BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Century Properties

Phone: (843) 488-4485

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
05/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I have not gotten my security deposit back from May of 2011, I've tried to call several times and have not gotten and response.
In January 2011 I paid a security deposit to move into a house managed by ***** *****. In May 2011, when my roommates and I moved out we were told that we would get out security deposits back. From my my roommates told me, they waited and had to contact her several times in order to get their deposits back. I was out of the country from June 2011 to July 2012 and assumed that the payment would be made to me since my roommates all got theirs back. It is now 3 years later and I have yet to receive my money. I have reached out to ***** on several occasions through various means, facebook, work number and home number. I have not spoken with ***** directly only once with an employee who told me that ***** would get back to me shortly. That was about 4 months ago. This is not a good business practice, since she is in all regards stealing my money. The value of the security deposit is $550.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

03/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Failure to report issues with the property.Will not return phone calls. Will not return security deposit.
Starting in July, my tenant had tried calling Century Properties to call in for a maintenance call. CP never returned her calls for 3 months. My deposit didn't my account, so I called the tenant to see if she still lived in my rental house. Much to my surprise my tenant was told by CP to not ever call the owner. CP never responded to the maintenance repair and now it cost twice as much to have the problem fixed.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The company was hired to manage a condo. They failed to obtain the rental income, send it to me or manage the property. Seeking deposit back.
In January 2013, I signed a 1 year agreement with the Century Property company to manage my condo for rental purpose. They found renters in March. In the agreement the company indicated they would do home inspections and collect rent form renters by the first of each month. This was to be forwarded to me within the month the obtained the rent. In September, I did not receive the rent until October 1. For October, I did not receive the rent until November 4, 2013. They have not received any further rent from the renters since October, 2013. The management company was also suppose to notify me when the renters failed to pay on time, which they only notified me on one occasion and I later learned that the renters have been late the majority of the time. The company has failed to do any home inspections since renting the property and have also failed to obtain assistance to correct broken things in the condo. The management company obtained a $900 deposit from the renters which the company indicated that they would maintain in special account. I have asked for the deposit to be placed into my account as I am no longer wanting their services. They fail to return calls or respond to emails.
I have learned that each month the renters have paid late fees which the management company kept which was my understanding that it should have been submitted to me. There were a number of occasions when the renters were seeking assistance to have a broken door fixed and the management company never went to check it out or send someone to have it fixed.
I was sent an email indicating that the November rent was sent to me but as normal for the company, I have not ever received such rent.
I am seeking assistance with this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: ***** *****, owner of Century Property Management, has been managing my rental properties. She has been mishandling the funds from my tenants.
***** ***** has issued me a few checks that are worthless. She is now impossible to get in contact with. I have changed property management companies because of her continued mishandling of funds. I now also need to retrieve the security deposits from my ***** to submit to the new company or else they will keep the first months rent from my tenants as a new security deposit. ***** no longer answers her office phone, nor does she ever be in the office during business hours.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Century Properties has failed to return my phone calls for information on continuing their managing property I just purchased with tenants.
Began calling Century third week of October because they are property manager for xxxxx, xxxx. Our Realtor advised us to contact them. When no return call came, the sellers closing agent intervened and Century called me on 11/7/13 at 1155. Spoke for 4 minutes and then I was told she (Tonya) has a showing and asked if she could back in a few minutes. I asked if she could back after 1300 and she said that would be great. Today is 12/6/13 and I'm still waiting for her someone to call me back. I also made a few calls to them between 11/7 and today.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.