BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1994

Holiday Sands South

Phone: (843) 448-4439Fax: (843) 839-39492411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle BeachSC 29577-4746 Send email to Holiday Sands South

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/1994

BBB has determined that Holiday Sands South meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Holiday Sands South's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Holiday Sands South

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
no towels, no bed sheets, no housekeeping, no toilet paper. were not warned that these services were going to end on the 7th day of an 12 night stay.
I booked a 12 night stay on December XX XXXX for the week of June 10 thru 21, 2013. Holiday sands advertised full daily housekeeping, clean kitchen and bath towels, bed sheets and toilet paper. On the 7th day of our stay we went to the beach early. when we returned around 11:30 the bed sheets were gone, ALL towels both clean and dirty were taken. After going to the beach after lunch we returned to the room about 5:30 to find these things still gone. I called the office and told them that we did not get house keeping and these things were missing. They said someone would bring then up in a little while. They were still doing laundry. I told them that I had kids that needed baths and that I would come and get some. I went down and they gave me a couple of bath towels and wash cloths. It was after 8 pm before we got bed sheets and nothing else. The next day no house keeping and no towels again. A couple of calls later I went back to the office to turn in the dirty towels and get clean ones. Day 8 of no house again. made many, many trips to the office to complain. wasted a lot of my family vacation time complaining. We made at least 10 complaint calls and trips to the hotel office. The manager told me on the that he had lost management of our condo building and that I needed to go to the hotel office and complain to them. They were not doing a good job and he was trying to get management back with his office. It was out of his control. We spent the rest of the vacation begging Condolux to honor the services that we paid for through Holiday Sands. Why were we not warned before our stay that the management would change during our stay. We were not even told after it happened. All holiday sands were doing was blaming every thing on Condolux and saying that they had no control. I paid over $1800.00 for our stay and I felt like I was a rubber ball being bounced between around by Holiday sands who were trying to spite the other company at the renters expense. I am not happy about the way management chose to use us in their spite game with the other company. This is the 5th year that we stayed with them and it is by far the worst beach vacation experience that we have ever had. I contracted this vacation rental from them and they did not fulfill their obligation.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be compensated for 4 nights stay for the week that we spent without the services that were not given and were not warned before hand that they were not fulfilling the contract of rental from December XX XXXX. I would like a 5th night refund for my time and aggravation from lost time with my family to try to get what I paid for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** / GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@holidaysandssouth.com
We would like to thank you for taking the time to address your concerns. We value your opinion as we are always working hard by making improvements to keep our property in high standing in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sincerely apologetic that you felt unhappy with the service at our establishment. We recently have experienced a management change on many of the condos at Holiday Sands at South Beach. With this change in management, there may be different policies and procedures in place. The unit you were staying in was managed by CondoLux. We have contacted them on your behalf and been assured that they will refund you $550.00 for your troubles. They will be issuing you out a check on Monday July 15th. Their phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Please keep in mind Holiday Sands South has always provided inexpensive rates, clean units, and great service with a friendly staff. We will continue to manage some of the condo units at Holiday Sands at South beach with these same great values in mind. It is our sole mission to provide the best accommodations and services at an affordable family rate to our guests and we will continue to work hard for your business. As always, thank you for choosing Holiday Sands South for your vacation in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. We hope that you will consider us again in the future. Feel free to contact our management team at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any questions and concerns.

Sincerely,
**** *****
General Manager
Holiday Sands South


Final Consumer Response
Did not get the letter before the case was closed. did not have any other contact from holiday sands. I am not happy with not having an opportunity to respond. Please contact me by phone at XXX XXX-XXXX to discuss a resolution. I work in a mail truck all day without access to a computer so please call me. The resolution that Holiday Sands proposed is to my satisfaction.

06/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we stayed for 5 nights May13 the cost was $530 checkout was 5/22 on 5/29 they withdrew $100 from my bank without any notification for a carpet stain
My children and I stayed for 5 nights in May 2013 the cost of our stay was around $550.00 upon checkout I made sure with the front desk all charges were covered and no additional charges were made. We checked out on May 22 and on May 29 (name) made a withdraw from my checking account for $100. I am a single mother with 3kids on limited income. I was not notified of a charge or reasons why. Upon calling for the reason I was told there was a red stain in the carpet and they had to professional clean the carpet.My children never had anything red to even stain the carpet other than a strawberry. Also, the beds sheets n carpet had several stains. I never even use the maid service when I stay at a hotel I bring my own cleaning products, trash bags, n everything. The only thing a maid has to do is vaccumm. I am extremely angry, no call was made to question me, and due to this charge of $100 it overdrew my bank account. I was charged a $30 fee and had 3 other charges bounce and now I am -$300.00 + the hole. HOW CAN THEY DO THAT! I know I made sure the room was clean when I left. I was even planning on going back in July. I love the Hotel and I have never had an issue. If there was a stain I would of cleaned it before I left. Was it there when I arrived? Why do they use nasty stained bedding? ALSO THEY SHOULD CLEAN THE CARPETS AT LEAST @ TIMES A MONTH DUE TO HEALTH ISSUES. I've stayed at Holiday Sands for at least 5-7 years I'm extremely upset. I would of cleaned anything as I always do.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund on my stay. Due to this charge from my bank account. this charge caused everything to bounce. had I been aware I could of prepared however I DIDN'T DO ANYTHING ! I am even going to have to borrow money to feed my 3 children because of this causing an overdraft. How can you charge extra charges a week later and not even email? call? send a letter? I am going back in July if this is resolved I wish to stay at the (name) again. I have always loved the (name). But to take all of my money out of my bank account wow. 3 kids to feed bills to pay and i am a full time college student. I DIDN'T EVEN MAKE THE STAIN! IF IT WAS THERE IT WAS THERE BEFORE ME!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** / GM
Contact Phone: ***
Contact Email: ***
Dear Ms. ***,

When a guest checks into a room at our resort, he/she is required to complete and sign a registration form. This form states that the guest is responsible for any damages to the room. There are incidents where guests damage a room and it cost money to fix the problem(s). It is only fair for the responsible party to pay for his or her damages and keep the cost down for other guests who do not damage their rooms. In your particular case, there were ruined mattress covers and damages to the carpet. We have pictures to document the damages and we would be glad to email these to you for your record. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope that you will continue to visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
***
General Manager


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I said, If we had damaged anything I would of gladly paid for it however, I have never damaged anything. First it was a stain in carpet now its ruined mattress covers? There was already stains on them. If we had done anything I wouldn't be complaining however, I received no notice to this and your charging me for old stains that was already there. Also, the sheets had stains as well therefore, if you charge for these things why are they not replaced? I have stayed at this hotel many times the maids we rude, maintence rude, new management perhaps? I am sure you have pictures however show me pictures of everything with a date and time prior to check in and after. BEFORE AND AFTER .. I want my money refunded. My children and I have never damaged a room and if something would ever happen I am an honest person and would take care of it. How dare you treat me as though I am a guest that damages rooms.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. ***,

When a guest checks into a room at our resort, he/she is required to complete and sign a registration form. This form states that the guest is responsible for any damages to the room. There are incidents where guests damage a room and it cost money to fix the problem(s). It is only fair for the responsible party to pay for his or her damages and keep the cost down for other guests who do not damage their rooms. In your particular case, there were ruined mattress covers and damages to the carpet. We have pictures to document the damages and we would be glad to email these to you for your record. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. We hope that you will continue to visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,
***
General Manger
Holiday Sands South Properties

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1988Business started: 01/01/1971
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Roger Williams (Owner)Mr John Lucas (General Manager)Mr. Erik Marlowe
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Hotels

Products & Services

Holiday Sand South offers the following amenities:

Free High-Speed Internet
Free In-room Safe
Hair Dryer in Bathroom
Jacuzzi Baths Available (Hotel Only)
Handicapped Units Available
Private Balconies All Main Tower Units
Oceanfront Lawn for Sunbathing
High Speed Elevators in All Buildings
100 Seat Restaurant - Oceanfront Dining Rooms
Meeting/Conference Room that accommodates up to 85 people
Lazy River
3 Outdoor Pools
2 Indoor Kid's Play Pools
2 Indoor Pools
2 Large Indoor Hot Tubs
Complimentary Pool Towels for Guests
Guest Laundry
ATM On-Site
2 Exercise Rooms

Industry Tips
Hotels & Motels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Holiday Sands South

2411 S Ocean Blvd

Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2411 S Ocean Blvd 

    Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746(843) 448-4439

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Holiday Sands South is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels

Hotels & Motels
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.