BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 365-2151Fax: (843) 365-0855PO Box 1820, ConwaySC 29528-1820 Send email to Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc.Facebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

BBB has determined that Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requesting assistance with account fraud complaint
Account number XXXXXXXX. I have made several attempts to speak with ******* ****** or any member of the fraud department. Horry Telephone employee Ms. ****************** has been helpful, but unfortunately she too can not get the fraud department to assist me. I mailed and faxed in a notarized Federal Trade Commission fraud affidavit and police report. Ms. ***** said that she was told that my documents were not acceptable. I would need to have my documents notarized in the state of South Carolina. I do not, nor have I ever lived in the state of SC. I am attempting to get all affairs in order prior to an upcoming military deployment.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to have the account removed from my credit file being reported to the 3 major credit bureaus.

Business Response
I will more than happy to assist Mr. ***** regarding his concerns with fraud. I left him a detailed message last Friday and was hoping to hear from him. Today, I have emailed him as follow up.

Perhaps there was a misunderstanding in the prior information he was provided. In order to be able to press charges against someone setting service up fraudulently, we will need a police report from City Police of Conway, SC. This is something Mr. ***** should be able to handle over the phone.

Once we have completed a thorough investigation, HTC will pursue pressing charges but must have the police report from local authorities in order to do so since the fraud took place in Conway, SC. After it is confirmed that service was set up fraudulently in Mr. *****'s name, HTC will be more than happy to assist him in getting his credit report accurately notated.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Conway city police stated that this was not something they handled over the phone. I have since responded to correspondence from HTC.

Final Business Response
HTC contacted Conway City Police and conducted further investigation on behalf of Mr. *****. Due to the results of that research HTC has contacted the appropriate credit reporting agency to update the information on Mr. *****' credit file. This information is supposed to be cleared within 72 hours of us contacting them. I sent Mr. ***** a message asking him to confirm with me via email once it has been cleared.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Removal of credit entry completed

01/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tech stated Cable jack could not be installed in the wall when I wanted one.
I signed up for cable and internet services in December 2015. When I asked the tech if he could install a cable jack on a wall where I wanted one he stated he could only run the cable on the outside of the wall and could not snake it inside the wall. I should have been informed of this prior to signing up for the plans.

Desired Settlement
I would like a cable jack installed where I indicated inside the wall.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** - Manager Custom
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@htcinc.net
It is the policy of HTC when doing a cable install not to "snake or pull" any wires inside of the wall due to liability issues with other electrical wiring present. It is recommended the consumer hire a certified electrician to perform this task if they desire to put the wires inside the wall. HTC has re-enforced this communication with our Retail and Center associates to ensure customers are aware.

06/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
the HTC website promotes internet price for $38.95 for 6 months and then it becomes $59.95. Here is the link:
http://www.akcern.am/am/realty/sale/446
I have HTC internet account for about 2.5 years and using the standard internet service (Download speed up to 10 Mbps) and I always have internet issue. So I called them they offer me premium service ((Download speed up to 20 Mbps) to use for a few days and if I like it they can switch me to that account. In a few days they called me and ask if I want to switch. And they told me that the new service rate is $59,95 and I told the customer service associate named ****** that their website promotes different rates $38,95 for the first 6 months, he told me that he can't explain the website advertisement's rate... he also told me that I have to have more services with them to qualify for that rate, but the thing is it doesn't say or indicates anything about it in that Ads.

Desired Settlement
So, I want HTC to provide me the premium internet service for the same price $38,95 for the first 6 months like it is advertised in their website:
http://www.htcinc.net/high-speed-internet/high-speed-internet-packages-pricing

Business Response
Customer has noted an issue that he has with Horry Telephone (HTC) and I have looked into it. The findings of my research regarding the concern detailed in the customer's complaint are as follows.

Customer stated that HTC's website doesn't clearly explain HTC's packaging and promotional offers for internet.

HTC does offer a lower internet rate to customers subscribing to additional HTC products. The more you have the more you save. There is also a 6 month promotional rate that is offered to new customers subscribing to more than internet only.
All of this information is clearly displayed on HTC's website by clicking on the following link: http://www.htcinc.net/high-speed-internet/high-speed-internet-packages-pricing

You will notice that based upon the tier of internet you sign up for there is a regular price, multiple product price, and a promo price. You will also notice by clicking on "More" beside each tier, it clearly states, "Price available to Multiple Product Customer." There is also one additional disclaimer on this page that I have inserted below.

*HTC High-Speed Internet service requires certain hardware and software computer minimums. Use of HTC High-Speed Internet services implies agreement of Acceptable Use Policy, Service Agreement, Unsolicited Bulk Email Policy, and other agreements which may be changed from time to time and are found through links on htcinc.net home page. HTC High-Speed Internet speeds may vary depending on many factors, including locations, Internet site and traffic; service is best effort and no minimum level of speed is guaranteed. Promotional pricing is only applicable to new residential customers. Promotional pricing requires customer to subscribe to specific HTC services. HTC High-Speed Internet Service one-time free installation requires a 12-month commitment with $100 Early Cancellation Fee. Prices do not include fees or taxes and are subject to change without notice. Wireless Home PC Network not available in multi-dwelling units and free only with certain residential plans. Specific qualifications required to receive bundle discounts. Other restrictions may apply. HTC High-Speed Internet available in most areas.

I will be more than happy to answer any additional questions the customer may have if he will contact me directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I visited the referred link and noticed that the same info is posted in the below if the website with very small letter... however it is very foxy... it must be highlighted next to the promotional rate so the consumers can see and read it. In addition, I have been with HTC for about 3 years and they acted with me very unprofessional and didn't appreciated my business with them or offered me proper rate and proper internet speed... from this point I am going to see how I can witch my internet with Time Warner...

Final Business Response
HTC Internet Technical Support troubleshot with the customer to try and determine what was causing his internet connection to drop when he was using his XBOX for online gaming. HTC confirmed the customer had no problem with web browsing and was unable to uncover a problem that would cause the connection to drop during online gaming. From past experience, HTC has discovered that higher internet speeds are more suitable for online gaming and even allowed the customer to test the speed for several days without increasing his price. HTC offered this as an attempt to help the customer make a decision on whether or not it would benefit him to upgrade to a higher tier. The customer chose not to pay the extra $10.00 per month for the higher speed.

02/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've asked that the HTC phone book not be sent to me.It was. Also, my car door was scratched when the large phone book was being removed.
Over the past two years I've asked HTC not to send us their phone book. They've continued to do so, including this year. Also, while I was removing the very large phone that was stuffed into my mailbox, it caused the mailbox door to fall open and scratch my car door.

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop sending their telephone book to us! I also want the scratch on my car door repaired.

Business Response
HTC was originally notified on 4/22/2014 by the BBB this case was "Information only" and was closed that same day. On 2/4/2015 the BBB reopened the case and notified HTC.

HTC does not place telephone directories in mailboxes. However, the appropriate department has been contacted to request stop delivery of the HTC directory to this address.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to your reply; it may not be your company's policy to place telephone books in mail boxes, however, I assure you that your large telephone book was stuffed into my mailbox, which when I retrieved the mail from my automobile caused the mailbox door to scratch my car door.

Final Business Response
I have contacted the distributor that handles the delivery of HTC phonebooks. Someone will contact the customer soon and will follow up with me once they have done so.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
HTC's response is relying on the honesty of their distributor. The HTC phone book was in fact stuffed into my mailbox. What if their distributor denies that fact?

11/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Since I've began using services with htc almost exactly one year ago I've had nothing but inconsistent billing. I am also unable to change provider.
The company continuously charges late fees and ups my bill without providing a bill in the mail. I maybe receive My bill every other night. I will then try to call my bill and hear that my bill is something other than what it should be ($105 or < when it should be ~83). We will call and call and never get a person to talk to to pay the bill, and then by the time I get to the office to pay they've already charged another fee. We explain that we tried to call and they say "too bad." Having a child in school we need Internet for her to do homework so we have to bow down to them. This past month we had another dispute and their manager at their Murrells Inlet location said he would look into and not disturb our services until we got back from Mexico to meet with him. We get home and our service is disconnected. The best part is that another reconnect fee has already been charged. The worst part is that the company has monopolized the community I live in so I can't get comparable services from their competitor, Time Warner. Every month I have to spend 2 hours and money beyond the charges for services provided to keep modern necessities in my home. I'm guessing that the total extra charges are beyond $100 by now. Currently I am approaching an hour in their office while my spouse talks to them with me next to her. I don't mind paying my bills and I'm blessed to have the ability to pay them but I don't like feeling like I am being taking advantage of by a company that is supposedly a cooperative. The best part is they don't even post on their door that they are BBB accredited so most people don't even realize they can reach out to someone for help with this company. Thank you in advance for your time.

Desired Settlement
I would like my bills to arrive at my address in a timely matter, my bills amount to remain constant from month to month, a company that makes it possible to pay my bills in a fair and just manner, and my account credited for all past late charges or reconnect fees. I also feel like I should have the ability to see if the Time Warner services are better or their business practices more fair instead of being stuck with a company because of where I live. Strange to me that's parents who live across the street have the ability to try services from every provider. Thank you again. If you contact me by phone there is a good chance you'll get my spouse ****** and she is authorized to speak on my behalf.

Business Response
Customer has mentioned several issues that he has with HTC and I have looked into each one. The findings of my research regarding the concerns detailed in the customer's complaint are as follows.

Issue # 1: Customer claims that HTC doesn't provide a bill in the mail. Customer's bill is rendered each month and a statement is mailed via the United States Postal Service to the address on file. This mailing address was provided by the customer at the time the service was requested and was the same as his premise address for services. No change of mailing address was requested by the customer until 10/13/2014, at which time, the customer issued a request to change it. In addition to the paper bill, the customer has the option to register, at no charge, to HTC My Account, through our corporate website of www.htcconnect.com. This would allow him to view his bills, past and present, at any time. He also has the option of paying his bill through this site.

Issue #2: Customer states that he is unable to change providers. Customer's services through HTC are provided for at a premise address that lies in a community which requested a bulk agreement for cable television services. In addition to the bulk cable service provided to him through the HOA, customer obtained internet service from HTC on an individual basis.

Issue #3: Customer states that his bill fluctuates from month to month. At the time the customer applied for services, he was advised the internet pricing for the tier of service he requested, would be $38.95 for the first six (6) months and $54.95 per month thereafter (verified through review of recorded call). Outside of the promotional pricing dropping off at the end of the six month period, the fluctuations in the customer's bills are a direct result of (1) changes the customer made in his service, such as adding a digital video recorder (DVR), and adding an additional tier outside of what the HOA provides to his cable lineup; (2) reconnect fees billed when services were interrupted due to nonpayment; and (3) late fees assessed in accordance with regulatory guidelines for payments made after the due date and clearly stated on every billing statement. HTC has a 25 day-payment period from the date the bill is rendered, allowing customers ample time to pay or make arrangements for doing so. Every statement provides the bill date and past due date, as well the address of all nine of HTC's business offices and the number to our call center. The customer's bill is rendered on the 4th of each month, payable upon receipt, but is not considered past due until after the 29th of the month. If the customer has not paid their bill by the 29th of the month, these charges appear again on the following month's bill, rendered again on the 4th of the month, with a late fee and a specific date in which the past due amount must be paid by to avoid interruption of services. If the customer fails to pay by that specified date, services are interrupted and reconnect fees are assessed to restore the service. With regards to the latest interruption of service that the customer referenced in the complaint for when he was away in Mexico, the Supervisor acknowledged a mistake was made as he remembered the customer's request, entered the request into our system, but the request didn't save and customer's services were interrupted. Supervisor waived the reconnect fees associated with this interruption as HTC took responsibility because the customer had requested arrangements prior to. Previous reconnect fees and late fees associated with interruptions of service due to nonpayment and late fees are not warranted.

Issue #4: Customer states that he "will call and call" and never get a person to talk to. HTC records every incoming and outbound call made by/to its phone representatives. We pulled all incoming and outbound calls over the past six (6) months made from/to either contact number listed on the customer's account. Recordings indicate that customer has contacted us on a number of occasions during this period. Recordings also indicate that HTC representatives either spoke to customer or made attempts to contact customer back on several occasions, but were unsuccessful due to voicemail box being full or customer not responding to voicemail message left. There could very well be times when customer called in and was put into a queue holding for the next available agent and this hold time may have been longer than what HTC and the customer would like. Unfortunately, there are times, especially on days prior to a particular billing cycle being scheduled to be interrupted for non pay that the call volumes are heavy and wait times are longer. It is for this reason that HTC offers multiple ways to make bill payments including bank draft, online, by mail, and through the automatic payment call center (369-PAID) that do not require engagement with a customer relations agent and can be made at the customer's convenience regarding time of day. HTC also has nine locations to pay in person.

Issue #5: Customer states that HTC doesn't post on their door that we are BBB accredited. HTC has nine locations and all locations have had window stickers stating its BBB affiliation and accreditation. Unfortunately, over time, the stickers have fallen off or been removed during renovations at some of the locations. We have contacted the BBB office to request additional stickers for replacement.





Business Response
I have tried contacting this customer on both contact numbers we have on file. I left a voice mail message on each number advising I was calling regarding their concerns with HTC and would like to work with them towards a resolution. I provided them with my direct contact information.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The consumer has been with HTC for 6 years and has continually been in contact with them about a few issues. She has had issues with her Video chat connecting clearly and since she is deaf that is very important so she can have an interpreter communicate for her. Also when she purchased a new TV the captions were to small for her to read and contacted HTC to try to get help making the larger after several attempts and multiple service men coming out and refusing to communicate with her via notes and being VERY disrespectful! they finally fixed it. she feels as if she is being taken advantage of and cheated out of good customer service simply because she is deaf.

Desired Settlement
The consumer would like for the business to address their customer service men and women. She would like to be treated like a normal person. She would also like to be insured that if future problems arise they will be handled in a timely and respectful manner.

Business Response
In the 6 years the customer has been with HTC, she has called in 133 times. The majority of these trouble calls are not problems within the access connections that HTC provides to the customer, but rather related to problems with the customer's personal equipment. (i.e. video TTY and TV settings). HTC, on many occasions, out of courtesy and most often at no additional cost to her, have tried to assist the customer with the issues even though they are not HTC service provision related. For example, the customer wanted the font size of her closed captioning on her TV set changed. This is not within HTC's scope of responsibility of the services provided to the customer, but given her situation, HTC sent a technician out to see what he could possibly do. He contacted the manufacturer of the TV set and worked with them to change the aspect ratio and font built in the TV set. This had absolutely nothing to do with the transmission of broadcast channels which is the service that HTC provides and supports.

In regards to her claim that the technicians refuse to communicate with her via notes, that is the only way they can communicate with her as technicians are not proficient with sign language. In order to even address the nature of the reason for the call, they must communicate with her and her husband through written communication. HTC has a number of customers within our service area that are hearing impaired and have had no problems in assisting them via written communication.

It is our desire to assist the customer when at all possible but must ask the customer to remember, HTC can only assist to the point of confirming there is no issue within the services that HTC provides. Any issues with the customer owned equipment will need to be addressed with the technical support of the actual manufacturer of her equipment.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Companies, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Internet Access Provider, Mobile Telephone Equipment & Supplies, Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1987Business started: 06/16/1952
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Hagg (CEO)Customer Contact: Mrs. Kim Dyar (Mgr. Customer Service) Ray Auch (Customer Service Manager)Mrs. Debby Brooks (Dir. Customer Operat)Mrs. Nicole Hyman (Sr. Marketing Coord.)
Number of Employees

694

Business Category

Telephone Companies, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Internet Access Provider, Mobile Telephone Equipment & Supplies, Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair, Cable TV, Internet & Telephone Installation Service

Products & Services

Local Telephone Provider
Cable Television Provider
Internet/Broadband Provider
Wireless Provider
Long Distance Provider
Business Systems Provider

Alternate Business Names
HTC, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Security Systems
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3480 Highway 701 N 

    Conway, SC 29526-5702(843) 365-2151
    (843) 369-8726

  • PO Box 1820 

    Conway, SC 29528-1820Fax: (843) 365-0855

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Horry Telephone Cooperative, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Companies

Home Security Systems
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.