BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2012

Breakthrough Learning Institute

Phone: (800) 251-7050Fax: (910) 401-12611121C Military Cutoff Rd # 360, WilmingtonNC 28405-3641 Send email to Breakthrough Learning InstituteView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/2012

BBB has determined that Breakthrough Learning Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Breakthrough Learning Institute's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Breakthrough Learning Institute

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a pamphlet from this company which I received. Suddenly started getting unauthorized monthly charges on my credit card for $99.00.


I ordered a pamphlet online using credit card. We started receiving charges for $99.00 a month. Repeatedly tried to stop there charges. After many months, was told I was being charged for a counseling service I never signed up for or used. Asked for refund repeatedly. I have been charged for 19 months. Finally, they refunded me for two of the $99.00 charges. They have promised to look into my case and refund the rest, but months go by and they fail to respond. Have been charged $1881.00. Have been refunded $198. Am due $1683.00.

Desired Settlement
Have been fraudulently charged $1881. Have been refunded $198.00. Am due $1683.00.

Business' Initial Response
This Customer was contact directly by the owner of the company. She had signed up for a recurring service and requested a full year refund. They negotiated a settlement and check for $930.00 was sent to the customer as agreed upon. The check cleared the bank on 7/29/13.

The customer was satisfied and this complaint was closed by negotiation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After Customer enlisted the help of an advocated in the Attorney General's office, Customer was able to get a response from the Owner of the business. After a negotiation, owner agreed to refund the customer for $930.00, or roughly 50% of money automatically drawn from Customer's credit card. The check cleared the bank on 7/29/13. and both Customer and Owner are satisfied with this resolution.

07/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized purchase of their product from my debit card. Company has not returned 3 of my phone calls to resolve issue.
On July 4, 2012, a charge of $210 was made from my debit card to the website marriagesherpa.org. I DID NOT purchase anything from this website. The order number from my bank account for this purchase is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX **********

I have contacted this company 3 times, leaving voicemails about the fraudulent charges, to which no one has called me back. The phone number provided on the website is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of $210 for the purchase that I did not make. Additionally, any information that would help to identify the person who used my credit card to make these unauthorized charges so I can turn the information over to the police.

Business' Initial Response
As of 7/9/13 ***** ******** has been issued a full refund for $210.00. I contacted him via email to advise of such and am tracing the activity to determine its origins if possible. I have also started an incident report on why his calls were not returned.
xxxxx
***
*****@kfmanagement.com

Business' Final Response
We've tried to make contact with this individual. This order was refunded promptly. We have a 60-day money back guarantee and the day we received the request we honored the refund.

We also called the customer to speak to him about the potential fraud concern he had. We're currently waiting for a call back.

10/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Website has a money back guarantee that if they cannot fix your marriage, they will refund your money.I sent an email and did not receive money.
Ordered on April 2, 2012 for one payment of $197.
Sent original email requesting money back at some time in May. Then in June. Then July. And now September.

Desired Settlement
I would like their advertising to be accurate. I sent an email within 3 months to share that my marriage was not saved by the 'system'. After hearing no response, I emailed again. And again. The claim they make has not been honored. Below, you will see the claim on the http://www.marriagesherpa.com/affair_sales/offer/1002 website.

Order How to Survive the Affair Today
Three Month Money-Back Guarantee

"If my system does not work for you, then I want you to call or e-mail within three months, and we'll refund your money."

If you don't experience a softening in your relationship
If your unwilling spouse does not become willing
If you don't resolve your emotions
If you cannot restore the trust back into your relationship

Then I want you to e-mail me and I will refund 100% of your money.

That's right. If you don't resolve all the issues that I listed, then I will gladly refund all of your money.

If that does not prove how passionate * am, then nothing will.

(The reason I make my guarantee so strong is because I want you to know how committed I am to helping you.)

Business' Initial Response
After a review of our emails and finding nothing received from ******** *********, we have contacted her directly from her information provided here. Because the card was run over 90 days ago we had to issue a manual check. The refund of the full amount of $197 was mailed to her on 10/3/12.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping Services, Internet Services, Books-New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/2010Business started: 09/03/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Katherine (Kaddy) Feast (Bookkeeper)Mr. Jeffrey M Radich (Partner)Mr. Marcus W Stockman (Partner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Internet Shopping Services, Internet Services, Books-New

Products & Services

We have items for Surviving An Affair, Saving Your Marriage and additionally have products for Resume, Job Interview, Cover Letters as well as RV Insiders Guide

Alternate Business Names
Marriage Sherpa, Natural Health and Breakthrough
Industry Tips
Cybershopping - What You Need to Know

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Breakthrough Learning Institute

1121C Military Cutoff Rd # 360

Wilmington, NC 28405-3641

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1121C Military Cutoff Rd # 360 

    Wilmington, NC 28405-3641(800) 251-7050

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Breakthrough Learning Institute is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping Services

Cybershopping - What You Need to Know
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.