BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/26/2016

Premier Pool & Patio, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 738-8110Fax: (910) 739-58851380 Linkhaw Rd, LumbertonNC 28358-2520 Send email to Premier Pool & Patio, Inc



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/26/2016

BBB has determined that Premier Pool & Patio, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Premier Pool & Patio, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Premier Pool & Patio, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Parnell Pool & Spa was negligent in constructing a in-ground pool on a power line/drainage easement. As a result, pool must be moved at their expense.
I am extremely discontented with the lack of attention to state and local codes, laws, ordinances and regulations as well as the workmanship and service provided by the owners of Parnell Pool & Spa once the contract was signed. Parnell Pool & Spa is negligent in the planning and execution of in ground pool construction and for failing to perform due diligence to client's visible overhead power lines concerns resulting in constructing the pool on both a power line and drainage easement which ere both depicted on land plots and City/County Zoning records. Furthermore, Parnell Pool & Spa has been negligent in the following:

1. Neglected to conduct due diligence to visible overhead power lines concerns
2. Neglected to obtain land plot or conduct a survey resulting in encroaching on power lines and drainage easement; both depicted on public County and City zoning records.
3. Neglected to build to NC State Building Code & all other applicable State & Local Laws. Ordinance and Regulations as stated on City Permit.
4. Neglected to adhere to NC Law: Call before you dig; There is no record of a work order prior to excavation. Utility lines were never marked.
5. Neglected to post City Permit at construction site.
6. Neglected to inform the City about the encroachment issues verified on June 10, 2015. City Zoning Office was not aware of encroachment until I informed them on June 23, 2015 since Parnell Pool & Spa was not returning my calls.
7. Parnell Pool & Spa employee not present to supervise retaining wall construction which was constructed on a drainage easement.

Upon initially meeting with **** ******* of Parnell Pool & Spa on my property, in late February 2015, I express to ****, my safety concerns pertaining to the in ground pool and the visible overhead power lines running across the rear end of my property. As a result, I wanted the pool place closer to my dwelling and away from the power lines. He understood my concerns and assured me that I would be very pleased when the construction was completed. **** did mentioned some in ground pool building code restrictions but was not sure about the restrictions with the overhead power lines. He stated that he would have to look into it. Additionally, **** informed me that the pool would be built to code and that Parnell Pool & Spa would be responsible for getting the building permits. On March 3, 2015, **** sent Julio and another young man to stake out the dimensions of the pool so that I can get a better visual of the layout. I then became more at ease knowing that a company who specialized in building in ground pools would be responsible for the project. Additionally **** assured me that the pool would be completed in early June which was great news since my kids would be able to use it by the time they began their summer vacation.

On April 27, 2015, **** and I signed the contract. After signing the contract, **** asked me if I had a copy of the land plot. Since I did not, **** stated that he would obtain one from public records. As a result, prior to construction, I expected that **** obtained one as he indicated he would especially since the contract specifically called for one.

On June 9, 2015, during construction, a *********** Rep stopped by my residence. He inquired about the pool construction and pointed out that there was an overhead power line easement of 45 feet which extends into my property. After measuring from the property line to the edge of the pool (which concrete decking has not been constructed) it became evident that the pool and the retaining wall encroached on the easement. I called **** and had him speak directly with Mr. **** utilizing my cell phone on speaker. During the conversation Mr. **** informed **** that the easement was on the land plot in which **** stated that the land plot was not available so he drew a diagram on the building permit application. On June 10, 2015, a survey confirmed the encroachment to power line and drainage easement.

Desired Settlement
Parnell Pool & Spa needs to relocated the pool at their expense.

Business Response
The information written in the complaint is just not correct other than the pool and retaining wall are constructed in an easement. The homeowner did not, at any time, during our conversation prior to signing the Swimming Pool Contract or prior to starting the pool mention anything about a concern or conflict with any easements. We did position the pool as close to the house as possible per the homeowner, not because of the power line easement, but because he had a utility shed in the back corner of his yard. The pool was located about 10' from the shed. The shed, by the way is in the utility easement, so either the homeowner didn't know about the easement or purposefully installed the shed in the easement. Our company did get a permit to build. We did not mention any easements on the permit because we were not notified of any by the homeowner who is the responsible party to notify of any such easements. Although the homeowner claims that I am responsible, legally it it is the homeowners responsibility to ascertain any encumbrances on his property and notify a contractor.

The homeowner has suggested that our company would locate a proper plot plan. That is also not correct. What was said was that we could obtain a permit without a plot plan. We can and we did. The problem is the homeowner did not notify us of any easements. The real problem here is that the builder, the seller and closing attorney did not make the new homeowner aware of these easements as they should have.

Our company has offered in writing to remove all materials and put his backyard back to original condition. The homeowner has not responded to that offer.

I have an attorney involved in this process since the claims being made are not legally supported.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Per, NC Licensing Board for General Contractor and City Permit official, the contractor is responsible for utilizing a land plot so that he knows where he can LEGALLY build. On July 10, 2015, during a meeting with City officials, contractor and homeowner, the City officials were shocked that the contractor did not obtain a land plot prior to constructing the pool. Additionally, Parnell Pool & Spa, *** *******, indicated that the retaining wall was included on the City Building Permit Application in which it was easily verified that it was NOT. Moreover, during the meeting, Parnell Pool & Spa, was informed by the City Building Plans Review & Inspections Division Manager that it was his responsibility to ensure that the easements was considered and included in the Building Permit Application.

I pointed out visible power lines concerns in which the contractor neglected to look into easements associate with them. That is not my expertise that is why I am paying a contractor which should have looked into this concern prior construction. The land plot depicted both the power line and drainage easement.

The contractor is being paid because he is supposed to be the expert. Building a pool without a land plot is like building a house without blueprints. You have to know where you can or cannot build. As stated on the City building Permit: PERMIT IS HEREBY GRANTED FOR CONSTRUCTION INSTALLATION ON PROPERTY AS NOTED BELOW. ALL WORK WILL COMPLY WITH THE NC STATE BUILDING CODE & ALL OTHER APPLICABLE STATE & LOCAL LAWS ORDINANCE AND REGULATIONS.

Blaming the customer for the contractor's negligence is just plain UNPROFESSIONAL.

Additionally Parnell Pool & Spa was negligent on the issues outline below in which I have obtained verbal and/or physical evidence and am open to share with anyone interested.

1. Neglected to conduct due diligence to visible overhead power lines concerns.
2. Neglected to obtain land plot or conduct a survey resulting in encroaching on power lines and drainage easement; both depicted on public County and City zoning records.
3. Neglected to build to NC State Building Code & all other applicable State & Local Laws. Ordinance and Regulations as stated on City Permit.
4. Neglected to adhere to NC Law: Call before you dig; There is no record of a work order prior to excavation. Utility lines were never marked.
5. Neglected to post City Permit at construction site.
6. Neglected to inform the City about the encroachment issues.
7. Neglected to have a Parnell Pool & Spa employee present to supervise retaining wall construction subcontracted to a different company.

Final Business Response
I am afraid we have a difference of opinion. My contract has a line item initialed by the customer that he is to provide a proper plot plan. Again it was initialed by the customer. There is another line item initialed by the customer stating the the "owner warrants that he is familiar with the location of his property lines and that the pool site herein agreed upon is within said property lines and agrees to save and hold the contractor from any liability to the owner or third party arising from construction, without the fault of the contractor, beyond property lines or any liability due to zone changes or deed restrictions or association permits or fees". Legally, it is the responsibility of the homeowner to notify the contractor of encumbrances on his property, such as easements. I believe the the homeowner believes in what he says as I trust my attorney and my stance.

There is a difference between blaming a customer and stating factual, legal information as to the land owners responsibility.

As stated in the previous response, our company has offered to remove the pool, all equipment, and put this backyard back to its original stat. The has not responded. Homeowner has also had his credit card company charge back fraudulently $32,380.12, so at this point this homeowner has paid $1,000.00, has all material on his property, that he **** not release back and has not responded to our offer to get his yard back to its original state.

08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair to a pool gate incomplete. Warranty information not given.
Above ground pool purchased in June of 2014. A pool fence with a gate was installed at that time. The get was incorrectly put on. Several emails were sent and 3 different investigators from ******* came out to look. Finally around February two men were sent to fix the gate. We opened the pool 2 weeks ago and the gate was not even screwed on they just stuck it together. I have contacted the company by email and text as well as stopping in the store but have not gotten any response at all. We paid 10,000 for the pool and the gate. The screws all around the gate are rusting it is resin. We have requested warranty information as well on several occasions and have not gotten any response. The pump is rusting and we have not had the pool for a year yet.

Desired Settlement
We would like the gate fixed correctly this time. We would like to have the warranty information for all the parts including the rusting pump.

Business Response
I will have our service department to contact the ******'s to schedule a home visit to fix the part of the gate they say is broken. They will also email the warranty information on the pump.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Consumer Response
The company has not made any attempt to contact me to resolve these issues.

Final Business Response
We have been in contact. We are scheduled to be at her house between 8:30 and 9:00 on Friday 7-27-15.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed pool liner, now detached from pool wall. Also, hole dug by crew has resulted in buckling of pool wall.
Our experience with Parnell Pool and Spa has been a total disaster. In fact, it has been one of the worst we have ever had with any company. After paying for a pool liner in mid February of 2013, we were informed that we would be called to be scheduled for services. After 3 weeks, no one ever called. I called the company 3 times before receiving a call back. Finally, contact was made and an appointment was made to install new pool liner. Pool liner was installed with no problem it seemed. We had also paid for a foam wall replacement. The installation crewman told me that our foam wall did not need replaced, therefore, he would make sure that a refund would be issued. This did not happen until approximately 2 1/2 weeks ago, it is now July 1st (this also took several phone calls by me to remedy). About 3-4 days after installation of pool liner took place, I noticed that the crew never returned back to fill in a hole they had dug alongside the pool. Several calls later, I was reassured that someone would be back to fill in the hole. This never happened. I had to fill in the hole myself. Forward to late May, the pool liner that was installed, is now detached from the pool wall. Also, our pool has buckled in where the crew had dug a hole. Several phone calls later, an installation specialist came and took pictures. He reassured me that something needed to be done. I was relieved, especially after all the effort it took to get someone to listen to me. Last week, the manager called me on Monday to reassure me that he had not forgotten about our dilemma. He also promised to call later on that week after having someone else look at the pictures. He never called back. Last night, spouse came home. We called the company separately. He never received a call back. I received my call back by the manager only to be told that it was our job to fill the hole back in and that our wall was already buckled in when the job took place (note that I was told earlier that they would come fill the hole back in, but did not). This was totally untrue. I was also accused of not being home during the repair. This was also untrue. I gave the phone to my spouse who continued to have the same pointless conversation with the manager. Bottom line, manager stated that they were not going to repair damages, nor were they going to issue a refund. I regret not having read reviews for this company. $1500 dollars will now cost us double that, maybe more, plus the loads of inconvenience that has occurred in dealing with this company.

Desired Settlement
Refund of all monies paid to Parnell Pools & Spa.

Business' Initial Response
In responding to the complaint filed, I would like to disagree with the facts of the compliant and use the following to support my claim.

It is true that we received a deposit in mid-February. It is true that we told the customer that we would call to schedule the work, but what the complainant left out is that they were told we needed the proper temperature and sun to do the work. We needed the proper temperature and sun because the liners are "vacuum packed" in the box and without the right temperature and sun, the packing wrinkles would not come out. Knowing that, we did not call since the outside temperature had not increased to a point where the work could be done. After very demanding conversations with the customer we did do the work and based on the customers own comments, "the liner was installed with no problems".

To address the collapsed wall...I have to first explain the grade, or slope, of the land. The land has a severe slope and the area of concern is on the high side. When we removed the old liner a section of the wall pushed in from the weight of the dirt on the high side. We had to dig out dirt on the outside of the pool wall in that area in order to push it back. Once that was done the liner was put in and, again, there were no problems...for approximately 3 months.

The complainant claims that we did something wrong. I contend we did not. With all the pressure of the dirt pushing in and the pressure of the water pushing out, if a problem in our workmanship was going to occur, it would have happened right away. My contention, based on my 22 years of experience, is this...the time that the problem occurred was during the large amounts of rain that this area encountered, and because the area of recently excavated dirt was on the high side of the yard, the rain runoff will run towards that area and always wash out recently excavated dirt. This is a problem of weather, not workmanship.

Part of the problem in this dispute is the unwillingness of the complainant to discuss or listen in a rational way. This customer would not listen to any other alternative as to the cause of the problem. He would talk over me in a nasty, rude way. He called our company every negative name I have ever heard. I had offered to meet with the complainant several times during our phone conversation. He continued to talk over me and never acknowledged my offer. He was only interested in one answer.

So I contend that this is not a workmanship issue, since this problem would have happened right away, and just because a bad thing has happened doesn't mean that a person or a company is to blame. Three months after the work was completed, unseasonably amounts of rain created the washout that was on the high side of the yard.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/13/2000Business started: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1984, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Richard Geibert (President)Mr. Doug Geibert (CEO / General Manager)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Parnell Pool & Spa

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Premier Pool & Patio, Inc

1380 Linkhaw Rd

Lumberton, NC 28358-2520

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4206 Cumberland Rd 

    Fayetteville, NC 28306-2697(910) 425-6138
    Fax: (910) 425-0074

  • 1380 Linkhaw Rd 

    Lumberton, NC 28358-2520(910) 738-8110
    Fax: (910) 739-5885

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Premier Pool & Patio, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.