BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Member Services Group, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 249-2820Fax: (843) 249-2942PO Box 1143, Little RiverSC 29566

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Member Services Group, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Member Services Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company used deceptive and dishonest sales practices.
In February of last year we were approached in St. Thomas by a young man. We played the scratch off game with him and were told we won two cruises. He took us to a room where we listened to your sales people and joined Island Lifestyle Travel and paid $2,393.00 on February 17, 2014. We were told we would have to pay taxes and minimal fees to redeem our free cruises. When were tried to redeem them, we were told we needed to send in $4.95 fee and a validation form. Once that was received, we would receive a packet of information. We received the packet, it was asking for another $100.00 and an activation form to fill out and mail in. We called ****** ******** and explained to him that this was a complimentary cruise and there should be no other costs associated with it except for the taxes and a small fee. He advised us to contact ****** to redeem our cruise. ****** confirmed that we would be responsible for the taxes and processing fee and once that was received, we would get the information needed to redeem our cruise. That was done on May 14, 2014. On May 30, 2014, we received an email from **** at Travel Service Center with an activation number, activation date and the steps to redeem our cruise. We followed the steps provided and received a "Cruise Quote" from ******* at Travel Service Center. The Quote was for $427.19 per person, which included NCFs, government taxes, plus a $99.00 per person processing fee. However, "there could be additional surcharges in addition to that." We checked that against Carnival Cruise Line's website to see how complimentary this was and they had the same price listed as this one. However, their taxes, fees, and port expenses were only $217.70. We immediately called the bank and stopped payment on the $100.00 check that was written. We have also been in contact with your company to purchase vacation weeks. The cost quoted to us at the sales pitch was $299.00 to $699.00 per week. When we called to schedule our vacation week, they quoted us $899.00 per week. They also said if we wanted something less expensive to try the "short notice" weeks that came with our membership. Two to three weeks prior to our August vacation, we contacted the company to schedule a week from the "short notice" specials. We didn't have a specific place we wanted to go so we gave them six states to choose from for the week. They didn't have anything available in the six states we mentioned. Due to the deceptive and dishonest practices of this company and the fact that we have not received anything from this membership as promised, we are requesting a refund in the sum of $2,393.00. I have attached a copy of the welcome email sent on February 20, 2014 from Island Lifestyle Travel and Member Services Group.

Desired Settlement
Purchase Price: $1,995.00, Documentation Fee: $199.00, Annual Membership Fee: $199.00 for a total of $2,393.00.

Business Response
On Tue, Sep 23, 2014 at 10:48 AM, ***** <*****> wrote:

Regarding complaint #XXXXXXXX, this is the same person that has filed complaints before under ***** & S ****** and the complaint was sent to ****** ********** This one should also go there as it is the same complaint. They bought from ****** ********* and if they want a refund they are going to have to get it from them. We have not sold them anything and we will not sell them anything. I have sent ****** ************ address in St Thomas to you before but if you don't have it let me know and I will get it for you. Their address is not in SC and their office is not in SC, it is however in St Thomas and if it is going to get to them it will need to go there. If these people would be this persistent with the correct company they might could get somewhere.

Let me know if you need anything else on this.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Fulfillment Services, Resorts-Vacation Time Share

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/04/2009Business started: 04/13/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2006, SC

Business Management
Principal: Harry Chapman (Service Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Nancy Maedl (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fulfillment Services, Resorts-Vacation Time Share

Products & Services

This company offers wholesale vacations specializing in condo vacations, cruises and air/land packages. This company provides wholesale vacations to travel companies and travel agencies who in turn resale to clients.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Member Services Group, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

3 Locations

  • 119 Pinnacle Place 

    Little River, SC 29566

  • PO Box 1143 

    Little River, SC 29566Fax: (843) 249-2942

  • PO Box 2096 

    Little River, SC 29566-2096(866) 901-2111
    (800) 769-2794
    (843) 249-2820

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Member Services Group, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Fulfillment Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.