BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2002

Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 485-8400Fax: (910) 485-38886873 Raeford Road, FayettevilleNC 28304-0448 Send email to Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2002

BBB has determined that Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • 21 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues9
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
08/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
took 3 months of calling and visiting the office to have someone to honor the warranty. I have to repeat the same with another service incomplete
3 months of excuses from service calls not being issued to workers quitting before completing warranty request yes I heard it all and when I got fed up with making numerous of phone calls and requesting to speak to the owner just to have a guy name ***** tell the Secretary not to give the owner the message because he is taking care of it. Well after talking to ***** about the service purchased 3weeks ago he claimed to be working for me he then tried to explain that I paid for my warranty repair and vinyl under porch and no shutters due to me receiving a $100 off my bill for a referral fee on work that was completed and paid 4months prior

Desired Settlement
Put the black shutters up to complete job immediately.

Business Response
Mr. ******** is correct in that there was a delay in having someone complete his service. On July 7, 2014, he paid $289.00 (189.00 by credit card and received a $100.00 credit for a referral fee) for the repairs as the items repaired were not part of the work that we did per his contract dated July 6, 2013. Shutters were not mentioned until after the service was completed which occurred on 7/24/14. Shutters were not part of the original contract. We did not install his shutters. We are sorry that Mr. ******** is not satisfied. He is a nice individual, however our warranty is for work performed per the contract for which he still owes $95.00.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated before warranty was not honored in a timely manner. And what I paid for was not honored which is the shutters to complete the job. Now this company has shown me that this is not a misunderstanding but their way of doing business not honest at all

08/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please see the original complaint filed by the consumer:

"Owner of store needs to be fired! Very poor business man.

One thing he does not care, his thinking "have other clients" That's from the mouth. He didn't care about clients, had others! This was the first time I was responsible for any major thing.
He took advantage of me! And knew it!"

Desired Settlement
"Finish job! He lied! Windows opening and closing.
Can't open windows again. July 2015 promised storm back door. Did not every get it. End of summer 2015. Did put sliding back door in, never heard from him again."

Business Response
Spoke w/homeowner yesterday, 6/22/16. She has been out of town. Will be getting answer to her by tomorrow.
Thanks,
Peggy


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All I want is for my windows to be fixed. I cannot shut the windows. they're hard to lock and I do not feel safe. and I want my back storm door like I was promised .they were paid in full no questions asked .so I would like my windows in my door done like it was supposed to be done. Please and thank you
Doris ****** jun/27/16

Final Business Response
These are false accusations that Mrs. ****** is making. Mrs. ****** has never called this office. If anyone from the BBB is ever in town, you would see how our service requests are issued. We have six different bins for services: two for siding services, two for roofing services, and two for window services. One of each of those two bins is for the services issued and the other one is for completed services. Mrs. ****** has never called this office requesting a window service.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never received the call from them and I never told them that I did not want to receive their service I just want my back storm door and I want my windows to be able to lock and I am still waiting on a phone call from a lady by the name of Peggy that just started working there a couple of months ago...... Today is July,11,2016

08/10/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty coverage and use of inferior materials not listed on contract unknown to customer or agreed upon.
11/01/2008. I hired Home exteriors to put siding on my home. A package detailing the materials used was inclosed: Dow insulation to all areas,CertainTeed, Monogram 46, Herringbone Dutch lap 5. Soffit areas: Colonial White and PVC trim coil. Sales rep.Hugh ******** Payment by check. Lifetime warranty. A different company was used for the trim coil,Nranrdex/Aleris.I did agree to this nor is it noted on the contract. All products used were suppose to be CertainTeed. The trim coil started deteriorating,the pvc separating from the metal. I started calling at the beginning of 2016 about the problem. Home exteriors told me the the labor agreement of five had expired but I informed them that it was about the product not the labor used. I attempted to make several calls and because of the holidays,doctors appointments etc. The owner Peter ******* could not be reached. I finally ****** 4/25/16 morning and was told that ******* came by my house unannounced and told customer service that nothing was wrong with my home.I then informed them that the damage was in my backyard and I was home recovering from surgery. He never came by because my dog would have alerted me. Mr. ******* has not talked to me ar all to reach a possible resolution to issue. They were not given permission to use another manufactures product on my home. There have been other complaints filed about this company,Norandex/Aleris with small resolutions acknowledging their poorly made product. I wish Home Exteriors had done their homework and not lied to customer. Norandex/Aleris acknowledge my claim with a small amount that will not cover cost or labor. If it was done right the first time I would not be writing this complaint.

Desired Settlement
Replace all Norandex/Aleris product and replace with a CertainTeed covered by warranty agreement.

Business Response
I really have a problem dealing with common people that have no idea how to read nor understand the English dialect. A five year labor warranty is a five year labor warranty! We completed Mr. *****'s job eight years ago. This is about a $89.00 service charge. In his simple mind, he thinks everything is free. He thinks all he has to do is get loud, and use profanity. Well, it doesn't work here.

08/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jeers to a home improvement and roofing contracting company that doesn't back up its work and warranty.
The company installed vinyl siding around my chimney with a warranty. When the chimney began to lean, the company rebuilt the chimney from top to bottom. When rain water started leaking into the garage, I called them and I took my contract to the office, and the company did not have a copy of its own paperwork on file and told me another employee who used to work there did the work and the company will not honor the contract. It's a bad business to work with.
POSTED IN THE Fayetteville Observer newspaper Noverber 17, 2015

Desired Settlement
fixs the leaking at the chimney area and sent out a contractor for repairs the vinyl siding is still under warranty around chimney or give me a partial payment that I already paid you for I get the chimney leaking stop I think that will be fair

Business Response
Our response: As a rule, ************** does not do roof services, however we did Mr. *******'s service as we had done other exterior work for him a number of years ago. Mr. ******* could not reach the fly-by-night company who did his roof. ************** serviced the roof to stop a leak. Just because we serviced his roof does not mean we are going to honor another company's shoddy workmanship. We did his vinyl siding and windows which are beautiful. Because he had been a previous vinyl siding and window customer, we unfortunately made an exception for him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I have never hired a fly by night company to do work on my home.I hired your company to remove siding from
affected area to include fireplace, to inspect wood on and around fireplace for damage, to inspect and repair frame work around fireplace and mount fireplace to correct lean and support as necessary. Also to install siding and repair roof as needed to stop leakage. Approximately three weeks after completion of this work, the area around the chimney began to leak.
Your company sent out a contractor to fix the leak around the chimney. The contractor instructed me to call your office if the leak returned. Approximately ten months later we had a heavy rain that lasted 11 to 12 days. Around the chimney the leaking began again. I called your company, and took a copy of the contract to you. As of this day, This matter had not been resolved. My chimney that your company rebuilt is still leaking, there is no issue with any other part of my roof.

Final Business Response
We are standing behind our response which has already been provided.
Thank you.

05/23/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Purchased windows from Home Exteriors of Fayetteville with a lifetime warranty and they refused to honor the warranty
I Purchased windows from Home Exteriors of Fayetteville for my home. At that time I was told the windows had a lifetime warranty against any defects and damaged. When I called Home Exteriors, they never returned my calls and once I did get someone they refused to honor the warranty because they said company they bought the windows from went out of business. They did not offer any solution to the problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to honor their warranty and replace the damaged window.

Business Response

Home Exteriors was pleased to serve this customer in 2011. In good faith, we provided him with one of the best replacement windows then on the market. Those windows did come with a manufacturer's lifetime warranty.
Unfortunately that company, ******, did in fact close their doors and file for bankruptcy protection--seemingly overnight. This left everyone--dealers and consumers, with no recourse.
Anytime we have received calls from our customers regarding this issue, we have suggested that they may order parts and glass from Soft-lite to repair these windows. Our company is happy to answer questions about that process. We hope we have made it very clear, however, that because of the status of the manufacturer, there is no warranty of the windows. In the contract our customers sign there is a notice that "materials are warranted according to manufacturer's warranty." In regard to that, we are all in the same boat.
Thank you.

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not properly install my door now its rotting and molding. They refuse to fix it.


I had 5 jobs done at my house in March 2014.
1.New back french doors - water comes in the bottom, wood rotting and MOLDING and carpet getting wet and molding. REFUSES TO ACTUALLY REPAIR THE ISSUE THAT THEY CREATED. It was not like this, leaking and rotting before.
2.New entry put in wall - aesthetically displeasing - not getting repaired. Looks horrible and my children trip over it and fall almost daily.
3. New roof on house - Discovered they put shingle paper over a hole with no particle board first. - Came and fixed that. Let's just hope the rest of the roof that I can't see looks ok.
4. All New windows in the home. - No problems thus far.
5. New front glass storm door - No issues

Paid them CASH $18,500+ without delay.... Now that I have issues, they're picking and choosing what they're willing to repair.

Desired Settlement
I want them to come and fix the door. it may need replacing or removing and properly installing and new molding and replace any boards that are rotting. make it so its not leaking water inside my home and wetting and molding my carpet.

Business Response
Mrs. ******'s home is two stories on the back with NO GUTTERS with a 22 foot rake. Therefore, when it rains, 22 feet of water pours down 18 feet onto her deck and splashes onto her door. What makes the problem worse is that her deck is not built to code. The deck is level with her door. Code for a deck is that the deck is 8 inches lower than the door. To make matters even worse, her deck is 16 feet wide and has a 4 1/2 inch drop that is going towards her door. Home Exteriors has told Mrs. ****** several times over the last two years that in order for the problem to be corrected, she would need to remove the deck. She has said several times that she was going to remove the deck. We even sent out a state-licensed inspector to her home, and he told her the exact same thing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is unacceptable and untrue. My deck never caused an issue prior to them installing the door. They sent I stay inspector to my house and he did not tell me that I had to remove the deck he told me that the door was installed improperly. Those were his words. This is completely unacceptable and I need to be reimbursed. He is not being honest when he says what the inspectors report was. I am very unsatisfied. My carpet is molding and it was not doing this before. His work has not only caused damage to the door, but the door casing, my carpet, and my floor will eventually ROT!!! This business is awful and I don't know how he sleeps at night.

Final Business Response
Mrs. ******'s home is two stories on the back with NO GUTTERS with a 22 foot rake. Therefore, when it rains, 22 feet of water pours down 18 feet onto her deck and splashes onto her door. What makes the problem worse is that her deck is not built to code. The deck is level with her door. Code for a deck is that the deck is 8 inches lower than the door. To make matters even worse, her deck is 16 feet wide and has a 4 1/2 inch drop that is going towards her door. Home Exteriors has told Mrs. ****** several times over the last two years that in order for the problem to be corrected, she would need to remove the deck. She has said several times that she was going to remove the deck. We even sent out a state-licensed inspector to her home, and he told her the exact same thing.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/16/1996Business started: 01/01/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1993, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Peter Porreco (President)Customer Contact: Ms Elizabeth Porreco (Corporate Secretary)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Siding Contractors, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services

Products & Services

Home Exteriors of Fayetteville is a siding contractor


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc

6873 Raeford Road

Fayetteville, NC 28304-0448

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 6873 Raeford Rd 

    Fayetteville, NC 28304-2630

  • 6873 Raeford Road 

    Fayetteville, NC 28304-0448(910) 485-8400
    Fax: (910) 485-3888

  • PO Box 42905 

    Fayetteville, NC 28309-2905

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Home Exteriors of Fayetteville, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.