BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

A Magic Move

Find a Location

(910) 580-5892View Additional Phone Numbers809 Eastwood Rd, WilmingtonNC 28403-1901http://www.wilmingtonmovingcompany.orgView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A Magic Move is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for A Magic Move include:

  • Failure to be transparent about ownership, location, or products/services offered.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Magic Move

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired A Magic Move through Simple Moving Labor at the end of September and are still trying to get them to fix the damages to our furniture and hardwood floors. They scratched newly refinished hardwood floors in multiple places from moving in washer/dryer and refrigerator. They also cracked the top on a granite dresser. I have contacted them and they came over to see the damages but will not respond to my calls to actually fix the damages. They were the first people on the newly refinished floors and one of the crew showed me the crack in the granite when he came out of the elevator at the move-out destination and asked me if it was there previously, it was not. They obviously created these damages but are not a honest business and will not fix them. I would not recommend hiring them.

Desired Settlement
Have hardwood floors buffed and a new coat of polyurethane. Have granite top on dresser replaced.

Business Response
Business states:

Mailed check to consumer on 3/4/14 bag

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/23/2016Problems with Product / Service
08/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I moved in Myrtle Beach on 8/2/16. I decided on Miracle Movers as the were to provide two trucks and four man. When they arrived there was one truck.
I have email stating there will be four man and two 26 ft trucks. The estimated time was to be 6-8 hours at $150 per hour. The max charge was to be $1200. Because only one truck was used they tried to fill every little space available and that consumed a lot of time during load and later during unload. I was not charged for the travel time as two trips had to be made but that was not my problem anyway as I requested two trucks. I was charged $1543.45 because it took so much longer to load and unload one truck. I was still charged $150 per hour.
Here are copies from the email:

Hello,

As stated we will have 3 men show up for your move at $120/hr and a 3 hr minimum.

Here is the new quote:

6-8 hours with 4 men $150/hr
4 hour minimum due to second truck

I can forward the email if necessary.




Desired Settlement
I feel I should be refunded two hours or $300 as I was to get two trucks which would cut down on the load and unload time.

Business Response
Mr. **********,
Having been in the industry for many years now., I know for a fact his claim as no merit. We pride ourselves on protecting our clients belongings. There is a right way and wrong way to load a truck which will ultimately protect everything.

Sadly the way Mr ********* has claims he now wanted his move to take place (quickly thrown in a truck, and not properly loaded) would have caused him and his family extensive damage. Not something we are willing to compromise.

Yes there was the discussion of having two trucks, however we did have mechanical issues on the truck that was suppose to handle this job, therefore limiting your job to 1 truck. This by no means lengthened the time on your job. In fact because of the hassle it presented you we discounted the move for overall travel fee plus we did not charge from the time we unloaded the first truck, to the time it took to get back to the starting address and begin work again.

While we are sorry you were not 100% stratified we have already given a significant discount and will not be giving anything further.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was not a discussion about two trucks required for the move! It was an agreement! I was given a quote for one truck but I was willing to pay extra and requested two trucks. It is documented in the two emails I have! Why was I not called the day of the move that only one truck is available? They showed up and I was told that they have only one truck. I even got a text the morning of the move that they will be few minutes late, no mention of only one truck. They could have rented second truck locally to have two trucks for the move as agreed. I received significant discount? For what? For the extra trip required because of them providing one not two trucks? Was I supposed to pay for that also? I agreed to $150 per hour for two trucks and four man. I still had to pay $150 per hour for one truck and four man. As the email stated it was to take 6 to 8 hours, which would have worked with two trucks as they would not have to find pieces to fill every empty space on the one truck that they had for the move. Because of that it took lot longer to load and unload the one truck! At eight hours which was the maximum amount of time in the email it would cost $1200. I had to pay over $1550 after the "significant" discount. And I wanted two trucks because I knew we could not fit everything in one as we had to rent two trucks on previous move. I wanted two trucks to make load and unload quicker, easier and to be able to make one trip! No I did not want my belongings just thrown in!!! That was the reason that I wanted two trucks! Unacceptable excuses from the business!

I can forward the two emails with the first price for one truck and my request for quote on two trucks. It will show my agreement to quoted price for two trucks and four man to BBB if necessary.

Final Business Response
You can feel free to email any email you want. Being local all jobs are done by the hour. Not flat rates, you never received a not to exceed estimate. Only a typical estimate.

There is nothing else to talk about. I wish you the best. You have been given more than you should have been to start with. For that you are welcome.

We wish you nothing but the best from this point forward.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/04/2013Business started: 02/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

On November 5, 2013 the BBB of Coastal Carolina confirmed that A Magic Move had not obtained a necessary license from the NC Utility Commission. Such a license is required in North Carolina for businesses offering moving services. BBB of Coastal Carolina encourages you to confirm this information:

NC Utility Commission.

For further information about licensing, please visit:
http://www.ncuc.commerce.state.nc.us/consumer/ucconsum.htm

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Wilhoit (Owner)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Movers, Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Products & Services

This company offers local moving - residential and commercial.

Alternate Business Names
Miracle Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Magic Move

809 Eastwood Rd

Wilmington, NC 28403-1901

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 6889 Garland Hwy 

    Clinton, NC 28328-7124

  • 1307 s 41st St 

    Wilmington, NC 28403(910) 580-5892
    (910) 319-8911

  • 809 Eastwood Rd 

    Wilmington, NC 28403-1901

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Magic Move is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (910) 726-4930
  • (910) 378-2460
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.movingcompanyfayetteville.com
  • https://www.facebook.com/AMagicMove
  • https://www.facebook.com/miraclemoverswilmington/timeline?ref=page_internal
  • http://www.wilmingtonmovingservice.com/
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.