BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Barefoot Flooring Inc

Phone: (910) 772-1735Fax: (910) 772-9272

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/14/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased carpet that lasted only 4 years if that
Purchased carpet from company back in 2009. Original carpet I installed took 3 times coming out and then a complaint to get the owner out and upgrade my carpet to "higher quality" that would last 15 to 20 years, meant for high walking areas and easy to clean. 3 years later I had to go with a different company to install new flooring because the backing of the carpet pulled off and I could literally pick up my carpet. The high traffic areas were worn down dramatically. There is no way this carpet even the one I purchased originally that had so many installation issues was suppose to last well over 10 years. I would like full reimbursement of the 2100 that I had to invest let alone that doesn't include all the time off I had to take for 2 different carpet installations and 2 different repair crews to try and fix the original installation

Desired Settlement
2100 for carpet/ installation and 500 for time taken off 4 different times with commissions lost

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********** - OWNER
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********************
In response to consumer complaint *****, the original carpet style: Arbordale high/low Precision Cut/Uncut Pindot style of carpet was purchased on 08/08/08 and installed and closed out on 08/30/08. On 02/05/09, ***** contacted the store and was concerned about the carpet seam in the living room. A service call was scheduled with ***** on 02/10/09 at 8:00 AM. On 02/12/09 I, Lee Wilson, scheduled an inspection with ***** at 8:00 AM to inspect the carpet seam. I inspected the carpet seam in the living room; the carpet is stretched properly and intact with proper seam sealer applied. The carpet seam was not overlapped, gapped, or apart the entire length of the seam. There was slight peaking of the carpet seam that in no way affects the performance or the manufacturer implied warranties. Light source that enters the room from windows or doors can accentuate the appearance of a peaked carpet seam and be more noticeable. However, peaked carpet seams will relax and be less noticeable over time. As stated in the Mohawk carpet warranty brochure, "seams do show and some carpet constructions do show more than others, THERE ARE NO INVISIBLE SEAMS." ***** is expecting the carpet seam to be invisible in the carpet style: Arbordale, that she selected. ***** informed me that she just did not like that style of carpet. I informed ***** that I was sorry and concerned that she was disappointed with the style of carpet that she selected. As a one time courtesy to the customer and at my business' expense, I informed ***** that I would replace all of her carpet at an equal value and pay for the installation of the new carpet and give her the option of selecting a different style of carpet with a totally different look. On 02/24/09, ***** selected a frieze multifleck in color style of carpet, Mohawk style: Lyman Circle. On 03/08/09, all of the carpet was replaced at Barefoot Flooring's expense, with the new style of carpet. I contacted ***** after the installation and she was completely satisfied with the new look and style of the new carpet and the installation.

The two styles of Mohawk carpet, Arbordale and Lyman Circle, are both a current running line style of carpet with sales that exceed thousands of square yards annually across the United States. Both styles carry the same Mohawk warranty as explained in the Mohawk warranty brochure, on the back of the carpet sample and on the Mohawk website. The warranty is as follows: 5 Year Abrasive Wear Warranty, Fade Resistant, Static Protection, 5 Year Manufacturing Defects Warranty, FHA Certified, Lifetime Stain Protection Warranty and 10 Year Soil Resistance Warranty. Barefoot Flooring is not a manufacturer of any flooring products nor does it warranty any flooring products. Also, Barefoot Flooring does not require the customer to be present at the time of installation. All installations, inspections, service calls, dates and times are discussed and scheduled with the customer at their convenience. Never have we just shown up to perform our work and expect the customer to accept the time. Barefoot Flooring warranties the installation for one full year from the date of installation free of charge to the consumer. All consumers have the right to exercise the manufacturer's implied warranty if there is something wrong with the carpet for the specified period. I have not heard from ***** in three years and nine months nor do I have any service records since the last installation of her new carpet paid for and provided by Barefoot Flooring.

Thank you,

*****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tile-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Draperies & Curtains-Retail/Custom, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Kitchen & Bath Ceramic Tile

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.