BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1989

Sexton Dental Clinic Inc.

Phone: (843) 662-2543Fax: (843) 656-1949

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: 2014/3/25 QQ see attached

Initial Business Response
2014/3/26 QQ see pdf

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
2014/4/21 QQ spoke with the consumer -- They are waiting to meet with the business and stated that they will be in touch once more information is received.

Final Consumer Response
2014/4/22 QQ consumer stated that the complaint issue has been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: This company uses bait and switch tactics with their services and treat customers poorly
On Sunday Nov 11 I took my son to Florence SC because of promises on their website and from conversations with staff members when I called that my son would get affordable dental care. He had been to a dentist locally here in Savannah and been told that he need to have all of his teeth pulled upper and lower and dentures made--we actually made the appt and then found the Sexton Dental Clinic and despite the mostly negative reviews we decided to give it a try. I emailed this clinic several times and made several phone calls--I always started with "My son is a 32 year-old Type I diabetic that needs to have all of the remaining teeth he has (21 teeth) to be removed and then he needs dentures." I asked what we needed to bring with us and asked about the different options--like sedation IV for the tooth removal. The response to each question was "Just show up M-F from 6 a.m.- 5 p.m. and bring two forms of ID, we'll do an evaluation and discuss options with you then."

When we arrived (5:45 on November 12) we waited for an hour and a half for him to be seen and when he was finally seen by Dr.xxxxx--what a horrible experience. It started with Dr. xxxxx saying he would not remove the lower teeth that he wanted to do implants and try to save the lower teeth. My son told him he couldn't afford to do that and that he had been told they weren't worth saving. Dr. xxxxxx said he didn't care he wouldn't pull them. My son said he was from Savannah (meaning we had driven from Savannah) and Dr. xxxxxx's response was "I'm from South Carolina--so what? I've traveled all over the world." My son was like "what does that have to with me?"

My son came and got me and told me that the doctor was refusing to take out his lower teeth and asked if I would try to talk to the doctor. I asked to speak with Dr.xxxxxx and I heard (could not see) her ask and I heard him arrogantly say "I'm not speaking to the mother, I'm far too busy." And he walked by where I was standing as he said this. I raised my eyebrow as if to say "Oh really?" He circled back and did talk to me and I explained to him that the dentist in Savannah had told us a different thing and we were confused and that also my son could not afford a lot of expensive restorative work on his teeth. We went back and forth and then finally asked for another doctor's opinion. When the other doctor came in he basically told my son he didn't have time (it was then 8:30 in the morning) to do that day because it was "his wife's birthday") When my son said he couldn't come back--we had driven from Savannah--then other doctor abruptly said "You know what--we aren't going to do anything for you here."

We were not the only people treated so poorly by this clinic-others left as well. But they had the audacity to charge us for the xrays and assessment.

Also, it became apparent that no one was getting the $18 tooth extraction fee--EVERYONE's case was one that somehow miraculously translated into a higher (substantially in some cases) extraction fee.

x
Thank you for your recent correspondence. We are sorry to hear of Ms. xxxxx's dissatisfaction with her son's visit. It has always been Sexton Dental Clinic's goal to provide quality customer and dental services, therefore if a dentist makes a decision not to extract teeth it is because in his clinical judgment, he feels it would not be in the patient's best interest.
There is no bait and switch. Ms. xxxxxx's son came in for a consultation to see what options were available and that is what was provided. I can provide facts showing extractions and dentures being performed throughout that day. This shows we did not bring individuals in to try and persuade them to go a more expensive route. Most individuals would be happy to hear the dentist would not recommend extractions.
A refund will not be offered but we will be happy to send a copy of his x-ray to another dental provider of his choice. Since Ms. xxxxx's son was the patient, he should provide any additional comments. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/05/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: DENTURES DON'T FIT PROPERLY.
MY WIFE AND I CHOSE THE MOST EXPENSIVE DENTURES EXPECTING TO GET A GOOD FIT AND A GOOD LOOKING SET OF DENTURES. THE DENTURES WE RECEIVED WERE A LOT THICKER THAN THE ONES WE HAVE. I COULD BARELY TALK WITH THE NEW DENTURES IN PLACE AND HAD A VERY HARD TIME TRYING TO EAT. I ASKED THEM TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS TO THE DENTURES BUT THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE NEW DENTURES WOULD SETTLE IN IN A COUPLE OF WEEKS BUT THERE IS NO WAY OUR DENTURES ARE GOING TO SETTLE IN AS SAID. THEY ARE SO THICK THAT WE CAN BARELY OPEN OUR MOUTHS FAR ENOUGH TO EAT. I WAS TOLD I HAD NO GUMS ON THE LOWERS TO HOLD THE NEW ONES IN PLACE, HOWEVER, MY OLD LOWERS SEEM TO STAY IN PLACE. I ASKED THEM TO MAKE MY NEW LOWERS LIKE MY OLD ONES AND THE DOC SAID HE COULDN'T. I TOTALLY DISAGREE AS I HAVE HAD DENTURES MADE LIKE MY OLD ONES BEFORE AND THEY FIT JUST FINE. MY WIFE AND I HAVE HAD DENTURES MADE AT AFFORDABLE DENTURES IN BLUFF CITY, NC IN THE PAST AND HAD NO PROBLEMS. I CALLED THEM AND ASKED THEM IF THEY WOULD MAKE NEW DENTURES TO FIT LIKE THE OLD ONES AND THEY SAID OF COURSE. WE PLAN TO GO TO BLUFF CITY IN A WEEK OR TWO TO GET NEW DENTURES THAT WILL FIT. I WAS OFFERED A REFUND FROM SEXTON BUT IT WAS A CREDIT TOWARD THEIR COSMETIC TRY IN WHICH IS $245 MORE THAN THE $290 WE ALREADY SPENT. I WAS GIVEN A SALES PITCH ABOUT HOW THE COSMETIC TRY IN WOULD BE BETTER BUT WAS TOLD THE DENTURES WOULD FIT THE SAME. THEN THE DOC TRIED TO TELL ME I NEED TO HAVE AN IMPLANT AT THE COST OF $3000. MY WIFE AND I JUST WANT TEETH THAT FIT AND WE CAN GET THEM AT BLUFF CITY, WHICH I WHERE WE SHOULD HAVE GONE IN THE FIRST PLACE. WE WOULD LIKE A REFUND SO OFF SET THE COST OF GETTING NEW DENTURES. WE LIVE IN OHIO AND HAVE TO TRAVEL. CAN YOU HELP US?

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Incorrect dentures inserted. Too big for mouth. Dentist ask for money up front. Would not give me a mirror to check before leaving. Mouth swollen.

Went to Sexton Dental to get teeth extracted and upper and lower dentures while visiting sister. Due to medical problems have to have someone with me. Picked out denture style wanted and was advised a mold would be made of my mouth and dentures fitted based on the inside of my mouth.
The dentist was very rough and actually hit a bone when giving shot to deaden mouth. Would not give me a mirror to look at dentures in office.
When I got home I had to take the cotton out that was soaked with blood to put in new. Found both upper and lower dentures were so loose they fell out. Top dentures lap over bottom dentures in mouth also. Am going back this coming week, however, after talking to a couple people who have had problems with this same dental clinic I do not see any good coming out of this.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/30/2011Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: The staff was extremely unprofessional & insensitive to the fact that I was not happy with the adjustments that were made to my denture. It was ruined
This morning, Sept. 1, 2011, I called Sexton Dental Clinic to inquire about a repair to a partial that I already had and told them that I would like to discuss options for a new one. I was told to come on in. When I arrived I had to try and make a $400 decision about a partial while standing at the front counter, with no Dr. or even nurse advice at all. I decided to just have my existing partial repaired. The nurses and lab technicians literally discussed with me all of the work while we were standing in the reception/payment area which I found to be very uncomfortable. They took an impression and said they could fix the break. (The break was in the acrylic and not associated to the appearance or condition to the denture tooth at all). I explained to the Dr. that I had had the current one made, at Sexton, 3 1/2 years prior and that I was not very happy with my experience at that time, but would like to give it another try. That the partial did not fit correctly and the Dr. at the time was very aggressive with me and made it very well known that he was not happy about me asking for any adjustments. The current Dr., from today, agreed that it did not fit properly and that he would make the adjustments. I was called in after my partial was completed and it was tried in. The fit felt better than it had before, however I was mortified that the appearance of the denture tooth was significantly altered! Again, they were not happy to make adjustments, but without giving me the opportunity to explain exactly what I felt was wrong, they went back in the lab and made what apparently they thought were the necessary adjustments. They made it worse!! The partial is for an Eye tooth that never developed for me. I have had partials since I was 17 years old ( I am now 31) and no one has ever been able to tell that it was not my natural tooth. Now however, the area around the tooth, the flesh colored acrylic, is bulging and very obviously there. What is even worse is that they decided to file down the top of the tooth and now it is not even close to the length of my natural teeth and looks embarrassingly ridiculous. The nurse was very rude to me after this and the Dr.'s response was a very degrading "You weren't happy before, you're not happy now, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!" As I was leaving I tried to make them sympathize by explaining that this is my SMILE we are dealing with. I have relatively pretty teeth and I love nothing more than to laugh and smile. I work at a very upbeat restaurant and my smile and demeanor is what makes my money. They did not show one bit of concern. I was told to leave. I have never been treated to poorly by what is supposed to be a professional medical staff. The receptionist (just one of them) was not very friendly and was constantly cursing to herself, but could be heard in the waiting area. The office, waiting area and restrooms were dirty and unkempt. They require payment BEFORE you even see or receive the denture and make you sign a NO REFUND POLICY as well as have it posted in every room in the building. Now I understand why. There was another gentleman that came out yelling as he felt he was treated unfairly as well, but unfortunately it was too late for me to reconsider. I had absolutely no choice but to leave with a piece that I was completely unsatisfied with as it was mine that I brought in with me. And even though they compromised the original look of it, there was nothing I could do. I cried the entire way home and am now not just embarrassed for my smile to be seen this way, I am down right ashamed!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
07/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: We drove from Florida to Florence to get new dentures. the dentures were so large and the workmanship so poor that they were unusable.
We went to Sexton to get new dentures for both my wife and myself. You have to pay up front. When we got the dentures they were completely loose and did not fit. the dentist took my wife's dentures and filled them full of poly grip and put them back in her mouth. We told them that this was unacceptable and we wanted dentures that fit not dentures that had to be glued in. Instead of remaking them they got in our face screaming and shouting and intimidating. They said they would not give our money back, and for us to leave. At that point we should have called the police, but we were so intimidated that we just left. Our total price for 2 sets of dentures that we cannot wear came to $910. DO NOT GO TO SEXTON DENTAL CLINIC. ****** ******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: New upper dentures and lowers with extractions of 8 teeth. They don't fit, Haven't since the day they were put in. Cant wear the lower ones at all.

After rec. the dentures, they were put in. they didn't fit right from the start, ever thick and rub my gums, I told the tech right then, all she had was excuses. when I tried to explain to her that I have had upper dentures for over 10 years,I didn't go through that the first time, why now, she continued with her excuses. I haven't been able to wear my lowers since the very first day 1/16/12. The uppers are new and they rub, unless I put denture cream in to block the areas that rub. I emailed the Sexton Clinic on 1//22/12
to explain this same story, and no return response.
did rec. an email saying a Representative would contact me. Its be several days and no one has.
I paid $551.00 for dentures and extractions, cant wear lowers and have to use denture cream for uppers, have to have something in my mouth, I run a business and this is so **** me at this time.
I want to know what they plan to do to make this right, they got my money before the service was done and I feel cheated and ripped off.
I took the day off work, drove 1000 round trip and the cost of the gas back and forth. This is just awful for anyone to go through, NO TEETH.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentist - Dental Surgery

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.