BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2009

Mastercare Contracting, Inc.

Phone: (843) 215-3511Fax: (843) 215-5951View Additional Phone Numbers550 Garden City Connector, Murrells InletSC 29576-7846 Send email to Mastercare Contracting, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/30/2009

BBB has determined that Mastercare Contracting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Mastercare Contracting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 25 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Mastercare Contracting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service24
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mastercare Contracting, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)
05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Master Care ran a ad in the Sun News "December Only" all tree removals $150.00 Any time , Any size and Any where . I called on Nov. 27th, 2015 to have them come and look at the trees that I wanted cut down. On Dec. 5th, 2015 the owner KC ********** came to my house, As we walked down the sidewalk to back of house KC said did i not give your wife a quote($650 on one tree) while back I said yes but this was a better price. He looked at the tree gave me his card hand wrote $300 on card. I said I am on vacation this week if it could happen would be nice, KC said no that he was busy will do it on Dec. 22nd. I said ok but if you have a cancel please consider, said he would. Dec. 22nd came and know one arrived I call and talk to Stephanie said they would be there today sometime if it did not rain. It started to rain around noon time so I called her back said they would be there in next few days. On Dec. 23th, 2015 they showed up around 3 p.m. I was not here but my wife and neighbor was. There were three guys that came around back as one was talking to my wife and the other one was talking to my neighbor the third one said we can not cut the treees. Reason was that it had been raining and the ground was to soft and that behind the trees about 10 feet was laying water, the third guy was on the phone with someone talking and told the other two we are leaving. So I called Stephanie and ask why was the trees not cut said she was not sure would get with the guys and call me back, Stephanie did call back stating that the ground was soft was why they could not do it. I ask when will this get done? said would call me back and let me know. I did not hear from Master Care so I called on the Jan. 4th, 2016 left message no return call, I called on the Jan 5th, 2016 and talk to stephanie saying did you forget about me? said she had just return to work yesterday and that I was on the schedule but did not know when the trees would be cut down! I have seen Master care truck out and about when driving home from work so I know that they are out there working. I feel that I am being left out for the reason of the price that was giving to wife first part of the year and they have no plans on cutting these two trees. I have on my phone all the phone messages left from ********* saying they are going to cut the trees WHEN?

Thank you for listening to me and what ever you can do to help me with this issue.

Desired Settlement
$100, because I ended up paying more for the service by going to someone else.

Business Response
I am sorry this happened. I would be glad to reimburse the customer the $100. Please have him provide the mailing address to send refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Non completion of work already paid for
Approx 3 months ago, MasterCare were contracted to trim some of my tress and clean the gutters. ** came and gave me a quotation. The crew turned up on the designated day, did most of the work and left. I then checked the gutter and found it wasn't cleaned out and one of the trees was not trimmed. I called and called and called...no answer. The neighbor then called and when ** came out to give them a quote I asked him when he was going to finish the project...he indicated between 2-3 days. Nothing..I then sent some e-mails to MasterCare and the lady responded that they would come and complete the work when I was next in town...called and called and called...no answer. I have again emailed them, not reply, I have called..no reply. All I asked for is that they either finish the project or refund me the money I have already paid.

Desired Settlement
Finish the job or refund me the money..

Business Response
We are still working with Mr. ******* on this matter. He doesn't live here full time so we are trying to coordinate a time when he comes back to Myrtle Beach to get the work completed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MasterCare has failed to complete the job I contracted for. The job is less than 50% complete.
MasterCare's crew came to my house on 5/11/15. The job I contracted for was for them to cut down a tree in the back yard, grind the stump/roots, and excavate/grade/re-sod the back yard for $2,420. At the end of the first day they had cut down the tree, removed some shrubs and brought in some fill dirt to start to grade the low areas. They had to take down a section of fence so they could access the backyard with the machine they used to move the dirt. As they required I paid half their fee ($1,200.) with a check at end of the first day. Since they had showed up the day after a Tropical Storm and my backyard was soggy/wet the stump grinder machine couldn't be utilized until 7 days later when the ground was dry. The stump/roots were ground along with some other small stumps on 5/18/15. At this point I had a backyard with dirt spread out, my fence gate was dismantled and there was dirt piled on the grass beside my driveway waiting to be moved to the backyard. I was to also discover that they had inadvertently broken the sprinkler head/pipe where dirt was piled along side the driveway. When they hadn't returned by 6/1/15 to finish the job I called a couple times and left vmail.
On 6/9/15 I received a callback and the women said she had been out for a few weeks and that she would inquire into the status of my job. On 6/12/15 I received a vmail from the same woman saying they would return on 6/13/15 to finish my backyard. They did not show up on 6/13/15 nor did they call to reschedule. I had canceled appts that day to be home when they arrived but they were a no-show! At this point it's been 5 weeks since they started the job and left my yard unuseable with dirt everywhere and my gate dismantled.

Desired Settlement
At this point I just want them to complete the job as contracted and also fix the sprinkler head they broke.

Business Response
We came and did about half of the work that was contracted. He paid for half of the work. Initially, the delay in continuing the project was due to how wet the rear lawn was. It was impossible for us to excavate, grade, and lay sod with the wet lawn. Now, the area should be dry enough for us to continue. We will contact homeowner to check and then schedule a time to complete project.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to return to fix work done by them
Paid $4,000.00 for work done to my front lawn removeing flower beds and resodding lawn. Owner **** came back to look at lawn on may 6th 2015 when I complained about dead sod and uneven layment of sod. **** said they would order sod and repair lawn. I called office about 2 weeks later and girl in office said they were waiting for a so delivery. I called office on May 30th and 31st and left message on their answering machine. No return call, when I call now I get disconnect as they have my number blocked. Called on neighbors phone and call went right through to answering machine. I have polite in my calls and paid my bill, all I want is to have them fix their work.

Desired Settlement
Resod and level low spots in lawn

Business Response
Sod is scheduled for delivery tomorrow afternoon (Tuesday). I spoke with the sod company this morning. We are sorry for the delay. It has been difficult to get good quality sod this year and that has been the delay.

We will be there this week to fix the areas.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mastercare answered BBB on 6/2/2015 and said they had a sod delivery due in on 6/2 and would complete work that week. Mastercare office left a message on my answering machine on 6/6/2015 saying they did not get the sod delivery as expected but expected a delivery on 6/12/2015 and then would complete the repair. I would like to keep this case open until the work is completed.

Final Business Response
We are sending a refund to customer for the $500.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mastercare Inc. came on March 23, 2015, to trim limbs off trees in my yard. After they left, I discovered newly broken pavement in our driveway where a huge live oak limb from their work crashed. I called the company and was told they would not come to look at the broken pavement nor would they repair it. Their mission statement on the contract states, " We will protect your lawn/plants/landscape/driveway when we are working for you." but they refuse to do so.

Desired Settlement
The Mastercare Inc. people should first inspect the damage they did and then repair the driveway in a timely manner.

Business Response
This has already been addressed with Mr. **** and on Thursday, March 26 the broken concrete was repaired.

Consumer Response
Our problem has been resolved. Mastercare repaired the broken pavement. Thank you for your help. ****** ****

Page 1 of 3
06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They dropped a tree limb that shattered my picnic table. Been trying to get it replaced for months.
We've been trying to get them to replace the picnic table that they smashed since the beginning of April (it is now near the end of May). They stopped returning calls pretty quickly.

My mother called on 4/1, 4/5, 4/7, 4/11.
I called 4/15 and got a call back on 4/16 (guess what, they didn't do anything they'd promised).
They spoke with my mother on 4/20.
I tried calling again this week and decided to submit a complaint due to their unethical business practices.

Desired Settlement
Replace the picnic table.

Business Response
The picnic table was purchased on Monday, May 23. She will be getting a phone call on delivery either Thursday or Friday.

05/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't complete job.

Was told one thing but didn't get what I was told.

Was contracted to have job done on 04/22/2016 and they showed up on 04/19/2016.We allowed them to do the job that day.They were supposed to take down 2 trees and take branches and vines down from another that was hanging over the shed.They were also supposed to clean everything up.I was not satisfied and called to have Mr KC C. come to take a look at the work done. He is the President of the company and the one that had given me the estimate. The woman on the phone made an appointment with me for him to come and take a look at the job on 04/21/2016 at 3:30 pm.
He never showed up.I then emailed him about 10 pictures of the work that was done hoping he would come to take a look at the work.I have never heard from him since.
When we received the estimate I never received a written contract.I took him in good faith.I guess that will be th last time I will do That.


Desired Settlement
I would like Mr C. to come and take a look at the job done and correct it.

Business Response

My crew did do the job as agreed. I saw the pictures that were sent to me from my employees while they were working and I even stopped and looked at the job after the work was completed. Unfortunately, the customer wasn't home at the time. Everything that we discussed was done. There really is nothing more that I can do at this time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is just what I expected,considering the attitude of the employees that did the job in the first place.Convenient that he says he came by to look at the job when I wasn't home.He doesn't mention the fact that he didn't keep the the appointment his office made when I would be home.
I will never use this company again.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While providing landscaping services to a homeowner at **** ***** **** the employees of Mastercare damaged a portion of the common area.
On or about February 12, 2015, Mastercare was providing a landscaping service to the homeowner at **** ***** Ct, Myrtle Beach, SC. While doing so, the employees caused damage to the common area belonging to the Association. I contacted Mastercare on Feb 12th, via phone and also sent an email to the company with a photo showing damage requesting immediate repair.
A couple of weeks later, I called once again and left a voicemail message and sent another email dated March 4, 2015 inquiring as to when the repair will be made. I received a response on March 6, 2015, stating that Mastercare was having difficulty finding sod to make the repair. I replied to please advise as to when the repair has been made. On April 14th, I again emailed Mastercare as I had been told by several other landscapers in our area that sod was readily available, but no one from Mastercare responded to my email. I sent repeated emails requesting that the repair be made but to no avail. I also sent a certified letter on June 8, 2015 but it was returned to me on July 6, 2015, marked "Unclaimed" but was ripped opened on one end as if the letter was pulled out read and placed back into the envelope.

All we want is for Mastercare to be the professional company they claim to be and make the repair caused by their employees as they said they would.

Desired Settlement
We want MasterCare to repair (sod) the damaged landscaping in the common are of the property at **** ***** ****** Myrtle Beach, SC

Business Response
When we started work on ***** *** the homeowner told us to remove the sod in that area. She never once told us that it was common grounds. She stood there and watched us remove it and didn't say a word. Now, she is complaining and wants sod put back in that area.

We are no longer doing sod work but would be happy to reimburse ******** ********** if they want to have it completed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They need to contact that homeowner and reimburse her as she was tired of waiting since February for Master Care to address it.



Final Business Response
What was the cost for the repair and we will submit payment?

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Left a four foot stump & will not cut to inches above ground.
MasterCare was payed($300) to cut a moderate size tree down. Problem is that I have a waist high four foot high stump left that should have been cut down(should gave been cut to within inches of the ground). I was told the day of the cut by the tree removal lead that his "chainsaw chain was dull on his larger saw & that his little saw belongs to himself and that he would not push the chainsaw hard(which would be required to cut a stump of such large diameter)". I asked the tree removal lead when when could he come back to finish and received no definite answer and it seemed to me as he was avoiding answering. I called the main office the next day explained my problem to one of the owners and was told someone would come out that day or the next to cut the stump & finish grinding any stumps(from a previous job and job in question) that could be ground(due to the fact some of the stumps are on a slope but not the high uncut stump). Well I heard from MasterCare the next day and told to give them another day(Saturday) and someone would be by in the morning;Morning came and no one showed in which was a real headache since I needed to be somewhere. I have made numerous calls with no return calls and it is impossible to even email Mastercut from their web site.

Desired Settlement
Pay for another company to finish the job.

Business Response
We went to the customer's house yesterday afternoon and cut the stalk down. We will be back today to see if we can grind the stumps.

09/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. ******* ******** & ****** ********* spoke with my wife about cutting down several pine trees. He informed us that they would return the nextday and that the business was fully insured against any damage. They arrived on 8/31/15 a.m. to cut the trees. The crew of ******** ******* ******* and another gentleman went quickly about their work and did an outstanding job. When completed we checked the job and asked about the Bob Cat tire tread marks in our driveway and a hydrolic fluid leak in the street and in the curbing. Mr. ******** reiterated that they are full insured but he thought he could get the tire marks up with a pressure washed. The drive was washed the first time and then they returned with a higher pressure machine. All the two cleanings did was remove the paint. Our drive is painted with several coats to protect the driveway against normal wear. The drive looked new and was attested by several neighbors. ***** the husband of the owner finally came out and look at the problem and told my wife he would have an adjuster from his insurance company come out the next day. No one has shown up, Mastercare/*****. or **** will not respond to emails, phone calls and totally avoiding us.

Desired Settlement
I have a quote for repainting the driveway and I would like the matter resolved ASAP...

Business Response
Everything has been turned into our insurance company and getting resolved.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Construction-Hauling Aggregate for Highway Construction, Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/12/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2000, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Campellone (President/Owner)Mr. Kirk Campellone (Owner, President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Construction-Hauling Aggregate for Highway Construction, Tree Service

Products & Services

Mastercare Contracting, Inc. offers tree service, lawn and landscaping services for residential and commercial properties.

Alternate Business Names
Mastercare Tree and Landscape Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mastercare Contracting, Inc. has received 3.0 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mastercare Contracting, Inc.

550 Garden City Connector

Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-7846

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 550 Garden City Connector 

    Murrells Inlet, SC 29576-7846(843) 239-3889
    Fax: (843) 215-5951

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mastercare Contracting, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (843) 239-3889
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.