BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

DentalWorks

(910) 864-5100View Additional Phone Numbers5075 Morganton Rd Ste 12, FayettevilleNC 28314-1542http://www.dentalworks.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

DentalWorks is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised DentalWorks' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: We were charged twice for the same service in error, my insurance would not pay for error so it was billed to me the customer.
My wife had her wisdom teeth removed in Sep 2013, I paid in full and in cash for all services on the day of surgery. On my bill there was two charges for the same service. My insurance was billed twice for the service, but I had only paid once for my portion of the bill. When I addressed the issue with Dental Works they apologized for billing my insurance twice for the same service. I asked about my portion of the bill ($56) because I thought I had paid twice. The clerk stated that I had not paid twice so all was well. I then received a bill for $56 dollars for my wife's wisdom teeth surgery. In Nov 13 I went in to Dental Works and they got on the phone with their main office in Ohio and fixed the problem. Dec 13 I received another bill for $56 from Dental Works - again I went in to talk to the manager at Dental Works and again they called Ohio and fixed it. My wife went in Jan 13 for some work and she was reminded that she owed money by the clerk at Dental Works - when she explained her story, the clerk looked in the notes and found that the problem should have been fixed but was not and again got the manager involved and called Ohio again and fixed the issue. My daughter then went in for some work and she was told that we owed money, again $56 dollars. My daughter called me and I spoke to the manager about the issue and again they read the file and again they called Ohio to fix the issue. In the mean time I received another bill again asking me to pay $56 dollars and again I called this time I called myself to Ohio, they told me they had to call the Dental Works office themselves and would call me back, they did and they (Ohio office) said I should not worry about it. Yesterday I got a call from a collection agency, very rude lady telling me I had to pay up. I told her that I did not owe the money and that I had offered to pay the money while dental works fixed their collections problem. She said that did not matter that I had being referred to collections and will get bad credit because I had not paid. I immediately called Dental Works office in Ohio and spoke to them about the issue. They said they had to call the Dental Works office and confirm that I had had a problem for 8 months which Dental Works confirmed and told the Ohio office that I should not pay. The Ohio office called me back and confirmed that I should not pay. Then I got a letter in the mail from collections again for the $56. That is when I decided to write this complaint. I went to the Dental Works office and forced them to take my $56 dollars to avoid getting bad credit (currently have over 800 credit score). I have had them cancel all of my future appointments for me and my family. I think that Dental Works is an unethical business who in my case was trying to give me bad credit due to an error on their part. They double billed my insurance in hopes to get more money and when my insurance did not pay they passed the error to me and expected me to pay for it. They are stealing money from consumers and when they don't collect they refer consumers to collection agencies to collect money that was never owed and if you resist they give you a bad credit rating!! WOW I did not know that this could happen in the United States and be allowed to do it. I have paid the money I did not owe in fear that my credit score would be affected - so Dental Works has stolen $56 from me and no one is doing anything about it!!!! How unethical is that - legal robbery is what it is.

Initial Business Response
08/15/13 Claim for 9920 billed twice denied, we refilled insurance.
08/29/13 We realized the same code was charged out twice and asked HO to please negative produce. HO responded and said it has been done.
09/04/13 We recharged out correct code 9221 to insurance company and placed a note saying it was from dos: 08/08/13.
09/09/13 HO placed a notation stating that the negative production has been done from the 9220 and they placed the money insurance paid in the amount of $236.00 into a CBA, so the practice would not think it is a patient credit on the account.
11/06/13 HO contacted the insurance company and the Rep. stated that the insurance corrected claim for the 9221 is "stuck in pending" and will be sent back through to expedite the payment.
12/10/13 HO spoke to insurance Rep. which stated the corrected claim for the 9221 is still pending and will be sent back through to process again.
02/21/14 corrected claim for 9921 was denied due to not filing with an OS claim. HO sent it back through stating the original DOS was for 08/08/13 along with extractions, which was originally noted by ***** ** in the transaction notes section to be noted when the claim was sent.
04/23/14 patient was sent to collections for corrected claim not being paid yet
04/30/14 ***** ** placed a comlog stating that the claim is still waiting to be completed She placed the account on hold and asked that the patient please be removed from collections.
05/01/14 Patient contacted HO and was upset that he got sent to collections for something that should have been fixed with his insurance company. HO contacted insurance company and they wanted a claim faxed to them stating that we bill out twice for the 9220 and should have billed out for the 9221. The patient paid the $56.00 (which he should not have)

I contacted the patient and apologized to the wife (she is the one who paid the balance on 05/01/14) I refunded her the $56.00 that she paid on 05/01/14 and told her I would be removing the charges and send her a statement along with a copy of her refunded receipt where everything was taken care of. She was very nice and understanding. Her husband is the one who wrote the BBB and she said she will have him call me back. I have not heard anything from him yet.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Asked several times in person and via certified letter to reimburse "Care Credit" and to correct billing mistake.

First visit on 2/23/12--paid out of pocket, yet initially agreed to apply for Care Credit for further treatment. Also received 1st half of deep cleaning.

2/24/12: Dropped of letter voicing doubt re. treatment beyond deep cleaning and stated my wish not to use Care Credit (I had discovered an error on the application re. the actual treatment cost). I offered to pay out of pocket instead. Was told the Office Manager would not be in till 2/27; front staff signed copy of said letter as my receipt; also closed Care Credit account with credit card company.

Stopped by on 2/27 to remind that Office Manager was given a note--but could not see the lady. I was promised everything would be taken care of upon my next visit on 2/28.

On 2/28 I had 2nd half of deep cleaning done and paid for entire cleaning out of pocket; again had front staff and hygienist inform office manager. Another billing mistake was discovered (first visit was charged toward Care Credit and my bank card!)and supposedly needed to be fixed--I was told I would get a call when Care Credit was reimbursed and billing error was fixed (never happened).
Cancelled any and all further services and/or agreements with this office via certified letter/return receipt requested on third business day of original agreement--again no reply.

3/7/12: Called office asking to make appointment with o. manager-was told I would receive call from manager herself--again, nothing happened.

3/8/12: Went by office asking for progress--front staff informed me that she could not find any note that reimbursement was to take place on the pc; another promise of a call--nothing so far (it is 6 pm).

Would like closure on the issue described above:
DentalWorks has been paid for services rendered and is "holding" the sum of $2665 through Care Credit. I have proof of everything mentioned above as well.

Business' Initial Response
Patient was refunded 3/10/12 to her Care Credit Account.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello:

Just wanted to add that a) yes, I received a refund--but only after I threatened with the American Dental Association and a lawyer and b) I am still waiting for a copy of my records--to include better x-rays

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I was charged for xrays that I did not authorize for my children and for myself. (name)did not submit a claim to insurance for my xrays.
On 4/13/2012 I(name) was seen for a routine exam. I had a good experience with the hygienist and the dentist. However, the billing department has never billed (name) for the xrays that I had taken. When I received a bill saying that I owed for the xrays, I contacted (name) asking why the xrays were not paid. I was informed by United Concordia that a bill for the xrays was not submitted to them.

In August of 2012 my children were seen for routine exams. I was never asked about what types of services I would like done or if my children had previously had panoramic xrays done. But because of my experience at previous dentist offices, I assumed that the staff had already checked this information and knew that my children had panoramic xrays taken.

Once again I get a bill for xrays. This time the claim is being denied because my children had already had panoramic pictures taken in the allowed time frame to be covered by insurance. I am now being charged for xrays that I did not authorize (name) to take.

I am being billed 74.00 for my xrays. This bill would be covered by insurance if they would submit the claim. I have emailed with their billing department several times and Dental Works still has not submitted the claim to insurance.

I am also being billed for 2 of my children to have panoramic xrays taken when I did not authorize (name) to retake those pictures.

Initial Business Response
We have gone ahead and filed the Full mouth Xray for *******, date of service 4/13/12. As for ******* and ******, we filed both patients xrays and they were denied for frequency from the insurance company. Ms. ******* should receive an Explanation of Benefits from her insurance company once the claim is processed for her xrays. thank you.

Final Business Response
Regarding ******* and ******'s Panoramic xrays...we are writing off 91.00 for each patient as a courtesy. Panoramic xrays are always part of the New Patient Visit, however if the patient wasnt told of that, we will credit the account. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/10/2012 I was scheduled to have four wisdom teeth extracted. The day prior to the extraction 05/09/2012 I called the office to get information as to what I should expect on the day of the extraction. I was told by the receptionist that Dr. xxx would perform the extraction, my question to her was would I be given any anesthesia, she replied the doctor can prescribe you medication to relax you and during the procedure I would be numbed and would feel no pain. I was prescribed one pill Triazolam 0.25 milligram and was advised to take it one hour before the extraction. On the day of the extraction I took the medication one hour prior as prescribed and went to my appointment. I arrived and that is when the extraction went wrong. Dr. xxx attempted to extract my top right wisdom tooth first, his attempt failed causing him to leave the root of the tooth still intact. Dr. then proceeded to extract the bottom right wisdom tooth which he broke off a portion of the tooth and couldn't complete the procedure. After his failed attempts to successfully remove the teeth he stated to me that he broke a sweat trying to remove my teeth and said that I was a trooper for hanging in there. During his attempts I have to say that was one of the most horrific experiences I have ever encountered. It was painful to say the least and the medication that I was prescribed had no affect on me. Dr. xxx was supposed to extract all four wisdom teeth however he decided not to continue with the extraction informing me that he was referring me to another doctor that had smaller tools that could get my teeth out. I was scheduled to return on Saturday 05/12/2012. On 05/11/2012 I called the office informing the office that I would have to be asleep during the next procedure because I was in to much pain and could barely open my mouth, at which time I was advised that I was going be seeing an oral surgeon because my teeth had to be surgically removed. When I saw the Oral Surgeon he had the surgically remove three teeth the two left teeth and the root of the top right tooth and he had to clean out the bottom right remains of the tooth that was left. The oral surgeon mentioned that he didn't understand why the doctor attempted to extract the teeth. My xrays showed how impacted the teeth were and should have been surgically removed by an oral surgeon from day 1.

Business' Initial Response
Please have the patient sign a HIPAA Release so that I can discuss the case with you. Our goal is always to exceed our patients expectations and we will do everything we can, once we have her written approval to discuss.. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The hippa release form has been forwarded to you at the email address provided @ 1:07pm eastern time. Thanks

Business' Final Response
Patient was seen at the practice 6/18 and met with the Senior Leader of Operations to review her bill and her explanation of benefits. Patient cancelled her appointment with the Oral Surgeon for the 30th and has not rescheduled. We will be reaching out to get her scheduled ASAP but certainly at her convenience. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/18/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: The dentist told me that I had significant tooth decay, requiring $3,928 of work. A second opinion revealed no decay and no need for work.
On January 24, 2012, I met at the Dental Works office for a regular cleaning. After the cleaning, the dentist (name not included on paperwork) met with me one-on-one to explain that I had significant decay. He recommended 12 teeth for significant work, including porcelain onlays, porcelain crowns an occlusal guard and various fillings detailed in treatment plan (provided upon request). The work totaled $3,928 over four sessions.

I went to another dentist (Dr. , 115 Bradford Ave) in Fayetteville who provided a second opinion on May 2, 2012. He concluded that my teeth had no decay requiring work of any sort.

Business' Initial Response
I have informed Dr. Perry of the patients request and we will be reaching out to schedule an appointment. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
Thank you for the information. We have reached out to the patient to have him come in and discuss his concerns so that we can address them and meet his expectations. Mr. ****** has not returned our calls at this point.

Thank you,
Anne

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
06/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Performing services stating the services are covered by insurance and not doing pre-qualifications
Daughter went in for cleaning. They recommended scaling. They were instructed when the apt was set that no services other than a general cleaning was to be performed unless I was notified first. Tech called stating she recommended a scaling for my daughter. I asked if she had contacted my insurance carrier to see if the insurance carrier would cover it. I was told yes that she had just called them. Based on that information I said OK. The insurance company declined coverage stating that it was not needed nor was a preauthorize was done. When we received the bill I called the office and spoke to the office manager ****** explaining the was the second time that this has happened (Dental Works performing services that are not covered after telling us they are) The last time they gave a fluoride treatment that was not covered. When I set up the appointment I was very vocal that I would not pay for a service that was not covered by insurance so they needed to make sure it was covered. ** said they understood. At the time of the apt ** provided our cost was to be $56. The $56 was paid the date of services. After I received the bill for over $1200 ****** stated she would wave the charges because we were told it was covered when it was not. I understand its an estimate but when the estimate contains false information the estimate cannot be considered valid. ****** agreed and stated again she would waive the fees. This planing was done in 7/2013. ** keeps billing the insurance company 8/1/13 10/3/2013 1/30/14 Each time it has been denied. I received a bill in the mail today 5/19/14 with a balance due. Called the # on the bill and was told ** had submitted the charges to the insurance company again on 5/5/14.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/02/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: The inferior service performed by this dental chain left me in extreme pain and discomfort, creating an excessive problem that may require surgery.
Upon my arrival to DentalWorks on May 23, 2012, the office workers were confused as to what procedure was scheduled for me. I had to wait while they checked with an actual doctor, who also holds a business degree, which is great for this dental chain whose primary concern is profit instead of the welfare of their patients. For my dental x-ray, they did not put the protective lead apron on my person. Dr. **** of Dental Works was supposed to simply remove my temporary crown and replace it with a permanent one. The permanent one did not fit properly. Instead of ordering another permanent crown, the doctor chose to burn my gum line with a laser. Generaly, the procedure of switching out crowns should only take approximately 30 minutes. I was suffering an undue amount of pain in excess of 3 hours. I will never go to any dentalworks office again, nor would I recommend it to my worst enemy.

Business' Initial Response
I have contacted the doctor partners for their review and will have a response within 2-3 business days. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After numerous attempts to contact xcxxxx with out a return phone call, I called again on the 17th of July, 2012. At that time, she stated that no payment was due and in fact a credit was owed to me. However, she would discuss this further with Dr. ****. On the 18th of July, I spoke with Dr. **** of Dental Works. He stated that I owed them $1,150.00 which is in complete contradiction of all previous statements regarding this issue.

Business' Final Response
We have attempted to contact the patient to resolve this concern but have been unable to reach them.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/12/2010Business started: 01/01/1981Business started locally: 01/01/2007
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC State Board of Dentistry
110 Centerview Dr
Columbia, SC29210-8432
(803) 896-4599
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Dentistry

BBB records show a license number of 8549 for this company.

Type: NC State Board of Dental Examiners

Check License Status: www.ncdentalboard.org8549

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Beth Smith (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

102

Business Category

Dentists

Alternate Business Names
Drs.Cameron and Roman I, PA

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DentalWorks

5075 Morganton Rd Ste 12

Fayetteville, NC 28314-1542

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5075 Morganton Rd Ste 12 

    Fayetteville, NC 28314-1542(910) 864-5100
    (866) 892-9274

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DentalWorks is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 892-9274
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.