BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bo Smith Furniture of Hartsville

Phone: (843) 662-0889

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

50 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues17
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service31
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints50

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (50)BBB Closure Definitions
07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchase furniture online - furniture delivered - 2 of 3 pieces arrived damaged - did not accept delivery on damaged pieces
12-12-12 Purchased (name) total $3,379. Deposit remitted $1698.50.

03-11-13 (name) sales rep (name) was contacted and final payment of $1,312.50 was remitted for the furniture; and a cashier's check for (name) $377 was secured for (name).

Furniture delivery by (name) scheduled for 03-18-13; actual delivery date 03-17-13. Sofa wood spine was cracked and one of the chairs has a cracked leg. Damaged items not accepted.

Contacted customer service rep (name) on 3-18-13 to inform her about damaged items. I was informed that the damaged items would be (1) repaired by a certified technician or manufacturer repair technician; (2) the completed repairs would be inspected and signed off by the manufacturer.

(name) called to re-scheduled the delivery of repaired items for 05-08-13. On three occasions (name) representative - (name) - failed to respond to calls requesting (1)the name of the certified repair technician completing the repairs; (2)the work order detailing the repairs; (3)the name of the manufacturer technician confirming repairs were satisfactory; (4) manufacturer warranty detailing the sufficiency of the repairs.

(name) was re-contacted and she conferred with her manager (name) to schedule a manufacturers inspection.

06-04-13 Called (name) - she spoke to (name) who sent an e-mail detailing his contact with (name). However, his e-mail also included an e-mail to (name) detailing how the manufacturer refused to pick-up the furniture due to transport damage.

I left a message on (name) and (name) voice mails.

The original order was was scheduled to be delivered 6-8 weeks. Six months later - still no furniture.

According to (name) e-mail, should I find the repaired furniture unacceptable - not to accept it. According to the e-mail, he would then look into re-ordering the furniture.






Initial Business Response
Hello,

It's never ideal for furniture to arrive damaged or defective, however it does happen from time to time. When a customer places the order we send out an invoice and copy of our Terms and Conditions for that customer to look over and sign to make sure they understand and agree with the ordering and delivering process. To be fair to everyone we list in our Terms and Conditions how all claims orders work, it states that Furnituregeek working together with the Manufacturer and Trucking Company will decide if an item needs to be repaired or replaced. Customer signed the Terms and Conditions stating they understood this. Customer is subject to a refund if they wish to cancel, however there is a 50% Re Stocking fee which is also stated in the Terms and Conditions.

Sincerely,
/*****
Customer Service Rep
Furnituregeek.Com


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been contacted by Bo Smith President *** who has intervened to have the furniture inspected by the manufacturer warranty representative, re-crated, with pictures sent; and delivery. Based on President ***'s response I would like to rescind this complaint. However, we are in agreement that if these arrangements are not satisfactory - then, Mr. *** encouraged me to file another complaint.

Final Business Response
Hello,

Customer has spoken with the Owner of Furnituregeek.Com and together they have discussed resolution.

Sincerely,
***
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Still waiting on refund for damaged chairs that were returned 12/23/12.
I purchased a diningroom set in the fall. I was told it would be in before Thanksgiving, it wasn't. It arrived December 23rd, 2012 with 2 of the 8 chairs damaged and sent back. I requested a refund following the return and have still not received it despite numerous emails with the company. (Name) has replied to my emails, each time stating that he would contact someone and get back with me, however he does not get back with me until I email again and then I'm provided with another email about contacting someone and getting back with me.

Initial Business Response
Hello,

We offered the refund on the defective chairs until customers replacement order came in. I was informed that the card on file wasn't her's and she needed to put the refund on a different card. Shortly after, customer was tired of waiting for the replacements and wanted to cancel them for a full refund on the pieces that were refused. I told her I would contact my sales rep and request a full credit on our end so that I could get her refunded. I have received approval for this and will have the customer refunded on the defective chairs today.

Shane

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund has been received.

Final Business Response
Hello,

We did process the refund for the customer on the card that was discussed via email. I am sending customer a receipt for her records.

Sincerely,
Name
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
800-662-2612 X 106

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Ordered (name) August 2012. We rec'd sectional December 2012, minus the sofa made for the sectional. Instead we rec'd damaged sofa & wrong one
August, 2012 - placed order for lane sectional. December, 2012 - received sectional, but the sofa we received not only was the wrong sofa, but it was also delivered with severe damage as documented by the delivery team. The sofa we received was freestanding and not made for the sectional. This has never been resolved, even though I have called multiple times, no one has ever returned phone calls, and I have contacted (name) through emails, in which he promised to get back to me by the end of the business day on numerous occasions, but he never got back to me as far as when to expect our correct sofa that goes with the sectional we ordered. We have tried multiple times to get this resolved, yet to no avail. I am now resorting to contacting BBB, Attorney General and our family attorney to find out other options. At this point, we want a full refund, and they can pick up the entire sectional, and we will start over with another reputable company.

Initial Business Response
Hello,

We do understand Mrs. ***'s frustration and she has every right to feel the way she does. We don't expect any customer to be left with damaged and / or incorrect furniture. We do have the correct piece on order and I have made a few phone calls this morning to get some concrete answers as to what the hold up is and when this piece will be sent out. It's never ideal that any order take this long, though it does happen from time to time. I have left a message with Customer Service at Lane this morning asking them to contact me today with some information on this. We did refund Mrs. *** on the item that was incorrect until the correct piece has arrived, this way she has not been paid in full for a piece of furniture that she doesn't have.

Sincerely,
***
Furnituregeek.Com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I ordered a chest from (name)- I believe in late August of 2012. I have not received the item nor has anyone answered my numerous phone calls.
I ordered a (name) in August of 2012 ( I think it was August)and paid for half of it at that time. I have been waiting for a call telling me that it will be delivered. I cannot get anyone to answer my numerous phone calls. I have stated that I either want my money returned or I want to have a delivery date. No one will call me back or answer my email.

Initial Business Response
We have canceled this order with customer and customer has been refunded.

Sincerely,
*****
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: No communication, defective merchandise and no resolution. Less than zero customer service.
This has been a very frustrating experience. I ordered the bed on 11/26/2012, paid for it in full, returned the signed papers and did not hear anything at all from (name). I called on 12/24/2012 to cancel my order because I there was no contact at all. I was told that the bed was in your warehouse and that I will hear from the shipping company. Again, no confirmation of my order arriving. Almost 3 weeks later, I hear from the shipping company, they informed me that there was a COD of $129.00. I paid it in full when I ordered it. I called customer service and was told that it was taken care of, I found out a couple days later that my card was credited and that I still owed the COD. I called customer service again and was told that it was taken care of. When the bed arrived, I was told that I still owed the COD, COME ON!

After the bed was delivered and set up, I noticed that the rails were 6-8 inches too long, I was sent rails for a California King (same thing happened when my wife and I ordered this same bed a few years ago). I also noticed that the quality of the bed was very poor, the finish had some spots that seemed to be "rubbed off" and one of the headboard's top corners was messed up.

I emailed pictures to the salesman of the flaws. It's been over a month and a half and still nothing, no communication at all. I have called several times and haven't received any return calls.

The customer service I have received from (name) has been some of the worst I have ever gotten. . I just want to return the bed and be done with it!

Initial Business Response
Hello,

We understand the level of Frustration from Mr. ****** and we can't apologize enough for the time it's taking to get this resolved. We work very diligently on getting claims orders taken care of in a timely manor but are unfortunately at the mercy of the manufacturer. Item's get back ordered and can hold the order up a good bit. To be fair to everyone we list in our Terms and Conditions on how claim orders work. It also states in the ordering process of the Terms and Conditions that quoted times are estimates only and unfortunately there are hold ups at times that are out of our control. Again, we apologize and are doing everything we can to get the replacement sent out to Mr. ******. He has been contacted via email with this information.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
07/23/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: I placed an order on 3-29-13. I was given a time frame of 6-12 weeks for delivery. I still have not received my furniture, they don't know when I will

I placed an order on 3-29-13 that totaled $3300. I had to put at least half down for them to place the order. I paid $2000 by Visa credit card. I ordered the Schnadig Classic Elegance Collection 9090-182b (tufted sofa), 9090-204b (tufted chair),9090-004b (oval back chair), 9091-540 (oval cocktail table) and 9091-331 (2 round end tables). I was told the products would be delivered in 6-12 weeks max. It's been over 12 weeks and I have called the company and still am no closer to finding out when my furniture will be delivered than when I ordered it. I have received two sporadic emails confirming the manufacturer had not filled my order yet but it was in line. No date as to when that would happen. I spoke with ***** and he checked and said my order had not been filled by the manufacturer and he wasn't sure how many additional order had too be filled to get them to fill and ship my order but he would have my sales rep ****** give me a call that day although she doesn't work on Wednesdays. I called and left a voice mail for ****** and then spoke with ***** a week later after never receiving a call. ***** said he though she was going to call me that day but he was going to call her at home and have her call me. She called back and left a vm that my order was still a few weeks out and she would call the next day to give me specifics and get more details when she could pull the order at work to get an update. I still have not heard from her. I shouldn't have to keep calling them to find out what is going on with my order and it's going on 15 weeks. If they can't give me a reasonable time when my furniture will come I want a full refund regardless of the contract. They have not kept their end of the contract so it's null and void. If they are planning to deliver my furniture sooner than later, they should be willing to give me some sort of discount for the inconvenience and the poor follow up they are providing to me as a consumer. I don't have thousands of dollars to give to a company to just sit on. They are not going to wait 15 plus weeks for me to pay the difference in the amount I owe to have my furniture delivered without trying to charge some sort of storage fee on top of what I owe. I currently have no furniture and I have been more than patient for 12 plus weeks. It is completely unacceptable as I understand there may be delays with the manufacturer but I don't understand why I have not been notified or updated about anything and why I have to keep playing phone tag with no follow up with this company.

Initial Business Response
Hello,

The customer absolutely has the option to cancel without re stocking fees if she chooses. Customer was made aware of this option via phone call on Tuesday by her sales person Ashleigh. If customer would like to move forward with cancellation, please contact our office and speak with myself or her sales rep Ashleigh. Ashleigh did try and contact the customer earlier today to speak with her about the hold up on the furniture and see if she would like to hold out a little bit longer while we wait on the furniture to come in, or if the customer would like to cancel. Thanks.

Sincerely,
************
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
800-662-2612 X 106

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,

This is such a bogus lie. I spoke with ****** and there was no offer to give me a refund. I asked about a refund and she told me it wasn't an option because the contract doesn't guarantee delivery time. ******** has not tried to call me at all since I filed this complaint, I spoke with her but it was because I called AGAIN, not because she called me. This was my third time after a week of no responses and she claims that she hadn't called back because she had just received an update the day before I called. I asked her didn't she think it would be appropriate to call me after she received the information and I told her it was completely unacceptable to have to call them to get an update when they are the ones with access to the information. She agreed it was unacceptable but said there was nothing they could do as the manufacturer hasn't given a date as to when my order will be released so I basically just had to wait it out. I will accept their response when I have a full refund. At this point, I'm not sure that that will happen since I have gotten so much run around from them. I shouldn't even have to go through this to get them to communicate with me.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Received on broken sofa table pedestal upon delivery and the delivery man damaged the pedestal on the coffee table.
I purchased tables from (name) paid a down payment of $421 on Feb. 8, 2013 and they told me they were ordering my tables. After not hearing from them after 5 weeks, I called the manufacturer and they told me that (name) furniture had received the merchandise two weeks prior. I called (name) my sales rep. and he stated they had the tables and were setting up delivery. He also proceeded to tell me that they would be needing to collect another payment of $421 which would come out of my account. Which it did on March 21. He stated I would pay the $438 to the trucking company via a cashiers check or money order. Well they delivered the tables on the evening of Wed. March 27,2013. When they unloaded them, the pedestal leg on the sofa table was broken then while putting together the coffee table, one of the pedestals was broken by the trucker. We all heard a crack and just looked over it and didn't see anything. When I got up the next morning to wipe the glass I looked under neath the table and saw what he had cracked.I contacted my salesman (name)to tell him what happened and he stated he would file a claim. He gave me the name of (name) and I sent him pictures on April 1, 2013 of the damaged pedestal on the coffee table. We texted back and forth for a couple of days and then nothing until I followed up with him on April 18. He told me he would contact his sales rep. at (name) and I didn't hear back from him until I followed up again on April 24,2013. He claimed he was emailing his rep. I contacted him again on April 27, 2013 letting him know that it had been a month and I still had no answers as to when I was going to receive my merchandise. April 29,2013 he sent me a text saying he needed a name and I stated I was (name)and I heard nothing from him since. I then contacted my sales rep. (name) on May 7,2013 and received an email on May 8, 2013 back from (name) stating (name) no longer worked for the company. On May 14, I told (name) the problem and said I need to get resolution on this within the next 5 days otherwise I wanted my money back. I stated this is not the way to treat customers and I was disappointed with the outcome. I received an email from (name) on May 15,2013 stating she forwarded this email to customer service and he would be handling it from there. I replied with I had been dealing with them since this whole mess started and that I wanted resolution ASAP.

(name) Rectangular End Table
Includes glass top, and table base
Details End Table (ordered 2)
Item Number FG583-02-T-B
Weight - 87.00 lbs

(name) Round Cocktail Table
Includes glass top, and table base
Details (ordered 1)
Item Number - FG583-06-T-B
Weight - 145.00 lbs
Dimensions (WxDxH)
50 x 50 x 20

(name) Rectangular Sofa Table
Includes glass top, and table base
Details
Item Number: FG583-11-T-B
Weight: 123.00 lbs
Dimensions (WxDxH)
55 x 20 x 30

Initial Business Response
Hello,

We do apologize for the inconvenience and time it's taking to get the parts needed to get this situation resolved. Unfortunately some parts order can take a little time, it's never ideal but does happen from time to time. We have the parts needed on order for the tables and I have notified my sales rep to let him know of the customers frustration in hopes of expediting the order.

Sincerely,
***
Furnituregeek.Com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The below is an email that I received today 6-4-13. I have asked for a refund until the merchandise is shipped to me.

Hi ***,I apologize for just responding, I wanted to thank you for clearing up any confusion and have already notified my rep and let him know. I told him to please expedite this as quickly as possible, I believe all the parts needed are in stock so there shouldn't be a problem with them getting sent right out. 

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

05/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Furniture was ordered in May 2012 and still do not have complete delivery. Customer Service as well as office manager is now ignoring my emails.
I ordered on May 30, 2012 a total of $3,824.40 of furniture from sales rep. ******** *******. She took via credit card a deposit of $1,912.20 at time of order. She told me to expect delivery in 4 or 6 weeks. In July, I started to get concerned about my order so I called my sales rep. ******** ******* asking when I could expect delivery of my furniture. On July 13, 2012, I get an email from Customer Service saying there are still some orders ahead of mine and they would get back to me. Weeks went by with no word from Furniture Geek. I began to call my sales rep again and she said she would check on my order. She gets back to me in late August that they have all my furniture except for one piece which is on back order and not expected to be available until January 2013. I was furious that they would have put my order in on May 30, 2012 and I am just finding out that I will not get one piece until Jan. 2012. I was very uneasy at that time because I had visited a local furniture store and they told me the manufacturer of my furniture had discontinued that line. I expressed my concern to my sales rep and after much conversation, she agreed to give me the telephone number of the manufacturer. I called the manufacturer who assured me that my piece has been on a back order since early June 2012 and that they have it for delivery to Furniture Geek in December 2012 or January 2013. Furniture Geek never told me when I ordered the furniture that one piece would be on back order for almost 6 months. In late October, I was told that an additional piece of furniture that I ordered was in and that I needed to make payment on all the pieces except the one piece that was on back order. I made that payment by credit card in late October. I heard nothing from Furniture Geek after that. On November 8, 2012, I emailed the Customer Service agent and told him that my credit card was charged over one week ago and still no furniture. After much going back and forth, the furniture was delivered on November 19, 2012 but one item was defective and I would not accept it. I had to keep on Furniture Geek to refund my final payment on the damaged item. I also informed both my sales rep and the customer service rep whose name is ***** ****** that I would be away from my house from mid December until approximately January 16, 2013. ***** and I finally connected in early January as he said all my pieces were there and ready for delivery. I reminded ***** that I would not be back to my home until late on January 16, 2013. I authorized payment on my credit card for the final two pieces. Again, lack of customer service with no emails or calls about when I could expect delivery of my items Delivery of the two pieces were made on March 2, 2013 but unfortunately the large chest that had been on back order since May 30, 2012 was damaged by the Trucking Company while in route to my residence. I was so upset by this that I called immediately to the store but being a Saturday, no office manager nor customer service rep were working. I spoke to a ***** who told me that he would get with Customer Service and someone would get back to me. Many emails later it was mid March and I was exchanging emails with the customer service rep Shane. I told him that I would again be leaving my home in a few days and would not be back until April 16, 2013. He issued my credit for the damaged piece and I figured that I would get a replacement piece when I returned. I get a call around April 4, 2013 from the trucking company Reliable Trucking wanting to deliver my chest the following Saturday. I was shocked as I had told the Customer Service rep that I would be away until April 16th. The trucking company had no idea of that as they were never informed by customer service of that fact. Today is May 3, 2013, I have still no delivery of my piece and I am being ignored by Furniture Geek. I have so many other things that have happened but not enough space to tell.

Business' Initial Response
Hello,

We do apologize for the horrible inconvenience of the time it has taken to get the order made whole. To be fair to everyone we list in our Terms and Conditions that we have our customers sign that delivery times and back orders are things that are out of control. When back orders occur we are unfortunately at the mercy of the manufacturer. I will contact the trucking company and update them with the information Mrs ******** has provided so that they are aware of the dates she will be out of town. I will request that they contact her this week and do everything I can to get them to schedule her this week. Thank you.

Shane ******
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have heard this before from Furniture Geek that they will contact the trucking company... Reliable Trucking. Today is May 9, 2013 and I have not received a telephone call telling me when the delivery will be made or that the chest has been inspected by Furniture Geek.

Furniture Geek did know that I was told by the deliver guys from Reliable that the chest was so badly damaged and they would not show it to me because I told them myself. I spoke to two different individuals at Furniture Geek....one being the day the chest was to be delivered.

Facts are, I did not order my furniture one year ago from Reliable Trucking....I ordered it from Furniture Geek. If Furniture Geek is having an issue with the trucking company, this has nothing to do with me. This is an internal problem. Get another trucking company to make delivery.

The damaged chest in question should be inspected by Furniture Geek and not left to be inspected by the Trucking Company. How many times to I have to say this....I ordered my furniture from Furniture Geek and not the trucking company. Until I receive this chest in new condition (I paid for new) and it is delivered to me, this issue will not be resolved.

Business' Final Response
Hello,

We do understand the frustration and I have informed the trucking company of all of ***'s information and have confirmed that they inspect this Chest before it leaves the warehouse. I'm not sure why the delivery drivers would have told her the damage was so bad and I'm being told it was just an issue with the door. There was clearly a miscommunication somewhere and again, we apologize for this frustration. I will contact the trucking company again today and get the owner of Reliable Trucking involved to get this taken care of.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Chair that was paid in full (over $1,300) was returned due to wrong leather color. Five months later - no refund of any kind was issued.
I will provide details and copies of everything when I get home. Will return to this later. Hope this can be saved?

Initial Business Response
Hello!

We pulled the invoice that Mrs. **** signed showing the item she signed for stating that she wanted, was in fact the same piece that was delivered. We checked all labels on the box to ensure that everything matched up with what she signed for stating she wanted, everything did. We never said we were keeping full refund and not sending the chair, the email I have shows where I offered her the 50% Re stocking fee to return the item or I could put the item back in routing to her area on the next truck out. To be fair to everyone we ask our customers to sign our Terms and Conditions and it states in the Terms and Conditions how re stocking fees are handled. Mrs **** also signed this stating she understood this. I can provide copies of all documentation with signatures if I need to. Please let me know. Thank you.

Sincerely,
***
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The chair was supposed to be delivered in a wine/burgundy color. The sales person was shown a link with a photo of the color I wanted and she described it as wine/burgundy in color over the phone. She knew it was important to me that it was not a dark brown as I already had the dark brown sofa and loveseat from Broyhill and the leather number color for that is different from the leather number color for this chair and ottoman. I feel because I was clear in what I wanted and the salesperson assured me it would be that color, I either should get a chair that color or a full refund. If the company did not carry that particular color, I should have been informed prior to shipping but that was not the case. The right thing to do would be to give me a full refund for not delivering exactly what I ordered.

I have proof of all my email responses and cannot seem to attach them here. I will gladly mail them to you.

Final Business Response
Customer has not been in contact with us, we've sent multiple e-mails stating her options and asking what she'd like us to do. We haven't gotten any reply. We are issuing back 50% of her purchase keeping 50% as a restocking fee per the terms and conditions she signed. We are closing this on our system. This will be done today March 28th 2013

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: A furniture set was ordered in March'12.An issue with the furniture order itself has not been resolved 7 months & a billing issue took 5mnths to resolve
I placed an order for bedroom furniture in 3/12. Issues arose about: 1)the actual furniture and 2)billing.
The Furniture Order: On 3/7/12 I ordered dark wood finish but changed it to white before the papers were sent out. When I received the paperwork,I looked it over,the correct furniture pieces were listed so I signed it and paid 1/2 of the costs. 4 weeks later I was informed that the furniture would be delivered as soon the remaining balance was paid so it was. Then the following:
*5/4/12- The furniture arrived in the cherry color. The delivery was refused.
*(name)(customer rep)was informed immediately.
Throughout May I was promised follow-up however, little was made. After 4 weeks I was told the president would help get the right furniture to me.
*6/5/12-(name) informed me that the codes (BBXX-XXX-XXX and BBXX-XXX)on the order confirmation I signed indicated the color cherry. The form has no key that indicates what these codes mean, nor a heading identifying that these codes reflect color.
*6/14/12-(name) indicated that he would see what can be done, spoke with the president who ok'd sale of the furniture to another customer.
*6/20/12 - After less than a week (name) told me that there was no luck in selling it so I had 2 choices: 1)take the cherry furniture or 2)pay restocking fee at 50% of the furniture cost.
*6/25/12 - I called the office to clarify and was able to change customer rep.
*6/25/12-today -Customer service from (name) included a few e-mails, nothing more.
*(name) ended production of the group of furniture that I had ordered. This information was not given to me by (name).
*9/10/12 Refund requested, was told that the fee would be 25% of cost.
*9/21-9/28/12 -During this week (name) reported that neither the original or secondary accounts would accept the attempt at refund.
*9/25/12 - No answer given by Shane when asked how much the refund is going to be.
*9/27/12 - During follow-up with the banks regarding their refusal for deposit,both indicated that there is no record of attempts made.
*At this time no refund has been received, nor is actual amount been reported.

The Billing Mistake
While the issues surrounding the actual furniture have been going on, there was an additional problem happening as well. It began in the beginning... when the cost in full was paid. When the furniture was ready and it was time to pay the remaining money owed I received an e-mail informing me that the account I used to pay the 1st half would be used again unless I contacted him by 12 noon the following day. I did e-mail him the change at 8 am on the following day. And these are the following events:
*4/11/12 - The original card was billed, resulting in overdraft fees.
*4/11/12 - An e-mail was sent to Shane informing him of the mistake and of the charges
*4/12/12 - The charge was changed to the correct account, but no discussion of the re-imbursement was initiated by Shane.
*4/26/12 - Information regarding the fees incurred was provided to Shane with a request for re-imbursement.
*5/20/12- A follow-up email was sent regarding the fees on with the amounts.
*6/25/12 - The customer rep was changed to (name)however, regarding the reimbursement, Shane was to continue working on that.
*7/25/12 - I asked to speak with the president or manager to reconcile this issue.
*7/26/12 - (name) refused the request indicating that is company policy for the president or managers to have communication with the costumers.
*8/3/12 - I was told that the reimbursement would show up on the credit card that night, no activity attempted on card was confirmed by the credit card company
*8/13/12 - I was told the reimbursement would need to be via check due to change in account number, and that that takes about 10 days.
*9/14/12 - One month later the reimbursement was received. It took 5 months, frequent follow-up and responding to duplicate requests for information 2-3 times on several issues.

Initial Business Response
Hello!

We apologize for the continuous issues. We know and understand that this whole process and ordeal has been very stressful and frustrating for everyone involved. The correct furniture was sent out according to the invoice that the customer signed but she contacted me and said that she had these items changed to a different finish. Working together with her we waived the 50% Re stocking fee and said we would make it a 25% Re stocking fee. For some reason the original card that was used to collect the balance would not take a refund onto the card. Customer said she had a different card we could run the refund on, when attempting that it wouldn't take the refund as well. I contacted customer to inform her of this and to make sure I had the correct card numbers. I will check with Global Transport and see what the problem is on getting the refund put back onto the card. If we can't get the refund to go through I will let Accounts Receivable know so that we can get a check cut and sent out. Thanks.

Shane

Final Consumer Response
I am sorry for the delay in response. The description presented by furnituregeek.com - "We were then made aware that she wanted to exchange the pieces for the same set but different color" is inacurate. It was a miscommunication based on the fact that there was no useful indicator/reference to color on the sign off sheet. This case is not closed in from my perspective. I received 50% of the cost not a full refund by the credit card. (I used 2 cards and only entered the process with 1) Once again, the Furnituregeek.com has been dishonest. They have told you that the reimbursement happened but it was only half of the cost. I am willing to pay for half of the freight bill... $226.50. I would like to be paid $650 for this to be closed. ******

Final Business Response
Hello!

We apologize for the wait and time it has taken to get the Mrs. ******* resolved. The furniture that arrived in was the furniture that she signed for and ordered. We were then made aware that she wanted to exchange the pieces for the same set but different color. Normally there would be a 50% re stocking fee per our Terms and Conditions but out of good faith we wanted to work with her and and agreed to return the items for a 25% re stocking fee and put the items she wanted on order. When trying to reimburse Mrs. ******* her card would not take the reimbursement. We notified her of this and attempted to put the reimbursement on a different card that she gave us but ran into the same issue. I contacted our Credit Card company for feedback and to see how we could get the money back onto her card. We then saw that Mrs. ******* made arrangements through her Credit Card company to do a charge back and get her money back this way. At the time the customer has been reimbursed and has her money.

Sincerely,
******
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X 106

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/29/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Berhardt Van Gogh Sectional for about $4000.00. A day after delivery I noticed some white paint and scratches on the back of the sofa. I called the company on 16 January 2012 and they said they would pick up the sofa and have it repaired. They did not pick it up until May. The cushion had been stained by that time. At no time did I try to deceived the company and have them fix the cushion. When asked about I told Shane that my wife caused the quarter sized stain cleaning up something that had spilled on it and reminded him my problem was the damage from deliver which was on the back of the sofa. He stated that it would be repaired. They have had the couch for 8 months now and nothing has been done. They promised to replace the couch with a new one and when that did not happened I asked for a refund and they agreed then reneged on that. We are back to square on about ordering the panels to fix the couch. I told them if they were going to return the couch I would take it at a 50% discount. What I most want is my money back or the couch repaired.I have all of the emails that confirm what has taken place over the past 11 months.
Product_Or_Service: 15 January 2012
Order_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX-XXX

Business' Initial Response
Hello!

We do apologize for the frustration this whole process has been and understand completely where Mr. ******** is coming from. The replacement was taking a good while to come in so we discussed refund, we could not honor full refund on the sofa since there was damage made in the home before the item was picked up. We are working with the trucking company to honor the customer the discount to keep the item as is, or see if this can be repaired in a timely manor and sent back out to the customer. Customer is notified and aware of this.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Customer Service Manager
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X 106

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will be satisfied once I get my full refund. They made this promise once before. I would like a suspense date for the payment.

Thanks *****

Business' Final Response
Hello!

We have gotten everything worked out with the trucking company and we are getting the customer refund together to be applied onto his card that was used to pay the balance on. We apologize for the time it has taken to get this resolved and will get this refund started right away.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Customer Service Rep
Furnituregeek.Com
XXX-XXX-XXXX X ***

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Page 1 of 2
09/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Placed order for furniture not delivered and now they are out of business.
Product_Or_Service: Night stand

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

08/20/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Ordered a Lane sectional last August, 2012. Received damaged free-standing sofa instead and owner promised to order new correct sofa but didn't
Placed an order for a lane sectional comprising of a loveseat, corner unit, sofa and a freestanding rocker/recliner in August, 2012 through a customer service rep over the phone, as we live in California. We received the loveseat and corner unit, but the sofa was a freestanding sofa and it arrived sliced up in the back. The delivery guys were on the phone for well over an hour with Furniture Geek to try to get the correct sofa ordered and we were promised that the correct sofa was ordered. We waited several months only to find out that someone dropped the ball. I filed a complaint with BBB around May, 2013 to try to get this situation resolved, and the owner of Furniture Geek called me to tell me he was sorry and that he ordered the correct sofa and that he didn't know we were having issues with customer service. That was in May. I tried emailing the owner again to find out the status of our order and he will not return emails or phone calls. We are out over $2,000 for a sectional that's virtually useless without the correct sofa. I have also contacted Lane via email and they don't want to get involved with dealers' issues. We want someone to contact us to explain why we still haven't received the correct sofa. We've been more than patient on this matter, waiting exactly one year since time of original order.

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I ordered nitestands and paid half with my credit card and never received the furniture or a refund.
I placed the order 2/6/13 with a promised delivery date of 2 to 3 months. I paid $302.50 with credit card and rest was due upon receipt of furniture, 2 Broyhill nitestands, XXXX-XXX qty 2 ea. I placed the Order with their online website Furnituregeek.com. May 1 I spoke with Clyde Padget on May 1 about delivery and they had not been received yet from the Manufacturer. I never got any more information from them about delivery date. I tried calling them in July and found out they have went into bankruptcy.

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: This company tried to push me a used, stained sofa that they initially claimed was new. This led to numerous false claims from their owner, ******.
I purchased a bedroom set and a sofa from this company in early May. I received correspondence from ***** ******* that the sofa was on back order but have a "new sofa in perfect shape" that I could get sooner for an additional $300. Not wanting to delay the bedroom I agreed to it. Our furniture was delivered on 6/29, but no sofa. Furniture Geek acted very surprised as to why the sofa wasn't delivered and tried to pin it on the delivery company, D&D Delivery. Thankfully the honesty of D&D saved me the headache of trying to deal with the crooks at Bo Smith, specifically ****** ******. Turns out that the that D&D refused to deliver the couch was that they discovered a poker chip and playing card in the cushion and a huge "water stain". Upon confronting ****** on this, D&D was told that I was aware of the stain and got the couch at a discount. All of this is false as I have documentation stating that the couch is "new and perfect". While I know this company is thankfully out of business and this may may not be seen by them, I hope it can at least serve as a warning for future customers who may come across ****** ****** and his shady, fraudulent business practices.

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

08/08/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of services

Complaint: I ordered the Kincaid Homecoming collection 8/24/12 took partial delivery 12/23/12 still waiting for king size sleigh bed - paid in full.
I ordered the Kincaid Homecoming collection 8/24/12 with half paid withing the 1st month, total was paid by 10/12. I took partial delivery 12/23/12 still waiting for king size sleigh bed. I have been corresponding with company via phone/email. I have an email from them on July X XXXX that tells me to expect delivery week of July 15, 2013. I called today to follow up and have learned that they are out of business. This was a wedding present I bought for my husband & I.

Complaint Resolution: Company has filed bankruptcy.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture-Retail, Furniture Manufacturers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.