BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2009

Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare

(843) 241-1615328 Ashwood Ln, Myrtle BeachSC 29588-6736 Send email to Extreme Landscaping & LawncareFacebook

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2009

BBB has determined that Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid Extreme Landscaping to install sod and care for my yard. Within about 6 weeks the sod was eaten up by army worms.
In early June of 2013 I made arrangements with ***** *****, the owner of Extreme Landscaping, to replace the old centipede sod in my front and side yard. ***** told me the best sod would be Zoysia from Lawson Turf Farms. Through miss communication with Lawson Turf Farms, ***** killed all of the grass in my front yard about 3 weeds before ********* was able to deliver the sod.

On June 16th Lawson's delivered the Zoysia sod and the yard look great for about 6 weeks. ***** was my landscaper. However, in early August I began to notice the sod was turning brown like it didn't have enough water. I pointed it out to ***** and he blamed me for over watering. For weeks I questioned ***** and he blamed too much water and mold. He told me **** ****** with Lawson's Turf farm had been by and agreed.

Finally after about 1 week of pressuring, **** ****** with Lawson's Turf farms came by and met me at my home. The date was September 24th. By then the yard was almost totally brown. After one minute of looking at my yard **** said it was Army Worms and the yard was almost dead. He pointed out to me as we walked through moths flew up from the grass. **** said the moths laid tiny caterpillars and they could multiply and eat an entire yard in a few weeks if they were not treated.

I pointed out to **** that where his Zoysia met my old centipede in several areas, the Zoysia was almost dead and the centipede appeared healthy and green.

**** put all of the blame on ***** and said he had send out a few e mail blasts to warn his landscapers of the army worm problem, but couldn't remember if he had e mailed *****. I asked him if he would supply free sod if I could get ***** to install it. He took no responsibility and refused. When I talked to ***** he said he would install the sod again at no charge if Lawson's would supply it.

I mentioned to **** ****** that possibly his sod came with army worm larva or possibly it was a type of Zoysia that was easily destroyed by insects. Denied both.

I don't know whether ********* Turf Farm produces defective sod or ***** with Extreme Landscaping should have treated sooner. I feel like one or both of them should stand behind their product as I spent almost 2,000 to improve my front yard and it looks worse than ever.

I feel I should be reimbursed my money or my sod should be replaced at no charge.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have all of the sod replaced at no charge or my money should be refunded.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@aol.com
I was contacted in May of 2013 by **** ****** about doing a thorough yard clean-up, installing pine straw in flower beds and installing zoysia grass. The zoysia grass was unavailable at the time from the suppliers that I use. He was given the option to purchase the zoysia sod himself if he could get it sooner, but he declined. I proceeded with the clean-up at Mr. ******'s request. The clean-up consisted of trimming trees and bushes and the removal of leaves and pine straw. I also sprayed grass killer in preparation for the upcoming zoysia grass installation. Mr. ****** was very satisfied with the clean-up and the pine straw application. On June 16th, the grass became available and was delivered and installed. This particular type of grass is certified (inspected prior to sale) and weed free. The grass was in great shape and the end result was magnificent. Upon completion, Mr. ****** paid me in full for the clean-up, pine straw installation, irrigation repair and zoysia grass installation (photo 1a, 1b). The zoysia installation portion was $1,375.00, not the $2,000 that Mr. ****** referred to in his complaint.

$475.00 clean-up
$150.00 irrigation repair
$1375.00 zoysia installation
$2000.00 Total

A few weeks later, I noticed that the yard was extremely wet and we had not experienced any rain at the time. I stressed to Mr. ****** that it was imperative NOT to over water the yard since it is shaded. In shaded areas water tends to sit longer. The sunlight can't burn it off fast enough. (Example: clothes line in the shade, clothes will not dry, they will stay damp). I immediately turned off his irrigation and called to advise him not to run the irrigation system so frequently. He said it has been hot and it looked like it was dying so he felt the need to water more (photo 2). I have a text message where he admitted to over watering (photo 3). The reason it was dying is because it was drenched with water. There were visible signs of mold (photo 4a, 4b, 4c) and a tire track in his flower bed (photo 5) that confirms the dampness in his yard.

Mr. ****** contacted me with his lawn concerns on 9/10/13. I went to his home the next day and sprayed a fungicide application (as a preventative measure) and applied insect control and fertilizer per owner of Lawson's Turf Farm to help rectify the problem. I re-applied the fungicide one week later. Mr. ****** was not satisfied with my explanation or my attempts to rectify the problem that he created. I had Mr. **** ****** with Lawson Turf to meet me at Mr. ******'s home on 9/13/13. He inspected the damage that was in question. He also said that it was due to too much water. There was no mention of or any signs of army worms on this visit. Mr. ****** met with Mr. ****** on 9/24/13 (I was not present for this meeting). I understand that they now feel it was an army worm infestation that killed his grass which was a contributor as well as over watering.

I was hired to cut his grass twice a month. I never saw any army worms on my visits. I can't be responsible for infestations such as this or control his erratic watering habits.

I do feel that, if there is an army worm infestation it came from his neighbor's yard that recently had sod installed at the beginning of September. Their grass died immediately.

Mr. ****** contacted me on 9/24/13 after he had met with Mr. ****** and demanded that something be done about his yard and threatened to contact the BBB. This is not the first time that he has threatened to file a complaint. I told him that I would speak with Mr. ****** and get back with him, since I was out of town at the time. A few days later, I learned that Mr. ****** had indeed filed a complaint.

I do not feel as if I am responsible for his grass. It was perfect when installed as photos show. The damage was caused primarily due to over watering and secondly, if accurate, from infestation of army worms from neighbors newly sodded yard. I do not warranty sod due to variables such as this. I have no control over what the homeowner does or does not do to care for their yard once I leave the premises.

Every time Mr. ****** contacted me with any questions or concerns, I got back with him promptly. I have not spoken with him since this complaint and I have terminated my lawn service as well. I have not been compensated for any lawn service that I provided for the entire summer (from May to mid-September) or any treatments to improve his grass due to his negligence.

I went above and beyond the call of duty to attempt to rectify a situation that was beyond my control. I feel like I did the right thing even though there is a balance owed for my services. His balance owed to date is $650.00 for grass cutting and various treatments.

I am appalled that he has the audacity to file a complaint after he killed his own grass and owes me for lawn service for the entire season. Mr. ****** needs to pay me the balance that is owed.

In closing, Mr. ****** is the type of person that will never be satisfied. He has not been truthful for what the cost of the sod installation actually was and is trying to get something for nothing. I am not willing to re-sod his yard or perform any other work for him in the future.All attempts that I have made were on my own time and at my own expense.

I wish him well in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/29/2006Business started: 02/01/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Barth (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Products & Services

This company offers landscaping, lawncare, irrigation and tree removal.

Alternate Business Names
Extreme Tree Removal

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare

328 Ashwood Ln

Myrtle Beach, SC 29588-6736

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 328 Ashwood Ln 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29588-6736(843) 241-1615

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Extreme Landscaping & Lawncare is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.