BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2012

TruGreen

Phone: (704) 360-3291Fax: (901) 597-5675View Additional Phone Numbers1615 Executive Ave, Myrtle BeachSC 29577-6501 Send email to TruGreen

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2012

BBB has determined that TruGreen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TruGreen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TruGreen

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The lawn service damaged my lawn and I will have to get it repaired, the estimate cost of $350. The chemicals was applied improperly and killed a large section of my grass. It was a newly sodded lawn last summer. I'm totally sicken. Have tried to work with company to resolve this. I'm getting the run around.

Desired Settlement
The cost of replacing the dead grass.

Business Response
My service manager and I went to the property to inspect. The alleged damages were present prior to us starting to treat the property, which was only 2 times less than a week apart at end of March. The yard has an extremely thick thatch layer mixed with the winter conditions we had in this area led to the death of portions of this customer's lawn. There was nothing we could've done in our program that would have killed only areas of the yard. If our treatments had anything to do with problems then the entire property would have seen similar effects. I advised customer that we could not cover damages for something we did not cause. We did however refund her money in full and offered to connect her with a couple local landscapers with sod to replace the small areas for much less than ehr estimate. This customer has had our service a few years back and also only kept it for 2 treatments and then came after us for damages. We paid out previously out of good faith, but are unwilling to be responsible for something that is out of our scope of responsibility.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree with there response. They don't stand by what they say and would not recommend the Myrtle Beach SC company to anyone. Will no longer pursue this issue. However want to say that I was very dissatisfied with there service.

Final Business Response
I am sorry the customer does not agree with our fact based statements. We most certainly stand behind our service and guarantee results, however if something is dying or dead prior to us starting service there is no guarantee we can bring it back to life and or protect it. I seek to please and satisfy customers and will always back up our work.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have nothing else to say. I'm over it.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
damaged lawn from tru green treatments lawn brown and no growth
Signed up March 2015 we have had 2 treatments lawn is now totally brown with no growth. Contacted tru green several times to speak to district mgr have yet to receive return phone call. Lawn appears to be burned out

Desired Settlement
Green maturing lawn or replacement of lawn with full refund

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@trugreenmail.com
Myrtle Beach TruGreen Branch #5623 Service Manager ***** *********** spoke with Mr. ******** today, Friday 5/15/15, and Mr. ******** thought that since the salesman who sold him service no longer worked here, that maybe he had been ripped off by an imposter, we cleared that up with him. Mr. ******** had received 1 lawn treatment since signing up for service and the yard was stressed due to the weed control used, however we assured him with the proper application of fertilizer it will green up again, it's not dead, just red due to stress. He was happy with that response and that we are taking care of making his grass green while killing the weeds. **** ********** GM Myrtle Beach TruGreen

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No representation from mgmt has come to meet with us. Lawn is not red but Brown. Other representatives have since come and treated the lawn with ALL different causes of our lawn looking burnt. No solution or remedy had worked so far. Last communication was last week with ***** who said he would call us on the 26th to setup meeting on the 27th. No call yet no green lawn yet!

Final Business Response
The General Manager visited the customer at property on June 2, 2015. He found the yard was stressed, but is now looking much better, currently one of the greenest on the block. There must have been confusion on what we thought the customer's expectations were, and we apologize for the confusion. We are working with the customer to provide the desired results.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not sure what "expectations" besides a lawn with no weeds and looking healthy and green would be from Tru-green contracted service! Not only did we pay for a contract but have spent out of pocket expense in seeding since our lawn was burned out by treatment rendered. After numerous un-answered calls we finally got replies by going to the BBB we finally got some initiative to properly get our lawn on track. It is unfortunate that Tru-green acts like we are expecting more than what they offered with their service

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Notified that service had been rendered and credit card billed. Home all day service was said to have been rendered, no one from company showed up.
Called Sales office (XXX-XXX-XXXX)and set up 8 lawn treatments @ $29.95 for 1st, and $46 for 2-8. Received e-mail on 6/5/14 that lawn was serviced. Home all day on 6/4/14 and 6/5/14 and no one from TruGreen showed up. Called above number and they gave me local number to call. Called local number and told agent no service had been performed. Told her I wanted to talk to someone in person at my home. Agent said supervisor would call to set up appointment. Received no call. Called PayPal Credit Card who related $29.95 charge had been put on card. Told them not to pay charge based on no service. E-mail on 6/11/14 stating another treatment had occurred. Again no show, nor service summary left on door. Called local XXX-XXX-XXXX and told them no more service until I talk to a supervisor at my home. On 6/12/14 received E-mail that I'd signed up for $100 lawn aeration. 6/14/14 received letter stating I'D signed up for aeration plus an e-mail stating service had been rendered. No show/service summary left. Never got any lawn applications, never signed up for aeration, never had supervisor come to home. Appears lawn service applications are complete scam. Can't even get a company agent to come to home in person. Have spoke to Sales Office people 2 times **** ***** **** ***** ******** *** XXXXX) and local office once, with no results. Apparently when you complain to them, they sign you up for another treatment (unknown to you), charge you for it, and never apply the service.

Desired Settlement
Desired cancellation of any further contact with this company and no further alleged charges to my card. Do not want continued billing into the future for services never rendered!; or for the one's they claim they have already performed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** General Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@trugreenmail.com
Mr *******,
I am sorry you are having issues. I looked into your account and here is what I have found.
We indeed serviced your property on 6/4/14 and have pictures of it as it is a best practice of our company to take a picture of our first visit to new sales accounts. **** ***** was the technician that day. Secondly, we received your request for an on site meet and again our lawn specialist, ******* *****, came back and actually met you in person. I called him to confirm and he remembers on his second knock you came to the door. he mentioned he thought he had woken you up, this was at 3:02pm. He told you he wouldn't be able to reservice the property as he has just within the last week done your treatment. He also while there sppoke to you about your thatch layer and the need for aeration. He got your authorization to perform and aeration for $100, although this service has not been performed as of yet.
Please help clear this up, as the 2 accounts of what has happned isn't adding up?
Lastly, our local branch number is XXX-XXX-XXXX, the 2 other numbers you have called have out you into a region call center and not our direct branch. Feel free to call me direct so I may clear any outstanding questions you might have.
We have currently cancelled your account and will wait to hear from you.
He re is a copy and paste from our computer system that is timestamped by our computer hand helds in the field:
6/10/14 Completed Work XXXXXXXXX HLPAXTR
6/05/14 Collection ************XXXX XX.95
6/04/14 Completed Work XXXXXXXXX HLPAR03 46.00
6/04/14 Invoice XXXXXXXX HLPAR03 29.95

Thanks,
*** *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a complete lie. I have never met with ******* ***** or any other Tru-Green agent in person at any time. I have registered my complaints via the telephone, both at the 1-800 sales office number and the local office number, but to no one in person at any time! If Tru-Green's response is true, what would be the logical reason for my complaint since I called them for help on my lawn. If their response is factual, then it appears they have gone to the wrong residence, talked to someone who said they were ****** ******* and received treatments I'm posting for. I would like to see the picture of my house and meet Mr. *****, again, in person!

Final Business Response
We went out and met with customer. We figured out that we indeed had been at the wrong property for treatment and sale of aeration. Mr ******* was pleased that we cleared this up and promised to close this case with BBB.
Thanks,
***

07/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired TruGreen over 5 months ago to service our lawn. After 5 visits from TruGreen to our home, our lawn is now completely destroyed. I planted new sod and grass and after TruGreen's last visit, even that has all died. They claim they sprayed for mole crickets, fire ants, weed control, yet we still have all of that going on. I called TruGreen to express my dismay and was told the manager (*** ****** would come out a week later. *** ***** came to the house and inspected the damage. He did not do any homework on what had been done but he promised he would go to his office and call me back THAT EVENING. He did not call nor did he have the decency to make a call ever. I had had enough of TruGreen (Myrtle Beach)and all of the unprofessionalism so I spent over 2 hours trying to reach TruGreen's Corporate offices in Tn. After explaining my situation,they proposed "*** ******* come and resolve the problem with our home. It was obvious someone had called *** ***** and informed him I was calling his headquarters because I received a call from one of ***'s workers and he seemed agitated as he was yelling " I am trying to help you" I told him he was calling because he knew I had already called the home office. Now I receive a call from *** ***** yelling, screaming and threatening me for speaking to his worker " like I did". This guy screamed " my account is cancelled" This man needs a course in management and it's quite obvious he never went to charm school.Now I get a call from **** **** (region manager)He proceeds to inform me that I used vulgar language and I was abusive. So now I have a terrible lawn and I am the villain too. He never even took a minute to even ask me what had transpired. His solution was to have *** ***** come and fix my lawn. This is the same guy who never called back when he said he would and just took his time to lambaste me over a telephone.I want to let everyone know that this company will not get away with this nonsense. I will pursue this horrible treatment
Product_Or_Service: lawn treatment

Desired Settlement
I want a new lawn plus damages for expenses we have already incurred.

Business Response
Upon review of the account, TruGreen has not serviced the property since November 2013. TruGreen did apply a mole cricket treatment; however, moles feed on other insects in lawn such as earth worms. TruGreen does not feel the applications applied caused the damage to the lawn. As a gesture of customer service, TruGreen will provide sod for the lawn, once the moles are gone and upon receipt of a signed legal release from Mr. ******.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We can prove beyond any doubt that TruGreen's response is a TOTAL LIE. We have receipts from employess of TruGreen who came to our home as recently as May, 2014 and serviced our lawn and handed those receipts which show TrueGreen is not an honest company We will now pursue legal action for all damages.

Final Business Response
Mr ****** was signed up through our commercial division on a plan in November of 2013 that has half of the offered and or needed applications, per his choice. This plan offers no level of guarantee and this was fully disclosed at point of sale. We do offer a gurantee on our Full program plans however. We have performed only 3 applications total since he signed up. The property has excessive mole damage, which is not a covered service for our company and causes vast damage to the turf. I am the GM of the branch and went to the property in person to assess and advise of what could be done. I made the customer aware of multiple remedies for his moles and offered to investigate what services had been performed and call back to advise if we needed to reservice anything that was done up until this point. The account is through a local landscaper and come to find out we had the wrong contact info. When the customer called in to complain of no contact from our office he reached our commercial customer service lady who apologized to Mr. ****** but then was heavily berated and cursed at by Mr. ****** who at the time wouldn't give his last name and or phone number. The only way we obtained his phone number was via caller id. She contacted my commercial sales manager who promptly called to apologize and explain we did not have his contact info thus could not make contact as promised, yet again Mr. ****** screamed at, cursed at, and called him a "sensitive big baby" at which time Mr. ****** hung up on my employee. I then reached out to Mr. ****** personally simply to let him know that he can not talk to my employees in the manner in which he had and he then started to berate me and let me know he had handled the problem at the "corporate level". I tried multiple times to communicate that any resolution that could or would be had would be decided by myself. He then told me I am a nobody and hung up on me. A short while later my Region Manager called and attempted to offer resolution and was constantly talked over and never given a chance to speak or offer advice/complimentary services,which we were willing to be done to try and help the condition of his lawn. The condition of the his lawn is far better than what is being described and nearly all damages currently in place are from either mole damage or winter injury, caused from one of the harshest winters this area has ever seen.Neither of which can be controlled and or something we can be held responsible for. I can provide pictures of the extensive mole damage and or statements from any of the employees who had contact to attest to how Mr. ****** handled himself on the phone with our team, that was simply trying to help. We again offer to help Mr. ****** by retreating his property for insects at no cost and aerating the property in attempt to bring back the turf in the areas where winter injury occurred. These services would be at no cost and carry no guarantee, but he was unwilling to listen and accept our help. Please advise as to what we can do to bring resolution to this matter.

Consumer Response
2014/6/18 QQ see pdf


Business Response
Mr. ****** has been made a settlement offer from our legal department and agreed to its terms.
Thanks,
***

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TrueGreen has failed to deliver a "true green" look in my lawn which after a year of treatment.
In April 15th 2013, I engaged TruGreen with a one-year service agreement to include the following services: 1) TruGreen Plan, 2) Specialized Services Plan, and 3) Healthy Tree & Shrub Plan.
According to our service agreement, the following items were included:
The TruGreen Plan included weed control, winter stress recovery, nutrient boost, color enhancement, summer/fall recovery, root stimulation.
Specialized Services included aeration, grub and insect control.
Healthy Tree and Shrub Plan included the Early Growth Protection.
The total cost of the service was for $506.88 which included a promotional and prepaid discount since I paid in full.
Around the end of 2013 and early of 2014 I started to notice some decayed spots around the front, side and rear lawn. There were some streak lines on the side and front of the house was if a "liquid chemical" had runoff the lawn leaving noticeable marks. Initially, the company was responsive and returned to retreat these "bad" areas. However, the lawn defective areas were not improving and continued to get worse. At the same time, I started getting billed for lawn care work even before the year was up. I did not think I was responsible to pay for service that I had already paid for one full year. I called the company and spoke with one of their customer service reps assuring me that someone will contact me, I also called on of the cell phones of one the site managers and they failed to respond to my concerns. The customer service rep advised me about the total remaining balance for work that in my opinion was performed within the one-year time frame. This balance was for $114.92 for lawn care and $59 for Tree/Shrub Service. Again, this services were performed within the year. Also, the customer service rep advised me that if I wanted to cancel the services I must do in writing.I decided to cancel the services as of June 2, 2014 because TruGreen has failed to guarantee the health of my lawn and they are no longer responding to my concerns.
I have two major issues with this company. First, they promote themselves with a "Healthy Lawn Guarantee" slogan and they have failed to do that for me.
Second, I engaged TruGreen with a written service agreement for a full year but the agreement does not indicate that there can be additional service charges within the year once they exceed the allotted treatments.
At this point, I sent a payment of $114.92 even though I do not think I should be responsible to pay for work that was covered within my year of service. The company, however, continues to call and harass me for the additional $59.

Desired Settlement
Void the $59 service charge.
I will have to replace the bold lawn areas with new centipede grass.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***********@trugreenmail.com
Mr *******
I am sorry your experience with Trugreen was not up to par. I will waive the $59 and consider this done. With the winter we had end of 2013 into 2014 there was a lot of stress caused on the centipede turf for many lawns. Please let us know if we can be of any help in the future.
Thanks,
*** *****

09/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trugreen lawn care sends me invoices for services which they did after they were notified by me that their services were no longer required.
On 5.18.13 I notified Trugreen in writing that their services were no longer needed at my 2 properties.On 5.21.13 I spoke with *** their representative at ************ and told him the same thing. They treated my property on 5.22.13 which was unauthorized. They continue to send me invoices for this unauthorized service, and continue to call my home.

Desired Settlement
Stop sending me invoices, and threatening to turn my account over to a collection agency and stop the harassing phone calls. Send me a letter or e-mail apologizing for their error in making an unauthorized lawn treatment,and that I owe them nothing.

Business Response
After looking into this I realized the customer had multiple accounts for the same address. This was an error on our part and that is the reason the treatment had been done in May and he was showing a past due notice. I have gone into our system and cleared any past due balance for the duplicate account mix up.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/1994Business started: 01/01/1952Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Contact Information
Principal: Shalena Williams (Customer Care Lead)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
TruGreen Chemlawn

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TruGreen

1615 Executive Ave

Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-6501

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1615 Executive Ave 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-6501(704) 360-3291
    Fax: (901) 597-5675

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TruGreen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (843) 293-6966
  • (901) 597-5698
  • (843) 628-1603
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.