BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ocean Forest Villas

Phone: (843) 449-9661Fax: (843) 449-9207View Additional Phone Numbers5601 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle BeachSC 29577-2345http://www.sandsresorts.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Ocean Forest Villas is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Ocean Forest Villas' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised Ocean Forest Villas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ocean Forest Villas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried to contact this company through there corporate page about a complaint of bed bugs. I have not received an email or phone call at all.
My family and I took a trip labor day weekend checking in on 09/04/15, and staying at Ocean Forest Villas. Our unit number was A-217. When we entered the villa everything seemed to be clean and in order no signs that maintenance wasn't up to date. A little outdated but clean. My 3 boys slept in the room with the twin beds and my fiancé and I were in the room with the queen bed. The first night no issue at all, but the second night 09/05 is when the issue started. My 5 year old who stated he was cold told me he wanted a blanket and since we forgot his, he looked and found a tan blanket in the room he was sleeping in. I wrapped him in the blanket on the couch and he ended up going to sleep. So I took him and the blanket to the bed he was sleeping in, put his pj's on and he laid back down with the blanket and went back to sleep. I was awakened to him telling me something was biting him while he was asleep. He had bug bites all over his left leg and his lower left back. Since didn't occur the night before and he wasn't sleeping under that blanket I immediately took it away and stashed it back in the closet. It quickly went from what are we doing today to "dad I'm itching I need cream" and whining all day. I know that the bugs were not transported in as this issue has never happened at my residence before and they were not anywhere close to looking like mosquito bites, which was my first thought. The other kids were not bitten at all, as they didn't sleep under that blanket. We continued to try to make the best of our trip but it pretty much took the fun out of it as their mother was very upset. I have tried to contact them twice and have gotten no response or even acknowledgement that they even received my comments. I also have pictures to prove these said bug bites on my child exist.

Desired Settlement
I would like for this company who seems to have been in business for years and seems like a good company to resolve my matter and I am seeking a full refund of my monies paid for our family trip that went south. I am a paying customer just like everyone and when I have concerns please address them in a timely manor. Im sure that they would like the same treatment about any issues or concerns that would arise while on a trip with their families.

07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer Service issue with our stay on June 8-11th,2015.
Our stay way 6-8-15 thru 6-11-15.Reserved on 2-05-15 2 6:50 pm .Booking #XXXXXXXXX for 1 villa and total $483.50
Building A-316
6-9 at 5:43 am placed a call because the air conditioner stopped working. They said they would let someone know at 7am when they came in. So we agreed 7:30am would be good. At 8:52 I placed another call to the front desk. We hadn't seen anyone yet and we were going out to do activities. We returned at 5:17pm and the room was warmer than when we left. I placed another call and requested the MOD. I explained the problem and that this was the third call placed. He offered to move us to D building. I told him I would like for someone to check it first before we moved. I wanted to make sure we knew how work it correctly before going through all that trouble We had been to the grocery store and everything. There was not an elevator either and there were three flights off stairs. Even if we moved we didn't know if the AC worked in that room. Finally someone comes to look at it. He was very rude. He said well that's the problem right there. We had the door open and the windows because it was hotter than outside in the room. He stated he had checked once already and it worked just fine. He checked the breakers and reset them. He said he would try to get us a fan. We went out again and when we came back in it was the same .He did leave a fan.6-10-15 called again at 11:24 am and explained everything again. They said they would send someone to look at it. We were out for most of the day. We returned at 8:46 pm and I called again. It was the same temperature as we when we left. At 9:57pm the MOD called me and I explained everything again. She was nice and did offer us free breakfast at another location. I told her thanks but we had bought groceries. 6-11 we checked out for 11:00am. I requested to speak to MOD or higher. ***** ****** X-XXX-XXX-XXXX is his contact number. ***** came and talked to me. Once again I went over everything. I explained to him all details and also that it was my mothers first time at Myrtle Beach and we were celebrating both hers and my birthdays. How disappointed I was in our stay. He said he would check on everything and get back with me by Friday. Well 6-15-15 I still had not heard from him. I left voicemail and another one on 6-19. I sent an email on 6-16 at 9:30pm.I feel I am entitled to some of my money back for all of theses problems and lack of results. I have been to Myrtle Beach 4 times. I have stayed at ******** ******* ********* **** and ******** ****** I never had any issues at these hotels.

Desired Settlement
I feel I should get at least half of my money back. Which would be about $241.50. Also an apology for the lack of customer service.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/2004Business started: 02/21/1985
Business Management
Principal: Nagy Michail (General Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Hotels

Industry Tips
Hotels & Motels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ocean Forest Villas

5601 N Ocean Blvd

Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2345

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5601 N Ocean Blvd 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2345(800) 845-6701
    (843) 449-9661
    Fax: (843) 449-9207

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ocean Forest Villas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 845-6701
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels

Hotels & Motels
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.