BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Blackwell Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (910) 483-4696Fax: (910) 483-0256

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A charge for a Air Conditioning capacitor, that is under warranty according to Trane, yet Blackwell Heating & Air refuses to refund.
In Nov.2011 My Trane XR13 split system heat pump was purchased from and installed by Blackwell Heating & Air located at *** ******* *** ***. ** XXXXX ph# XXX-XXX-XXXX. It stopped cooling on 6/16/15. I made an appt. with Blackwell Heating & Air. They quoted a diagnostic fee of $65. Technicians ****** and **** stated on 6/17/15 that "THE CAPACITOR IS BAD".I asked them if the capacitor is under warranty and ****** immeditately said "Unfortunately no but i will give you a discount". They replaced the capacitor and i paid $143 for the capacitor and $65 for the diagnosis, a total of $208. On 6/19/15 i spoke with Mr. **** at Trane consumer relations located at **** ******** *** ******* **** *********** ** XXXXX ph#X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.According to Mr **** the capacitor and ALL working parts are under warranty and the dealer has to file for reimbursement not the customer.At 3:05pm i called Mr *********'s office and informed Ms ****** about the warranty. I asked her if they had filed for reimbursement and she said "yes". Mr ********* then got on the phone and said "We paid for the capacitor out of our pocket and dont get any money back, ****** gave you a discount, the regular price is $164 and the labor cost is $29". I called consumer relations back and voiced my complaint to Ms ******** who stated "we cant make him give you your money back" I asked her what can be done about this matter and she said i could file a dealers complaint and they would investigate it. she gave me a customer id#XXXXXX. On 7/13/15 at 11:25 am ***** from Trane left a voicemail regarding all invoices. On 7/16/15 at 3:53 pm i returned her call for clarification. Ms ******** stated "Fax all invoices since purchase to fax#X-XXX-XXX-XXXX". I faxed the invoices on 7/7/15. On 7/31/15 at 3:00 pm i called Trane warranty re:progress of my complaint. Ms ******* stated "they will contact you by 8/10/15". On 8/3/15 at 9:24am i received a voicemail from Trane, Mr ****** stated:"you did not pay for the part(capacitor).that amount was for the labor". On 8/5/XX X:XX pm i called Trane and spoke with Ms **** who stated "Mr ********* said he did not charge you for the part it was for labor. she agreed with the dealer even after reviewing the work order#XXXXXX. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she said "I am the supervisor" the she said she will talk with Mr ********* and will call me back.call ended at 1:55 pm. At 3:45 pm she called me back and stated "Mr ********* and stated "Mr ********* said the amount was for labor only. that call ended at 3:47 pm. Blackwell Heating & Air along with Trane warranty have charged me $208 for "labor"!. They have blatantly exploited a Senior Citizen by charging for a part covered by warranty or very ridiculous excessive labor charge.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for what is due to me which is the $143 i was wrongly charged.

Business Response
We have reviewed **** *******'s complaint in reference to the invoice billed on June 17, 2015. Mrs. **** ******* was charged a diagnostic fee and a labor charge for changing out a dual capacitor of 45/7.5 micro-farad at 370 volts. We charged $65 for a standard diagnostic fee to verify that the capacitor was indeed bad. Then we charged the $143 for replacing the bad capacitor. This $143 charge includes the labor to replace the bad capacitor and replace it with a new warranty part. Also, after the completion of the installation of the part, unit is checked for correct tolerances for the fan and the compressor. Please find a copy of the signed invoice dated June 17, 2015 which she has paid and agreed upon.

Sincerely,
**** ** *********
President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This issue of fraud needs to be reviewed.The bottom line is In Mr. *********'s own words i was charged $143 "labor" for a capacitor under warranty. In my research there were no Air Conditioning companies that charge such an exorbitant fee for "labor" for a capacitor in a a.c.unit for a single family one level home.Please advise regarding further action for this consumer complaint, including media assistance if necessary.

11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refuses to refund any amount for no service.
I had paid in advance for two services (one year) and discount for maintainance. I do not need second service and no more of their contract since I do not live in the home anymore. ********* refuses to refund any money. They have decided to just eat up half of my contract amount without providing any service. I talked to them two different times. The customer service agent first stated that the owner will call but I never got the call. On my second attempt she just refused any refund for unused half of the service. *** insisted on doing the routine service on the home but no one is living there anymore.

Their attitude is completely different once you sign up for service.

Desired Settlement
I paid $434 in April 2013. Refund 50% of the amount paid.

Business Response
Customer bought a service agreement in April 2013 which includes two cleanings. We did the first cleaning in April and we were on the way to do the second cleaning (that he scheduled a few days before) and he called saying he wants to cancel and wants his money back. We told him that we wont give a refund as he signed a contract and still he still owns the house. We did offer to do the second cleaning on a different unit if he did not want the one that he signed a contract for cleaned.

We will not give a refund because the cost of a single cleaning for 2 units is $500. The service contract that he signed was $434. He signed a contract to get a cheaper price and an additional cleaning for less money. If he wants us to agree to cancel the contract he would have to pay the extra $66 as well as the $80 diagnostic fee that would have been charged the first time we were at his house is he hadn't signed the agreement.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all no refund is unacceptable.

I have some serious concerns about this Business owner.
1. He called me after my complaint at BBB (Had ignored my calls prior to that). He asked me some questions that were unrelated to the complaint and then personally threatened me. He asked if I still work at .... He had looked up my profile on *********
2. During our conversation he had promised me refund of half the amount to end the matter at BBB but then again reminded me of how he plans to go after my job. He has now decided not to refund too.
3. The fact that he is asking for my new home address to provide 'service' is also concerning. I do not trust him at this point.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.