BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (910) 483-4696Fax: (910) 483-0256415 E. Russell St, FayettevilleNC 28301-5773http://www.blackwellheatingandair.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A charge for a Air Conditioning capacitor, that is under warranty according to Trane, yet Blackwell Heating & Air refuses to refund.
In Nov.2011 My Trane XR13 split system heat pump was purchased from and installed by Blackwell Heating & Air located at *** ******* *** ***. ** XXXXX ph# XXX-XXX-XXXX. It stopped cooling on 6/16/15. I made an appt. with Blackwell Heating & Air. They quoted a diagnostic fee of $65. Technicians ****** and **** stated on 6/17/15 that "THE CAPACITOR IS BAD".I asked them if the capacitor is under warranty and ****** immeditately said "Unfortunately no but i will give you a discount". They replaced the capacitor and i paid $143 for the capacitor and $65 for the diagnosis, a total of $208. On 6/19/15 i spoke with Mr. **** at Trane consumer relations located at **** ******** *** ******* **** *********** ** XXXXX ph#X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.According to Mr **** the capacitor and ALL working parts are under warranty and the dealer has to file for reimbursement not the customer.At 3:05pm i called Mr *********'s office and informed Ms ****** about the warranty. I asked her if they had filed for reimbursement and she said "yes". Mr ********* then got on the phone and said "We paid for the capacitor out of our pocket and dont get any money back, ****** gave you a discount, the regular price is $164 and the labor cost is $29". I called consumer relations back and voiced my complaint to Ms ******** who stated "we cant make him give you your money back" I asked her what can be done about this matter and she said i could file a dealers complaint and they would investigate it. she gave me a customer id#XXXXXX. On 7/13/15 at 11:25 am ***** from Trane left a voicemail regarding all invoices. On 7/16/15 at 3:53 pm i returned her call for clarification. Ms ******** stated "Fax all invoices since purchase to fax#X-XXX-XXX-XXXX". I faxed the invoices on 7/7/15. On 7/31/15 at 3:00 pm i called Trane warranty re:progress of my complaint. Ms ******* stated "they will contact you by 8/10/15". On 8/3/15 at 9:24am i received a voicemail from Trane, Mr ****** stated:"you did not pay for the part(capacitor).that amount was for the labor". On 8/5/XX X:XX pm i called Trane and spoke with Ms **** who stated "Mr ********* said he did not charge you for the part it was for labor. she agreed with the dealer even after reviewing the work order#XXXXXX. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she said "I am the supervisor" the she said she will talk with Mr ********* and will call me back.call ended at 1:55 pm. At 3:45 pm she called me back and stated "Mr ********* and stated "Mr ********* said the amount was for labor only. that call ended at 3:47 pm. Blackwell Heating & Air along with Trane warranty have charged me $208 for "labor"!. They have blatantly exploited a Senior Citizen by charging for a part covered by warranty or very ridiculous excessive labor charge.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for what is due to me which is the $143 i was wrongly charged.

Business Response
We have reviewed **** *******'s complaint in reference to the invoice billed on June 17, 2015. Mrs. **** ******* was charged a diagnostic fee and a labor charge for changing out a dual capacitor of 45/7.5 micro-farad at 370 volts. We charged $65 for a standard diagnostic fee to verify that the capacitor was indeed bad. Then we charged the $143 for replacing the bad capacitor. This $143 charge includes the labor to replace the bad capacitor and replace it with a new warranty part. Also, after the completion of the installation of the part, unit is checked for correct tolerances for the fan and the compressor. Please find a copy of the signed invoice dated June 17, 2015 which she has paid and agreed upon.

Sincerely,
**** ** *********
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This issue of fraud needs to be reviewed.The bottom line is In Mr. *********'s own words i was charged $143 "labor" for a capacitor under warranty. In my research there were no Air Conditioning companies that charge such an exorbitant fee for "labor" for a capacitor in a a.c.unit for a single family one level home.Please advise regarding further action for this consumer complaint, including media assistance if necessary.

11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refuses to refund any amount for no service.
I had paid in advance for two services (one year) and discount for maintainance. I do not need second service and no more of their contract since I do not live in the home anymore. ********* refuses to refund any money. They have decided to just eat up half of my contract amount without providing any service. I talked to them two different times. The customer service agent first stated that the owner will call but I never got the call. On my second attempt she just refused any refund for unused half of the service. *** insisted on doing the routine service on the home but no one is living there anymore.

Their attitude is completely different once you sign up for service.

Desired Settlement
I paid $434 in April 2013. Refund 50% of the amount paid.

Business Response
Customer bought a service agreement in April 2013 which includes two cleanings. We did the first cleaning in April and we were on the way to do the second cleaning (that he scheduled a few days before) and he called saying he wants to cancel and wants his money back. We told him that we wont give a refund as he signed a contract and still he still owns the house. We did offer to do the second cleaning on a different unit if he did not want the one that he signed a contract for cleaned.

We will not give a refund because the cost of a single cleaning for 2 units is $500. The service contract that he signed was $434. He signed a contract to get a cheaper price and an additional cleaning for less money. If he wants us to agree to cancel the contract he would have to pay the extra $66 as well as the $80 diagnostic fee that would have been charged the first time we were at his house is he hadn't signed the agreement.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all no refund is unacceptable.

I have some serious concerns about this Business owner.
1. He called me after my complaint at BBB (Had ignored my calls prior to that). He asked me some questions that were unrelated to the complaint and then personally threatened me. He asked if I still work at .... He had looked up my profile on *********
2. During our conversation he had promised me refund of half the amount to end the matter at BBB but then again reminded me of how he plans to go after my job. He has now decided not to refund too.
3. The fact that he is asking for my new home address to provide 'service' is also concerning. I do not trust him at this point.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/04/2008Business started: 04/01/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Blackwell (President/Owner)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers hearing and air conditioning service and installation.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

415 E. Russell St

Fayetteville, NC 28301-5773

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 415 E. Russell St 

    Fayetteville, NC 28301-5773(910) 483-4696
    Fax: (910) 483-0256

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.