BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/27/2010

Jeb Holdings, LLC

Phone: (843) 877-2508

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not what we paid for...and dog hair!
First of all, I wish I would have looked on the BBB website before booking our stay. Some of the same complaints I saw from others, happened to us. After looking for a property that allows dogs, I found a property thru this company that I thought would work for us. My dad passed away this year and we decided to go to the beach for thanksgiving. I booked it in October. 2 days before checking in, they sent me an email. I didn't receive the email but I had given my work email, not my personal one. The day before we were to check in I received a call from ******** from this company. She stated that a reservation had gotten "stuck" in their reservation system....what? It sounded strange to me then and still does. So, after her promising that the property they were offering was just as good as the one we reserved, I agreed to changing. We didn't have a choice...our money was gone and we were at their mercy. Well. We went down and got to the property. We hardly had enough space to park our vehicles, they did stick out in the road. Next. Was the clincher. When we opened the door. ..it smelled so much like a wet dog, unbelievable! And this was "after" it was cleaned :( white dog hair flying everywhere on the floor, dirty socks with white dog hair in the window seal, and just having that dirty smell and feel to it. I called the office number and spoke with ********, I told her we were not happy with this property and after talking to her for a while, I agreed to have someone come and re clean the place. **** came and he did do a great job...if he would not have come I'm not sure what we would have done. We stayed, but it was still not the place we wanted and paid for. I don't think that is an honest way to run a business. I've contacted **** about my concerns and a refund, but in her reply back to me, she stated she does not give refunds if we had already stayed in the house. I'm not sure what's going on with this company, but from some of the other complaints it sounds like this is something they do quite often. Shame on people that take advantage of others, not a good way to do business.
signed, Discouraged.

Desired Settlement
We feel this property was a step down to what we paid for, not what was promised after agreeing to make the change,
And not left in a clean condition. We feel that we should be given a refund since the property wasn't what was promised to us.

Business Response
Dear *****,

Thank you for being our customer and for taking the time to make your personal comments regarding your recent vacation with us. We are happy that we were able to offer you one of our pet-friendly properties to accommodate your whole family including your dog. I take great pride in the cleanliness of our units and want to ensure you that we do have a documented cleaning and inspection process that has left many of our previous customers this year (over 1000) leaving us with outstanding reviews.

We are sorry that the double booking took place. Unfortunately as mentioned several times in our earlier conversations, we did not realize that the property was double booked until four days before your vacation. You had reserved a property with us October 8th, 2015 for the dates November 26th, 2015 and November 29th, 2015 online through our Online Reservation System. In this instance, we had not synchronized our online calendars properly and so unfortunately we did not notify you of the double booking until four days before your vacation began on November 22nd, 2014 which was the same time we became aware of our mistake.

When we were able to reach you by phone on November 24th, we had offered you a comparable property or a full refund. Even though we were not required to offer you a full refund by contract, we did offer a full refund on November 24th, 2014 if you decided to cancel before using any of your vacation with us. You decided not to cancel.

I have pulled excerpts from our contract that showing that the booking is non-refundable and that we reserve the right to substitute a comparable property without further liability.

Please see the excerpt below from the signed rental contract stating a non-refundable payment of 100% of the total amount due at the time of booking.

"1.3 Payment Terms & Cancelation Policy
The Guest shall pay the Property Manager/Owner in full the total amount for the entire rental term plus the Damage Protection pursuant to the following terms:
If the booking date is less than 60 days from arrival date Guest shall pay the Property Manager/Owner a non-refundable payment of 100% of the total amount due at the time of booking."

Please below where rental Owner/ Property Manager reserves the right to substitute a comparable accomodation.

"19. Substitution: In the event a reserved accommodation becomes unavailable for rental use, we reserve the right to substitute a comparable accommodation or grant a refund of your payments, at our option, without further liability."

We took immediate action when notified upon your arrival ( November 26th, 2014) that you felt it was dirty by doing a deep clean on the property and ensuring that you had everything you needed. Thank you for your compliments both now and earlier concerning our staff's excellent recleaning and professional presentation during the reclean on November 26th, 2014. Since we did not receive any further communications from you for your entire vacation, we understood from the glowing accolades on November 26th, 2014 that you were completely happy regarding your accommodations. However,

Several days after your full vacation on December 1st, 2014 we were contacted by you regarding a refund and your dissatisfaction. I do wish that you had contacted me at anytime following your statement of satisfaction on November 26th, 2014 as I and my staff would have made every attempt to ensure you and your family would have a very satisfying vacation. On December 1st, 2014 I called and emailed offering you a discount on a future vacation and received no response.

Our contract clearly states no refunds, especially when a guest has enjoyed their full vacation with us. However since I was not given the opportunity to satisfy all of your needs during you stay, Jeb Holdings will give you a $100 credit towards a future stay of 3 or more days at one of our properties. We take all customer concerns seriously and hope that your next visit will be more pleasurable. Jeb Holdings will make every effort within reason to ensure a relaxing future vacation.

Sincerely,
********* ******

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
JEB Holdings, LLC rented a condo at XXX XXth Avenue Myrtle Beach, SC and it was filthy, bugs were found on 2 occasions and several other issues.
Sand Castle a Property of Myrtle Beach Vacation Stations (********* ******),
I (******* *****) am writing this complaint to explain why my family and I were forced to terminate our vacation early (August 6) and leave our condominium at XXX XXth Avenue Unit B. The condition in which we found the condominium was deplorable and we could not stomach the living conditions any longer. When we arrived August 2, 2014, we had a difficult time getting into the lock box because the instructions were not clear. Once we finally got into the condominium, we could not believe, how dirty and nasty the place looked. We could only assume that the prior guest did not take care of the place during their stay because we swept every room, which had piles of dirt. In addition, when we opened the refrigerator, dog hair was in the freezer and bottom portion of the refrigerator. Dog hair was all over the headboard of the bed in the front room. Once we finish cleaning, and tried to relax, seems as though things got worse. For instance, the comforter on the bed was not the right one, the DVD player in the living did not work properly. The towel bar in the middle bathroom fell off the wall when trying to put a hand towel on it. The master bedroom shower bar fell on me while finishing my shower. There was no way to sit out on the balcony because the cushions were destroyed and not taken care of. I was already fed up at this point but to my horror and shock I found a cockroach on the kitchen floor that evening and to make it even worse we found another big bug on the floor the next morning! The condition of the condominium was enough to make me want to leave but the bugs are completely unforgivable and disgusting! After all this, while we were deciding whether to leave our vacation and travel 8 hours home, my husband smelled marijuana from behind the truck of their lawn maintenance men while they were there working, this is completely uncalled for and irresponsible. I do not want my child or family around drugs! I have pictures of all the things we found and I expect a FULL REFUND of $1730.40 for the week. The breakdown is $1495 rental fee + $50 pet fee+ 12% state and county taxes. I have sent two emails since my first email on Thursday August 7, 2014 and then again on August 14, 2014. In the first response on August 7, 2014, it said I would have an answer by August 13, 2014 and no response came or communication until I sent the second email. Upon receiving that second email, i was informed a staff member was out of the office, could not give me a response until his return, and asked if this was acceptable. I told them it was not acceptable due to the fact I had no communication from them about this before I had to email them and never received another response since.

Desired Settlement
I expect a FULL REFUND of $1730.40 for the week. The breakdown is $1495 rental fee + $50 pet fee+ 12% state and county taxes.

Business Response
Dear *******,
I apologize that you did not enjoy your vacation at my property. This is very unfortunate and I know how upsetting this can be. However, I do wish that you had contacted me at anytime during your vacation as I and my staff would have made every attempt to ensure you and your family would have a very satisfying vacation. Unfortunately, I was not able to reclean or fix the shower or bring a new DVD or help you with the door code because you did not contact my property manager or me during your vacation. In some of our earlier correspondence you had mentioned that you did not know how to contact me, however it is difficult to understand how you could not contact me because we had exchanged 52 emails and a contract over a 10 month period before you arrived on your vacation on August 2nd, 2014.
I understand that you found the property to be dirty when you arrived. I take great pride in the cleanliness of our units and want to ensure you that we do have a documented cleaning and inspection process that has left many of our previous customers leaving us with outstanding reviews.
Our contract clearly states no refunds, however since I was not given the opportunity to satisfy your needs during you stay, Jeb Holdings will give you a $250 credit towards a future stay of 7 or more days at one of our properties. We take all customer concerns seriously and hope that your next visit will be more pleasurable. Jeb Holdings will make every effort within reason to ensure a relaxing future vacation.
Sincerely,
*********

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company changed our book. We were downgraded due to their mistake (overbooking several units). Could not get company to call us back.
The company knew they overbooked a the unit and informed us 7-3-2014 at 11am of a unit change. The overbooked unit had been booked from Sat(6-29-2014) to Sat (7-5-2014). After several phones calls they said we could pay more for another unit to accommodate the rest of our party - they would be kicking guest out of a unit. Upon being downgraded we asked about a refund and they said no we had no reason to ask for one. The AC unit had mold growing on it. The place was not cleaned before our arrival. We had to clean it ourselves. Additionally, we were told we would get new towels and sheets. One of the towels had someone else name written in sharpie on the towel.

Our main contact was ********* ******. She would not return phone calls and said we should email or text for help. The unit did not have WiFi so we had to use our data and text to try and communicate with her. The downgraded unit cost less (about $200 to $300 less).

I am also wondering why she would need a copy of some individual's drivers licenses to book the room.

Desired Settlement
We want her to refund us and the others she scammed. Additionally, we want to have her to be reprimanded by the BBB for the scam she is running. Her company should not be accredited by the BBB.

Business Response
See Attached PDF

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did not place us in the unit discussed in emails and phone calls. The email correspondence said upstairs unit. Jeb's office said that the downstairs unit was the one discussed (email dated: June 12 ,June 13, and June 24 are refer to the 1.5 bathroom and 5 double beds both which where not part of the downstairs unit).

I read the rental agreement. It did not state would could not bring 20 people. The agreement says no more than 20 people. We did not have more than 20 people in our unit.

Additionally, under "causality policy" line 15 " the unit should be locked at all times" the unit is not locked when we arrive. The key is placed on the kitchen table and left unlocked until the guest arrive. The lock was damaged and difficult to open. The safety of the unit's lock should be questioned. The email correspondence stated that key would be in a locked box. I could not find the locked box with the key. After 5 phone calls and 3 message. Someone returned my phone call to tell me the downstairs unit did not have a lock box for the key and the key would be in the unlocked unit on the kitchen table.

Final Business Response
See Attached

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The accommodation that were substituted were not comparable. We had one bathroom and guest were required to share beds since we could no longer sleep 20. Additionally, the company did not mention and overbooking. Instead they said they had sent us the wrong information and they knew they had made a booking mistake the Saturday before our arrival and notified us via email about the change. They did not call to verify we knew of the change and the change was unexcited.

07/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm writing to tell you about the vacation me, my family and friends have experienced on our planned vacation..... I booked a week stay from July 5th- July 12th. I booked online through homeaway.com ********* ****** ************ Jeb Holdings, LLC, Myrtle Beach Vacation Stations **************@gmail.com The name of the house is cherry grove beach cottage, (paid $1545.60). On Wednesday July 2, three days before arrival ********* contacted me with a offer of an "upgrade" in her words, the house didn't look like anything we were interested In and it was in ocean drive, so I text her back that we were not interested. So Thursday July 3rd I received another phone call from ********* ****** telling me that I could not stay in the house I had rented because it had "plumbing problems. She would have to give us our money back or we could stay in the house that she showed us on Wednesday..... Well we decided to go ahead and come and try to make the best of it, because we had all taken off work for a week. When we arrived the house was NOT cleaned, dead bugs all over the floor, water was not turned on and the beds and furniture was terrible dirty and it looked like there had been a party there the night before. After turning the water in we checked the shower only to find that It trickled out. The yard also had glass from broken beer bottles. It was clearly a spring break college house, not a place for our family. After rounds and rounds on the phone with this lady she said she could give us back half our money or move us up the street to another place. Also if we decided to stay we have to leave by Thursday, ( so not Saturday to Saturday like we payed for). Well after a three hour drive, 11 people, and 2 hours going rounds with her on the phone we decided to go look at the other place. We looked at it and it was about the same but it at least had two toilets v/so the one at the other place and running water. So we new we couldn't take half the money and go stay anywhere, so we decided to stay. After cleaning for 2 hours we started talking to people in what I called "dump holes" and they had the same story we had..... Booked a place only to get down to the beach and be moved to another place that was a dump and not what they had booked. One family drove 10 hours from Ohio and they finally left and went and stayed at a hotel, and that was after their THIRD move. Me and my husband decided to go see if the place she advertised on homeaway.com even existed. So we drove to the location knocked on the door, only to find a man who had moved in on Thursday and he said he would be staying for 5 weeks! So no plumbing problems! So she lies lies lies to everyone!! This lady, ********* ****** clearly does this to everyone.... My problem is how long has she been doing it and how much longer will it go on!! Someone needs to shut her down!! We have the contact information from each of the other family's that she did this to and this was all done in one week! So how many family's have gone through this before us and how many will go through this after us???? So we figured out how she does it, she books the same place to several people and then the day before or the day of arrival says there a "problem" and then offers them a dump or a little money back....... This should be illegal!!!!!!!Please take time to help us keep her from doing this to other family's! It's terrible and bad for the north Myrtle Beach area.
Thank you, **** and **** ******
Product_Or_Service: House

Desired Settlement
Refund or to shut her down so others aren't done this way

Business Response
See PDF and other attachments

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is ridiculous. The contract that **** and I signed was not even close to being right, our names are wrong along with other things wrong on it that were wrong. Your agreement papers mean nothing. You are a fraud and should be ashamed letting family's stay In the awful condition we stayed in!

Final Business Response
See PDF

07/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
07/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
04/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Vacation Rentals, Property Maintenance

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.