BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2004

East Coast Moving LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 755-2058Fax: (910) 755-20582795 Ocean Hwy W, ShallotteNC 28470-1786 Send email to East Coast Moving LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2004

BBB has determined that East Coast Moving LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised East Coast Moving LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on East Coast Moving LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
01/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My original contract doubled from $2700 to $5200 which we did not expect,it was never explained to us how this could happen.I told the owner husband
I told the owners husband who is the delivery supervisor to communicate with his wife, the owner,we can only afford $3500,not $5200.He called the next morning accepting the offer. When the job was done he said I had a balance of $1200.These numbers are approx. He said the $3500 was to put furniture in the house. He never mentioned this before. I did not sign & ask him to leave.

Desired Settlement
No balance due.

Business Response
ESTIMATED 6,000 LBS @ $3,014.00
ACTUAL 11,780 LBS @ $4637.85
October 26th was my first correspondence to Mr. ******** per his inquiry for a small Interstate move. So small I offered to decreased my minimum billing tonnage from 8,000 lbs to 6,000 lbs to save them money. Once these Shippers returned to PA from being in NC they were supposed to send me a room by room inventory of confirmed items to move. They never did. I emailed that I needed these specifics so I could be accurate with their cost estimate. The over the phone list the ********'s gave me included: 1 bed set (chest, dresser, night table) 3 recliners, no dining room, no kitchen, washer & dryer, 1 refrigerator, 1 stove, "small" picnic table, lawn furniture and some garden stuff. This reflects a very small move - My Movers actually transported 11,780 pounds in place of the estimated 6,000 pounds. The only reason a specific cost quote at this higher weight was not discussed in more detail is that it was not ever what we were being hired to transport? We arrived on time, we accommodated everything the ********'s said they needed moved that day - the Supervisor was even asked by Mr. ******** how much more to expect the job to cost; when they were loading the truck + trailer, in PA.
The day before unloading was scheduled in NC a courtesy call was made once the actual weight was noted via Federal Scale and actual monies due calculated. At that time Mr. ******** stated he did not have that much money and could only pay $3500.00. My husband/Field Supervisor called in my place (as I was out of town) and spoke to Mr. ******** and stated that $3500.00 would be acceptable for receipt of his goods in the morning leaving a balance of around $1200.00. Following a good unload a final signature for proof of delivery was requested (legal document requiring signature on every move at completion)- Mr. ******** refused to sign he told me because he saw it said* $3500.00 payment collected at time of delivery, leaving a balance of $1137.85. He told the movers to leave.
I have since spoken to Mr. ******** and reminded him the Order for Service he signed reads 6,000 lb moving at $3,000.00 minimum, and was marked NOT A BINDING ESTIMATE also that no verbal agreement was made to accept less monies for the nearly double weight, man hours, and equipment needed to accommodate their move. All move paperwork will be sent along for BBB review.
Upon arrival at 9:00 am on unload day Mrs. ******** greeted the crew with cookies, and that afternoon made them all sandwiches for lunch. Our goal is always a ***** customer.
Per legal advise I'm making the BBB aware that the ********'s daughter, ****, has called multiple times and additionally left six threatening voice messages with accusations and off-the-wall declarations regarding her parents move and my company. None of which the ********'s confirmed or made themselves. All of which are disrupting my office.
I do not feel these Shippers were misled or over charged in any way. The move was confirmed a clean move and the Shipper's with cookies in hand reflected a ***** job.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We negotiated a new final price over the phone of $3500.I was waiting for an answer of acceptance when i received a call the next morning from the supervisor.He said, they,(meaning his wife the owner)will accept the $3500 in a cashier check Which I later found out was a way, just to get the furniture in the house.It was a trick to empty the truck so they could go to their next job in New England.They lied and fooled me into thinking $3500 was full payment. xxxx one of their movers had the flu and coughed loudly all over our home which my wife was infected with later.I have a low resistance to infections because of the medication I take,and I could die coming down with the flu.This company should not send a flu infected person into a household and spread the infection especially on a job.We did not greet them with cookies just provided them with food lunches and drinks which their manager should have done. Any workers coming into our home would be provided drinks and food but they should clean up their litter when they were done. These workers did not.We let them use our bathroom also which was a big mistake.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Warehousing Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/2004Business started: 10/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Dewitt Partellp (Owner/General Manager)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Movers, Warehousing Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for East Coast Moving LLC

2795 Ocean Hwy W

Shallotte, NC 28470-1786

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 230 Mulberry St Ste B 

    Shallotte, NC 28470-4470(910) 755-2058

  • 2795 Ocean Hwy W 

    Shallotte, NC 28470-1786

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*East Coast Moving LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.