BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2010

Logan Homes

Phone: (910) 452-7175Fax: (910) 452-213560 Gregory Rd NE Ste 1, LelandNC 28451-9276 Send email to Logan Homes

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/2010

BBB has determined that Logan Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Logan Homes' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Logan Homes

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Logan Homes was the builder for our new home. The supervisor on the job misrepresented many policies. Logan Homes now refuses to rectify issues.
Logan homes built our new home in Helms Port. We closed on September 15, 2015. At the time of the walk-through prior to closing, the sliding doors to the screened-in porch were not very clean. When I cleaned the doors about 1 week later, I noticed numerous small scratches on all 3 doors. ***** Homes warranty department was notified and I was told they could not do anything about it, as it was probably from "wear and tear" and I did not note it at the time of closing. Additionally, there were several trees left standing, a few of them very close to the house. We were told that D ***** Sr wanted as many trees left as possible. We had a private home inspector look at the house prior to closing and he recommended removing most of the trees as they were potentially threats to the outside of the home as well as the foundation. Logan refused. There was also a pine tree on the border between our property and our neighbor's which had the top cut off. When we were preparing the lot to build we were told it was not on our property, only to find out later that it is. The tree is an eyesore, and Logan refuses to remove it. Now the property next to ours is being built on, and ***** removed ALL of the trees from that lot, as well as ALL of the trees from another lot 2 doors down, and ALL of the trees from most of the lots across the pond from us. Our neighbor told us his supervisor offered to take all of the trees down, and told them it was NOT *****'s policy to leave as many trees as possible. Now Logan refuses to take these trees down, in spite of the recommendations of the home inspector, in spite of there being no policy regarding leaving trees in place. Additionally since we have moved in one of the large pine trees on the side of the home appears to be dying (or dead). Logan Homes has left trees in place that are a threat to the structure of our home, at least one of which is an eyesore, and claims it is their policy to keep these trees there despite clearing several other lots of all the trees and the supervisor on the job next door saying it is not a policy.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting that Logan Homes remove the trees that are within 10 feet of the house, as well as the dying/dead tree on the side, and the deformed tree in the back. We are also requesting that Logan Homes replace the sliding doors that were scratched prior to, or during installation, and due to their poor cleaning was not seen prior to closing.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
With regards to the sliding glass door comment, you will see from the attached Pre-Occupancy Orientation form signed by the customer on 9/15/15, that in fact all of the doors and windows throughout the entire house were looked at extensively and deemed to be acceptable with the exception of the scratched glass at an upstairs bedroom that was replaced (see attached final punch list exceptions signed by homeowner). With regards to the trees, at the Pre-Start Orientation with the customer signed and dated by the customer on 4/28/15 (attached) you will see that plot plan/house placement and tree removal was discussed. If the homeowner feels that there are trees on the property that are no longer healthy, it would be up to them to contact the homeowner's association for approval to have the trees removed, which would then be at the homeowner's expense.

You may feel free to contact Anne ***** at ******@loganhomes.com or via phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX for additional information if required.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Response from Logan Homes is unacceptable. They would like to use their signed forms as conclusive evidence that everything was in good condition at the time of closing, when in fact, it was not. The fact is we were unable to unable to visualize the numerous small scratches in the sliding doors because the builder, Logan, had inadequately cleaned these doors. Their claim that a window was "scratched" is again a lie in that the window was actually broken/cracked, not just scratched. Additionally, the only reason we signed off on the trees was that after several attempts to get Logan to take care of the trees, even after having a written recommendation from a building inspector that several of the trees should be removed, Logan outright refused to remove the trees. They claimed D Logan wanted as many trees as possible left. It was only after we saw numerous lots that had all of the trees removed that we questioned this. Additionally, in less than one year after we moved in, one of the large pine trees died, most likely from Logan disturbing the ground/root systems, which now threatens our home, and they are refusing to take care of it. When they were doing the landscaping, they even had our property line inaccurately marked, so one of the disfigured trees that, according to them, was not even on our property, is on our property and it was then "too late" to be removed. Either they have a policy that they leave as many trees in as possible or they don't. They cannot have it both ways.

Final Business Response
Once again, with regards to the scratched glass, it was very clear that Mr. ********** was able to see any and all scratches on any other piece of glass in the house, as noted on the previous attachment sent with our first response. The fact that he is saying that only that particular glass was too dirty to evaluate is just not true. If in fact he thought it was too dirty he should not have signed the form stating that everything was OK. With regards to the trees, we stand by our previous response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Logan Homes has repeatedly lied. The above response is a lie as well. The scratches are very small, and Logan was notified about them approximately one week after we moved in and I was able to clean the doors. Logan claimed that this was "normal wear and tear" but is unable to explain how there have been no new scratches appear in the 8 months since then. Apparently this is a type of glass previously unheard of in the physical realm. Once again Logan lies about the glass not being dirty, as I have several witnesses that saw the glass immediately after cleaning. Apparently Logan does not care about it's buyers once they receive money from the bank. Their supervisor, Will Weir, lied to us and to others, and Logan is unwilling to take care of the results of his lies. Once again, their response about the trees is unacceptable, to just claim they are not going to do anything about them is, in fact, a non-response. They told us they were unable to remove trees prior to building, and I now have witnesses who can also verify that they told people who have built after us that they would clear all the trees from the lots, that it was easier for them to build that way. Also told by a new supervisor with Logan that there is NO policy about leaving as many trees as possible in place. As Logan refused to remove these trees prior to building, and one of these large pine trees is dead less than 8 months after closing, their answer of just saying they will not remove any trees is unacceptable. Perhaps I should post photographs of all the scratches on the doors as well as the large dead tree. Additionally, Logan has not responded to other issues since these have been brought up.
There are warranty issues such as: standing water in the gutters, standing water on the ground, broken toilet seat that they have claimed they will be calling to schedule appointment to take care of and have not.

I cannot accept a "proposed resolution" that is not anything other than a "refusal" and ongoing lies.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Builder failed to send plot plan with dimensions , failure to follow signed plans, changing plans not selling lot big enough to support home plans
at the first inspection in the beginning of mar. my brother matthew ******* who is co -owner noticed our house and the neighbors to our left were very close.the builder was also using plans that were not ours. the ac units were put behind the house which were not according to our signed plans. they found the right ones while he was there . they also moved the ac unit of the neighbor to our right **** **** *** ****** *** who we share a common wall with. the builder did not send plot plan with dimensions before building. we stopped payment of the mar.2014 draw and told the builder until the issues we raised were resolved we would be withholding payments,and all work was on hold.the builder ***** homes and the developer compass ****** who were partners when we bought in apr.2009 proceeded to point fingers at each other denying any responsibility to our problems. in regards to the ac units- the builder in an e-mail said the " laws were not enforced so we didn't follow them ,now they have to ". if the minimum setback was followed for our house and our neighbors at **** **** *** ****** *** the houses would be apx. 18 feet apart instead of 10 feet.when we bought we had the reasonable expectation that the house they sold us would fit on the lot they sold us without the need for variances. we have tried since mar. to contact the builder and developer, by phone and e-mail and have been mostly ignored.

Desired Settlement
We want the builder to acknowledge they screwed up. Fix all the things not done according to our signed plans,and compensate us for a house which will not be worth as much as the others in the neighborhood because of the setback issues or as desirable. The people who live there will have to live every day on top of their neighbor. If that is not acceptable a total refund of all our money will satisfy, and they can build the house anyway they want, and then sell it.

Business Response
See Attached

Final Business Response
Logan Homes reincorporates and reiterates the information contained in its initial response dated June 27, 2014.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/14/1997Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing BD S C
110 Centerview Drive P O BOx 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
(803) 896-4686
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Contractors/

NC Contractor's Licensing Board
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC 27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2005, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean "D" Logan (President)Ms. Kristi Case (Manager)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Home Builders, Contractors - General

Products & Services

Logan Homes, Inc. is a general contractor offering production and custom homes.

Alternate Business Names
Logan Construction Co.
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Logan Homes

60 Gregory Rd NE Ste 1

Leland, NC 28451-9276

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 60 Gregory Rd NE Ste 1 

    Leland, NC 28451-9276(910) 452-7175
    Fax: (910) 452-2135

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Logan Homes is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.