BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/2003

Caravelle Resort Inc

Phone: (843) 918-8000Fax: (843) 918-8199

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Theft by Deception when reservations made; False information given at check-in; Staff insulting law enforcement (family); NO HOT WATER,etc
Rec'd confirmation email for reservations made with c/c on July 4th for check in on 7/9 and check out on the 7/11.Called back and requested an extra day, so we rec'd confirm of 7/8 check in.As I made reservations,I asked for a smoking room and the highest floor.I was guaranteed a smoking room on the 15th floor.When I made 2nd reservation,I confirmed this info.At check in, informed us they had NO smoking rooms at all, but I could smoke at the pool.At the pool,I was approached by not 1, but 2, security ppl who humiliated me as I was informed to go outside the gates.The 2 gates near me at the pool were locked with no ashtrays outside. ***** then LIED and said she never told us we could smoke at the pool.We lost our parking passes and went to the front desk where I was told by a male desk clerk that the cops are '********' if you park on the street w/out paying after 9 am. My brother & sister-in-law are retired MB police officers. Their daughter and my daughter were w/ me when this was said by the male at the desk.We had to call for our room to be cleaned on day one.On 2nd day,the floor was not even vacuumed or bathroom cleaned.Our last day,after being on the beach where I COULD smoke,covered in oil and sand,the hotel had NO hot water at all.The only comp I got during our stay was a $50 credit for food and beverages ONLY for the misinformation at the pool (and I complained that day to a mgr, .).We did not have one day at this hotel w/out being called liars,no service, poor service or just being humiliated.My sister checked out the same day we did and got a rebate of $50 for being w/out hot water.We were offered nothing .I'm absolutely sure I'm leaving some other horrible experience out, but I believe this to be enough.We were deceived, and if I would have been able to go to another hotel, I would have.But after driving 11 hours, and not another $500 for another hotel, we had no choice but to stay.
After being ignored, lied to, humiliated,poor service, etc., this ruined our entire vacation that we save all year for. After driving 11 hours and dealing with this staff for 3 days, and then not being able to take a shower the night before checkout or the morning of checkout, it was the worst experience we've ever encountered in such a hotel. We stayed at the Caravelle for 4-5 years in a row on our vacations before I lost my job several years ago, so we were extremely disappointed this year, to say the least.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/19/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: During our stay someone came into our room unit 1007 and stole my camera & camera bag (nikon D5100).
My Husband and I checked into The Caravelle Resort in Myrtle Beach located at 6900 North Ocean Blvd. Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on Friday, September 28, 2012 around 3:00 PM. Our room number was 1007. After we checked into the resort my husband went back to the car to get our camera bag with the camera. When he walked into our room he placed the camera bag, which included the camera (Nikon D5100 with the lens, 2 memory cards, the wall charger, USB cable, and the manual along with all the CD software) on the glass dining room table near the sliding glass door. We went out to dinner that afternoon with my cousin and her husband. We all came back to the room and went to bed. Saturday morning, September 29, 2012 we all got ready and left the room about 11:45 am to go eat lunch and do some shopping. We all got back to the room about 5:30 PM and were in a hurry to get ready because we had tickets to The Palace Theatre and the show started at 7 PM. We did notice that the room had been cleaned while we were gone. We left the room about 6:40 PM to go see the show. We came back to our room after midnight. We all woke up Sunday Morning, September 30, 2012 and checked out around 11 AM.

At that time I didn't notice the camera was missing. Monday morning when I arrived at work, I needed to take pictures. I know that I didn't load the camera bag in the car when we had left the resort. I searched for the camera but, it was nowhere to be found. I called my husband at work to see if he had the camera. He said the last time he saw the camera bag is when he sat it on the table in the room on Friday. I also called my cousin and her husband and they said the same thing. After, talking it over with everyone, it had to be taken out of the room on Saturday when we were out shopping.

Listed below is the serial number for the camera and the lens:
Camera- XXXXXXX
Lens- XXXXXXXX

The brand of the camera bag is Lowepro. It is a black bag with a gray area on the front.

I had spoken with the housekeeping manager and the manager of the resort on Monday, October 1, 2012. The housekeeper told me a camera bag was not in the lost and found and the manager was doing an investigation. I had mentioned to the manager of the resort, if he could check cameras outside of our room and he said that there were no cameras.

I received the camera for Christmas in 2011 from my husband. We have invested over $1200.00 in this camera and would greatly appreciate any help in finding it.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mrs. *******,

I wanted to follow-up with you in regards to the missing camera from your recent trip to Myrtle Beach. It is with great concern that we receive reports of misplaced items from a guest. First, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we have exhausted all resources in an effort to locate your missing camera.

After reviewing your complaint, we have still not located your Nikon D5100. Your circumstances have been addressed with our Director of Front Office Operations and Director of Housekeeping. A lock interrogation was completed, and upon investigation, we can not ascertain what circumstances resulted in your camera missing.

At this time, we are recommending our corporate security continue the investigation. We also understand that you have filed a report with the Myrtle Beach Police Department, and we will cooperate with them on any further investigation. We would suggest that you follow-up with their investigation as well.

We will be happy to keep you informed of any new developments. Please let us know if we can provide any further assistance.

Best Regards,



******* ***
Assistant General Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ms. ***,

Thank you for your response. I am truly dissapointed and distraught over losing this camera and not being able to replace the memories already captured on it. I see you used the terms missing and misplaced but I want it to be clear my camera bag is the size of a bookbag and it was not misplaced but rather stolen. Being in real estate and dealing with rentals daily I am surprised that a resort of your size does not have cameras in place in the hallways to help minimize the risk of goods being stolen from guest rooms. I am sure this is not your first complaint and I hope that management is planning to tighten the rules or put some policies in effect to make sure this doesn't happen again.

I appreciate the work that has been done by those in your company and I hate that nothing came from that investigation. Regretfully I will never be a guest of your establishment and I will be sure to warn all those I know that are travelling to not stay there as well in light of my recent visit.

I will continue to follow up with the Myrtle Beach Police Department in the hope that their investigation will be fruitful.

Again thank you for your time and attention during this difficult situation.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business' Final Response
Dear Mrs. *******,

I wanted to follow-up with you on the investigation in regards to the missing camera from your recent trip to Myrtle Beach.

We have reviewed your complaint and addressed with our Director of Front Office Operations and Director of Housekeeping. A lock interrogation was done, and upon investigation, we have determined that only 2 keys were used to access your unit. The first key was your guest key, and the second key was the housekeeper's key. We have questioned both the housekeeper and housekeeping supervisor. Both internal and external background checks have been done on the housekeeper, and both checks were clear. We have also requested assistance from our corporate security, and they continue to investigate. At this time, we cannot determine what circumstances resulted in your camera missing.

We will continue cooperating with the Myrtle Beach Police Department on this matter, and we suggest you follow-up with their investigation as well.

We will also keep you informed of any new developments. Please let us know if we can provide any further assistance.

Best Regards,



******* ***
Assistant General Manager

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/07/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: False or unsubstantiated claims in advertisement

Complaint: False advertising is somewhat fraudulent how they say the rooms are located at The Caravelle. They should inform you exactly where the room is located
We made reservations with the The Caravelle thinking that our room would be located at the caravelle and upon arrival discovered that it was a room at dump located at St. Johns. When booking the room had we been informed of the location, we would've booked our room somewhere else. They charged us $131 per night when actually the room that we stayed in shouldn't have been no more that $50 per night. The rooms that they show on the internet look nothing like the room we stayed in. It was bad!!! Really bad!! I think that good business starts with honesty and they should disclose the locations of all their rooms and then let the customer decide if they would like to book or seek other options. I have always booked my vacations on the internet and this is the first time I have ever experienced such a poor advertisement. I know that it's a business and they have to make money but wouldn't you want satisfied customers speak highly of your establishment verses disappointed customer that speak negatively about you? I just hope that this will enlighten them on changes that need to be made that I feel would be better business for them. As a result of the room being so bad and them being booked to the point that they didn't have anything else available, we cut our trip short. We stayed the night because we were exhausted and headed back home the next morning. I was so hurt that the customer service was so poor.

Business' Initial Response
August 3, 2012


Dear ********* *******,

It is with deep concern that we receive comments such as yours from a guest. We would like to sincerely apologize for the problems you experienced during your recent visit with us. We want you to know we take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case, we performed at an unacceptable level. Such experiences are not typical for our resort.

We have notified our Director of Front Office Operations and staff of your comments. We did credit your American Express card for the full amount charged. It is through constant reinforcement and training that we can communicate and make the necessary changes so this does not occur in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay at our Resort. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and we ask that you consider a future visit to The Caravelle. We are confident you will find our standard of quality to be back up to the excellent accommodations we are known for in Myrtle Beach.

Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. Through these hard knocks we have an opportunity to grow and become better and for that, we thank you.

Kindest Regards,
Caravelle Properties Rental Management


**** *******, PMIC
General Manager

CR/SP

Consumer's Final Response
Good Morning,

I was waiting for a response from The Caravelle and as you know there never was one received. It disturbs me that Mr. **** ******* could say that he refunded the full amount to my American Express when I used a Master Card when paying. Evidently, this must be common ground for him to do this. He seems quite comfortable making such a false statement knowing that he never intended to refund or try to resolve the problem but send this information to the BBB as if he is really trying to resolve the issue. This is neither favorable or reputable to The Caravelle as business. I think that my reputable was fair in asking him to provide proof that he credited the full amount to my credit card. That should've been an easy thing to do and doesn't require much time at all. I hoping that you investigate this thoroughly and see him and this company for who they are. It is not good when you falsely advertise your business and try to get over by being deceitful!!! This is unbelievable to me!

My questions to the BBB is what do I do now since didn't respond? Will this affecting their rating? What will be done to make sure that some other poor soul is not a victim of their false advertisement? Please advise.

Thanks,
********* *******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/28/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Management did not respond quickly to issues of concern, including a theft in my room. Very poor customer service, and poor attitudes.
My son and I arrived on April 9th. We pre-checked in at 1200. We were told room was not ready and would receive a phone call on cell phone. At 300, still no phone call and room is suppossed to be ready. We had to stand in a very long line for over 35 minutes after we had already been checked in, just to get room keys.

We were given rm 1236. My son and I unpacked all but one bag, his black/grey backpack. We discovered safe did not work, called maintenance to fix safe and noted also only two hangers. Requested some hangers which maintenance brought back to room. we wanted to get a quick walk on beach before dinner. My son grabbed his heavier sweatshirt out of his backpack and left backpack on the bed. I asked him to check the door when we left. It was locked. We were only gone 1/2 hour. We noted the backpack missing when we returned. I informed management that we had a theft.
The first thing out of the night manager mouth as I was in tears was that the hotel was not responsible for stolen items. I left the lobby area and went back to the room. did call the room and apologize but I couldn't believe that comment came out of her mouth.
The police took over 1 hour to get to the room which I thought was a ridiculously long time for a theft complaint so I am not sure if they were called right away or not. When I called back I was told by her that the police were busy doing "other things". How would she know?
We were then moved to another rm. I believe it was rm . My son and I ordered pizza. we were trying to make the best of a horrible situation. We were sitting on the balcony when we were assaulted by a person vomiting over the edge. we had to run inside and shut the door. this went on for approx 5 minutes. I took pictures after to show management because I couldn't believe what kind of hotel I signed up for. First a theft, now a person vomiting onto my balcony!
The next morning I went promptly to the lobby to speak with the manager and the girl informed (manager) I wanted to speak with him. the response back was that he had my cell phone number and he would get back to me once he had reviewed whom had access to the other room.
I couldn't believe the poor attitude and poor service from this to not personally make contact with me as a customer. I was informed from the police man and the night manager that I should speak with right away in the morning and he wouldn't even come to the desk! I informed the desk clerk that I had other concerns with the new room and that if he declined coming to the desk I would need to bring my luggage and my son to the lobby and we would wait until he had the time to talk with us as we could not stay in the new room assigned to us.
Finally comes out and appeared very irritated and I informed him what had occurred, and that there was vomit all over the balcony. He never apologized. Never offered an upgrade. Nothing.
He does switch the room, and while he is switching the rooms my son calls me and informs me that someone from the room above is now dumping water over the balcony and soaking our balcony with water. Obviously, in an attempt to wash the vomit off. I inform of this and still no offer of concern. No attempt to send security to the room above.
Lastly, in the new room we are switched to rm the safe in this room does not work either. I am forced to contact the desk and request help for fixing it. Desk clerk is rude because I request the manager come fix it. She says he doesn't know how. I state then the maintenance guy will need to come with the manager. I mean seriously do I need to risk having anything else stolen?
Overall, poor customer service, poor response to the events which occurred to my son and I during our stay. Poor security at hotel. Management could have offered something. An upgrade? Free night? A free dinner?
At this point I would never go back. Now I desire a refund for entire stay.

Business' Initial Response
May 10, 2012


****** ******
XXXXX


Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why your hotel stay did not meet your expectations. It is with great concern that we receive comments such as yours from a guest. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received during your visit with us. We are disheartened to learn that your son's belongings have not been recovered at this time. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and in this circumstance we performed at an unacceptable level. Such experiences are not characteristic of our resort.

After investigating and speaking with the staff, we have not determined how and who removed your son's backpack from your hotel room. A lock interrogation report was performed, and we know that the only key used to access your room during the time the items went missing was your guest key. No evidence was found to support anyone else entering the room.

Please know, all of your concerns have been addressed with our Director of Maintenance, Director of Front Office Operations and Director of Housekeeping. Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort. We hope you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you. You patronage is greatly appreciated, and we ask that you consider a future visit to The Caravelle. We are confident you will find our level of service to be back to the level we strive for.

To thank you for the opportunity you have given us to grow and improve, you are receiving a gift certificate for one complimentary night. Please let me know if you would like my personal assistance when making your reservation; you may reach me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards.


Assistant General Manager

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: The room we were given had a faulty shower. We were not given the opportunity to change rooms until 24 hours after the initial discovery. Trip ruined
Not long after check in, I go to shower. Although the shower function tab was not pulled up for the shower to be on, water comes out, full blast from both the shower & tub faucet. I try to figure out the problem & cannot. The water is actually painful w/ the force it was on. The tub fills up immediately as the drain cannot keep up so I was actually standing mid calf in dirty bath water. The same happens w/ the other member of my party. We call maitenance, who comes to inspect the issue. He leaves and shortly calls back to schedule someone to come tomorrow as it is an issue that cannot be easily fixed & the whole faucet will have to be replaced. Annoyed w/ this, I give them 10am regardless. 10am rolls around & passes & noone shows. I call the front desk, who calls mait. & not a one of them have a clue what I am talking about. A new mait. guy comes to inspect & informs us a plumber will have to be called in. I ask how long that is going to take, mention that this is a brief trip & this is really going to ruin our day. He cannot give me a time frame but states it shouldnt be terribly long. That means all of our belongings are in the room w/ a mait. employee & the plumber if we leave. If we don't, it means we are stuck in a room all day while we are supposed to be on vacation. Did I mention our sliding glass door would not open or close? It was off track. Did I mention that the safe in the room would not work? Probably an hour & a half later, the plumber shows & has to go through the closet to dismantle the wall & faucet area. There are buckets, tools, work bags & parts all throughout the bathroom & hall leading to the door & in the kitchen area. There is dirt all over the place. Absolutely fed up, I complain to the mait. guy that this is ruining our day. It is after 1pm and we are unable to take a shower, my guest is unable to take a nap as she wishes.We can't go anywhere because we need to shower. I ask why they can't move us to another room? Which management should have done, immediately, on their own as soon as this issue was recognized. He steps out & makes a call, then returns to tell us the hotel is 100% booked solid for the night. After a bit more time, I call the front desk to vent my frustration. The plumber has been working probably 2 hours & this point and is guestimating another hour. They claim they didn't even know this was going on. They put me on hold for 10 min to talk to the mgr. I hang up, call back & request the mgr call me back. I also don't want to spend my vaca on hold. 5 min later he calls back & claims that they can move us to all kinds of different empty rooms & he doesn't know where the mait. guy got that they were booked. The mait. guy was very nice & did leave and call someone. I am upset because most of our day is ruined & we have a ton of stuff to move. He states they will bring someone up to help us move all of our stuff & bring the new room key. Mgmt should have done this as soon as mait. identified a serious problem. At this stage, I'm really not satisfied. We have spent two days w/ this faulty shower.We get to another floor where we are given a handicap access room w/ a stain on one of the bedsheets as my guest pulled the covers back to finally nap. We immediately call down, requesting that we don't want an access room & this one has something on the sheets. They want to send someone to change the bedding. No! That will hold up even more of the day & we don't want the handicap room. The closet hangers are waist hight and the facilities at a level not for us. She puts us on hold again. After another wait, I call back & request him to call. We waste even more time waiting for the return call. Get fed up once again & walk all the way down & across to the front desk. Guess what? Not a soul in there. they're not busy. Just busy putting us off. She goes to get the manager, who will not even come out and speak to me face to face after I came down there requesting him. The clerk returns with another key

Business' Initial Response
May 10, 2012


****** ******

Charleston, WV XXXXX


Dear Ms. ******,

It is with great concern that we receive comments such as yours from a guest. First, we would like to apologize for the lack of service you received during your stay with us. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and on this occasion an acceptable standard has undoubtedly not been met. Such incidents are not typical of our resort.

Your comments have been addressed with our Director of Maintenance, Director of Front Office Operations and Director of Housekeeping. It is through constant reinforcement and instruction that we are able to communicate with our staff the changes needed to make certain this does not continue in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your visit at our Resort. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied guest. It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer, and we ask that you consider a future visit to The Caravelle. We are certain you will find our standard of quality to be back up to the outstanding accommodations we strive for.

Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in serving our guests better. As a gesture of appreciation for sharing your comments with us, you are receiving a gift certificate for one complimentary night. Please let me know if you would like my personal assistance when making your reservation; you may reach me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards.


Assistant General Manager

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.