BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/24/2002

Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (843) 492-4304Fax: (843) 347-5712View Additional Phone Numbers2385 Highway 544, ConwaySC 29526-9232 Send email to Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/24/2002

BBB has determined that Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not honor the agreed to verbal price Agreement.
Wood floors damaged when providing service.
Harassing invoices after full payment made.
I called Four Star Plumbing and Air Conditioning to fix a new air handler damaged by a lightening strike on June 28th, 2014. This air handler was installed a year previous by Four Star.
Four Star has handled all plumbing and air conditioning needs for my two residences over approximately the last six years. Previous work has included installation of 2 new heat pumps, 2 new hot water heaters, a new garbage disposal and $2,500 worth of miscellaneous drain clean out work. I have paid all bills promptly and until this point have been very pleased with their work, service, and billing practices.
Four Star arrived on June 30th, 2014 to assess the damaged unit. They determined that a new air handler was required. We discussed cost and Four Star agreed to a fee of $2,000 for the new air handler work. After we agreed to the cost, Four Star informed me that they could not perform the corrective work until July 2nd, 2014. Four Star installed two temporary portable cooling units in the residence until they could return to do the job properly.
Two days later, the men arrived as scheduled to replace the damaged air handler. Upon their arrival, we discussed additional cost and Four Star agreed to a fee of $125 to install (2) new surge protectors to protect the units from future "acts of God". This put the total agreed to price for the work at $2,125.
Four Star completed the corrective work and got the new unit operational. However, it was not without incident. When removing the temporary cooling units it was discovered that one of the units had been slowly leaking water onto a rug and had seriously damaged the wood parquet floors underneath.
Four Star acknowledged the damage and installed fans for several days in order to dry out the damaged area. The fans alone did not fix the damage to the wood floors. Four Star did not at the time, nor to this day, offer to fix the floors with their own forces.
On approximately July 8th I received an invoice (#XXXXXX) from Four Star for $2,200. I noted that it was $75 more than the agreed to price. Additionally, I noted that they acknowledged in writing the damage caused by their equipment to the wood floors. On July 11th, I requested a quote from our local carpenter to fix the floors. His quote to fix the floors was $240. On July 12th, I mailed this quote to Four Star and awaited a response. I fully expected that Four Star would adjust their invoice to the agreed to $2,125 and also cover the floor repair costs.
I received a nasty phone call the following day from either ******* or *** at Four Star. She would not acknowledge responsibility for the damage to the floor. Further, she insisted that I pay the amount specified on the invoice, not the original agreed to amount of $2,125.
After that call, I promptly mailed them a check on July 14th for $1,885. I established this number based on the original agreed to $2,125 minus the $240 floor repair costs. I noted this accounting with payment.
Shortly after receiving my payment for $1,885, one of the girls from Four Star called me again and threatened to take me to court if I don't pay the money.
On August 19, I received a certified letter from Four Star demanding payment of $315. If no payment was made in 14 days, the letter threatened that Four Star would seek to have a judgment filed against me and my property through the local County Magistrate.
The way it stands now (October 4th, 2014) is that Four Star is sending monthly invoices for the amount that they claim is due plus finance charges. I did not expect such harassment, unfairness, or unprofessionalism from a company which has received my business over the last 6 years. I would like for the harassing letters and behavior to stop and consider the matter resolved.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is a letter of acknowledgement from Four Star that this matter is resolved along with an end to these harassing invoices.

Business Response
The customer called us on June 30, 2014 and said her unit was hit by lightning and asked if there was any warranty on the air handler that we had installed previously on 8/23/13. We explained there is no warranty for units struck by lightning (which is known as acts of God). We quoted the new air handler and also took A/C portable units to the property so the customer's tenants would have air conditioning until we were scheduled to install this new air handler (2 days later). The tenant called our office and told our HVAC Manager that the portable had shut off - this is result from the portable being full of water. It is also an indication that the plug for the unit was in place or else the unit would not have shut off at all. We advised the tenant at that time that we had a technician in her area that was close by and we would have him go over and empty this portable and set it back up. The tenant told our HVAC Service Manager that she had a handy-man on site and that he could empty this portable and set it back up. We explained to the tenant at that time that if this portable was not set back up correctly, it may not cool properly and could cause problems. She told us that this handyman was familiar with the portable units and knew exactly what to do.
When we arrived to install the air handler on July 2, 2014, it was noted that the customer had water damage - this water damage the customer is reporting in this complaint is a direct result of the plug being left out of the portable when the handyman set it back up. Again, we offered to have our technician go over and reset this portable properly but were told not to, that the handyman would take care of it.
Our HVAC Manager and Customer Service Manager both tried to explain this to the customer. She became very upset and irate on the phone. We apologized that she has suffered this water damage, however we do not feel we are responsible in any way for this incident.
Our Customer Service Manager had spoken with this customer on 8/15/14 to remind her that her invoice was $2,200.00 (including 2 surge protectors she authorized us to install) and she only paid $1,885.00 which would leave her balance at $315.00. This is the balance she will not pay because she still believes that we ruined her carpet. All of our representatives spoke professionally with this customer during every conversation. There has been no form of harassment towards this customer or any nasty phone calls. We did advise this customer if she didn't pay her balance within 14 days that the next step for collection would be the Magistrates Office. This is the same process we have with all of our customers so she was not treated any differently.
We have had a successful relationship with Mrs. **** in the past and would be happy to continue working with her in the future. We are waiving this balance in good faith and in hopes of continuing to be Mrs. ****'s service provider in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am accepting of the waiving of the balance and the discontinuing of the "past due" invoicing. This is resolution I had asked for.
However, I do take issue with the response because it is not an accurate accounting of the situation. There was indeed an issue with one of the units which filled up and cut off. This unit was emptied and restarted and there were no further issues with that unit. The OTHER unit, which was in the living room, never shut off. It never needed to be emptied, and never was a problem for the tenant until the men arrived to take it out when they noticed that the plug had never been placed in it in the first place. This was the unit that did the damage to the floor. To say that the unit which needed to be emptied was the unit which caused the damage is just not true. The response is not accurate.
Nonetheless, we accept the response and will not be requiring services from Four Star in the future.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 13, 2013 I hired Four Star Plumbing to do a complete makeover on my bathroom. **** the guy who worked for Four Star told me it would take 2 days to complete. **** and ****** started the job they tore out old shower with tub, sink and toilet. They also took up flooring in bathroom and small hallway. They took out old hot water heater and pipe to a new hot water heater I had installed by someone else. I paid them $5000 in cash and they said they would be back on the 14th to finish the job. On the 14th they never showed up so I waited for a week never heard from them. I called Four Star and they said they would send someone out to finish the job. This time two different guys came out and put in floor, toilet and vanity with sink and installed shower but were unable to install the doors because they were too small. They also put up chair railing on wall and I had to get them pieces that I had for them to do a patch job. They told me they were going to order me another shower door. So I waited for weeks meanwhile the floor they put down was coming up so I called them to come back to fix the floor. They came back out and ripped up floor they installed and put down a sub flooring which they did not do the first time. They laid floor and installed shower doors. The shower doors were not the size I needed I had limited space to get in and out of and the door had a stain in between the glass. They said they would have another door brought to me. Weeks went by and the glue on the floor they put down started bleeding through. I called them back about the floor and my shower door they said the wrong size came in and they would send someone out with a custom shower door. Weeks went by again and finally they came out and installed the doors. They also put something on the floor to get up the glue. I was told they would replace the floor again but they never did. By this time I was so upset with them I did not want them back in my home. ***** told my daughter that **** took my money.
Product_Or_Service: Bathroom remodeling

Desired Settlement
This job was finished in January 2014. I am not satisfied with the bathroom and never will be. All I see when I walk in there is I have $5000 for a shower door. I would like a full refund to be issued to me. This ordeal has been a nightmare from day one and has lasted for 5 months. I have sat here waiting on them when I thought they were coming and never show up. I am 78 years old and feel I have been taken advantage of and do not want them back in my home. I feel I have been ripped off.

Business Response
Mrs. ******* is correct that we had problems with the shower door from the manufacturer and from our supplier. Finally, I had hired a sub-contractor that we use for all of our custom frameless glass shower enclosures to build her shower enclosure because of the difficulty we were having with the mobile home manufacturer and the inconvenience of the stained glass to Mrs. *******. We also replaced the floor a second time because it did not meet our quality standards the first time. I have also hired an independent contractor that I used to build my own house to go check the floor and repair the storm door that Mrs. ******* claims was damaged by my employees going in and out of the home so many times. He also spent time to clean what Mrs. ******* believes to be glue absorbing through the tile. The glue is not coming through the tile and it is just a difference in the lighting from the bathroom to the hall. Four Star has had six different employees to the house as well as two other contractors looking at the workmanship reporting to me that all is well with the work in their opinion, Mrs. ******* was still not happy. I, the owner, personally went and inspected the job and concluded that the work was acceptable and that all of my people have went above and beyond to please Mrs. ******* and that there was no more we could do in an effort to please this customer. This was a very tough decision for me as an owner, because we pride ourselves in doing exceptional work and creating life long customers by meeting or exceeding our customers expectations. It is my opinion that Four Star has lived up to our contract as well as taken every effort to satisfy Mrs. *******. No refund is due.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Agreement on phone was for a $75 service charge plus parts. I was charged $217.00 for a capacitor that costs no more than $20 anywhere.
I understand they deserve to markup parts and make a profit from them, but not 1100%. I was not told of the cost of the part prior to service. This is the email i received for service.

Four Star Plumbing and Air Conditioning
Conway, SC 29526
(GST/TaxID): 0

Invoice #: XXXXXX
Date : *** *** XX XXXX

***** *****
**** **** **
****** **********
******* ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Work Done

Found bad run capacitor on out door unit replace an unit running ok now

Details
Item Description Unit Price Quantity Price
CP125(T)
Charged To: R Dual Run Capacitors - All $ 217.00 1 $ 217.00
DT115(T)
Charged To: R Service Fee $ 75.00 1 $ 75.00
SubTotal: $ 292.00
Tax: $ 0.00
Discount: $ 0.00
Total: $ 292.00
Payment Amount: $ 292.00

Payment Method: *****
Check Number: ****
Signature Name: *****

I authorize the above work to be completed and I agree to pay the above total.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to pay service charge + $60 for a part i would assume they paid much less than $20 for. $135. for a 20 minute service call seems more than fair. Thanks.

Business Response
We were called by the customer on Friday morning, July 12, 2013, at 7:25am with the report that their outside HVAC unit would not come on. The customer stressed that they have a pet there and cannot leave this pet in the house all day without air conditioning. At this point, our office manager re-arranged our technician's entire schedule just so he could be immediately dispatched to this customer's home to take care of the problem. Our technician was dispatched and was on sight within the hour.
Our technician diagnosed a bad capacitor on the HVAC unit. We received a work authorization signature to perform the work, a work approval signature when the job was completed and a check signed by this customer for the amount that was quoted and agreed upon. We gave exceptional service to this customer using the same service call process as we do with all of our customers. We're sorry the customer didn't see the value in our service.
We will accommodate this customer with a refund check of $157.00 and wish him well in the future.

Final Consumer Response

02/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their Customer Service Representative was dishonest with us and their Manager very rude
I called and set up an appointment for (name) to send a plumber to my home to repair the inner workings of my guest toilet as well as replace the emergency stop valve on 1/24/2013. The woman i spoke with on the phone told me that they would charge $75 to come do the work plus the cost of parts she said the plumber would give an estimate regarding the parts when he arrived. I asked her two different times if the $75 was just for them to look or if it was for the work. She told me it was for the work that they didn't charge by the hour just a flat fee + parts cost. When the plumber arrived he quoted me $392.00 for this job and when i told him it was to high he called his manager and they reduced it to $309.00. I also believed this to be high as i had a similar problem at a previous home and it cost me about half of this to fix so i told him thank you for coming but it was to much for me. He then proceeded to tell me that i had to pay the $75.00 for him to just give us a quote which is outrageous for someone to look at your toilet for 5 minutes. When I told him that I was told differently on the phone and that the lady said I would not get charged for him just to come but for the work + parts he was very kind and gave us the managers number. I then called the manager who was extremely rude to me cutting me off and telling me that i was not told that the $75.00 was the cost of the work but instead i was told it was a service charge. He was not the person i spoke with on the phone it was a woman and additionally i know what i was told after i asked her twice. He then refused to help me and was very unkind and rude. I am upset that it cost me $75.00 to have someone stop by and spend 15 minutes here and look at my toilet for 5 min tops when that was not made clear on the phone after being directly asked twice. This company was recommended to me by a good friend and i expected to spoken to with respect and not to be lied to on the phone while i was pricing and directly asking the appropriate question. Their refusal to help resolve this matter in a civil manner has prompted me to report them here.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $75.00 back as i was lied to and mislead.

Business Response
We have reviewed the complaint (Case 15032355) submitted by Mr. ****. In response, Mr. **** had a scheduled service call between 2:00pm-4:00pm. He was notified, as all customers are, there is a service fee of $75.00 for us to send a technician to his home, and once the technician diagnoses the issue, he will get upfront pricing on any repairs. We sent our technician to the call, he went over his observations with Mr. ****, and Mr. **** did not like the price. Our technician then called our Plumbing Service Manager, who agreed to waive service fee of $75.00 if customer agreed to new pricing. Mr. **** then declined all work and didn't want to pay the service fee. The technician then got the Plumbing Service Manager on the phone with Mr. ****, who stated that he was unaware of the service fee. Our Plumbing Service Manager tried to explain the charges once again to Mr. ****, customer stated "That's rude" and abruptly hung up the phone disconnecting the call. With this information being stated, we have no issue reimbursing the service fee of $75.00 to Mr. ****; however, this is our standard service fee for all customers and it is thoroughly explained to all new customers and reiterated to existing customers. We apologize for any confusion on our part and hope to retain a business relationship in the future.
****
Customer Service Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not notified of this specific charge when i called but I was told about $75 which i was told was for the work the plumber would do not just to come to my home. I did ask this question specifically more than once to find out what the $75 was for before having anyone come out. I clearly received the wrong information. Additionally their plumber never offered to waive the service fee of $75 at any point during a conversation with me he did call to get reduced pricing because it was well beyond what i expected after my phone conversation. I did not accept the new pricing either because the parts at Walmart that the plumber listed on my quote only cost >$50 total yet I was quoted almost $400 the first time and $300 the second so I chose to do the work myself for a lot less. Their technician "plumber" did not get their manager on the phone for me i asked him for the number it was never offered to me and he left before i could call however again this plumber was a very kind man and in no way at fault. They did not explain this service charge over the phone properly even with prompting (aka me asking them directly more than once) then failed to provide adequate assistance when called to address the issue instead i was treated rudely. I did hang up but only after 5-10 minutes into the conversation and only after i was told "No you were told this...it is non refundable" It was very rude to call me a liar, cut me off and refuse to assist me. I was greatly offended that a person whom i did not have the original conversation about pricing with thought it appropriate to tell me that i wasn't told something that he was not privy too. I also was never once offered my money back on the phone call to the manager. To date i have been told that they will refund my money but have not received it. Although it hasn't been very long so i expect it to arrive soon. I will be satisfied if i receive my $75 check or money back however i do not except the response as the truth.

Final Business Response
We stand by our original response. A refund check was mailed to the customer at the end of January to the address provided by the customer. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Home Improvements, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/24/2002Business started: 03/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing BD S C
110 Centerview Drive P O BOx 11329
Columbia, SC29211-1329
(803) 896-4686
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Contractors/

NC Contractor's Licensing Board
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1999, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Steve Beatty (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Brent Howard (Operations Manager)
Number of Employees

21

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Contractors, Home Improvements, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Bathroom Remodeling, Remodeling Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Products & Services

This company offers heating and cooling services, and repair.

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

2385 Highway 544

Conway, SC 29526-9232

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2385 Highway 544 

    Conway, SC 29526-9232(843) 347-7550
    (843) 651-8597
    (843) 347-5442
    (843) 347-3326
    (843) 236-7142
    (843) 314-4424
    (843) 492-4304
    (843) 663-0368
    (843) 492-4304

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Four Star Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (843) 347-7550
  • (843) 651-8597
  • (843) 347-5442
  • (843) 347-3326
  • (843) 236-7142
  • (843) 314-4424
  • (843) 492-4304
  • (843) 663-0368
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.