BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2013

Crown Reef Resort

Phone: (843) 626-8077Fax: (843) 916-4239

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Both aunt/self are disabled. We went to use pools, none met federal/town code for stair depth. Fell, got hurt, we made report, they ignored contact
We went to Crown Reef the last week of August (24th to Sept 1st). My aunt and I are both physically disabled. When we went to the hotel pools, we saw it was very hard to get out/in. A day or two into vacation, my aunt fell attempting to get out of pool. Another hotel guest and my husband had to help her out. She was scraped up and bruised. We called manager's desk to report. When they came to our room to take a look at my aunt, they were suppose to give us a copy of report and we were told they would see what they could do - but they insisted their step depth was within code of 7". I watched them go down to pool and stick their leg in water to "measure". They never got back with a resolution to us getting in and out of pools safely. After both my aunt and myself hurting from getting in and out of pools we began to talk to other guests. Another guest fell that same week because of same issue. We decided to buy a ruler and take pictures. Each pool (minus kiddie pool was over 12" in depth from stair to top lip of getting out. We also got a hard plastic step stool to use on steps to make it safer but did not expect the hotel to ignore our needs- when they said they would attempt to help. My aunt did not use the pool for a few days after fall. It basically caused hardship on both of us and our family. I tried to contact the manager after I got home and was told the manager did not work there anymore. I then contacted the assistant manager at least 2-3 times via phone and 2-3 in emails (all of which I have records for) and was not given a reply even once. I mentioned on my messages that I prefer not to have to contact code enforcement or BBB, but they gave no reply. They never sent a copy of the report to my aunt nor did they do anything else to make it possible to make a safe entry to at least one of their pools. They chose not to communicate with me no matter how many times I called or emailed them. I have no other recourse but to start contacting other agencies and if that does not work, we will take legal means.

Desired Settlement
Since they chose to ignore our handicapped needs that are covered under the ***, I believe they need to refund our time at their hotel because we could not use their facilities without hardship, pain and suffering. We had hoped and expected they would at least reach out to make an attempt to make things right - but they had several days to make things right and chose not to do so. Their lack of communication just put salt in the wounds.

Business Response
We have credited this guest in the amount of $686.36. The guest extended her stay for1 additional night. Ms. ****** will have to incur that charge. We apologized for the inconvenience in the form of an email as we had no telephone number to call the guest directly.

12/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I thought this was a good place to stay from online perspective however totally different when I got there!!!
I checked in on 10/24 was sitting in the room where roaches were crawling on the wall along with spiders...etc We had to move to another room late at night where we has to take additional kitchen items due to new room wasn't equipped with these items. A bag was left where my debit card was taken out and attempted to be used and the only housekeeping had access to the room.

Desired Settlement
$266.56 is what I am looking to be refunded from this hotel for the inconvenience and issue with the roaches as well as the fact no one has even addressed by issue on these matters. the executive director has yet to call me back and address my issues.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, AGM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@crownreef.com
We refunded Ms. ***** for $266.56 as she requested I apologized and left her a detailed voicemail.

10/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I arrived at the resort I was told I had a handicap room, don't know why. I asked what the difference was, she said it only had a couple grab bars in shower. But in bathroom you had no counter top to put anything on. Bathroom door would not close, broke chair on balcony, refrigerator was in defrost mode and leaked on floor because tray was full of water, had soaked some of carpet. Phone wasn't working properly. They brought up new chair for balcony, and called cleaning service to dry out frig while maintenance man went to get another one. No one ever showed up so I cleaned out frig. They replaced phone. so I thought I could handle staying in room. They did offer another handicapped room 1 floor up, but I thought everything would be OK after they fixed these things on Tuesday, Sept.2, the day I arrived. You had to get on your knees to plug in coffee pot-how can handicapped do this? They were suppose to have performers at the pool on Wednes, Sept.3. They never showed up and they came out at 8:30pm and said they weren't coming and they could not get in touch with them. So I went back to room and the smoke detector started beeping. I called and they said they would send someone up to replace battery. No one ever came. At 4:30am Sept.4, I climbed up on chair and took it off the wall. It had a burnt place on top. I called front desk before I took it down and they said they did not have a night person, they only had a security guard, which came up and said the battery was in wrong and was shorting out and could have caught fire. So I did not get any sleep that night. I was suppose to stay until Friday morning and they said they would give me a free night but would not refund the second night. I didn't want to stay another night in this place. The elevators were so nasty they would almost make you gag. By this point I just wanted to leave and go home. They ruined my vacation, I came there to rest but ended up fixing things. It unnerved me about smoke detector.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to credit my last night stay. I do not want a free night because I will never stay there again.

Business Response
We tried to make contact with the guest on several occasions to no avail. However, we issued a full refund and left details on the guest's voice mail with contact information if she has any further questions. Delay in response due to management position changes.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I got my refund but I think the only reason was because I contacted the BBB, not delay due to management position changes.

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Theft by deception, non-disclosure, and rude unprofessional conduct by the Crown Reef Resort manager named *****.
I wish to file a formal complaint.
Theft by deception, non-disclosure, and rude unprofessional conduct by the Crown Reef Resort manager named *****.
I wish to file a formal complaint.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter of apology and a full refund of my deposit as it was not disclosed to me that I could not obtain a full refund of my deposit if I couldn't arrive on the scheduled date of arrival due to work schedule conflict which I made the Crown Reef Staff aware of long before
they took my deposit. I was told there would be no problems with my deposit if there was a work related scheduling dilemma.

Business Response
This Concern was addressed 10/2. the AGM spoke to Mr. ****** and granted a refund for the cancellation in the amount of $88.48.Guest was sent a detailed apology and was informed of the credit to his visa card. The guest was satisfied with the resolution.

Consumer Response
The company did remedy the complaint to my satisfaction. It is unfortunate however, that I had to resort to such extreme measure in complaining to your department to gain the afforementioned area of resolve.
Thank you for your prompt response in this matter.
******* ** *********.
XXXXXXXXXX

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our stay at the Crown Reef 8/4-8/7/14.
Our family stay at the Crown Reef on 8/4-8/7/14 was the worst possible vacation ever. It all started with the room that was given to us after having to wait an extra hour after the 4p check in. We were greeted with a big cockroach while entering into the room. The carpet in the hallways and outside of our room were dirty and nasty!! Our room was located right next to some kind of machine that was so noisy that we could not sleep well at all. To top it off we killed roaches in our room the last night we were there. It was just awful!! Never again will we stay there!

Desired Settlement
I don't think the hotel products and services were worth what we paid for. I think we should get a full or partial refund. We were not happy or satisfied and this is not what we expected when we paid our money. Not at all

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@vacationmyrtlebeach.com
We want to express our regrets about the issues that were encountered with Mr. *******'s stay. Our guest services manager followed up with the guest and issued a refund for one half of the stay, or $282.24. Mr. ******* expressed his satisfaction with the resolution. We have and are continuing to address the issues during Mr. *******'s stay so that we can improve for future guests and want to express to Mr. ******* that we will be certain to take great care of him during any future stays to our resort.

Page 1 of 3
11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Authorized a debit for 75.02 card was not charged 3 days later had 174.00 charged 3x to my account which was more than the original price of 150.04
ON Sunday Sept 21st I attempted to book a hotel from crown reef's direct website. I booked two rooms for a 2 night stay for a grand total of 150.04 which required a deposit of 75.02. I hit submit and it did not accept my card. I tried once again and again it did not accept my card. I even called my bank since it was a debit card to ask if there was any alerts associated with my debit card and they told me there were no issues at all. 72 hours later I just got a triple charge hit my checking account for 172.48. This is almost 21.00 and some change more than the actual hotel cost which I had only wanted the 1 room for 150.04 which only required a 75.02 deposit. They have been unwilling to expedite any payment or make this right! They did not have authorization to debit my account this amount or the multiple times.

Desired Settlement
I want my overdraft charge of 36.00 from PNC a full refund, an apology on letter head and a voucher for a stay in the future.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, AGM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@crownreef.com
We apologized to Mr. ******* for the inconvenience. We also granted 4 complimentary nights for his workers that has already been redeemed. We followed up with him and he was fine with the concessions we offered

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No followup conversation was held

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Aug. 12, 2014 my daughter and I followed the advice of a C.R. employee and took the glass elevator and were stuck in it for at least 15 min..
On Aug. 12th, my daughter and I were advised by an employee to take the glass elevator. We were stuck in it, ringing the bell for at least 15 min. before a guest came and told us she had called for help. We were stuck between the 3rd floor and the second floor. Someone came and we could hear them working on it on a different floor. The elevator suddenly fell to below the first floor and stopped. I thought then that someone would open the doors and let us out. Instead, we sat there for at least ten minutes when suddenly the elevator shot straight up to the tenth floor. If you have ever seen a movie where the elevator cables snap and drops straight down, killing all inside, that is what it was like-we both felt as though it would drop to the ground and kill us. The doors finally opened on the tenth floor and we got out. My daughter was having an intense panic attack so we had to drag all our things down nine flights of stairs to the garage. That was the most terrifying experience I have ever had. No one came to help us, no one asked if we were okay, no one helped with our luggage, cooler etc. NO ONE FROM THE HOTEL CARED! No one put a sign on the elevator stating it was broken so no one else didn't experience that horrific feeling we suffered through. I have not heard a thing from the company and am more than ever ready to sue them for reckless endangerment of our lives and their ineptness for not keeping their elevators in good working order, despite their knowledge that the elevator had been broken for a long period of time before that day. It should have been tested and re-tested numerous times before allowing guests onto it.
I will NEVER return to this hotel again. Even though it supposedly had gone through a recent remodeling it was obvious while looking around that it had not been taken care of for many years. The dinginess and lack of care were evident every where you looked things were in need of repair, cleaning or a complete overhaul. The elevator was a priority they neglected the most, endangering lives, not just one's health.

Desired Settlement
I not only want my money refunded but I am still consulting with my lawyer as to whether a law suit is in order. Their carelessness could have cost the lives of not just my daughter and I but any other guest who stepped into their elevators. They should be fined by the state of South Carolina for their negligence and the elevators should be monitored to make sure they are safe at all times. Being an older building with continues corrosion from the salt air they might need to be replaced.

Business Response
While we regret the issue that Ms. ****** encountered during her stay, we do not feel that she is due compensation. We have been unable to recreate the problem and the elevator company is insistent that these elevators are designed so that this type of situation could not happen. While elevators can occasionally get stuck, we accommodate up to thousands at a time and have not had an issue like this. We will continue to monitor as we always do to maintain the safety of our guests, as that is a top priority for us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Crown Reef's own worker told us the glass elevator had been broken for a long time before it had supposedly been repaired. CROWN Reef is lying. There was some maintinence person who got us out of that broken elevstor. There were also guests who were on the tenth floor when ee exited the broken elevator who we advised not to get in the elevator.






Final Business Response
We want to reiterate our regret over the issue that Ms. ****** encountered during her stay, however we maintain our position that she is not due compensation. As mentioned in previous communication, we have been unable to recreate the problem and the elevator company is insistent that these elevators are designed so that this type of situation could not happen. While elevators can occasionally get stuck, we accommodate up to thousands at a time and have not had an issue like this. We will continue to monitor as we always do to maintain the safety of our guests, as that is a top priority for us.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels, Restaurants, Cocktail Lounges

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.