BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/21/1993

R J S Heating & Air Inc

Phone: (910) 452-1064Fax: (910) 452-5885

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: RJS failed to properly diagnose and fix an air conditioning issue after four service calls. A fifth service call was refused.
RJS performed an initial service call 5/16/12($139)for a non functioning air conditioner, and basically performed routine maintenance including adding freon. On 5/31/13 a second service call was made and RJS reported a bad circuit breaker and recommended an electrician who came out 6/3/12 to replace breaker ($123.74). The unit worked until 6/12/12. On the third service call RJS diagnosed a bad thermostat which I replaced. A fourth service call was made 6/18/12 when RJS diagnosed an improperly programmed thermostat which they reprogrammed. The unit worked for a few days. RJS offered a fifth service call which I refused. I contacted another local company who diagnosed the problem and fixed the unit. The unit has worked fine ever since. The technician who properly repaired the unit reported that he was surprised that the problem wasn't caught by RJS or their recommended electrician and also indicated the problem could have presented a fire hazard. I requested a refund from RJS for $262. Their response has been that they first need to see an invoice from the company that repaired the unit.

x
Mr. ******, According to your complaint dated July 16, 2012 you are requesting a refund for the service call we did on May 16, 2012, which has already been refunded to you as of July 27, 2012 from the email request on July 24th that you send to me. I see that you filed your complaint on July 25 after I requested on July 24th a copy of the invoice or explanation of what the other company fix on your system. I didn't mind refunding you the money that you had paid to RJS, even thought we we tried to solve you problem and only charged you for the first initial visit, but to turn in a complaint to the BBB is a little over the top. According to your last email on July 28, 2012, thanking me for the refund,lets me know that you received your refund. I still feel I have the right to know what the other company did to get the system back to proper working order. The second part of the refund was not paid directly to RJS. As I expressed in my last email the electrician said the breaker would not allow current to go through to the air handler as my technician stated and once it was replaced the air handler came up and ran. Obviously you had several different issues with you system. But being you will not share that information with anyone, it is hard to say what the real problem really was. After refunding your $139.00 you requested, I feel we have no obligation to you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.