BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/25/2009

Super Cycles & Scooters, LLC

Phone: (843) 997-7902

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The party has failed to resolve this issue (please see the email text below that was sent to them last week). The issue is: I ordered a scooter and paid $1300 for it. They sent me a scooter that costs half the price but looks like the one that I wanted. I had a mechanic look at my scooter and he informed me that although it looked like the one I wanted the battery and parts were for a much cheaper scooter.I want either my money back or I want them to send me the correct scooter and I will return the one that they had sent me.Below is the email the mechanic sent to them. This firm does not reply to phone calls and does not respond to emails.Hi ***** and ****,Our mutual customer, ****** *****, purchased two Super Turbo scooters directly from you and your website. (Her first one was to herself and her second one was to her mother.)Regarding ******'s first Super Turbo, ****** had ordered through your website (*********************) and paid for a Super Lithium 1300 or Super Turbo 1000-Lithium. What ****** received INSTEAD was a Super Turbo 1000 Elite (black) with SLA batteries, and ****** didn't recognize the difference initially, and didn't complain to you that the model she got was worth only half as much. (If you request, we can send some better photos of her scooter, its stickers, and its bulged SLA batteries to verify this to you.)When it was delivered, the Super Turbo 1000 Elite came with a 60 VOLT lithium charger, and it didn't charge the three SLA batteries correctly, (of course!).You then sent ****** the same charger again(!), upon her request, when she informed you that she had the wrong charger. Maybe you went off her order information and thought she had a Lithium scooter in her possession, which she did not.Now, the Elite's SLA batteries are bulged and damaged from overcharging with a 60 Volt charger (should have been 36V SLA charger to match its three 12V batteries). Note from the photos the melted battery terminal caulking also.Can you please make this r
Product_Or_Service: Scooter
Order_Number: not applicable
Account_Number: Not applicable

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back. If that isn't possible then I would like for them to replace the scooter with the right one!

Final Consumer Response
Thank you for investigating the claim. I believe because of your investigation the business has responded promptly and has resolved the issue. You may now close this case as it has been resolved.

Thanks again for your help.

Kind regards,
****** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged shipping both ways to repair an item that came to me broken which is unfair. I want my $30 returned as it was not my fault this happened
I was charged shipping both ways to repair an item that came to me broken which is unfair. I want my $30 returned as it was not my fault this happened

I tried explaining to them that this was not fair and they said it was my fault because i am ordering parts for a scooter they do not sell. I then explained that they sent me a bad tire with a tube in it and i ordered a working tubeless tire. It had nothing to do with what scooter these parts were going on. To discriminate against me for owning a scooter they do not sell is wrong and to charge me $15 to return the item to them and another $15 to get it back again in the proper condition is theft. I didnt send myself a bad tire and yet i had to pay $30 to get it fixed. That is wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to return the $30 in shipping to me along with another $10 for the most recent part they sold me which came with frayed wires and was obviously used as it had dirt all over it and battery acid on the end of the power wire.

This company is a real disappointment. After writing several logical emails to try and work this out, all i ever got in return was blame. They said I was 90% at fault for receiving a bad tire which makes no sense at all. Had i sent myself the bad tire, i would agree, but i don't work there, I am the customer.

Business Response
This case has already been resolved the customer was refunded the amount he requested of $40. He was refunded yesterday.

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they do not want to refund the shipping cost that they already promised before i bought a scooter super turbo 800 elite ($499), but i can not tighten the handlebar, i called ***** (the owner) and he said that i need to ask somebody else who is stronger than me to do it. But no body can do it. I explained to ***** and emailed him and i attached some pictures but he still insisted that its my fault for not doing right thing. He asked me to return back the scooter and i asked him who pays the shipping and he said that if thats his fault, he would refund the shipping. Then i shipped back the scooter via fedex and few days i followed up with him and he checked the scooter and he apologized for the damage, he could not tighten the handlebar as well. as he promised, i asked to pay back my shipping and he got surprised that the shipping was $200 for 95 lbs scooter with very big dimension. He always gave me different excuses every time i called him to ask refund. I already emailed him the invoice from fedex, and he said he would complain fedex about the cost is too expensive. I told him that fedex charged me as regular customer, not a big company rate. I argued a lot with him for every different excuses he threw me. After 4 times phone calls, he just did not pick up my number and one time he answered and heard my voice, he hang me up. i have all correspondence email between me and *****

Desired Settlement
i want super cycles & scooters to pay me back for the shipping that i spent for their damage product as much $200. they already promised me but they lied. Their product is very dangerous.

Business Response
Return shipping should not be $200. The company she used ripped her off on the return shipping. The max shipping should have been is $80. This can easily be looked up on FedEx's website using her address to my address and shipping a 95lbs item. I told her I would see what I could do about the company that over charged her. I have been working on it but she has been relentless with phone calls. I will refund $80 but not $200. My website also states my website that customer are liable for return shipping. However I was waving this for her. I can't be expected to pay any amount.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had a problem issuing a return. This company wants me to pay for everything to return it, including shipping and a box to place the product in.
I recently requested a return with this company Super Cycles and Scooters on November 17th, 2015. I could issue another complaint considering how dangerous their products are but I am more concern about how they won't work with me on returning this dangerous product I purchased from them. I purchased an electric scooter from them that has 1500 watts and is able to go up to speeds of 40 MPH in July of 2015 and was payed via PayPal. I told the company that this product is dangerous and shouldn't be labeled as "not a vehicle". I spoke to the owner and he specifically stated it as not "a vehicle" but rather "a toy". This is ridiculous considering I had injured myself with it and considering I have never hurt myself with another "toy" before. This "toy" failed on me and caused me to injure myself on my right knee, something to which they did not even say they were sorry considering I could've been killed. This "toy" is not really a toy at all; it is a vehicle! I wanted my money back and requested it on November 17th, to which I received hostile and unfriendly customer service. This is ridiculous considering their home page claims that they pride themselves on "outstanding customer service". Attacking me and belittling me is what I would not consider "outstanding customer service" and I think others would agree with me. The company wanted me to return the scooter at MY expense and from there they would decide how much money they WOULD, mind you not guaranteed, but WOULD give back. And then if I wanted the scooter back I would have to pay for the shipping and handling once again for the scooter to come back. The company also wants me to purchase ADDITIONAL items from them in order to do this, including buying the box to fit the scooter itself. This company has not been helpful at all and have not tried to accommodate me at all. Like how I have described, they have done nothing but attacked me and belittle me and make me the one at fault of their dangerous product and have not provided a good example of their "outstanding customer service" to me at all. There has not been a single attempt to come to a resolution beside the resolution where they MIGHT give me a refund, and only a partial one at that at MY expense.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund of this dangerous product and I won't go to court. I want shipping and handling to be payed by the company as well as the box they wanted me to pay for so that I may return this defunct "toy".

Business Response
The owner discussed this with the customer, the customer was told we only accept returns within the first seven days of receiving the scooter. He is way outside of our return policy which has to be read before a scooter can be purchased. We offered to accept the scooter back for a partial refund, as the scooter has been wrecked before and is used. We can't possibly issue a full refund for a scooter that was used and wrecked. The scooter was purchased in July.

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scooter works for 5 minutes, multiple calls and emails resulted in no resolution nearly 2 weeks after purchase. Defective product, poor service!
Paid 1,100 dollars for 1300W brushless scooter which I received on 8/27 and after full charge it worked for 5 to 10 minutes maximum before requiring full charge to work another 5 minutes. I called Adam and the problem was a small square (yellow) connection box having loose connection. I checked it and the connections were tight. I sent a total of 6 emails and received 0 (zero replies). After calling back I was told it was the controller and that they would send a new one to me by Sept. 2nd. After it didn't arrive on Sept. 3rd, I called Adam again and after giving my name he asked me to remind him of what he was supposed to ship and then stated he forgot and would ship me a new unit in a couple of days and that he was doing me a favor by shipping me a replacement without me sending him the defective part. I told him I was doing him a favor by paying 1,100 dollars for him to send me a defective product and for failing to do what he stated he would do by shipping a replacement part. He never once apologized for any of the issues, the number of emails that were unanswered but appeared to be shocked and upset that his customer had the nerve to complain and state that I was disappointed that the service a product they represent on their webpage doesn't match reality. I asked if he could ship the replacement part over night and he said now and again repeated that he was doing me a favor by shipping me the part without me shipping him the defective part. He then told me that if I am not happy that I can send it back and I said o.k. I prefer to have a working product but he was so rude that I just agreed to ship it back but will refuse to pay for any shipping costs. If needed, I'll take it to small claims court. I told him I would need a box to ship it in and he stated he would send that with the shipping information/label. I had explained to him that I didn't want to tell my 6 year old that we again couldn't ride the scooter on another weekend. He did seem to care and wasn't going to spend the extra money to ship me a replacement overnight. The service is no where near what is claimed. The product appears to be a good product and I just happened to get a bad part ( I was hoping that is all it was). They shouldn't advertise why consumer should buy from them and not others because others are not being honest with what they sell because they not only lied to me about shipping the replacement part but they didn't provide a quality product and then have the nerve to be upset with me for complaining.

Desired Settlement
I want the product replaced ASAP, with pickup and packaging of the defective product at no cost to me, the customer. Or the initial and extremely simple resolution of shipping the replacement part overnight so that I can use the product on the weekend with my 6 year old son (which I explained to Adam).

Business Response
Customer has been refunded and this issue has been resolved

10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company will not return phone calls and if they pick up the phone they say they don't have time to deal with the situation. They never call back.
Super Cycles & Scooters order details are shown below for your reference:
Date: 12/29/2014
Order: *****
Product:Super lithium 1300-Brushless electric scooter. Color: Blue Quantity: 1
Price: $1,099.00
48v 1000 and 1300 watt Lithium Scooter Charger
2 $80.00
Cart Subtotal: $1,179.00
Shipping: Free Shipping
Payment Method: Credit card
Order Total: $1,179.00

The details of this complaint are as follows:
I have only used this scooter 9 times since I purchased it and on the 10th time it died. It would not run. I took the scooter to a professional scooter mechanic -
**** Sze-To
managing director
Electric Avenue Scooters
**** ******** Ave., ***** ***
******* ***** XXXXX
Tel: (XXX) XXX-XXXX shop; XXX-XXX-XXXX mobile
email: ******@electricavenuescooters.com
website: www.electricavenuescooters.com/

The ****, the mechanic, has done a very complete analysis of the scooter. He said in an August 13th email to me the following:

"We received the controller part, and after installing it, your scooter still shows no signs of life. We checked all the other components again multiple times, and have once again concluded that the controller (both new and old) is at fault. The battery, the ignition switch, the throttles (we have two from SuperTurbo), the brake switches, the motor and the wiring have all been checked and found to be okay.

When we phoned SuperCycles about this, they said to call their technician, ******* (ph. XXX-XXX-XXXX), and talk to him. We've phone ******* three times now, the first two times he said he was busy and couldn't talk, and the third time, he didn't answer so we left a voicemail to call us back with a convenient time when we could ask him some questions pertaining to your scooter. He has yet to call us back, but this third time was only earlier this morning.

When I phoned SuperCycles, I also asked if we could possibly have them send a new scooter out, since apparently the second controller did not work, either. **** at SuperCycles said to me that there was "definitely no chance of that".

He also sent me another email dated August 15th the following:
"... my thought is that there may, in fact, be no readily feasible way to fix the machine they sold to you (as they have also apparently since discontinued sales of this model). And so, they should consider replacing your scooter or returning your money."

It has been over one month that **** has been trying to get SuperCycles to respond to him. I believe that I was sold a defective product. I only used it 9 times and I have another scooter which I bought from them (it is a different model) that I have used hundreds of times without any major problems. I would like my money back or another scooter that is comparable in terms of speed to the one that I ordered. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement of my scooter or my money back.

Business Response
If even with a new replacement control box the scooter is not working but everything is checking out fine there is no reason why the scooter would not be working. If everything is testing good but you are not getting any power there is a connection issue somewhere by the control box, the handle bars or the key switch itself. I do believe I spoke with **** about everything on Thursday to which I asked him to triple check all wires and connections to ensure nothing was wrong. Please keep in mind if a call is placed outside of Business hours or 11am-6pm eastern time Monday Through Saturday you will not be able to contact us. We return all calls placed within our hours of operation. The scooter is seven months old, we cannot accept a return on a scooter that is 7 months old. In regards to the email that **** sent on the 15th of August, we have not discontinued your scooter model, if you check our website the 1300w scooter is still available where the confusion is in regards to it being discontinued is the fact that at some point 1000w lithium stickers were placed on the scooter making him believe the scooter was discontinued when the 1300w is in fact still for sale. At any point customer could have returned the scooter to us, and we would have fixed the scooter making sure it was working before it was shipped back out. Which can still be done if you like, simply box the scooter up and send it to us along with a note letting us know what is wrong with the scooter and we will get it fixed.

Consumer Response
Please call **** regarding this case. This case needs to be reopened. **** spoke to the people at Super Cycles and they said that they would send a new part for the scooter but they never sent it!!!! This case has dragged on and should have never been closed. The only thing this company has done is to have a conversation with **** (my repair mechanic). Please call me to discuss why this case has been closed. Please call **** to discuss the details of the conversation he had with the employee there. Please call me if you have any questions. ****'s information is below:
**** ******
managing director
******** ****** ********
**** ******** ***** ***** ***
******* ***** XXXXX
Tel: (XXX) XXX-XXXX shop; XXX-XXX-XXXX mobile
email: ******@electricavenuescooters.com
website: www.electricavenuescooters.com/

02/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned Super Turbo Lithium 1000. Did not refund purchase price as said "Return for Convenience. You have a right to return your Product within..."
On receipt sent email:"Received the above scooter yesterday. Very disappointed in operation. It is fast and it does look nice but......! First noticed no bag or covering on lithium battery that the video on site says not to remove. Do not like where the Turbo Button is located...............too easy to push and afraid someone may engage it while riding by accident. Also, hard to know when Turbo is engaged and when not...........no light, no switch to ON or OFF. Does not have smooth speed increase.........twist ratio to speed increase too quick and jerky. Also power twist is small and hard to hold as it has no indentions or bumps or anything to make holding/using it easy. These are just the first few things noticed immediately. We are adults with grown children and none of us want this scooter. Couple neighbors came over and they did not like it either. We are frequent RVers and thought this would be fun to take with us, but have found that is not a good idea!

1. The batteries now come in the metal box instead of a bag, the box better protects the battery. Please do not remove the batteries from the case, if the seals on the battery are broken the warranty is void.

2. The turbo mode button in my opinion isn't really easy to push accidentally. The way to tell if the turbo mode is on or not is if the button is pushed in turbo mode is off and pushed out it is on.

3. If you lightly twist the throttle it shouldn't take off that jumpy at all.

4. The throttle should have small grooves in it which should make for easier holding."

Super cycles said, "Since there is nothing wrong with the scooter, and your returning it because you don't like it, you will need to have it packed up and sent back to us. You don't need an authorization number or anything."

On return credited I sent: "I see I was credited $919.00 for returned scooter I paid $1029.00. You kept $101.00, why? The scooter was returned in unchanged condition..........even problem your web site stated with decals pealing off was no issue as they were all intact. Plus, I had to go to my credit card site and fedex tracking to find date you received return and the credit issued as you sent no email regarding either of these. Very disappointed in this whole transaction.

Why was the $101.00 kept???"

Super Cycle replied "The 110 was kept because the scooter was returned because you didn't like it, not because of any mechanical defect. If you read our return policy you will lose out on shipping to you guys plus a restocking fee.Here is the link for the return policy.

http://www.superscootersales.com/terms-of-use-privacy-policy/

Return for Convenience. You have a right to return your Product within 7 days of receipt for any reason (even if there is no defect or damage). However, we charge a return fee of $70.00 for scooters (no fee for parts and accessories), plus we charge a 15% re-stocking fee for returns of Product. The 15% re-stocking fee for scooters is calculated by multiplying 15% times an amount equal to your purchase price (excluding taxes) minus $70.00. The 15% re-stocking fee for parts and accessories is calculated based on the purchase price (excluding taxes). This right of Return for Convenience applies only to scooters that have not been ridden and/or parts and accessories that have not been used. We do not accept COD or freight collect returns. All return shipping fees you pay are nonrefundable for this Return for Convenience."

I FEEL THERE ARE MECHANICAL DEFECTS WITH THE SCOOTER AS LISTED AND IS VERY UNSAFE AND THAT IS THE REASON IT WAS RETURNED NOT 'A RETURN OF CONVENIENCE'. I LISTED THE MECHANICAL ISSUES BEFORE RETURNING.

ALSO THE RETURN POLICY ON THERE SITE DOES NOT GO INTO THE DETAIL SENT WHEN I QUESTIONED THE AMOUNT REFUNDED.

Desired Settlement
FULL, PAID REFUND SINCE IT WAS NOT A 'RETURN OF CONVENIENCE' AND THE RETURN SHIPPING I PAID OF $64.22

Business Response
I am not sure what the mechanical issues you are having are, all of the issues you have are not mechanical they are simply how you feel about the scooter. We have sold numerous 1000w lithium scooters without having similar issues. Also all of your issues were answered we went to the metal box which provides more protection for the battery. It is simple to tell if the turbo mode is engaged or not, if the button is pushed in then it is in economy mode, with the button pushed out it is in turbo mode. Also if your hand is on the throttle it would be pretty hard to accidentally activate the turbo mode when you hit a bump or anything as it is to the left and below of where you actually grip the throttle at. The only way to hit the turbo mode button would be to remove your thumb from the twist and reach over to hit the button. All of these issues are one of personal preference not mechanical defects. I am very sorry that you are unhappy with the product and felt that you had to return it to us. Unfortunately, we can't grant the additional refund as the scooter was returned due to you not liking it.

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel they need to refund the full amount. I called and asked numerous questions before ordering this scooter. We are adults and would not have wanted our son, who is 37, to ride this scooter. I wonder how many scooters are returned to them? The fee they keep for returns is probably a good portion of their income. We are so sorry to have dealt with this company and hope to save others from some serious injury.

12/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
company won't sell replacement controller parts unless I ship original all at my expense.
I purchased a $1600 scooter from the above company, I only drove it a few times when it stopped working. We determined It needed a new controller. No big deal, I thought to pay for this part. To my surprise I was required to remove and give them my old controller including the shipping so it could be reconditioned, restored, reused or resold before they would agree to sell me a replacement part. I was not asking for anything under warranty. My scooter has a serial code easy enough to validate that I am the original owner.
This policy contradicts their own motto in advertising:

"Parts are always in stock and we pride ourselves in outstanding customer service."


Desired Settlement
I simply would like to be able to purchase replacement parts without having to pay to ship MY parts to them to keep. It would be nice if they would treat other customers that way as well.

Business Response
The scooter is still under warranty. The control box is quite expensive at $250 so it is something that we need back that way we can send it back to the factory that way they can reimburse us for the control box. We were going to replace the control box for free that way they would not have to purchase it for $250. Here is an excerpt from our warranty

"In the event of a verified warranty claim, we will reimburse you for shipping and we will repair or replace the defective part. However, you must arrange and pay for shipping and you bear the risk of loss and damage for the scooter or part being shipped back to us. Additionally, labor is not included for any warranty work. If we perform the warranty work, then we will charge you our then current labor rates. We do not reimburse you for your labor (if you perform the labor) or for any third person's labor (if you hire someone to perform the labor)."

Also we don't keep records of the serial numbers on every scooter, so with the serial number alone we can't verify anything.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Approximately two months ago I inquired about a new controller. Super Scooters response was to let them know and I would get a paypal invoice for $75. I procrastinated. The response two months later was simple and I quote
"Do you have one of our 1500w scooters? Also you would need to send the old control box back to us first."
All my subsequent emails were ignored.
Apparently it was simple enough to verify my purchase for the warranty reminder. I have two issues.
1. My warranty expires in 30 days. What is the process to order replacement parts?

2. The most disturbing issue . Why the sudden skyrocket price of a controller in a few months from $75 to $250. (+shipping +labor) Let me post as a comparison and nearly identical controller from Golden Motor, Model Model:BAC-281P lists for $59.
***********************************************
I find the inconsistency in pricing and company response as evidence of intent to entangle user policy and confuse this issue.
I am confident an unbiased professional in electric motors and controllers would be able to clear this up.


Final Business Response
We have never told anybody that the control box was only $75 for the 1500w scooter. Please forward me the email showing that you were told $75 and we can go from there. We always tell people the control box is $250 and that it has to be shipped back first.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been a customer for quite some time. I have spent thousands of $$, bought three of your scooters and countless parts. I am disappointed. I contacted Golden Motor and the exact same controller is $95 and I don't have to send them my original. That's about a $250 reconcile. Their controller is also programmable. It is their model 2000w BLDC motor controller. I don't know what to say. I will buy my controller through them. I hope your company hasn't moved to this "send in paid parts for overpriced replacements" as a way to try and control electric technology. What a shame.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motor Scooters - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.