BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2011

Highland Construction

Phone: (910) 485-6738Fax: (910) 485-24691409 Clinton Rd, FayettevilleNC 28312-5370 Send email to Highland Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/2011

BBB has determined that Highland Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Highland Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Highland Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
work done for fire restoration was suppose to be new construction but has several issues that are not being addressed. I'm being told they cant fix it.
Sept 1, 2012 a lighting strike to my condo caused total reconstruction. highland construction took on the project to rebuild/reconstruct my condo along with a couple others units in my building. i have had issues with getting them to do work in a timely matter (as they point blame on others, ie. building inspector or insurance company). i have meet with highland numerous times to take care of some minor issues, ie. paint, nail pops, and grout cracks. they are now telling me they can't fix things. however, they have known for over a month that the seal on my front/main door sticks so bad that you have to put your weight into it to open it, the seal around the main door is not good and you can see light around the door, my dishwasher is not working, paint/caulk all over the baseboards, gouges in drywall and nail heads popping out. they have also said they would take care of things but when asked when it will be done they back out and tell me to call my insurance company, ie. window blinds.

Desired Settlement
for the issues to be fixed properly or allow me to get the issues taken cared of properly and bill them.

Business Response
I regret that the Unit Owner has had issues to deal with regarding the rebuild of her condo unit from a fire. The Unit Owner's Homeowners Association (HOA) hired us to make the repairs to the unit. As the Unit Owner has stated there have been delays. Unfortunately, the Unit Owner is not aware of the business end of what it takes work out the claim settlement with the insurance company. The insurance company was slow to react and when they did their settlement offer was not enough to rebuild the property. The HOA had to hire a Public Adjuster who negotiated on their behalf. The process took around 3 months which time the project was stopped. Because of this I understand her frustrations. This time delay was out of our control.

The minor workmanship issues the Unit Owner mentioned have been addressed or are being addressed. The front entry door is an ongoing issue and we will attempt to adjust it. If we can not successfully adjust it we will remove it and re-install it or replace it. As far as the window blinds are concerned, this was not part of the insurance claim. The window blinds were part of the individual Unit Owners personal property such as their furniture and clothing are. This has been explained to the Unit Owner. The dishwasher was function all the time. The Unit Owner was not aware she had to turn the wall switch on to make it operate.

It is our desire to restore the property to as good as or better than it was the day before the fire happened. We will continue to work with the Unit Owner to correct any issues that are related to the fire loss rebuild.

04/09/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After house fire, Highland was hired to perform restoration to our home from roof to dirt.After pressure and water damage sub floors were not replaced.
As described earlier, after a house fire Nationwide insurance agreed to contract Highland Construction to perform the restoration of everything in our home which included everything except the roof, being that the fire didn't break through it. However everything underneath it, all the way to the dirt was to be replaced. It took Highland 9 months to perform the repairs and when Nationwide Insurance paid the claim to Highland (over $96,000), and myself and my family finally got back into our home, within just a few months, our hardwood floors began to buckle. We repeatedly contacted Highland to honor their commitment to quality service but they were more than reluctant to respond. Finally, after approximately 7 months, two guys came and tore up two small sections of the flooring and replaced them. On this day, the two guys left wet varnish on the floor and I inadvertently stepped in it, slipped down my garage steps onto the concrete, ripping ligaments, tendons, and muscle from the top of my right knee, as well as tearing my rotator cuff in my right shoulder. I was totally incapacitated on my right side. After two surgeries, I spent 21 days in the hospital and over four months out of work. Highland has never called or come to our home since that day in January 2008. The floors continued to buckle to the point that we finally had to contract a flooring company to come and put new flooring down. After the bad experience with the hardwood, we decided to just lay vinyl flooring. When the flooring folks began the job of ripping out the hardwood flooring they discovered that NONE of the sub flooring had been replaced...that the hardwood had just been laid down on top of what had been exposed to heat, pressure, and water. They even took paper towels and soaked up water that had been trapped for, by then, over three years!!! And upon removing the sub floor they discovered that the water had even affected the rafters and cross beams at the foundation. Before the fire, we had our HVAC vents in the floor but when the home was to be repaired we requested that the vents be placed in the ceiling. In the places where the vents were in the floor, Highland had simply cut out small pieces of plywood and placed them in the holes where the vents had been. Against the old wet, rippled, moldy sub flooring, they stuck out like a "sore thumb"! I have photos of all the underlying damage to include the old sub flooring, the patches for the vents, and the damage to the rafters and cross beams. IF THIS IS NOT POOR BUSINESS PRACTICE THEN THERE IS NO STANDARD AT ALL!!!

Desired Settlement
I would like to be paid the money it cost us to have the entire flooring replaced (which should have been done in the beginning), the total of which is approximately $6,600. I would ask for medical expenses due to my injuries, but I feel that this would be best handled through litigation.

Business' Initial Response
Highland was hired to perform restoration and repair damages occurring as a result of a fire. The scope of work was written and directed by the homeowners insurance company, Nationwide. Nationwide Insurance did not hire Highland, the homeowner hired Highland. The scope of work was not roof to dirt as indicated by the homeowner. Highland did respond to a complaint of buckled hardwood floors long after the completion of the work. Our inspection found that the buckling was not related to the fire loss.

This project was started at the end of 2006 and completed around May of 2007. We have not heard until this complaint that the homeowner slipped and fell. As far as the homeowner putting in new flooring and discovering that sub-floor had not been replaced, we recommend that they review their estimate copy and see what the work order dictated. All of the sub-floor was not to be replaced as indicated by the homeowner.

We do regret that the homeowner is not happy with the end result. Highland Construction prides itself on customer service and quality work. Unfortunately, sometimes the contractor gets caught in the middle between the expectations of the homeowner and the restrictions of the insurance policy. We work for the homeowner and do our best to assist them with their insurance claim. Insurance will only pay for damage related to the incident. Many times a fire restoration project will turn into a renovation project when the homeowner decides to make additional improvements beyond the insurance claim or pre-existing problems are uncovered.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Contractors- Flooring, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment-Household, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Remodeling Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors-General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/27/2007Business started: 11/08/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing BD S C
110 Centerview Drive P O BOx 11329
Columbia, SC29211-1329
(803) 896-4686
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Contractors/

NC Contractor's Licensing Board
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1985, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenny Strickland (President)Ms. Sandy Ammons (Marketing Director)Ms. Alex Lover (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Contractors- Flooring, Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment-Household, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Remodeling Services, Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Contractors-General

Products & Services

Highland Construction offers Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Alternate Business Names
G.L. Strickland, Inc., HCI Cabinets
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Highland Construction

1409 Clinton Rd

Fayetteville, NC 28312-5370

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1409 Clinton Rd 

    Fayetteville, NC 28312-5370(910) 485-6738

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Highland Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.