BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2010

Coffman Plumbing Co Inc

Phone: (910) 424-4060

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we hired this company for a shower drain issue which was paid for and failed and are now being asked to pay 4 their mistake in the tune of $96.00
Coffman Pluming was hired to replace a failed drain in our master bath and installed a compression connection which has failed and this was pointed out to us by our cable service as they needed to run a new line. We called Coffman and were told there was a $96.00 return fee to rectify their mistake. We should not in anyway shape or form be held accountable for their errors or mistakes. Dealing with ******** *** **** has been anything but pleasant, We hired you ,you failed to deliver and to be threatened by her is unforgivable as we paid for and didn't receive what was paid for in the 1st place. This complaint to you is going to be followed up with a similar complaint to the Atty. General Office

Desired Settlement
We want this company to come and do what was paid for originally and be held accountable for any and all damages that have we have incurred due to there lack of response. They were paid in full ,we have the documentation an are willing to pursue said issue in a court of law if need be.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

The above said complaint is false and not accurate in all events that took place. ******* Plumbing made a repair to said shower drain on July 9th, 2014. We replaced a leaking 2" ABS shower drain with a 2" PVC shower drain. The service technician, who conducted said repair noticed the shower flooring was damaged due to the leaking shower drain. The service technician notified the customer of the condition of the shower floor. It was damaged with mold and was deteriorating. We completed the repair and closed the work order.

On August 26th, 2014 above said customer hired us replace the main water line to their home. This business transaction was not smooth to say the least and we had several issues trying to complete this service by our integrity and plumbing standards we are responsible for by law. This service provided is not in conjunction with repair made to shower drain on July 9th, 2014.
On September 17th, 2014 we were contacted by another party notifying us that above said customer had hired some of the another party's employees to do some plumbing work under said customers home. He stated he wanted to notify us because he knew we still had an open plumbing permit on the water line we installed and he did not want the other plumbing work being conducted to affect our permit.

On, September 24th, 2014 above said customer called our office stating the shower drain we had repaired was not connected properly. Customer said he was currently having some work done under his home and the people he hired made him aware of the shower drain. We requested customer to please provide a written statement and picture from the licensed contractor who witnessed this. We explained to the customer we needed this to determine whether it was our responsibility or the people he hired who were currently working under his home. Above said customer got very angry and requested someone come fix the issue right away and hung up the phone.

Shortly after this phone call we received another phone call from someone stating he was working on re-piping above said customer's water lines and he noticed the shower drain was not connected. We inform this person that if it is something we installed incorrectly we would take care of it. We requested a picture of the shower drain issue so we could speak with the service technician who performed the original repair. The picture we received clearly shows a disconnected shower drain. The picture also shows new plywood to shower flooring. At this point, we concluded the shower floor had been replaced since we last serviced above said costumers shower drain. In order for the shower floor to be replaced, the shower and all associated plumbing would have to be removed and re-installed. Coffman Plumbing did not perform this service for above said customer and therefore the service we provided to the shower drain on July 9th, 2014 was null and void.

On September 26th, 2014 we were contacted again by above said person who sent us the emailed picture. At that time we explained our findings of the new flooring and that we would not warranty any work we conducted on this shower drain because someone else made repairs to it after our repair on July 9th, 2014.

On February 10th, 2015 we received a call from above said customer stating there was a leak to the work we performed on August 27th, 2014. Above said customer was told there would be a service charge to respond to their issue. Above said customer stated they wanted management to call them. Above said customer called again later that day and requested to speak with someone about their issue. Customer was informed that management had their file and the issue was being reviewed. Above said customer in a threatening tone stated "Management better contact me" then hung up the phone.

On February 11th, 2015 we received the email complaint from BBB. We elected to not return above said customer's calls and we would send them a certified statement explaining our findings of the shower drain. Above said costumers called again later that day, stating they contacted the BBB about the work we conducted several months ago, then above said customer hung up the phone.

At this point we elected to inform above said customer to stop calling our office if they were to call back and we would follow up with this complaint through our legal representative and through BBB. We made this decision based on past dealings and the nature of the current phones calls we were receiving from above said customer.

On February 12th, 2015 above said customer called and we informed the customer in a firm tone to stop calling our business that we are aware of the situation and we were taking legal action for the constant harassment and defamation of character and ended the phone call.. Above said customer called one of the owner's cell phones stating we threaten them with a law suite. Said Owner stated to customer that someone else installed and replaced the shower drain and we do not warranty other people's work. Owner informed above said customer to not call our office again or we will pursue legal action.

Coffman Plumbing elects to not conduct any business with above said customer. We have been threaten on several occasions from above said customer and we cannot align ourselves with people who conduct business this way. We provided our service to the above said customer and we stand behind the service we provided. We have the statements, signed work orders, emails and the picture to support our decision.

You may contact our office if you have any further questions or concerns.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.