BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

America's Home Place

Phone: (843) 661-0705Fax: (843) 661-09332405 2nd Loop Rd, FlorenceSC 29501-1602http://www.americashomeplace.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

America's Home Place is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised America's Home Place's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/01/2011Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: American Home builders did not follow through on the services they promised when I purchased my home. My floors were placed incorrectly.
I closed on my home with American Home Place in December 2009. In September 2010, American Home Place and their subcontractors came out to assess any necessary repairs. The subcontractor for the Floors, Mr. , stated that he would need to come back and fix the floors. He broke numerous appointments over the next two months and eventually stopped answering or returning my calls all together. During this period, I also contacted Mr. (name) and apprised him of the situation. He continuously put me off and would not repair the floors. In February 2011, American Home Place sent out to assess the issue and make a repair recommendation. was sent instead of MR. (name) (the original floor person) because Mr. (name) was no longer working with American Home Place. presented a quote for repairs to the floors with linoleum on them but did not include the floors with a rug or hardwood floors. The beams are improperly placed and I told them that the beams do not stop where a rug starts...they run the length of the house but they have consistently refused to rectify the issue.
It has never been disputed whether American Home Place is responsible for the necessary repairs; the dispute is contacting them and getting them to make complete repairs, in lieu of partial repairs. American Home Place has turned a DREAM in to a nightmare. Anything you can do to assist me in making this house a home will be greatly appreciated.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/24/2001Business started: 01/01/1972Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Palmer (General Manager)Ms. Jennifer Elliott (Office Coordinator) Coe Strother Tom Wright
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

Americas Home Place is a stick home builder.

Industry Tips
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for America's Home Place

2405 2nd Loop Rd

Florence, SC 29501-1602

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2405 2nd Loop Rd 

    Florence, SC 29501-1602

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*America's Home Place is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.