 free weeks a year.

I also contacted Matt Payne, this very day, via his personal cell, and I asked via a message that he please call me back and reassure me that I have not been taken. I again attempted to make contact today and left two additional messages, one with the sales office and one via Matt Payne's personal cell. In spite of the fact that I have practically begged to simply be 'reassured,' I have heard nothing!

Besides the fact that the website and services are not what was promised, this intentional lie is unconscionable and by far exceeds what is acceptable by law; simply put, it's fraud!

And while I am hoping beyond all hope that I am wrong and that someone from Map Destinations will have the courtesy to contact me and reassure me, I am growing more concerned by the moment and do not want to allow too much time to go by without taking action. And now, after reading some of the complaints made by others, I am even more concerned...i.e., more than leery!

Map Destinations, if legitimate and held to legitimate/ethical business practices, are required by law to represent themselves (i.e., their services) honestly! If I have been promised something that is not available (i.e., if I have been lied to by a representative of this company), I am entitled to a full refund! If the reservation consult has made a mistake and is somehow simply unaware of how the packages work (i.e., that I have purchased 2 free weeks)...and if Map Destination's lack of response to my concern is merely an oversight on their part(perhaps Matt Payne has lost his cell phone 'and' the sales office is experiencing technical difficulties?), then I will be more than happy to apologize and withdraw this complaint!

If not, I expect a full refund of the money I paid to this company (i.e., $4,294.00), in that Map Destinations is not willing to provide the service I was sold!

Desired Settlement
I have NOT benefited from this service, nor have I been able to use this service, especially since the service I was sold is NOT available. Therefore, Map Destinations cannot expect that their "binding, no cancellation" policy should be upheld when they themselves are not willing to uphold the promises they have made in order to 'make a sale.' In fact, if the service is in all actuality legitimate and beneficial to consumers, this clause would not even be necessary! Why would anyone want to back out on a good thing? If a consumer asks for a refund AFTER benefiting from the use of a service, even if he or she claims that the service wasn't 'good enough.' I have not used the serviced...AND I WAS LIED TO ABOUT WHAT THIS SERVICE ENTAILED!Where I may have been willing to 'settle' for low availability and not so discounted rates on the extra weeks/condos, I am not willing to be lied to and expected to pay for something other than what I was promised! This company IS expected to honestly relay its services and NOT allow a sales representative to throw in a lie in order to make a buck!

I expect a full refund of the money I paid to this company (i.e., $4,294.00), in that Map Destinations is not willing to provide the service that I was sold!

Business Response
Please be advised that Mrs. Hughes has confirmed that her filing was a result of her "misunderstanding" of the product and what benefits she actually purchased. Furthermore, the member acknowledges that MAP Destinations has not misrepresented nor defaulted in our products or services in any way. The member has agreed that the matter is closed and has been satisfactorily resolved.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any additional information.

Respectfully,

MAP Destinations


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Map Destinations had agreed to make a complete refund to me (i.e., $3,995.00). I acknowledge that I misunderstood the product and that the matter is resolved under the condition of this refund.

Thank You,

Kimberly Hughes

02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Program not working as promised. Owner will not respond to calls and request for refund.
On June 7, 2012 we purchased a vacation program from Map Destinations for $5,995. This was charged to my MasterCard. We were told we could get hotel rooms, condos and cruises for a better rate. We were guaranteed they would get a better rate than we could find. I attempted to get a hotel in xxxxx, Va for 9/21-23 and also 10/13 in xxxxx, PA. I was able to get both at a lower rate on my own. We tried to get a condo in Myrtle Beach for Nov. 17-24 and I was able to get a better rate on my own. We tried to book a cruise for 2/23-3/3/13 and we were able to get a better rate through Costco. The problems began in September and through multiple calls there has been no resolution and most often no call back. On October 20, 2012 after not getting return calls I went to the office in person. I spoke with xxxxx, the Director of Member Services. She listened to my issues and we scheduled a meeting with xxxxx (owner) for 10/26/12. xxxxx did not attend the meeting. Another owner stopped in, but did not stay and sat outside the office. We received an offer to have a senior agent work with us for 2-3 months and if not satisfied, they will refund our money. Since we booked all of our vacations without their help, 2-3 months would not help. They didn't provide the services promised since June. Requested refund now. xxxxx said xxxxxx would call us. October 30, 2012 xxxxx called to follow up. We still had not received a call from xxxxxx. October 31, 2012 Sam called Roseanne and left a voice mail message that he wanted to hear back from her. As of November 2, 2012 we can not get anyone from Map Destinations to return a call or address our problem.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund of $5,995 as Map Destinations failed to fulfill the contract.

Business' Initial Response
The inaccuracies and untrue comments in the client's complaint are difficult to address as their attitude and emotions are ever changing. We admit some shortfall, but have worked with the client to remedy every issue. However, it is our opinion the clients do not want a resolution as there is a new accusation or issue every time we solve the latest concern.
We have extensive call logs and time stamped client history data that absolutely proves MAP Destinations has contacted and spoken to the clients on a multitude of occasions trying to address their every need and concern. The client's timeline of events is grossly inaccurate. When clients came to the MAP Destinations office on 10/26/12 they were scheduled to meet with xxxxx for a live navigation class. ****** was not scheduled for this meeting as she had just returned home from a scheduled surgery. ****** was scheduled to be out of the office for 7 days for this recovery. As for the other owner mentioned who stopped by during the clients visit, another foul inaccuracy by the clients. The owner who popped into the office during the clients meeting wasn't aware xxxxx had clients in her office at the time. I am that owner. When I entered the office, I introduced myself and offered assistance to xxxxxx and the clients once we could gather "ALL" of their concerns and issues and ensured them we would find resolution once we had "ALL" the information. I kindly dismissed myself as I had a business appointment waiting. The clients claims that I sat outside the office or stood outside xxxxxx's office eaves dropping is nothing short of comical and simply provides another example of diversion and topic switching we have been dealing with for some time.
Lastly, the clients called MAP on 11/1/12 and spoke to a MAP associate. Clients requested a call back, but emphatically stated not to return their call that evening, as they were attending a dinner party. ****** did call on 11/1/12 to leave a message saying she had received their message and would call them back on Friday 11/2/12 per their instruction. ****** called on 11/2/12 and spoke to Mr. for over an hour. ****** offered another resolution that Mr. ****** agreed to discuss with his wife. ****** was traveling on 11/3/12 and our offices are closed Sunday and Monday, therefore they agreed to speak again on Tuesday 11/6/12. Mr. was pleasant and appeared to be pleased. This was a solid commitment from Mr. without a doubt to speak again on 11/6/12. We at MAP were looking forward to a happy resolution.
Despite our offer and absolute appointment for follow up on Tuesday 11/6/12 and much to our shock, surprise and dismay, the clients proceeded with a BBB complaint and an Attorney General complaint which were filed on 11/2/12. We kept our promise and called the ******'s 3 times on 11/6/12 with no return call.
We are happy to assist and reasonably solve the client's issues based on the product that was purchased and contractually defined. However, truth, consistency and opportunity to do so are minimum requirements.

Consumer's Final Response
Dear Mr. xxxxxx,

We would like to thank you again for all of your work on our case with Map Destinations. We did receive the check from Map Destinations per the agreement.

Have a Blessed Day,
xxxxxx and ****** ******

Business' Final Response
I will mail agreed amount refund to her tomorrow.

06/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business called the consumer and requested that the consumer come to a sales presentation and promised a weekend getaway, gifts and dinner tickets were offered. The business promised that the consumer would save money through the program or they would refund the difference. The consumer stated that they believe that the business has targeted them because they are seniors and made promises that are unable to be kept. The consumer signed a contract with the business in January 16, 2013. They were billed a little under $5000 and were told to place it on a credit card with no interest. The consumer stated that it was a high pressure sales technique and they attempted within days to immediately rescind the contract due to medical reasons. The consumers husband has dementia. The consumer called the business repeatedly and also made trips to the business. The business did not return their calls and refused to cancel. The consumer has not utilized the service and would like to cancel the contract. The consumer has still gone back to the business and the sign that displayed the business name has been covered on the door and replaced with Grand Crown Resort.

Desired Settlement
The consumer would like the $4794.00 return.

Business Response
Unfortunately, the consumer is untruthful and un-factual in their representation of occurrences.

They attended a Sales Presentation in January 2013 and received an incentive (corporate check) and (2) dining Gift Cards for their time spent learning about the travel program. There was no obligation to purchase anything. Please note, if a guest chooses to become a member of the program through their own free will and choice, they have several options to choose from. Price points vary, depending on the clients stated travel needs and preferences. In this particular case, the client opted for one of our most comprehensive programs.

The client also opted to purchase their membership through credit services applying for a credit card. All terms and conditions were clearly stated and written, which were agreed to (authorized) signed and approved by the consumer. Consumer is in possession of all signed documents as referenced.

We have spoken with the consumer multiple times and have made several suggestions and attempts to assist, but with no success. The consumer initially contacted our office a month after purchase, siting that due to personal circumstance, they did not wish to keep their membership. Although we spent a considerable amount of time making suggestions for possible options, the consumer wanted to hear nothing less than a full refund. As we explained, and was disclosed in full, initial, signed and approved at time of purchase, there is no refund on the membership once purchased. That is why we spend an exorbitant amount of time at point of sale, asking multiple times prior to purchase, that the consumer is "sure" that they would like to proceed with the purchase, understanding that there is no cancellation or refunds. The consumer in this case, fully agreed and accepted those terms and chose to move forward with the purchase at that time.

Later, on 4/13/13, the member made fictitious claims to merchant services. Those claims were dismissed and ruled to be unfounded. All documents had full disclosure and were approved accordingly by the consumer at time of purchase.

Five months later, on 9/13/13, the member showed up at our office unannounced. We quickly obliged, and spent over an hour with the member.. again trying to support, but to no avail. We did provide some suggestions on other ways to utilize the program, or perhaps earn back some income through their travel investment - but we were told at that time, very clearly, that if we did not give them a full refund, they would have to proceed with finding other means to get the money back.

Finally, please understand that both the products and services are very much available and ready for the consumer to use as sold. In checking with their fulfillment company, they have not made one attempt to contact, inquire or request a quote or travel to date. There are multiple other programs and saving opportunities available to the members, including discounts and options with other travel partners like Grand Crowne resorts.. but the member may not be "up to date" with such offers due to their choice to be a non-participating party in the well being of their membership program.

We will note that the consumer has every right to "suspend" the program if they choose; and of course, not to travel for whatever reason. In doing so, they can opt to be released from any current annual dues obligations. Basically, the membership becomes"frozen"; until such time at the member's discretion, they choose to reactivate - and bring it current.

In closing, the member purchased the program, and has chosen not to use it and would like a refund. There is no refund on a product purchase of this type which was clearly disclosed, signed and approved by the consumer at the time of purchase. Our company has not defaulted on any services or product as initially sold and agreed upon as outlined in the executed contract.

We respectfully hope this overview provides a better understanding of circumstance.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can provide additional information.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My husband was solicited via telephone call, (although we are on a do-not-call list) to attend a sales presentation on a Travel program on January 16, 2013.

My husband suffers from dementia and seven herniated discs from a previous fall.

The presentation, to mostly seniors, was interesting and fast faced, as was the sales pitch. We feel that Map Destinations is targeting the Senior Citizen population.

Several days after the program I repeatedly called the office of Map Destinations. They refused to return my phone calls. Although Myrtle Beach is a considerable distance from our residence, I drove to the office only to be told no one was available to see me. This happened on two occasions. On February 26, 2013 I finally met with ******* ***** a relatively new employee. The meeting was quite short. She informed me that management would review the matter and get back to me. I have never been contacted by them since this meeting took place. To my knowledge I never made any fictitious claims. They did suggest I take advantage of 0% interest on bank cards by transferring balances from card to card to pay the membership fee.

We have not used any services from Map Destinations and still have the original dinner cards and photo coupons from the promotional seminar package. There was no weekend getaway package offered at the promotional seminar. The business was untruthful in stating that we applied for a credit card to pay for the product.

We would like our money returned as soon as possible. I plan to write the Attorney General's office of North and South Carolina and the office of Consumer Protection Services if this matter is not resolved to our satisfaction.

12/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told we could receive two weeks a year at certain prices with no black out dates. Have called multiple times to reserve and never available.
We went to a MAPS Destination presentation in May of 2012 and were were told that we could get two weeks of vacation times at a certain price range and that there were no black out dates. However, we have called multiple times in to make a reservation for a hotel and that rates never matched what existed and that rates on expedia.com were lower or calling the hotel directly were lower than what maps destinations advertised that they were the lower price. When talking with a reservations specialist what we were told concerning this is that they can't guarantee that they are the lowest price. If that is the case, then the sales presentation was completely misleading and did not represent the actual product correctly.

Desired Settlement
I would like the amount that we paid for this refunded to us as it was placed onto our MasterCard and that product never has lived up to the presentation that was provided and is 100% misleading.

Business Response
Since 2012, this member has never contacted our office with a concern or a complaint. This filing is the first we are hearing from this member. Unfortunately, the member must be a willing and active participant in the well-being and understanding of their membership. We called and left a message on 5/23/12 welcoming member, and inviting them to a tutorial class to ensure they had all the tools to properly use and maximize all of the benefits at their disposal. Unfortunately, they chose not to attend or respond to our goal to service and support them. Additionally, pursuant to the terms of the contract they accepted and agreed to, we can and will fulfill as promised. There is no wrong-doing on our behalf and it sounds as though they are confused on the overall product. We do not have blackout dates, and we do offer a price-match guarantee. We are here and happy to assist this member should they choose to accept our support, guidance and usage of the product under the terms and conditions which they purchased.

Final Consumer Response
I still have never received a response from Maps Destinations. Someone has pretended to be myself and said that they have received notification that the account would be closed.

This is not the case as I have not received any further information regarding this complaint.

07/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
map destination intentionally mislead us in regards to our vacations oppositions.we where lead to believe that our vacation opposition would be very broad.when in actuality they are very limited.in regards to dates places and destinations,we have tried numerous times to book something .but not available.the cost was $5000.00 for the membership.and truly fill we have been mislead.

Desired Settlement
would like the money refunded .i have been very upset for over a year about the matter .please let me know what i need to do to resolve this .we purchased this vacation in good faith. thank you *******

Business Response
Our records indicate that the ********'s have used and traveled successfully through their membership. However, in reviewing their concerns, we believe the ********'s must have a reasonable expectation of service performance. As we must work within the confines of availability within the travel industry, we can only deliver what is available. We do not have black out dates, but we do have to work within the parameters of availability at the time of request. Peak season requests and condo inventory must be secured when, and if, available in a particular region. We also have extensively reviewed all options readily available to them through their membership. Additionally, we offered a navigational/tutorial to provide them with a better understanding of how to use their products and services. Unfortunately, the members declined. We are ready and willing to ensure they continue to receive support on all future travel needs and membership benefits as purchased, reviewed and agreed upon.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
IN REGARDS TO THE COMMENT FROM MAP DESTINATIONS IN MYRTLE BEACH, SC. YES WE DID TRAVEL ONE TIME WHEN WE FIRST PURCHASED THE TRAVEL PACKAGE.THE HOTEL WAS BELOW STANDARDS FOR THE SURROUNDING AREA. THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE .WE ATE OUT AT OTHER RESTAURANTS MOST OF THE STAY.WE HAVE TRIED REPEATEDLY TO BOOK THE GREAT CONDO DEALS THAT FIT OUR SCHEDULE AND AREA WE LIKE TO STAY.THEY HAVE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO ACCOMMODATE US,AT THE PRICE WE WERE PROMISED IN OUR CONTRACT.WE HAVE FOLLOWED ALL THE DIRECTIONS IN USING THERE WEB SITE .AFTER MANY HOURS TO NO AVAIL WE GOT NO WHERE.WE WILL NOT BE SATISFIED UNTIL WE ARE FULLY REFUNDED THE MONEY WE SPENT FOR THE SO CALLED GREAT DEALS.AS TO READING THE OTHER BBB COMPLAINTS IT SEEMS THEY FEEL AND SAID THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AGAIN .THIS WAS A SCAM ON TRAVELING . WE WILL PURSUE THIS MATTER RELENTLESSLY FOR A REFUND. I HAVE CALLED TO TRY AND TALK TO THE OWNERS LEFT MESSAGES BUT NO ONE CALLS BACK. THANKS


Business Response
We are in receipt of the Harsell's follow-up complaint. There are pages and pages and pages of travel opportunities exactly as promised and detailed at the time of purchase. Our documents show exactly what was offered, signed and agreed upon by the ********'s. Our inventory and products readily published, show as proof.
In response to their hotel concern, although we are saddened to just now learn of their hotel dissatisfaction, it is important to keep in mind that due to the broad range of travel budgets for our members, just like any travel provider, we will always "publish" options for members, lower priced to higher end. It is the duty and obligation of the purchaser to research their selection to ensure it offers the amenities, services and standards they personally desire. 1 or 2 stars will present differently than a 4-star, etc. It is always recommended (and suggested) that the consumer researches reviews and investigates the surrounding area prior to making the reservation. Furthermore, we cannot be held liable for the food quality. In such circumstance, a guest may address directly with the hotel to procure assistance.
The discount condo stays are plentiful and one of our most popular features. Please remember, although we do not have blackout dates, the member's "timing" is important when choosing to make a reservation in a popular vacation destination. The website is a good guide to location availability, but we always recommend working directly with their fulfillment company travel expert who will have access to brand new inventory or last minute changes & additions as well! Sometimes, it is not the case of timing, but rather that an area they are looking in may be populated with standard hotels versus condo resort inventory. That is strictly out of our hands, as they have been made aware, we must work within the confines of what the travel industry has available. There are pages of great deals ranging in price from $199-$399 for a week under Value Getaways or an average of 30-70% off other condominium resort stays, depending. All items as promised are certainly available and will save them a great deal of money over the lifetime of their membership! In that Spirit, if the member uses as we've explained, we even offer a guarantee! We will note that Resort Condo Weekly Rates are usually Monday through Sunday, with an occasional Saturday to Saturday or Sunday to Sunday. It is our understanding that the member tried to reserve a mid-week condo reservation which unfortunately is not a viable Condo weekly rental option.
We have extended an invitation to meet and assist the member in a better understanding of the products and services, but have been turned down. We believe the member is using the website, but may not be pulling quotes and information as desired accurately or proficiently.
Another area of frustration for the members may be that they found a deal they wanted to pursue on our website, but the issue was that they were requesting a promotion from February that was clearly listed valid for specific March dates. Due to the fact that the members pre-booked their airfare, we were unable to book this specific promo for them as travel did not align. However, we did provide several additional options that were comparable to what they required. We will be happy to provide that documentation as follow-up if requested.

Finally, we would like the member to consider our offer to meet, or conference call, at their convenience to help them maximize their program. It is clear that they have used it, and...that it has and will continue to save them money. We believe that we can help if they are willing participants in the well-being of their membership program!

Respectfully,
MAP Destinations


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I HAVE READ MAP DESTINATIONS RESPONSE TO OUR COMPLAINT. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANY ONE.IT WAS MY IMPRESSION THAT WE COULD TRAVEL OUR OWN PLACE AND TIMES FOR A GREAT DEAL.WE TRIED THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET THE PLACE AND TIME WE WANTED . I HAD KNOW PROBLEM GETTING IT ON MY OWN.THE PRICE AND DATE WAS A LOT LESS .SO WHAT WOULD YOU DO?I DID TELL THE LADY AT MAP DESTINATIONS SPOKE TO ON TE PHONE.SEEMED SURPRISED ABOUT THE PRICE AND DATES . THAT THEY COULD NOT DO THAT. AS TO THE CONDO DEALS VERY LIMITED .ONLY IF YOU WANT TO TRAVEL TO MYRTLE BEACH, SC.WE LIVE ONLY 1hr.10 min AWAY .FROM THERE. I LIVE AT THE BEACH ALREADY .MY CLIENTS ASK ME IF I USED MY TRAVEL DEAL .I SAID KNOW THE WAS A SORE SUBJECT. AS TO READING THE OTHER BBB COMPLAINTS IT HAS LEFT A BAD FEELING IN MY HEART.WAS A BAD INVESTMENT ON TRAVEL COMPANY. TO CONTINUE TO WORK WITH THEM. THEY KNOW MY NAME AND PHONE NUMBER .SO IF THEY WOULD LIKE TO REIMBURSE FOR THE MEMBERSHIP FEE OF 4,995 .IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED YES I HAVE CALLED THEM A FEW TIME LEFT. MESSAGES.PS. IF YOU GOT BURNED WOULD YOU KEEP GOING INTO A FIRE. THANKS

05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Map Destinations extremely misleading in their 2 hr. presentation and have not followed through with what they promised for superior concierge service
We have attempted to work with Map Destinations and Reservation Services International and from the beginning when we signed the contract on 3/2/13. We contacted RSI as told and tried to have them plan a trip that was similar to one I had found and were told it was no problem. They contracted with that company. Weeks went by with promises to email suggestions. They sent at 10 day trip yet the one I was talking about was 57 days. I finally called Map Destinations and spoke with the office manager who began to help us out. She then contacted RSI and we went back and forth with our request of a similar trip without all the days at sea.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund of $3,000 for what we paid for the vacation club. We had a meeting in August, 2013 with one of the owners and the office manager. We were promised that the office manager would be our personal concierge! That never happened! We then had a phone conference with the same 2 people 2 weeks ago and were yelled at by the owner who was extremely rude! We were told this personal concierge service by the office manager were way beyond her scope and not possible even though in the meeting in Aug. she had offered it and told us we were the only clients she was doing this for. We still never saw a quote for the big trip we were looking for! I have since then expressed an interest in another trip and have emailed the office manager and owner this information as requested which was passed ** to RSI. They had told me a VIP member there would be handling it? We heard from RSI and she did not sound very VIP! We do not and should not have to be yelled at a word in by the owner! That was terrible!

Business Response
Unfortunately, we have made every attempt to work with and satisfy the *********'s travel requests. Part of the problem stems in their lack of understanding of the product they purchased. There are pages and pages of quotes, support responses, and attempts to service their account. There is also documentation from RSI, their fulfillment provider, stating the *********'s have not returned calls or followed up on information that has been provided to them. RSI is eager to continue to support and service their reasonable travel requests within the parameters of the program.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We tried to use them one last time after getting yelled at by the owner ******* who would not even let us talk and went on and on. We have full understanding of "their product" and it is a terrible product. Even reviews all over the internet sights say it is a scam and RSI services are horrible. We started working with RSI representative that was supposed to be a VIP representative on a trip we are planning for a month in March 2015 to Australia and New Zealand. After several communications with this person we realized she had never been there nor did she even know where places like ******, Australia were. We had to come up with an itinerary for her to work with! She didn't have any suggestions and they way she wrote emails and quotes were very unprofessional! This was a VIP person! We finally gave up and are currently working with an expert who is certified in Australia/New Zealand travel and has to visit often to keep her expert status up! When you are going to spend that kind of money why would you go with someone who knows nothing about the countries but has planned a few trips? Again we want our $3000.00 returned and have chosen for the BBB to advocate on our behalf since the owner of Map Destinations us so unreasonable!


Business Response
We are in receipt of the *********'s most recent response to the BBB. Unfortunately, we feel they are contorting the facts and information as provided in an attempt to justify claims. There was no "yelling" on our behalf, truly. We are disappointed by our numerous attempts of service, and exceptional efforts, without resolve. To be clear and concise, we will make a final attempt to address their BBB claims:
We have worked particularly hard on this member's "custom" requests, which were far beyond the normal scope of services they purchased. Our desire was to see the member partake in the program and begin to use the numerous benefits at their immediate disposal. Unfortunately, no matter how many times we have tried to explain the main features of their membership (and how to maximize their usage & travel savings) they continue to request extraordinary custom travel itineraries, which often times are itineraries negotiated by other specialized travel agencies with exclusivity pricing. In an attempt to go above and beyond in helping them to pursue comparative pricing and quotes, their fulfillment company (RSI) has 20+ pages of dialogue, quotes, and call history attempting to work with this client to their satisfaction. Locally, our office also has numerous pages of "history" detailing support the *********'s, without success.
With that being said, we have repeatedly reviewed the terms on the initial purchase which clearly states the terms and conditions of the purchase contract that the members clearly signed and agreed to. Specifically:
Item 8 specifies: Do you accept that the PRIMARY BENEFIT of membership is RSI's vast availability of weekly CONDOMINIUM RENTALS...etc. Member initialed, signed and agreed: YES
Item 9 specifies: Do you "understand" that additional travel benefits include deeply discounted wholesale offers derived from RSI's inside connections, etc. which are published regularly on MAP Destinations website and through e-mails to MAP Destinations members...
Member initialed, signed and agreed: YES

The bottom line is that the *********'s are not utilizing the program & services as contracted.
MAP Destinations/RSI is fully capable and willing to deliver the travel benefits as referenced in their initial purchase agreement.
Unfortunately, since their initial purchase, the *********'s have invested their time in finding a way "out" of the program, or contorting it to morph into specific & extensive custom travel beyond the realm of normal services, rather than finding a way to embrace and enjoy the many benefits and savings that are posted and readily available.
MAP has extended every good faith attempt to support the ********* family on all levels including:
1. "Multiple" upper-level management team members were assigned at the Main Travel Fulfillment site who conferenced with, offered quotes, provided travel suggestions and support to the *********'s on custom travel that was far beyond the terms of the purchase agreement in an effort to satisfy the members. (21-pages of history).

2. On-site meetings were held with the members that included the Client & Member Services Director and the Owner to review program specifics, provide tutorial/navigational training and even offer one-on-one product support. Quotes WERE offered with exceptional value and savings, but not taken advantage of by the member. Numerous hours were invested in an attempt to please the members, to no avail.
We will make mention that we take great care to ensure that all information is clearly explained at time of purchase, and we "verbally" review (as well as provide a written contractual document) detailing all policies and clear expectations of both our membership and the no cancellation or refund policy, which they signed and dated that they understood and accepted all. Our purpose is pure, to ensure there are no misunderstandings prior to finalizing any transaction. There are no hidden agendas, just the bottom-line.
We would be delighted (and welcome the opportunity) to fulfill travel for the *********'s as reviewed. We sincerely want to help them realize the value in their membership, and hope they will consider giving an honest attempt moving forward. We strongly stand by our products and services and believe if the *********'s used the program as designed, they would be pleasantly surprised and satisfied by the vast amount of travel opportunities and savings at their disposal!

Respectfully,
MAP Destinations

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading sales practices, Playing on ones emotions, Distractions during sales presentation by speaker.
Purchased a 2 year trail membership (acct#xxxxxxxx) from Map Destination on July 2, 2013 for $1000.00 from Sales rep.(Name)
During presentation we were given the impression that we would be receiving, significantly discounted condo stays (weekly up to $399) Premier stays( weekly up to $599) and discounted hotel stays (as low as $35 per night) with a "heads in beds" sales tactic. Oh and might I add that these hotels would be not your run down, don't know what your sleeping in hotels, it would be the upscale, Hilton, Sheraton, Westgate etc. There were also many distractions during presentation, by the speaker(do not remember his name)due to accusations against my husband, along with life stories to cause one to lose focus.
Before and after the presentation, we told our sales rep. Robin Wells that our only week of travel for our family was the week of July 4th, due to job. After presentation (Name) assured us that, that was not a problem, we would be able to vacation that week at Myrtle Beach with significantly discounted condo week "$399". (name)also said since you guys do short notice travels, this would be great for you. We would be able to come down to the beach every year for less than $399 and not have to worry about hunting down the deals, all we would have to do is call us and we will do all the work for you. We didn't think at the time that it was impossible, after all they got me into a condo for $389, the week of July 4th to attend the presentation . Now to only find out that we will have to keep a very close eye on their website to find a listing for a Myrtle Beach stay during that time, to even have any hopes of getting that kind of deal. Was not made aware during presentation that these would only be made available during certain times, mostly off peak, to pacific destinations(if it truly even exists then.)We were put under the impression that we would be able to travel on our schedule where ever WE chose.
We have made several attempts to take many vacations, to only find maybe a $10 a night discount. Including a Labor Day trip to Myrtle Beach..
We started working with (Name) on Monday July 15th on a Labor Day Myrtle Beach trip.Quoted on Wednesday July 17:( Copied and pasted from e-mail received from (Name)
Hello Mrs. (Name)!
Just a quick note to follow-up as promised.
We are still busily researching some Labor Day opportunities for you, as you know, it is one of the highest-demand weekends of the year here!As we cannot look at a Condo/Resort Week, which will be your biggest savings component, we have found some great alternatives using slightly discounted hotel stays.Please let us know immediately should you like to pursue a reservation and we will confirm final availability. As of the 22nd was still working on conformation. If I cant get it Labor Day Because of high demand how will I get it for the 4th of July week?
July 10th... Called (business) requesting a (resort) vacation for the week of July 4 2014, was told nothing was available but that they would call me if anything came available.
Called (business) on Saturday July 13th... Requesting (resort) vacation quote for Feb.2014.
received 2 phone calls to give my quote on vacation but due to it being during work hours, I asked twice times that they e-mail me the quote and both times said that they would. But I have yet to receive promised e-mails. Finally I called them back to ask for the info and e-mail again. Again speaking with someone @12:25 07/22/13 asking for another email of quote. ( still no email of quote As of 7/31/2013).. My verbal phone quote was as follows received from: (name) (number) extxxxx
Feb.2-8 2014... (Resort, standard room, with 4day base tickets for $1784.09.. Did my own research and through the (resort) website can book it myself for $1777.28.. which is $6 cheaper than through (business) and/or Map Destinations. Again not the savings Promised ("you will save at least $1000 on your (Resort) trip alone" (Name)..

Desired Settlement
I am disappointed in my research and findings of Map Destinations and (business).Due to the fact that there are no deals for me,as stated in the presentation.As 95% of our travels will be during peek travel/vacation times(due to my work)We, (Name) and I feel that we were distracted by the gentleman giving the sales presentation, by his comments made against (name).We also believe that our emotions were played on by (Name),as she had me in tears, with (Resort) trip. I'm also disappointed that when we have tried to talk to someone within Map with it being with (Name), (name) or (name) that I was always cut short on speaking, I was never able to complete a sentence to truly get any of our real concerns answered. Also when I started questioning the deals along with my vacation/work schedule, everyone's answer was to call in sick or try to take other days off work. Lying to my employer is not an option. As well,in the end, if I were to do the sick days, etc..the vacation would end up costing me about $200+ dollars more,per day for the vacation, due to loss of income, therefor I will still not gain anything by this membership.Disappointed that,(name) and (Name) told me in our last conversation on July 13 @ 12:15 pm, "That between our beach trip and our (Resort) vacation those two trips alone booking them though this membership would save us $1500 alone, about $500 in savings,more than we have invested in the membership".Not possible when the (Resort) trip will cost $6.00 more Map membership, than booking straight through (Resort)..I fully understand that we signed into a contract with line 16 saying there is no federal or state right of rescission, although at the time I was not fully aware of what that truly meant.All we were told at signing was, that it wasn't like buying a house, and that I fully agree with. Had we had been buying a home, we would have been given the appropriate time to do our research, hands on, as well as actually being able see for ourselves exactly what we were purchasing, NOT JUST GOING OFF ONE'S WORD, to see if this home would truly meet our needs. Instead of the, one day only deal, "If you walk out today, this price goes up $8000 for membership." Makes it hard to walk away. Map Destinations has since then made me fully, fully aware of its meaning...And the company truly believed in the "membership" that they are selling and running were a REPUTABLE business, they would be more than willing to refund a unhappy client. Rather than the first words being out of everyone's mouth being " do you remember reading and signing line 16 of your contract, no right of rescission"..However, I do not believe this is a case of "right of rescission" it is more like a breech of contract by Map, as this membership offers nothing that we were led to believe that it would.
Also if Map can"at their own discretion"change the requirements of their Presentation Terms and Conditions of Offer, to benefit Map , What else change you change to benefit the company? As my husband and I, Did Not meet the requirements, as we could not show documented proof of same physical residence. Nor,if single,meet the $60,000 dollar a year requirement, But yet, was knowingly allowed by Map Destinations to attend anyway.We have done the math and with the small amount of discounts that are given with some of the stays that we have requested thus far and/or researched on our own, it(discounts)will never offset the cost of the $199.00 yearly membership fees, let alone any of the $1000 in funds that where paid for the trial 2 year membership and due to our findings, that no such discounts will ever apply to our specific needs(as they are high demand travel times)in which Map Destinations was fully aware of before sale of membership to us.Also due to the misrepresented/misleading sales tactics and distractions during the presentation, We respectfully seek a full refund of the $1000.00 spent on membership thus far.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your recent inquiry to the BBB and must admit, we are equally frustrated by your many of your false accusations and defamatory statements. MAP Destinations is a discounted travel membership Club and ALL items you reference were CLEARLY detailed and reviewed at the time of your purchase; evidence being in our workability to provide you an amazing price for a custom "sample" trial program, in lieu of purchasing a Lifetime membership! You both agreed that you had NO questions, and understood all components of the program, including that there was no refund for your purchase and no specific promises of itineraries, accommodations, dates of travel, or specific price promises at time of purchase! We worked diligently to show you the many benefits of membership and the vast array of saving options, and you excitedly decided that a trial program would work well for your family. At your request, we even provided a formal Letter of Upgrade to be honored for two -years from date of purchase, allowing you to upgrade your package at a later time, at the discounted price, while still allowing you to use the full amount of your initial purchase price as a full "credit" towards the upgrade of your membership! There were no high pressure sales tactics or play on emotions, simply our team working hard to service your travel needs.
MAP Destinations/(business) is fully capable of delivering your travel benefits as referenced in your purchase agreement and Membership at a Glance documents. We strongly stand by our products and service. Since your initial purchase you have invested your time in finding a way "out" of the program, rather than a way to embrace and enjoy it! If you will recall, your first and initial request for refund was solely based upon internet research rather than facts about the company and provider, or any failure on our part to fulfill your agreement. You assumed that because you "read" slanderous statements" we were not a reputable entity. Although we took your concerns seriously, we have spent numerous hours working with you via face-to-face meeting, conference calls, e-mails, etc., but to no avail. In order to come to an amiable resolution, separate fact from fiction, we believe it takes two workable parties, and to date, we seem to be the only "willing" party. Even though MAP has done nothing wrong, in an attempt to show good-faith, we offered to upgrade your Membership, FREE OF CHARGE, to a LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP, (including 2 ADDITIONAL authorized users to your account)! YOUR savings (and our cost) for this good-will gesture was $1,593.00! Our goal was to "remove the pressure" you seemed to have to realize your investment savings in an immediate trip or two and create a long-term relationship of support and service.
Throughout our communications, you have conveniently morphed with great detail your reasons for purchase (and requests for cancellation) based upon other negative internet stories and postings. Truthfully, every trip you have inquired about, to date, HAS yielded a savings component ($10 per night on hotel, $20 per night on hotel), etc. Some yield more savings than others, however, the general hotel quotes are right in line with what is referenced in your contractual agreements. As we have discussed numerous times, (including at point of purchase), your deepest discounts are derived from week -long Condo/Resort stays. With the upgrade we offered in good faith, the condo/resort stay would be part of your product inventory.
In closing, MAP has taken multiple steps, including a generous offer for a free upgrade, in order to provide service and support to you, as our valued members. Moving forward, we kindly ask that you offer us the simple courtesy and respect to service your account as mutually agreed upon at point of purchase.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
You are very good at being deceiving and deserve a gold metal for dishonesty... I have stated nothing but facts.
1.. We DID NOT request any "special package", we tried to walk away...to only have another offer thrown at us..
2. Again I ask for the phone recording from July 13, 2013. Were the sales agent admitted to hearing the speaker make accusations towards my husband. Regardless to whether she was in the room or not, she acknowledged it being said, during that conversation. Also, though out this dispute, I said that the comments caused a distraction as we could not stay focused on the presentation due to the comment making our minds wonder. However, during the phone conversation on July 13, 2013, I did make mention of turmoil, so therefor a recording does exist.. So please, If I am such a liar in my statements, clear them up, lets hear the unedited phone conversation from that day.....By the way, I like how you have once again danced around (Name) pursuit of the sale by her continued run at my emotions, over taking my family to (Resort)...atta girl...
3...Was not disclosed to us during sale that traveling with a discount of more than $10.00, was limited too postings available on your website, or that I would have to plan and book accordingly to your postings.
4..Yes, my purchase was in hopes of "saving money" (because we were lead to believe by our sales rep. "that we would save $1500 on our two upcoming trips alone".)along with value and quality ( was lead to believe that we would be able to stay at 5 star hotels and resorts for 1 star prices.. so of course with these promises being made I'm gonna want and expect that...
5..My vacationing times have been set in place by my employer for many years and have been the same since the company opened 20+ years ago, therefor they are not subject to change. With my knowing this, of course I would make mention of it during the presentation and did, as this was the first question asked by our sales rep. 2nd question being. What upcoming plans for travel did we have in mind.
Also, Yes I did in fact make reference to inquiring about MB Labor Day trip (it was in the initial claim) What "YOU" did not make reference to was that I did in fact respond, giving the go ahead to get "final availability" because of (name) saying "These rates/rooms are subject to availability and will not last"
Email from (Name). (copy and paste)July 17 2013 @2:48pm : "Just a quick note to follow-up as promised.
We are still busily researching some Labor Day opportunities for you, as you know, it is one of the highest-demand weekends of the year here! As we cannot look at a Condo/Resort Week, which will be your biggest savings component, we have found some great alternatives using slightly
discounted hotel stays.
Our favorite thus far is :
(name) Resort, (Name) in Myrtle Beach.
A popular resort, including an on-site water park amenity!
Currently, we found a 1 bedroom Ocean View Unit for only $104 per night, plus tax. This is a GREAT rate, given location and PEAK/PRIME Weekend/Holiday travel.
Pending also, is a standard hotel room at (name)or $83 per night, plus tax, and finally an Ocean view efficiency at sister property, (name) Club, for $69 per night, plus taxes.
These rates/rooms are subject to availability and will not last. Please let us know immediately should you like to pursue a reservation and we will confirm final availability. In the meantime, we will continue to search other viable options given the parameters we discussed.
Have a great evening and I look forward to speaking with you soon!"
My Response...(copy and Paste)July 17 2013 @7:35pm: No point in going to the beach if its not oceanfront.... :) What would be the total cost on the $104, including tax and any fees (out the door) If less than a $100.. Lets continue on with final availability... Any word on the (Resort) trip? Have not received a call back from RSI. RSI said they would let me know by the end of the day today.. :( With Finally receiving this email from (name) on Friday July 19, 2013: (Copy and Paste) I have just received your emails, my apologies as our office was closed yesterday and I have been in meetings all day. As for the Labor Day trip, I am just awaiting confirmation and will notify you the total cost including taxes as soon as it is sent to me. I am working on this trip on your behalf. As for your trip request to (Resort), could you please clarify did you call RSI directly or did you email a request to RSI? I will on your behalf send an email requesting they call you with your quotes as soon as possible. Please give me until tomorrow to finalize all quotes and options so that we can move forward with booking.
I hope this helps! I will be in the office tomorrow at 9 am , please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.
Respectfully, (Initials).
Along with at least 4 more e-mails being sent between (Name) and I, between Friday and Monday.. So, Finally with all the run around, misquotes, lies, scams, I sent a E-mail again requesting a refund on Tuesday July 22, 2013.. So please check your E-mails before you falsely claim that I never responded... You also did not make reference ( in this rebuttal) to the fact that your promises of saving hundreds of dollars on our (other resort) and MB Labor day,(which would offset the cost of the membership by far)has in fact only turned into a total savings of only $24.00...(however in your first response, you showed acknowledgement..)
As for my claim that Map can not fulfill Holiday availability has once again been twisted by you. My claim is that, So what you can get us a resort at the (Resort) (resort), Orlando or (resort) Resort, Kissmee the week of July 4th with significant savings, because we keep mentioning (resort) and the 4th.. See there happens to be a difference between Orlando and (resort), considering the FACT that we're wanting and have been wanting to stay inside the resort of (resort) ( that too has never changed.) So PLEASE SHOW ME the $1000.00 in savings that was promised to us on our (resort) inside the park, July 4th, requested trip and more than only $30 on our MB labor day trip.. Until then My concerns are not MUTED concerns.
In closing... Charged to my Credit card for 2 year trial membership was $1000 not $701.. promised savings of $1500( I even figured give or take a couple of hundred, as this was just a verbal quote from (Name), but did at least think that it would have been in the ball park) on (resort) and MB Labor Day trip, alone. Actual savings total $24.00 after receiving final quotes. Extra cost to maintain membership is $199 dollars per year. With an average savings of $10 per night through a Map membership, we would never be able to recoup the $199 per year cost of maintaining the membership.. You do the math. So therefore I have no interest in any upgrades to the membership. My concern is again "NOT A MUTE CONCERN"
As far as your saying that, I am not a "willing participant in the well-being of my own membership". Please take note that I am just no longer a willing participant of allowing Map Destinations to continue to take any more of my money for Map NOT BE ABLE TO DELIVER ON THE SAVINGS PROMISED thus far...
By the way, common sense goes along way and far out ways the big words you like to throw around.. for example.. Why would someone pay $1000 for a two year trial membership, if they were not promised savings that would greatly offset that cost? They wouldn't.. Why would they buy a membership if they knew at the time of purchase that they would have to choose between pacific dates with pacific locations within the postings on the Map website in order to receive any discount? They wouldn't.. Why would someone purchase a membership that has pacific dates of travel, with "hopes" that they might get to go to (Resort) (on site) for the 4th of July? Why would someone just assume they would save $1000 on their (resort) Trip.. I could go on and on , but you get the idea....
Map Destinations has showed me many of things during this whole process. They are very well trained in lying, manipulating, and fabricating stories. Also falls right in line with your phone conversation with my husband on July 3,2013, when you told him that.. we could complain all we wanted to whom ever we wanted, but so long as you made a "Good Faith Offer" they would side with you... But just so you know, I have absolutely nothing to hide, I have been more than truthful and honest in any and all of my statements, and I will seek any measure necessary to recoup the money stolen from me. In the process of finding out how to start the process in small claims court. Still seeking FULL REFUND
PS.. you have yet to answer my question as to how you can at your own discretion change the terms and conditions for eligibility requirements to attend the seminar. and if its that easy to change those requirements, what else can you change to

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of your most recent response to the BBB. Unfortunately, you are contorting the facts and information as provided in an attempt to falsely support your claims. To be clear and concise, we will make one last attempt to address your feedback:
1. We did not just make the Sale to put money in the bank. Actually, we worked exceptionally hard, at your request and desire to partake in our membership program. We worked to find a way to deliver a package that would suit your needs within the confines of your family circumstance, as you disclosed. We presented the program, and if we were just interested in making a sale, we certainly would not have dropped the price below cost in an attempt to work with you. Furthermore, if we were not confident in our product and its performance, it would not be to our advantage to offer a "trial" membership. As you are aware, the purchase price for the Adventure package was $1294 for 1 week annually, for a 2-year membership. However, with your circumstances and at your request, we worked with you and acquired permission to reduce the cost by $300 AND added in an extra week each year! That is called customer service and going above and beyond! Your entire membership purchase was only $701, with a total of 2-weeks annually during your trial period; which is $300 below our base package price, with an extra week! We listened to your needs, circumstances and concerns, and worked diligently to fulfill YOUR request. Truthfully, considering all factors, we made no money on this transaction; however, we understand from past experience with current members, that when we ARE ABLE to accommodate special requests, the growth we experience through trial membership upgrades to Lifetime renewals is remarkable. And just as valuable, we receive amazing referrals from our happy members, which makes our efforts worthwhile.
2. We did not single out your husband to make you feel bad. Quite honestly, that is a preposterous claim. In our eyes, such tactics would simply deter a purchase, and discredit the integrity of our product. Your correspondence states that during the presentation, the speaker made comments to your spouse, creating emotional turmoil that our Sales Agent witnessed and agreed to hearing. In response, the agent has firmly stated that she did not witness any such circumstance, and furthermore, you said your sales representative was a witness. To factually dismiss your claim, our Sales agents are not present in the room during the presentation, so the agent could not have been witness, as you claim.
3. We acknowledge that we do not create the travel industry; we simply work within the confines of availability, just like everyone else. To respond to your concern over terms disclosed prior to your final purchase: We do not make offers of specific promises of itineraries, accommodations, dates of travel, etc. at point of purchase. Translation: What is available on the day of your transaction may not be available a month later, when perhaps you get around to booking something viewed prior. The statement is merely a clause to ensure that clients understand the membership benefits as presented. We want members to be clear and understand that deals & offers reviewed are subject to change. Postings are added & updated frequently! The inventory IS available, but like anything else, you must plan and book your travel accordingly.
4. Purpose for joining membership. Initially, you wrote in detail that the reason for your purchase was to save money, receive value & quality, and travel knowing you would receive discounts. ALL of those items we CAN and will fulfill. You referenced (after the fact) in disputes, is that you can only vacation on Major Holidays due to a restrictive work schedule. That is fine too, and we understand. What you did not reference is that you inquired about a MB trip over Labor Day, and that we did find a popular selection, and that we made several attempts to contact you regarding, with no response on your behalf! You are formally requesting a refund stating we cannot fulfill Holiday availability, which again is a false claim. There are many opportunities for significant savings for Holiday travel throughout your membership! Here are just a few facts examples we pulled up instantly on the member's website: (We chose these, as in your claims you consistently speak of Orlando & 4h of July).
(resort) (Prime property): 4th Of JULY WEEK: 2 Bedroom Unit; ONLINE PRICE: $1477, your membership price for SAME unit; only $935 PRIME travel. That is a $500+ savings to you! Taking it a step further, a 77% immediate return on your membership investment, in one transaction!
(Resort), Kissimmee (VERY NICE resort): 6/29-7/6: 1 Bedroom Unit; ONLINE; NO AVAILABILITY through Trip Advisor, Orbitz or Travago. Your membership can fulfill availability for only $585 for the whole week, 4th of July prime time, when many of the major players cannot!
We can go on, but you get the idea. Truly, if you would take down the barriers and allow us to opportunity to provide the services and benefits you purchased, we are confident you would have a change of heart. Since day one, you have spent your time looking for a way out, rather than a way in.
To date, we do not believe that you are a willing participant in the well-being of your own membership. A full refund request is absolutely unfair and unjustified. With that being said, we do know that EVERY member is valued, and we strive to the best of our abilities to work towards resolution. MAP is willing, at our expense, to honor our prior offer, and absorb the upgrade cost for your family ($1,093.00), and make you a Lifetime member with 2 weeks annually for life, including all charter benefits. Additionally, you may add (2) authorized users to the account! As you felt you would not realize your investment, that concern is now a mute point. Our goal, is that above our generous good-faith attempt to work with you, we truly want to become your favorite resource and primary provider for travel. We sincerely hope you will give an honest attempt of serious consideration to our continued efforts.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations

08/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our complaint is against a License Travel Company named Map Destinations located at****************************************************************
Our complaint is against a License Travel Company named Map Destinations located in Myrtle Beach, SC. We purchased a Travel package from them at the amount of $3,299.00 on Saturday, May 4th while at a Map Destinations Travel Presentation. After reviewing the company on the Internet and seeing a number of dishonest practices and questionable business practices we decided to cancel. We did so first by calling the company Map Destinations numerous times on Sunday, May 5th. However, no one answered the phone. So, we left a voice mail for someone to call us back, but no one ever did. We then mailed a certified letter on Monday, May 6th to Map Destinations canceling our Travel Package purchase. On Wednesday, May 8th we received a call from the Company's Customer/Client Manager named *****. We told her our concerns about the Company and told her that we want to cancel. We explained our concerns to her about her Company Map Destinations in that we found and read numerous complaints from unsatisfied customers who had problems of Black Out dates (we were told that they have No Black Out dates), problems with reservations, excessive fees in booking trips, unauthorized bank debits, failure to honor contracts and programs not working as promised. ***** said that we could not cancel because we signed a contract. We feel that the company Map Destinations sales practices are very questionable and highly unethical.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking at full refund of our money for the amount of $3,299.00.

Business Response
I am responding in accordance to each comment in the client's statement as there isn't one correct representation in the occurrences detailed.
1) Every bit of information the client references concerning their internet discoveries and findings are client submission complaints only. There is not information concerning the response by MAP to the clients and the resolution. If the client's research went a bit further, they would see that we have a solid rating with the BBB, and fully accredited too. Could this be because we solve our issues properly and appropriately, and just maybe the client's complaint was unfounded and incorrect? So much for the American Justice system of due diligence, discovery and due process. I believe this is called Contempt Prior to Investigation in the legal forum. Who listens to one side of an opinion with one sided facts and pursues such harsh retaliation tactics?

Furthermore, companies of high standards and exceptional history, including major brands have far worse ratings and client comments. If we were to judge ******* ****** ******** and even ****** ***** by the escalations submitted on line or to the BBB, and these escalations became the judge and jury of all consumers, they would be out of business. I would love to find a company in business over two years that services an abundance of consumers without a complaint, or several complaints for that matter. Bottom line.....you simply can't be myopic and assaulting when it comes to resolution.

2) The clients state they called Sunday, May 5th and received a voicemail. It is well stated and clarified on several owner documents and the voicemail greeting that our offices are closed on Sundays and Mondays. It would not be unusual or unacceptable for a client to receive a return call on the following day once the office re-opened. Which in fact, is exactly what occurred per the client's comments. Another extreme exaggeration and character assassination on our company. They knew the offices were closed on Sundays and Mondays, yet continue on how they received no return service call for days as if they were avoided and neglected nonstop.
3) At no time were the clients told they could not cxl based on product issues, product misrepresentation, or any other misrepresentation. Because there wasn't any such misrepresentation. The client's entire claim and complaint is based on information they found on the internet, some for a company of the same name in a different state. If the client's would explain what the real issues are, we would be happy to resolve them.
4) Mr and Mrs XXXX were well informed and aware of the cancellation policy at the point of sale. We verbally review the cxl policy and give the client the right to proceed or decline knowing the cancellation policy. We detail this in great length in the contract and on a verbal verification bullet point. This is done several times throughout the sales and contract process, so MAP can avoid matters just like this one. Both client's initialed and signed that they chose to proceed knowing the policy.
If the clients would like to discuss true and real issues concerning the product and what they were promised and delivered, we are happy to address the facts. However, until the truth is spoken concerning issues with the product and not partial information from their internet findings, we are at an impasse for resolution. We are here, ready and willing to provide the services they requested and purchased in their vacation membership; they simply must be a willing participant.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are responding to Map Destinations response to our complaint, in an effort to bring about a resolution. There are so many inaccuracies and untruths in their story, we do not know where to start.
Our responses are numbered per Map Destinations previous response.
1.) The Company Map Destinations asked the question; "There is not information concerning the response by MAP to the clients and the resolution. " Our Response: There was never any attempt by Map Destinations to bring about a resolution to this issue, until we brought this information to light. Also, in their response on number one, Map Destinations went on a winsome words tangent naming solid Fortune 500 companies (whom I won't mention) to try to solidify their company's bad business practices. It should be well noted that I have been in the IT Network and IT Security field for over 20 years working for Top Fortune 100 companies and if there was any good, positive or noteworthy information on Map Destinations, I would have found it! I looked for hours on end and could not find one single thing that was positive on this Company. Not, one!
2.) The Company Map Destinations stated; "The clients state they called Sunday, May 5th and received a voicemail." "It is well stated and clarified on several owner documents and the voicemail greeting that our offices are closed on Sundays and Mondays." Our Response: This is a Big untruth! The Company has on their business stationary (which we have in our possession) that they are open 9 am to 5 pm daily. In, addition I asked their Sales Agent; **** ********* in the hallway, when my wife and I were about to leave (My wife and I were both witnesses); "Are you open tomorrow on Sunday?" The Map Destinations Sales Agent; said; "Yes!" I made sure that I asked this question with my wife being present, due to making sure that there were two witnesses. Previously, my wife was in the restroom, but I made sure and waited for her to come out, so that she could hear and witness me asking this question to the Sales Agent as well as to hear her response. It should also be noted that we only received a phone call from Map Destinations upon them receiving our certified cancellation letter in the mail on Wednesday, May 8th. Question? If, they are closed on Mondays as they say they are, then why did we not get a call back from them on Tuesday from our voice mail we left to them on Sunday? We only received a call from them on Wednesday, May 8th as a result of our cancellation letter. We can also provide documented proof of their call (date & time) to us on Wednesday, May 8th from our Cellular Company.
3.) The Company Map Destinations stated; "If the client's would explain what the real issues are, we would be happy to resolve them." Our Response: We have already explained the real issue. The issue is that due to our findings such as; numerous complaints from unsatisfied customers who had problems of Black Out dates (we were told that they have No Black Out dates), problems with reservations, excessive fees in booking trips, unauthorized bank debits, failure to honor contracts and programs not working as promised, we unequivocally do not want anything to do with Map Destinations. Since Map Destinations is happy to resolve the issue as they stated, then we want a full refund of our money. The Company Map Destinations stated; "The client's entire claim and complaint is based on information they found on the internet, some for a company of the same name in a different state." Our Response: This is also untrue. Our findings pertain to Map Destinations located in Myrtle Beach, SC only! We have documented proof of numerous unsatisfied customers from the same location and business address of the Map Destinations that we attended. Also, there are other unsatisfied Map Destinations customers, documented right here on the BBB website pertaining to the same Map Destinations Myrtle Beach, SC location.
4.) The Company Map Destinations stated; "Mr and Mrs XXXX were well informed and aware of the cancelation policy at the point of sale." Our Response: The Sales Agent; **** ********* stated to us; "We will go in here (meaning a sales room) and sign off on what you will get in your package." Map Destinations cancellation policy was never verbally mentioned or discussed during the sales presentation as well as at the point of sale.

In, conclusion if Map Destinations is truly happy about looking for a resolution, as they stated in there response on number three, then we want a full refund of our money as a resolution.

Regards,
*********************

Final Business Response
First, and most importantly, we can easily go back and forth creating chaos and confusion debating phone messages and our hours of operation, but we both know that is clearly not the matter at hand.
Map maintains that we clearly referenced our operational days and hours on our VM system, and if a message was received, we certainly would have responded in a timely manner. As you confirmed in your prior communications, once we received your letter, we immediately contacted you to get a better understanding (and hopefully lend support) if you were experiencing any issues in regards to your membership. Unfortunately, from that point on, even though you have been a fully activated member, with all services and benefits of the membership at your disposal, you have simply refused to take ownership of your purchase.
The true situation is that you purchased a membership through MAP Destinations on Saturday, May 4, 2013. We sent your auto-generated member's welcome letter and activation information on May 6, and then promptly on May 8th, we received a formal letter of cancellation request from you. That request was filed without you ever trying the product you purchased, and with absolutely no situation or circumstance that MAP Destinations has defaulted you (or failed to fulfill our contractual obligations) in anyway whatsoever!
With that being said, the fact remains that we can and will service your account pursuant to our agreement. Despite our continued efforts, you have repeatedly chosen to be an unwilling participant in the well-being and fulfillment of your membership. To date, you have not once tried to utilize your membership and can make NO accurate claims of default on our behalf. Rather, you choose to make defamatory statements and choices based upon 3rd party information which is not necessarily factual or truthful. Quite frankly, we are very proud of our large owner base encompassing multitudes of satisfied owners. In part, our continued support is realized through our very active member's referral program. We are both fortunate and appreciative of our continued growth and success.
We will make mention that we take great care to ensure that all information is clearly explained at time of purchase, and we "verbally" review all policies and clear expectations of both our membership and cancellation policy, which you both signed and dated your understanding and acceptance of all. Our purpose is pure, to ensure there are no misunderstandings prior to finalizing your transaction. No hidden agendas, just the bottom-line.
We would be delighted (and welcome the opportunity) to work with your family. We sincerely want to help you realize the value in your membership, and hope that you will consider giving an honest attempt and consideration to our offer of assistance and support.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations

08/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to the presentation in Myrtle Beach, SC they gave an awesome presentation about all this money you will save with buying their package. Not True
I drove down to Myrtle Beach, SC for a presentation on saving money when you travel, we were promised either a free trip, tablet, or flight and hotel just for listening. When we got there they did not have room for us so we had to reschedule. We drove down for no reason but that was fine because the "owner" called and said that when we came back he would give us the tablet and a vacation.

When we came back the following Friday we listened to a presentation. During the presentation the presenter said that we would not save money on flights however you will save money on all these great hotels (it will be more than 50% off) at hotels such as the ******** (our favorite hotel chain), rental cars, cruises, etc. I received my e-mail link last night for these great discounts, but when I went on the site to book a trip the prices are more expensive then the hotel sites and dot com sites.
Everything that the presenter said I cannot find on the website.
They did give us our tablet for coming to listen to the presentation. But other than that everything else with the savings is unreal.
I tried calling the office today, but the person I needed to speak to was on a phone call so I left a voice message at 12:01pm Friday, June 21, 2013. I am hoping to solve this matter ASAP, because this is so stressful to be deceived. I thought this would help bring my family together by taking more trips but It is doing the opposite now that I wasted $1495 + $299 on a piece of paper with no use.

Desired Settlement
I believe that a refund will be the only solution, considering the only reason we bought this package was to save 50% on hotels.I have not used any of the services on this site, because it is not what I was told I was purchasing.

Business Response
Please be advised we have been, and continue to work with, ************ and ************** in regards to their membership. We have scheduled multiple appointments in an attempt to review the various components of their membership and offer a better understanding. Although they have had to cancel, our latest correspondence on 7/10/13 indicates Mrs. ***** will visit with us on 7/13 @ 2pm. We look forward to assisting them further!

Respectfully,
MAP Destinations Team



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Everything is not available that was stated in the presentation. The hotel stays mentioned in the presentations are not available. I am not the only one that feel like the presentation did not match the given package. After doing more extensive research on this company, I have found many other people with the same problems. Being promised all these wonderful discounts at great hotels and when they bought their packages ranging from $1495 to $5000+ the only discounts they received were at "roach hotels" the thing that the presenter said that we would not get discounts on because it is already so cheap. I am getting so frustrated with this company I have e-mailed asking for a refund because the services in the presentation is NOT what I received. If the company had came through with the same products that they said were offered there would be no reason for myself to ask for a refund repeatedly. Also if this package is so great why am I and other individuals being trapped into staying into a package that I NEVER once used. I am tired of wasting my time on phone calls and e-mails showing me the exact same thing over and over, but it is not what the company promised during the presentation. The presenter said that discounts at the **** **** was available for $89, I have yet to see this price. Give me my 50-75% discounts at the hotels you stated at the high end hotels and I would be more than happy.

Final Business Response
Thank you for forwarding the most recent feed-back. Everything discussed in the presentation at the point of sale with this member is available. We are aware of the member's concerns regarding hotel rates; however, the membership entitlements and usage agreement are VERY specific and detailed regarding the consumer's entitlements. Resort/Condo weeks are the primary benefit of this membership. With that being said, the member was provided with, at time of purchase, a comprehensive documents outlining the general discounts and specific savings for each of our charter benefits, including the reward hotels and net rate hotels. All information was clearly explained and documented, received and agreed upon by the member. Unfortunately, we believe they are missing some major components and understandings of their membership. We truly desire to work with the owner to assist in a better understanding, however despite our multiple attempts, have been unable to connect. Within the parameters of our operational hours, we have worked diligently with the members at their convenience to no avail.
Conference Call on 7/5/13 @ 10am - No Show for call; left messages and followed up w/e-mail Request
Rescheduled to 7/10/13 @ 4pm - Member could not stay on call - requested on-site visit
Arranged on site visit for 7/13/13 @ 2pm - Member cancelled
7/22/13 - E-mail request for another meeting request - No response
In lieu of allowing us to support their understanding and usage of the membership as described in the podium presentation, and at point of sale, and throughout their ownership history, they have simply repeatedly asked for a "refund" fully knowing (and agreeing) to the fact that there is no cancellation or right of rescission (refund) for their lifetime membership purchase.
We are happy to fulfill and reasonably assist our member on the product that was purchased and contractually defined. However, a willingness and opportunity to do so are minimum requirements. We are hopeful we can establish a desire for our members to move forward, as MAP Destinations offers many services and exciting vacation opportunities for their family. We confidently stand by our product and services and hope to build a long-term relationship servicing this member's vacation needs in the future.
Respectfully,
MAP Destinations

Page 1 of 4
06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was illegal and operating under false pretenses and we bought some property and still paying on it.
On June 19th 2012 we were at Myrtle Beach and took timeshare tour for Map Destinations and would attempt to purchase a time share and we did and 3 yrs later still paying on it. Were having problems accessing website and trying to call and none of the numbers worked.And we were never informed of anything, so we finally got in touch with someone from Florida.We were informed that it was a false company and they illegally used the companies name. We were informed we should call bank and put a stop on the account so they could no longer withdraw any money out so we did and this is how we get here to whom ever it may concern.

Desired Settlement
We would like a 100% full refund from all monies paid and interest and anything else we are intitled to and no further obligations to contract or anything to do with this company!!

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service not as promised in sale pitch. Cannot reach them now. Phone number disconnected.
Promise big savings on trips and no black outs. Did not deliver in either case. Gave our phone number to Travel fulfillment center who have harassed us for months on end. Just discovered the connection between the two last week. We were definitely scammed out of about $5,000.00. How do we reach them now?

Desired Settlement
We would like our money back in whole or in part. We would like the harassing phone calls from Travel Fulfillment to stop.

04/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told us we would get cheaper places to stay .. We got cheaper places on line.
We have tried to use map destinations over the last 3 years. They are always higher then anyone else..they have never found us a place to stay cheaper than anyone else like we were told..

Desired Settlement
We have played 150.00 down and 48 dollar s a month for two years and never have been satisfied... We would like to get our money back of $1100.00.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I purchased this during our honeymoon in April 2013 and were promised a free 2 week vacation and never received it after making 5 calls
Over the past year we have tried to get information on the 2 week vacation we were promised. I made 9 phone calls and I was told that they would overnight this catalog to me so that I could pick out my free vacations. the magazine never did come so finally I someone sent it to me and I received it today. I am still confused on why they not only return phone calls, but send me a book and a video that doesn't even contain free vacations in them. I have contacted Map Destinations for prices for cruises and they are more expensive than just going through the cruise line directly. I am very disappointed and I have spent over $4,000.00 and received nothing. the whole reason we purchased Map Destinations is because we were told that we would be receiving 2 free week vacations. We have 4 children and this is something that would help us save money and it hasn't done anything but take money out of our pocket that we don't have. This is misleading and false advertisement. Once a sales representative contacted me about paying our membership dues. I explained to her that I didn't want to pay my dues unless I received my free weeks vacation that I was promised. She told me that the 2 weeks vacation would show up on the website under my log in. So I looked and of course there was nothing there. Then I contacted them back and she said well I don't know why they would've told you that because that is not true, its in the magazine. Over and over there was misleading information and now we have handed over $4000.00 and have nothing to show for it. I would like a reimbursement due to false advertisement. I am so upset. It would be nice to have the money so that I could spend it to go on a family vacation, bit instead we aren't able to financially afford one so I guess we will have to stay home.

Desired Settlement
I want our money and maintenance fee reimbursed.

09/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False information about annual membership dues
When signing up for Map Destinations my husband and I were informed that we would be able to waive our yearly membership dues if we didn't want to use the benefits. That we had a choice as to which years we wanted to use the benefit. A call from Sally in the billing department stated that we have to renew and to call the office to cancel the contract. I am confused. I called the office and no one answers. If this is a vacation club, why do I have to pay for the year I don't want to vacation? This company is very unethical! This must be resolved immediately!

Desired Settlement
I want to get our money back because the sales representatives lie to get customers. They tell you one thing and really it is another matter all together. I don't want to be a member of Map Destinations. I will not do business with them nor refer them to anyone. They should be put out of business because they are developing a very negative reputation in the travel market.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Clubs, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.