BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

Garden City Realty Inc

Phone: (843) 652-4231Fax: (843) 357-4769View Additional Phone Numbers608 Atlantic Avenue, Murrells InletSC 29576-8104 Send email to Garden City Realty IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Since 1973 Garden City Realty has been bringing satisfied guests, property owners, buyers and sellers together in one of the east coast's most frequented vacation destinations. We provide quality service with a touch of Southern hospitality.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1988

BBB has determined that Garden City Realty Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Garden City Realty Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Garden City Realty Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ****** *******, and I have a formal complaint against the Garden City Realty in Garden City, South Carolina. We rented a condo for June 6th for a week and put a $660.00 deposit down on January 28th,, the agent that help us is ******, and she explained by phone that we had 30 days to cancel if needed and we would be refunded totally. I reserved the Sea Oaks unit 203. She also stated she would email us a contract and we never received. Due to me losing my job I canceled the reservation well within the 30 days, which was canceled on Feb 18, 2015. To this date we have not received the deposit back on her card.

We will report this to our attorney after no help from manager **** ********. He spoke to my husband ***** today and stated that we have the contract. Again no contract was sent which means we did not sign anything. We will never come back to the area again, and this is hard to do for we love it there, we used Garden City Realty at least 4 times and Dunes Realty 10 times.

Desired Settlement
I would this look into and have our money back.

Business Response
When this guest made their reservation the agent who took the reservation clearly stated in the notes that they told the guest verbally of our cancellation policy which states: "If a reservation is cancelled an amount of 80% of the reservation deposits will be refunded once the property is re-rented for the full amount of the original reservation. If the property is re-rented for a lesser amount the difference will be withheld from your reservation payment as well as the 20% cancellation fee."
Additionally, we sent a copy of our rental agreement to the guest at the same email address we've sent all other correspondence to. We have every reason to believe the guest was told of our policy and received a written copy of the cancellation policy when the reservation was made. We sent that correspondence to the same email address we've sent other correspondence; correspondence which the guest has responded to indicating we have a valid working email address. Additionally, the guest states they have stayed with our company in the past; our cancellation policy has remained as it is for at least the last 5 years, we don't have any reason to believe the guest should not have been aware of our policy. As we have stated in conversation with the guest we intend to abide by our cancellation policy and should we get the property re-rented we will issue a refund to the guest in accordance with our policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was never stated in my conversation with ******, the rep. We have rented in the past, however we lost our job and my husband is on total disability. We would like our money back and never will we rent again. This is very poor business on your behalf Plus your manager cannot call us to discuss this. He spoke to my husband not myself which I required.

I want our money back at least the 80%

****** *******

Final Business Response
I cannot attest to what was said during the conversation with ******. I can however state that she did put notes in the reservation when she made which state that she told the guest about our cancellation policy. I do know that we made our policies clear in writing to the guest at the time the reservation was made. As I stated previously we will be continuing to honor our agreement and if the property is re-rented in accordance with our cancellation policy we will issue a refund of 80% of the deposit paid.

10/25/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We'd made reservations, bought travel ins to cover cancellations. We had to cancel the trip for illness and now they won't give us a refund.
We made reservations and took the travel insurance to cover cancellations. We specifically asked if this covered death, sickness, etc. We were told it covered it all. My wife got sick a few days before the trip, so we called to cancel, they wouldn't cancel our reservations, saying the insurance company didn't cover certain types of sickness. We were then told to call the ins company ourselves which we did. They emailed us a claim wanting a list of all the clinics/hospitals that my wife goes to, a page for her doctor to fill out, and wanted us to sign a release form for all of my wife's medical records past, present, and future. We didn't think that was their business to have access to her medical records, so we refused. She did however tell them she would be glad to send a written statement of why she couldn't make the trip, but that wasn't acceptable. We were not explained any of these polices when we took the ins. We did not sign anything. We put the reservation amount of 1156.84 that is including 75.68 for the insurance. We do not expect the 75.68 refunded but the remaining amount we do. We also contacted our credit card for help, and Garden City Realty claimed that we showed up after hours and spent the whole week there. We sent copies of our credit card activity to prove we were in our home town, but they didn't help us either. In my opinion if you purchase travel insurance to cover a cancellation, then you should be covered and not have to fight to get a refund. My wife didn't go to the doctor at that specific time because she felt she would get well on her own at home. Sick people do not usually feel like traveling 9 hours away from home for a week. How can they claim we actually showed up when we didn't sign anything. Our check in date was 6-23-2012. We made our reservations on 6-13-2012. We had to call and cancel either 6-18 or 6-19-2012. I really hope you can help us with this situation. I think we have been fraudulently charged, and not given the specific information for the insurance we had purchased. They should have told us before we made the reservations about all the red tape that goes with it if you need to cancel.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have a refund credited back to our credit card in the amount of 1081.16. That is the total amount of the reservation excluding the 75.68 for travel insurance that didn't help us at all. And it would also benefit everyone if Garden City Realty would give a detailed explanation of exactly what is covered by this insurance when you purchase it, or at the very least give you the name of the insurance company so you can find out for your self what all is and is not covered, not wait until someone needs to cancel then tell them they can't get a refund.

Business' Initial Response
****** ********, the President of Garden City Realty called in to provide information concerning the complaint reported by Mr. ********. Mr. ******** has record of conversations concerning cancellation of the reservation due to his wife's sickness; however, Mr. ******** informed Garden City Realty that he first wanted to contact his insurance.
Upon contacting the insurance, Mr. ******** was informed that he needed to provide documentation of his wife's unhealthy medical condition. This is standard procedure when filing a claim. Mr. ******** failed to do so. The insurance needs to have evidence for a reason of cancellation. To resolve this complaint, the Mr. ******** can provide requested documentation to the insurance company and they may possibly reopen the claim for a refund. Insurance contact information was provided by Garden City Realty during the initial reservation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I didn't ask to speak to the insurance company, they told me I had to. Further more, my credit card company would have probably already taken care of this matter if Garden City Realty hadn't lied to them stating that we actually showed up after hours and spent the week. We did not sign any kind of contract or agreement to anything. They sent us a contract to sign, but we did not. And if this is standard procedure to pry into one's medical history, then it ought to be stated when one makes a reservation. My wife could not help the fact that she wasn't able to travel at that time. My wife has severe anxiety problems, high blood pressure problems, and also on going lower back trouble. She has had these problems for many years, but doesn't go to the doctor with them everytime she has a flare up, because over the years she has learned to deal with them the best she can with medicine, bed rest, etc. This is why we had to cancel our trip. It wasn't something that we planned. That is why we purchased the insurance. We were unaware that there were so many stipulations to being too sick to travel. It is as if we are being discriminated against because she had the wrong illness. This whole travel insurance is useless in my opinion. We did recieve an email with the attached forms to fill out and send back, but like I stated earlier, I don't feel that my wife's whole medical history is anyone's business but hers and her doctors. Yet all of her illnesses are on record, she just didn't go to the doctor at that particular time. I think that Garden City Realty really needs to train their employees a little better on the insurance policies. If we would have been told up front that the insurance only covered very specific things, or knew that if someone got sick we would have to realease our whole life history to them, we wouldn't have made the reservations in the first place. But, that's not how they operate apparetnly. It was fraud as far as I'm concerned. And I truely hope that this complaint will stop it from happening to others in the same situation. Money is very hard to come by these days, I don't beleive anyone would save for a vacation, plan the vacation and then just cancel for no reason at all. We had a legitement reason for our cancellation, but yet they want to keep our money that we worked and sweated out because my wife wasn't able to travel at this time. I just think it is so shameful for anyone to want to do business that way.
Garden City Realty could've most definatley had our business again next year, as well as alot of my family and friends, bacause we all travel to Myrtle Beach, but never again would I consider doing business with them, and I have made suggestions to the rest of my family, friends, co-workers, etc. to do the same. Mr. ***** W. ********

Business' Final Response
Garden City Realty has spoken directly with Mr. ******** concerning this matter. All information has been provided as to steps that need to be taken to get a refund from the insurance company. A detailed medical history is not necessary, but some type of documentation must be provided to the insurance company. The insurance company can give an outline of what type documentation that may be.

07/12/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1988Business started: 01/01/1973Business started locally: 10/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

S C Real Estate Commission
110 Centerview Dr Ste 302
Columbia, SC 29210-8432
(803) 896-4400
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/REC

Real Estate Commission - N C
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC 27619-7100
(919) 875-3700
http://www.ncrec.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Dennis McElveen (President)Customer Contact: Lee Hewitt (President)
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Real Estate

Products & Services

Garden City Realty, Inc. specializes in beach vacation rentals and real estate sales.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMSat: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AMSun: 08:30 AM to 05:30 AM
Service Area

The coastal communties along South Carolina's Grand Strand

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Garden City Realty Inc

608 Atlantic Avenue

Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-8104

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 608 Atlantic Avenue 

    Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-8104(843) 652-4231
    (843) 652-4236
    (800) 681-9059
    (800) 395-5930
    (843) 651-2124
    (843) 651-0900
    (843) 651-2121
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769
    Fax: (843) 357-4769

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Garden City Realty Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (843) 652-4236
  • (800) 681-9059
  • (800) 395-5930
  • (843) 651-2124
  • (843) 651-0900
  • (843) 651-2121

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (843) 651-9738
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.