BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2008

Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 369-2211Fax: (843) 369-6040View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 119, ConwaySC 29528-0119 Send email to Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2008

BBB has determined that Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Absurd charges for small electric usage
I think we have a faulty meter and Horry Electric has refused to respond and told us "the box is fine contact your landlord about your cooling/heating system." We are getting charged 7.00 a day and we use no lights and our air conditioning system is set to 75 degrees. We have no washer or dryer (even though an employee tried to suggest that could add to our bill then was silent when we said we didn't have a washer or dryer.) I have a health condition with blood pressure that requires me to have adequate cooling. We are planning to move to a ****** ****** service area because Horry Electric has a monopoly here and they charge twice as much as people we know who have ****** *******

Desired Settlement
We want our meter replaced because there is no way we are using as much electric as it shows.

Business Response
I apologize for the delay in response. I just received this complaint today, August 11, 2014 at 3:43pm. Ms. ******* called HEC on 6/26/14 and questioned the cost per day that she was being charged on her pay as you go account. We informed Ms. ******* that the meter is reading daily and we are receiving no errors that the meter is faulty. She explained to a CSR that her a/c is set at 75 but it "changes on its own" and she doesn't know why. The CSR advised her to contact her landlord if she thinks there is a problem with her thermostat because that could cause and increase in power consumption. The meter is read daily and the cost is subtracted from the account balance. The use varies daily depending on the lifestyle of the residents, but the average daily use for this account is $4.85. A daily facility charge is included which is $0.56 per day. June 26, 2014 is the only communication HEC has had with Ms. ******* about use at this residence since January 24, 2014. Please let me know if there is any further information you need. Thank you, **** ******* Manager of Office Services

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On Tuesday March 26,2014 I arrived home at 2215 and my lights were disconnected so I waited for a few and when my daughter started complaining that
her head was hurting I immediately called the on call ppl because my daughter was born with hydrocephalus and she can not stand heat.When I called them I tried to explain to the gentleman that my bill was paid but he was so rude to me and when I tried to explain to him the situation he told me to take it up with customer service Wed.Well around 2:30 a.m. my daughter had a seizure because it was so hot in that apartment. I called on Wed.4/27/14 around 9:00 and spoke with a lady and she tried to tell me at first that I had not paid my bill since March but I kept telling her I paid it and gave her the amount with the check number so she put me on hold and finally came back and said that it was paid and would pay all charges to have it reconnected. Since this has happened my daughter has had two seizures since this.I have always wrote in the memo section the address and apartment # unless I get online. I just can't believe this and the way they treat you is unreal.I have already spoke with someone in reference to this situation.

Desired Settlement
I wound like to be compensated for this at least for my two daughters because I am able to take it.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the error that resulted in disconnection of service on 4/29 for Ms. *******. The payment she made on her account was incorrectly applied to another apartment number at the same location address.

We have reviewed the phone calls between Ms. ******* and the employees at HEC related to the disconnection of service. The gentleman to whom she spoke after business hours does not have full access to the system and was only able to go by the payment history on her account. He very politely, but firmly, attempted to explain this to Ms. ******* and advised her to call during regular business hours to straighten things out with the service department. Ms. ******* was understandably upset and she hung up on him.

We are very sorry her daughter suffered a seizure the evening of 4/29. No mention of her daughter's medical condition was made during the conversation and the account was not noted in the system as having a Special Needs Account Member Certification form attached to it.

The CSR Ms. ******* spoke to during business hours on 4/30 was able to search the system in greater detail than the employee who was working the outage line the previous evening. After asking Ms. ******* a lot of questions and going through the system to try to figure out what may have happened, she finally discovered the error. The CSR took action to correct the error and the service was reconnected. She apologized for the error and advised Ms. ******* that all fees and charges related to disconnection and same day reconnection had been waived.

The BBB complaint was filed on 5/5. On 5/23, the service was disconnected at the request of Ms. *******.

If Ms. ******* applies for service and once again becomes a member of Horry Electric Cooperative, we encourage her to secure certification for a Special Needs Account. Certifications are valid for 91 days from the date of the signature of a licensed health care provider. It is the responsibility of the member to renew certification by obtaining the appropriate signatures on a new certification form and submitting it to the cooperative.

We are unable to satisfy Ms. *******'s desire to be compensated for the error other than the waiver of fees already provided.

11/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Ran my credit without my permission and requires me to put another 250 deposit even though I have excellent credit. This business is shameful.
I called the electric company to switch the power to my new apartment. I thought everything was good until my electric was turned off. I had to pay a reconnect fee as if I was someone who did not pay their bill on time. I spoke to a Mr. ****** from Horry Electric but he seemed only interested in getting my fee. My fiancé went to the Horry Electric in Socastee branch to pay the bill and get the electric switched to her name. They told her that the electric bill was still in my name and everything was switched. I checked the mail tonight and Horry Electric ran my check without my permission and requiring me to put down a $250 deposit. I never asked them to run my credit nor did I ask to have the bill in my name. This company is monopoly and controls this area and I have no choice but to deal with them. They also have marketing notice that says " If you want to write a letter to our owner, you better have your pencil sharpen cause you will have to write all our member's name and number". I asked Mr. ****** for the names and number and he explained that was just a marketing campaign. I should have the right to have each members name and number according this marketing campaign. I am sick in tired of this company and the unethical business practice they display. I wish this organization will listen my words and take them to heart. Understand that this company prices fixes and controls the market. When I asked Mr. ****** for the price at which his company get the electric for, He answered by saying I could not have this information. Now why cant I get this information. They purchase their electric from Santee Cooper and they know they control the price. Now that sounds like price fixing to me. Please do something about this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see my deposit waived and answer why this company is allowed to control a particular market.

Business Response
We have reviewed the information on the account and our notes with regard to the service at the location in question and have found the following:

9/12/13 during office hours: Service was disconnected at the location in question by the party responsible for the account.
9/12/13 after hours, Mr. ******* called and talked to system control to get his service reconnected. Because he was a new applicant for that location, the employee followed protocol for establishing a new service. All members are required to pay membership, application and connection fees at the time service is initiated. The application process includes a credit check. Additional fees are charged for connections after hours.

Mr. ******* objects to the charges and states he had called the previous week to establish service in his name. All phone calls in and out of the service department are recorded. Upon listening to all recorded conversations from the telephone number on Mr.*******'s account none of the calls proved a request for service connection. In addition, we have offered to go through all phone calls to or from any other numbers he can provide that he may have used to make such a request. He has not provided us with any numbers as of today.

The 'marketing campaign' to which the member refers is simply a message that is played while members are on hold, waiting for a service representative to handle their call. Electric cooperatives are owned by the members they serve. If you want to talk to the 'owner' of a cooperative, you figuratively would have to communicate with everyone who is served by the cooperative. Literally, it's not necessary. Members are represented by fellow member/owners on the board of trustees. These representatives are elected by the membership at the Annual Meeting of Members. Our membership list is confidential and not available for distribution. We respect the privacy of our members.

With regard to rates, Mr. ******* said he explained rate design to Mr. ******* and would be more than glad to do so again.

Horry Electric employees followed standard protocol in connecting Mr. *******'s account. The member has not provided us with a phone number so the matter can be further researched, yet we agreed to reduce the after hours fees by half. Based on credit history, a $250 deposit is required for service and was also waived as a courtesy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/29/2005Business started: 04/04/1940
Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1940, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel B. Shelley, III (Chief Financial Officer)Customer Contact: Mr. James P. Howle (Executive Vice President)Ms. Penelope Hinson (Public Relations)Mrs. Jodi Jordan (Manager of Office Service)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Electric cooperative. Providing electric service to member/owners in Horry County


2 Locations

  • 2774 Cultra Rd 

    Conway, SC 29526-3702(843) 369-2211

  • PO Box 119 

    Conway, SC 29528-0119(843) 369-2212
    Fax: (843) 369-6040

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Horry Electric Cooperative, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (843) 369-2212

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Electric Companies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.