BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2001

Bullard Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (910) 864-5533Fax: (910) 864-4424

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sofa they sold us... each zipper on the 10 pillows have razor sharp teeth on them that cut you, draw blood and leave a scar. They refuse to fix it
We have now had our sofa for 3 years. We paid $1,000. At first, we noticed that the zippers on each throw pillow (there are about ten that make up the back support of the sofa) had very sharp teeth on them. They actually cut us, me and my husband, a few times and drew blood. Each time we sat down, we had to make sure that the zippers were facing the direction with the teeth down otherwise if you make a wrong move... More bleeding and more scars. After I initially noticed, I called the store and was made to feel like an idiot when I asked if there was possibly a recall on our sofa due to the dangerous zippers. I had been to another furniture store, saw the same sofa and the zippers did not have the teeth. I just figured... Whatever, we will just watch each time and make sure we don't get cut. Well.... My daughter is now the age where she's moving around on the sofa and she's now getting cut. This is so frustrating!! I called the store again to speak to a store manager who initially was going to help us. An hour later he calls back and says he can't help us due to liability issues. Be careful what you buy, because even if it makes you bleed and gives you scars... You're stuck with it. Good luck.... We will not return and we will not recommend this store.

Desired Settlement
I believe they need to repair the zippers or replace the pillows. They need to make the sofa they sold us SAFE! It is NOT SAFE right now.

Business Response
The customer's purchase was made on 1/27/2012. Our warranty on the living room furniture was for one year.
The only record we have of the customer's issue with their zippers was on 3/26/2015. This was over 3 years after original purchase date. Customer requested that we modify or cut the zippers off the pillows. Customer was told that we could not modify her furniture because of liability reasons. Her furniture was over 2 years past her warranty, and the manufacturer would be the only one who could modify their product and in this case won't because of the warranty being so far expired.
If the customer wants to drop the pillows off with us, we can take pictures of them and try to see if the manufacturer's representative would come by and look at them first hand. We doubt that it would make any difference to the manufacturer, but it's the only option we have.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
If they are comfortable selling dangerous furniture, then I've done my duty of making sure it is publicly documented.

03/04/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
NOT COVERING THE REPAIR BECAUSE I DIDNT CALL WITHIN 30 DAYS OF IT HAPPENNING ON THE LAZY BOY LOVE SEAT .
I PURCHASE FURNITURE FROM BULLARD FURNITURE ON 11/6/2010 AND BOUGHT A SOFA AND A LAZY BOY LOVE SEAT RECLINER AND I CALLED ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO TO THE EXTENDED WARRANTY CO X-XXX-XXX-XXXX AND THERE SAYING BECAUSE THE LOVE SEAT HASN'T BEEN WORKING FOR 4 MONTHS PROPERLY THAT YOU HAVE TO CALL WITHIN 30 DAYS OF IT NOT WORKING . AND ALSO THE SOFA RECLINER IS NOT WORKING AND THEY SAID IT WOULD BE COVERED AND I WAS NEVER TOLD I WAS TO CALL WITHIN 30 DAYS AND NEVER GOT PAPERWORK ON THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. AND I THE FURNITURE AND WARRANTY THRU BULLARD FURNITURE

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE LOVE SEAT FIXED FOR THE MECHANISM NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND THEY ARE RECLINERS AND THE ONE ON THE SOFA ALSO AND AT LEAST COME OUT AND LOOK AT IT TOO SEE WHATS WRONG WITH THE RECLINER MECHANISMS. IT IS LAZY BOY FURNITURE.AND WAS NEVER TOLD I WAS SUPPOSE TO CALL WITHIN 30 DAYS AND NVER GOT A WARRANTY BOOK.IF THEY WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT FIXING IT , I WANT A REFUND ON THE EXTENDED WARRANTY I BOUGHT.

Business Response
Customer purchased furniture and added protection plan on 11/6/2010. The added protection plan is good for five years. Customer's plan number was written on his/her sales order at the time of purchase. The only place you can get this plan number is off of the actual plan that is handed to the customer at the time of sale. Bullard Furniture instructs all of our customers, with protection plans or not, to call us and allow us to assist with any issues. We take pride in our customer service and would never want communication or lack thereof to result in an unhappy customer.

Bullard Furniture has been in touch with the protection plan company to see what options might be possible even though this claim case was reported after 30 days. No matter what comes of the protection plan company's decision, we will make sure that either the customer's reclining sofa and reclining loveseat are repaired, or we will refund the cost of the protection plan for the reclining sofa and reclining loveseat.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a set of table and chairs from this store not even * year ago and they are falling to pieces. I paid over seven hundred dollars for this set. I went in the store in February 2015 and spoke with *** about this sent pictures to him of the furniture and he assured me that he was getting new ones from the company that made this stuff. Here it is almost June 2015 and I still have the same stuff in my house and have not heard * word from them. I feel I have gave them enough time to take care of this matter and it has not be solved.

Desired Settlement
I would like a new set of table and chairs that are not falling apart.

Business Response
Customer made a purchase in the amount of $479.95 on January 18, 2014. Since that time, Bullard Furniture was unaware of any issues that the customer might have had with their merchandise. We will be contacting this customer to address the issues they have with their purchase in order to come to a resolution suitable to both parties. It is the intent of Bullard Furniture to satisfy every customer within the scope of their warranty with us, as well as the warranty with the furniture manufacturer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Until they call me about the furniture I do not agree with this. The furniture is falling apart. I sent pictures to Bullard email including pictures of furniture. I have proof of it.


Final Business Response
Customer purchased a dinette for $479.95 on January 18, 2014.
Customer made an additional purchase on January 21, 2015 - almost exactly one year later. There was no mention at that time of any problems with her dinette.

June 2015 - Bullard Furniture contacted customer, inquired about her issues, and requested pictures of the dinette pieces showing the areas of concern. Upon inspecting the pictures we determined that the customer had two broken legs on two of her chair backs and a blemish on her table top.
As we stated before, we have no record of this customer ever contacting us with an issue prior to the BBB case being filed on May 21, 2015. For the customer's sake, we'll assume we dropped the ball. She said she came into the store February 2015 to state her complaint, which means even at that time her one year store and manufacturer's warranties had both already expired.
When we called the customer back after reviewing her photos, we explained to the customer again that her warranty had expired prior to her coming into our store in February 2015. We went on to tell her that we had already ordered the two chair backs and table top she needed at no cost to her. Keep in mind that we made that decision based on photographs - not knowing for sure whether we were dealing with manufacturing defects or not.
The customer's original desired settlement was that she wanted a new table and chairs that weren't falling apart. At our expense, the customer is getting a new table top and two new chair backs even after owning it for over a year. So we feel like we have gone above and beyond our obligation to our customer considering the merchandise was out of warranty before we ever started. When we told the customer that we had ordered the two chair backs and new table top, she erupted, saying that her table and chairs were junk and she didn't want it in her house. She stated that all she wanted was her money back because all we sold now was junk. We then reminded her that her purchase was a "special order" which meant she picked it out from a photograph and purchased it without ever seeing it in person. A special order means we have never carried the item before, and we make it very clear to our customers that we are ordering it JUST for them. At the time of purchase, we had the customer sign agreeing that she had to put a deposit down and that she couldn't cancel the order because we were ordering it just for her. After being reminded of this, customer responded, "It is still junk and I don't want it fixed. I want my money back." and the conversation ended. We followed up with a phone call a few days later to again offer the new table top and chair backs at no charge, and the conversation was almost identical, and she hung up abruptly.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not satisfied with the repair option provided to leather couch and loveseat that was purchased 11 months ago still under warranty. Getting run around
Purchased leather couch and love seat on 1/28/13. In December of 2013 we notified ******* Furniture that the couch was peeling in several places on corners of cushions. We were told to send photos. We sent photos within 2 days. When we went by the store to check they said the Sales Person **** ******* was on vacation and would have to wait until he returned. We contacted him after the first of the year and he arranged pick up of couch on 1/9/13. On 1/11/14 the pulley to recline broke on Love seat purchased at the same time the couch was purchased. On 1/13/13 we drove to store to check on couch repair and to report the pully broke on Love seat. We spoke with *** ******** who is in charge of service and he said he did not know what was going on with the repair of the couch and we informed him of the broken love seat. We explained out dissatisfaction wiht the brand of furniture in such a short time we have owned the furniture and asked if we could return the furniture and exchange it for something else as we have lost all faith in the brand of furniture and felt like we would continue to have issues with it in the future and the warranty was up on 1/28/14. He said he could not make that decision and would have to talk with the owner. I was called by **** ******* on 1/15/14 and asked to come to the store and view the repair of the couch and said they would bring the pulley to fix the love seat when they delivered the couch. I asked him how they fixed the couch and he didn't know. He advised me that the owner *** ******* would not agree to an exchange of furniture due to the time frame we had owned it and was only going to repair it. I advised him I would be there by 6:30 that evening and I wanted to know how they repaired it and wanted to speak to *** ******* personally. When I got there I was escorted to the back to view the couch by **** ******* and **** ***** *** ******* left the store knowing I wanted to speak to him. **** explained to me that the died the peeling of the leather. I advised him this was unacceptable as this will not stand up over time and I was concerned I would have other peeling issues in the near future as the couch is not sat on much. After I left the store my Husband called back to the store and spoke with **** and was advised he was not sure they had the part to fix the love seat in stock. I feel they are just trying to put a bandaid on the furniture as the warranty only has a few weeks left and then if we have any additional issues they are not liable to repair. This is unacceptable to us as a customer and feel a replacement is warranted due to a defect in the leather and pulley used in this brand of furniture.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a store credit for the purchase price of the furniture in the amount of $2699.90 and will use that credit to pick out another couch and love seat and will gladly pay any additional cost if any for a higher priced couch and love seat.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******, VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@bullardfurniture.com
Customer's original purchase of reclining living room furniture was on January 26, 2013. Three days later, we allowed them to reselect to a different reclining living room group because the husband didn't like the comfort. He needed a group that sat a little deeper and the footrests hit his legs a little lower. We went to their house and switched their living room out for no added charge. On December 20, 2013, approximately 11 months after purchase, customer notified us that they thought their sofa was peeling and needed us to take care of it. We asked them to send pictures of it so we could get an idea of their problem to formulate a solution. Customer sent us pictures on December 22, 2013 and they showed 3 or 4 very small places on the edges of the footrests where it looked like the dye/stain had come off. We contacted the manufacturer and asked them if they were having similar problems and they responded "no" but all we would need to do to fix it would be to use their dye/stain on the affected areas and it would fix the issue.

After the 2 short holiday weeks of Christmas and New Year's, we made arrangements with customer on January 3, 2014 to pick up their sofa in the afternoon on Thursday, January 9, 2014. We had a factory trained technician use the manufacturer's supplied dye/stain and "touch up" the few small areas per their guidelines. The repair was successful and finished on January 14, 2014. The repaired areas were not noticeable AT ALL, even to an eye that had seen the mentioned areas before the repair. On January 15, 2014, our salesperson talked to the customer and because of their great concern, asked them if they would come into the store and inspect the piece. She said she would be in, in a few hours at 6:30 pm and wanted to speak to Mr. *******. At 6:30, she met with the general manager, who informed her that Mr. ******* had a prior engagement at church. The general manager informed her that he has dealt with service issues for over 25 years and he would handle the situation. He showed her the sofa, and she found no flaws in the repair. She stated that she did not want her sofa back, because she felt the same problem might happen again. She said that she deserved to pick out a new group, even though she had her current sofa and loveseat 11 months, because hers was defective. The manager expressed again that she did have a problem, that it was repaired to manufacturer's specifications, and that if she had the same exact problem again, we would take care of it. He also offered to completely replace the leather seats on the sofa, but the customer declined. Our manager compared her situation to that of buying a car. "If your new car that is 11 months old has paint chipping, the dealership is going to repair your paint, not give you a new car". Our manager offered to take her sofa back to her the next afternoon. While there, we would replace a handle on the loveseat that had broken, but she said that was not what she wanted. Later that evening, our manager spoke with the husband, and he agreed to let us come to ******* and replace the handle on the reclining loveseat, but not to return the sofa until he could speak with Mr. *******.
Mr. ******* spoke with him the next day and again the customer stated that they felt they deserved to pick out a new sofa and loveseat for one that they had for 11 months. Because theirs had to be repaired, and they thought they would have the same problem again. Mr. ******* offered him to either keep the reclining sofa and loveseat that he has, agreeing that his currently doesn't have a problem, or he could pick out a new group, less an 11 month usage fee. The customer didn't like the idea of deducting a usage fee but did like the idea of picking out a new group. Customer came in on Saturday, January 18, 2014, to shop and wanted to pick out the same group in the same leather with power recline. Our manager strongly discouraged him picking out the exact group in the same cover since he didn't have any confidence in the one he had. Customer was here a few hours and was unable to make a decision and he said they would make a decision by Tuesday, January 22, 2014. On Monday, January 20, 2014, customer came in and picked out an upholstered reclining sofa and loveseat, which we have ordered. We will deliver the new sofa and loveseat to the customer's home in mid to late February.


Final Consumer Response
We have not decided to keep the furniture we have now as we continue to find new areas of loss of color on the furniture and this was reported to Gary while in the store picking out a new furniture group on Jaanuary 20, 2014. I continue to find new loss of color spots since January 20, 2014. Bullards can replace the cushions and top pieces of the furiture but there is no way possible to replace the places I have found on the arm rest report on Januuary 20, 2014.
I would think Mr. ******* would want to satisfy his customer 100% with a full refund towards a different furniture group . After all Mr. ******* did suggest we go with * different furniture group which we will have to do at our loss. Mr. ******* is not losing any money as he even told us he will take this furniture back and sell it at a discount so he will make his money back at our loss. I'm sure it won't be discounted much. Why should the consumer be the one to take the loss for purchasing defective furniture? We did report the defect within the year warranty. It's not like the furniture is a few years out of warranty. This is just bad business that the consumer has to take a loss for his sale of defective furniture. The repair done by the factorys suggestion is a bad repair and is noticable in good lighting (not good lighting in warehoue). Clearly Bullards furniture needs to revise their guarnatee policy and stand behind their funitures 100% and not make their consumers take a loss for their defective furniture sold in this store. At this time we are still expecting the delivery of our new furniture group shortly after the 17th of February as promised or before but an very unhappy that is has to be at our loss. Step up Mr. ******* and stand behind your product and do the right thing!

Final Business Response
Business states:
They stand by their original response.

02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My mattress is making squeaky noises and you are able to feel the coils I called the store several times since two months ago and nothing has been don
The claim is regarding a mattress that I purchased on 2010 at the *******
Furniture located in **** ********* **** ************* ** XXXXX. I am
having issues with the mattress the coils are about to pop up and is
making a squeaky noise as well. Not to mention that my husband and I are
getting back pain already as well.
I have called them several time which I also have records of I have spoken
to *** Customer Service manager. Every time I call he tells me that he is
working on my claim and that he will call back as of today I haven't heard
anything and either my issue has been resolve.
I will appreciate your help

Desired Settlement
I need my mattress replace.

Business Response
Customer's original purchase date was June 29,2010. We were first notified of customer issue in mid October 2013. Manager listened to what customer's issues were, and responded that we would need to do a bedding inspection. He added that she could either bring the bedding to us for a free inspection, or she could pay the applicable delivery fee for us to come to her house which is approximately 2 hours and 20 minutes away. Manager and customer talked back and forth a few different times about the inspection options, and the customer told him she thought she was going to rent a truck and bring the set in. The last conversation we had with the customer was in mid December 2013, when she and our salesperson talked. She told our salesperson that she had stains on her mattress. In earlier conversations with our manager this was never stated. Our salesperson restated to the customer that stains void a mattress warranty. This is Park Place Manufacturing policy, not Bullard Furniture's. She told her she would need to try and get the stains out and call us back. This is the last correspondence we had with the customer.

As far as reaching a solution, we are still willing to do all the things stated above. A bedding inspection has to be done for Park Place Manufacturing to determine if there is a warranty issue at hand. We perform these inspections on behalf of the Park Place the manufacturer. If there are stains on the mattress, the manufacturer warranty is void. So the customer needs to make sure there are no stains on the mattress before our inspection.

If she brings it in for inspection, and it is deemed defective under the manufacturer's requirements,we will replace it while she is here if we have the comparable mattress in stock at that time.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have spoken to the sales representative ***** he is the sales rep from the park place manufacture. He will be coming over to my house in two weeks to inspect the mattress the issue have not been resolve yet and I am bot happy of the way Bullard furniture does business they do not stand by their warranty if it wouldn't be for the manufacture sales rep that i had to call personally because I was not getting any solution from bullard Furniture I would still be going bck and forth with them. When I bought this mattress I ask the sales associate about the service ad the warranty do to the fact that my my family had a military life and we will be moving from state to state an she told me that there was not a problem that we will always get a service for our mattress because it had 10year warranty. Well I have the issue with the mattress and I am still leaving in the same county city where it was originally delivered and got a service denied. Tare liars this not the way to treat a customer and false information is giving just to sell. I am very disappointed and upset about the service of this company.

Final Business Response
If the customer's mattress (purchased on June 29, 2010) has no stains then their warranty should be intact and everything we have previously stated on a solution and the inspection process holds true. Our problem at hand is the transportation costs for an inspection and or possible replacement. The mattress warranty clearly states that transportation is not included in it. In an effort to try to come to some sort of middle ground we are going to have the mattress manufacturer contact the customer today or tomorrow to see if they might be able to work out some kind of arrangement for inspection either directly with them or possibly with a dealer in their town.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.