BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sands Ocean Club Resort

Phone: (843) 449-6461Fax: (843) 449-1837

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

My credit card was falsely charged around $600 total. No one will call me from accounting dept. Other party should have been billed and was.
I was a photographer at a wedding at the resort...assured that my room charge was being paid by the bride, *** ******* I explained this when checking in at the resort....person at the desk INSISTED that I provide a credit card for Incidental items (of which there were NONE) When I checked out, again, clerk said NO CHARGE to my account....the room was not even in my was booked in the name of *** ******* Checked my credit card online statement....2 days account has been charged....two over $498 and one over $124. This is illegal to charge this to me when I was assured that I would NOT be charged and the room was NOT in my name. I have tried for the past week to talk to someone in accounting....I was able to accomplish this once....a girl named ******* in accounting and she did call me back after she researched this matter. She stated that I was correct...the room is NOT in my name nor should I have been charged....and that my credit card would be credited for the 2 amounts. That was last Thursday, July 18. I have yet to have that amount credited on my credit card and I have tried daily to get a hold of someone in accounting and no one, including the manager will return my phone calls. I have disputed these charges with my credit card company. I would appreciate any help you can be. I have never had this problem with any other business. This is just plain BAD BUSINESS. Thanks for your time and investigation into this establishment. I truly wish I would have never stayed there.....and we won't even go into how bad the place is run down and the maids don't leave towels and they have what looked like an 8 year old girl sweeping the floors one day, helping the maids, and in general....this is a dirty, run down place that I will never return to.

Desired Settlement
Credit to my credit card the 2 amounts that they have charged to me.

Business Response
2013/8/8 ** business responded:

Dear **********
We have been speaking with Ms. ******* regarding this matter for several weeks now. Ms. ******* was the photographer at a wedding held at our hotel. The bride was to pay for the room, however, Ms. ******* signed the registration card allowing us to charge her credit card should the bill not be paid. Unfortunately, the bride did not pay and we were forced to charge the card we had on file for Ms. *******.
Mrs. ****** (the bride) called a few days ago and said she would be stopping by to see me. We hope she will pay the bill for Ms. ******* and then we will be happy to refund her card.
We appreciate your help in this matter.
Yours truly,
***** ********
Sands Ocean Club Resort

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I definitely was NOT informed that they would charge my credit card for the room. I was told just the opposite....that I would NOT be charged by the front desk clerk....not once, but twice. I have also been assured that the Sands Ocean Club employees would call me back within a certain amount of time....By Friday, August 2nd by 2 pm to be exact and have NEVER received another phone call. I am definitely not pleased with this response. Again, I want these charges removed from my credit card.

Final Business Response
2013/9/11 ** The business provided a rebuttal response via phone:

The consumer was photographer for the brides wedding. The bride made the reservation and said that she would be paying for part of the stay but was unsure if she would be paying for the entire stay of the photographer. The business had the brides credit card on file and when the consumer checked in they had her credit card on file for incidentals. Upon check out the brides credit card did not go through. The services were rendered at the business and payment had to be secured. The bride did not secure the payment so the consumer was billed. The consumer would need to contact the bride to get reimbursement.

09/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Our credit card was charged an extra 447.55 on July 2nd, 2012 that we did not authorize. The consumer's credit card was charged on June 26, 2012.
We checked into the Sands Ocean Club from June 23 - June 29, 2012. We paid 519.82 deposit to reserve our room in March 2012. We were charged 967.39 when we checked into our room in June. They said this was our balance owed and we had to pay full amount at check in. After we returned home, the hotel charged our credit card an additional 447.55 on July 2, 2012 that was not authorized or can't be explained to us. We want to dispute this charge and want refunded. After doing some research, there appears to be several people that have complained of similar problems on the company's Facebook page. They have recently removed the comment section on their page.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the 447.55 charge on our credit card that no one can explain why it was charged on our account.

Business Response
I do not have anyone by the name ******* ******** in our computer system. I need to know what name the reservation was under to look up any charges. I will be happy to assist if I get this information.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied. First of all ******* ******** did not try to reach me until August 1st. I have called everyday since August 1st, several times a day and leaving messages. Today is August 13th & I have yet to talk to anyone. And again up on our check-in my husband went to check in before our other party arrived. h was told he had to pay full remaining balance before we could check in because it as the resorts policy. He did. He was charged 967.39. We were suppose to be in the main building and we were not. We brought it to the desk clerks attention & she said they had to change it. Upon checking out on Friday June 29th at 8 am. We were told to leave the keys in room because our balance was paid in full. We then got our bank statement at the end of July and it showed a charge form Sands Ocean Club on July 2nd of 447.55. We checked out on June 29th. My husband's card was not presented to anyone on this day because we were told we had a balance of zero. This transaction was not authorized and put us in a financial strain. I have contacted the resort trying to get an answer that was legit. Talking to several different employees, including Mr. *** ********* CEO whom has hung up on me twice. I have also talked with **** & ****. They all have given me the same answer. At the end of the day accounting realized the price discrepancy and took it upon themselves to charge the difference to our credit card with out approval or notifying us. Not very professional. We have done a little research also. This is illegal and is considered fraud. Again upon check out we were told we had a zero balance. Not our problem. Sands Ocean Club should have to eat their employees mistakes, not the consumers. We are not trying to get a free vacation. We have stayed at Sands Ocean Club several times and have never had any issues. I loved the resort and was a returning customer because of all they offer. After all of this, I'm sad to say my family will not stay here again. Simply because of how the management that I have spoken with being shady about the situation. Very unprofessional and poor management skills. We are not requesting the full amount of our stay, just the amount of 447.55 that was not authorized & was charged after we had checked out and were home in Tennessee. Also seems shady that ******* from accounting didn't include any dates of the charges in her email to Ms. ***** ********. Not Satisfied. We are still seeking amount of 447.55.

Final Business Response
2013/8/8 ** business submitted a response:

Please see attached response from our accounting dept.
Thank you!

----- Original Message -----
From: *******
To: ***** ********
Sent: Friday, July 26, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: RE: Fw: Complaint XXXXXXXX


I called this person yesterday and left a message but so far I have not heard anything. Did a little research and found her reservation from June 2012. She stayed 6 nights @ $259.91 per night plus taxes and fees. Her total was $1934.76, she had a deposit of $519.82, paid $967.39 at check in, leaving a balance of $447.55 that was charged on check out.


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Fw: Complaint XXXXXXXX
From: "***** ********" <*****>
Date: Thu, July 25, XXXX XX:XX pm
To: <*******>
Hey *** -
Do you know what the extra $400+ charge was for? Has it been refunded.
Thanks, *****

----- Original Message -----
From: **********
To: *****
Sent: Thursday, July 25, XXXX X:XX AM
Subject: Complaint XXXXXXXX

Dear ***** ********,
I am attaching the complaint link for review. The consumer submitted more information regarding the name of the guest. She is the wife. Please review the complaint and the attachments and provide a response. Let me know if I can be of more assistance.
********* ***** Trade Practice Specialist

Email: ********** Start With Trust
BBB Of Coastal Carolina
1121 Third Avenue
Conway, SC XXXXX

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dear Sands Resort I just stayed at your hotel with my two sons for our baseball tournament. We drove down from Columbus Ohio. Our team name is the Eastside Irish. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I never complain but that place was dirty and disgusting. The hallways smelled horrible, the elevators broke down, the key card reader to get into the car garage did not work right. The rooms were dirty, the sides of the beds were stained and disgusting. If you don't believe me go to room 1628 on the top floor right now and lift up the sheets. That place is gross. I would never ever stay in one of your hotels again. I feel bad for the middle class hard working people who go there to vacation and for the people who have to work in that place. And believe me I heard plenty of people moving to different rooms and complaining about even getting toilet paper for there rooms. Its to bad and the owners of the hotel should be ashamed. Myrtle Beach should be ashamed they have a place like that on there beaches. Clean it up and fix it up or shut it down
Product_Or_Service: Hotel Stay
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I should get a full refund but I would settle for at least two days to be refunded and the promise that they will work hard to fix up and clean up that hotel. That hotel is in really bad shape.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mr. and Mrs. *****,
I am sorry to hear your experience with us was unpleasant. We work hard to provide excellent customer service and hate to hear of we fell short in your eyes. We have issued 2 nights compensation to your credit card. We do not want any guest feeling they did not get good service. We are constantly striving to upgrade the property and will continue to do so. Thank you for your comments we will look into the issues.
Sands Ocean Club

07/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Cockroaches in hotel room and got downgraded because of it.
On X-XX-XX I booked and prepaid $1, 008.10 for a 2 BR suite with for 4 nights @ Sands Ocean Club for my family of 6. Ive stayed in this hotel before and never been dissatisfied. Check in date was 6-3 & out on 6-7. Upon arrival, we quickly unloaded our vehicle and although we found 1 large dead cockroach on the bathroom floor, we gave the room the benefit of the doubt because it was a very nice suite.We didn't unpack and went for a quick swim. It started raining so we left the hotel and went grocery shopping. We came back and unloaded groceries. I made dinner quickly so that I could join my family at the indoor pool. As I started moving things in the kitchen around and opening cupboards, several 20+ cockroaches came scurrying out from under the stove and fridge area. I filmed the cockroaches and immediately went to the front desk to report the issue.
I was informed that the only solution was to move rooms, which is a HUGE inconvenience when there are 4 children involved. I said that I would agree to the room move as long as the room was comparable in setup, was ocean view, and also was cockroach free. I was told it was the only room available for our length of stay so it was my only option.
We packed our belongings and moved to a room that was a HUGE downgrade from the room we had come from. I have pictures to prove the comparability of both a rooms.
Never in my life have I experienced such terrible service. Requested a coffeepot at 11am, since mine was broken, didn't get one until 5pm. Requested a blanket for the pullout couch and was brought up 2 sheets and told that the hotel didn't have any blankets. Air conditioner wasn't working properly and after calling to inform the front desk about the issue and waiting for over an hour I finally called again at midnight and maintenance finally showed up 10 minutes later to fix the problem.
I feel as if management should have contacted me, since I did ask the woman at the front check in counter to have management to call, to apologize for the situation and offer some sort of compensation for my troubles.I was informed that no manager was onsite for me to speak with at the time of the incident. After all I have dealt with I'm half tempted to leave early and make sure no one I knows stays at this hotel.

Desired Settlement
Compensation for all the issues my family and I have faced. Preferably a full refund.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ******* was moved due to claims of pests in the unit she was in. The unit she was moved to was the same unit type and not a downgrade. Unfortunately she was unhappy with the unit we provided. However it was the only unit we had vacant and available. I will be happy to offer a free weekend for a future stay with us if she chooses to come back.

Industry Comparison| Chart


As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.