BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/26/2003

Grand Strand Resorts Inc

Phone: (843) 272-4171Fax: (843) 272-2825View Additional Phone Numbers408 Main St, North Myrtle BeachSC 29582-3024 Send email to Grand Strand Resorts Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/26/2003

BBB has determined that Grand Strand Resorts Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Grand Strand Resorts Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grand Strand Resorts Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertisement
Excessive maintenance related failures
Delayed response to repair maintenance items
Very dirty unit upon arrival
Worn & furniture
Dear Mr. ****


As a first time client of Grand Strand Resorts, I feel compelled to share our rental experience with you as unfortunately, it fell well below our expectations. The reservation detail is in the subject line. My family checked into Ashworth 309 - 4 bedroom unit on Saturday June 21st. Upon check in and throughout the week, there were a variety of problems and many inconveniences experienced during our stay. Please see the list below:

* The unit overall unit was filthy, the floors, bathrooms, tubs were not cleaned well. After walking barefoot on the tile surfaces our feet were "black". Very disturbing!
* The carpets in the master bathroom were absolutely disgusting, I rolled them up immediately and gave them to the maintenance person who finally came in on Tuesday to re-clean the unit.
* There were several burned out light bulbs in the unit, maintenance came in with a box of bulbs and replaced all that were burned out.
* The toilet in one of the bathrooms broke, maintenance was called back in again to repair it.
* The couch and love seat were also very dirty, worn & outdated, we had to place blankets over the furniture before sitting on them.
* Knobs were missing on the kitchen cabinets
* Silverware in the kitchen drawers was dirty and all had to be re-washed before using
* The outside storage closet lock was broken and very difficult to open, maintenance was called but never addressed the issue, the closet was left open all week and we were very inconvenienced by this because we could not place anything of value in the storage closet.
* The unit advertisement online shows two very nice bar stools that were placed at the kitchen counter, when we checked in, there was one captain's chair there instead. We were very disappointed by this because we were entertaining during the week and didn't have enough seating at the counter. The picture online clearly miss-represented the unit. Very disappointing...
- Broken Dining Room fixture - inoperable the entire week we rented the unit

We have rented at Ashworth several times in the past and have very much enjoyed the property and location, unfortunately, this rental experience was very sub-standard. As a result of this poor experience and problems described above, I am requesting a full refund of $2,982.57 .

Thank you in advance for your consideration. I would appreciate a prompt response.


*** ******
XXXXX ******* Drive
*********, NC XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Full refund as described

Business Response
To whom it may concern and Mr. ******,
I am very sorry your stay at The Ashworth was not up to your standards. Grand Strand Resorts always try to make your vacation stay for our quests the best possible. We always ask our quests upon check in to make sure the unit is up to your standards or we will immediately send some out to resolve your needs. Our office did return your Call Sunday morning, but did not get a return call from you until Tuesday. At that time , we did send out our cleaners to resolve your issues. The tiles floors were mopped again and the bathroom room mats were taken up. Maintenance did come in and replace the light bulbs and repair the slow toilet. As for the couch and love set, our inventory shows that they are lees than two years old. We went in this week and found nothing wrong with them. You are right about the bar stools. They did have one replacement there instead of two. A new set had been ordered and not delivered yet. That one chair was just a replacement until the new set arrived. As for the outside closet, is used for the owners personal belonging's and that is why we do not advertise the use of them.
I am sorry for your experience, but feel these few issues were fulfilled and repaired. Grand Strand did everything to resolve your issues and for this reason, we do not feel your request for a full refund warranted.
Cordially,
**** ****
Pres.
Grand Strand Resorts

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ***** account of what occurred is not completely accurate. the unit upon check in(Saturday) was filthy and we did call to complain. Yes, we did receive a call back on Sunday while on the beach and missed the call from Grand Strand. We immediately dialed the number of the incoming call and it was never answered nor was their a choice to leave a message.

Finally on Tuesday, three days after check in, the tile floor was mopped and filthy bathroom carpets removed.

My complaint here is we paid a premium price for a sub-standard rental. Each one of these issues created a large inconvenience for my family during our vacation. The unit, maintenance, furnishings, cleanliness and the responsiveness to get things corrected fell well below my expectations. The unit was miss-represented by outdated photos and even the maintenance technician confirmed this to me verbally while in the unit making repairs. To defend your position by minimizing the complaint to a "few issues" and all being fulfilled / repaired is a gross under-statement. My kids feet were completely black from the dirt on the floors, we experienced way too many service and lack of maintenance issues and overall created a major disruption to our vacation.

Final Business Response
We did call back Sunday and understand that you were out .Also, our unit file show that we again called the unit and your cell Monday at 9:10 am and received no answer at both. We did not hear back from you again until Tuesday, at which at that time we sent someone over immediately to correct the issues.
The unit was not miss represented over just two bar chairs being replace.
We do not see how these small issues were a large inconvenience or a major disruption into your overall vacation and for this reason, we do not feel your request for a full refund is warranted.
Cordially,
**** ****
Pres.
Grand Strand Resorts

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All of what I say is true and I find it appalling that Grand Strand Resorts gauges my inconvenience as "small". I paid a more than premium price for accommodations and experience that was less than satisfactory. I find the actions / response of Grand Strand as anything but Customer centric and more focused on being "right" than listening to their clients experience. As stated previously, we had daily inconveniences and these negatively impacted our vacation. The on line photos miss-represented the actual unit we rented and overall unit cleanliness, maintenance and upkeep was extremely poor. I remain.

07/16/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Vacation Rentals, Rental Vacancy Listing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/04/2000Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1986, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Phil Pate (President)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service, Vacation Rentals, Rental Vacancy Listing Service

Products & Services

Oceanfront vacation rentals.

Alternate Business Names
South Shore Villas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grand Strand Resorts Inc

408 Main St

North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3024

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 408 Main St 

    North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3024(843) 272-4171
    (800) 367-6515

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grand Strand Resorts Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 367-6515
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Rental Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.