BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2005

Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 864-2232Fax: (910) 960-03561638 Skibo Rd, FayettevilleNC 28303-3480 Send email to Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2005

BBB has determined that Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to release automatically deducted funds from our account after they were informed of a new vehicle purchase before the transfer date.
My husband purchased a new vehicle on April 30th, 2013. He called (name) to ask for a payoff amount and was told what it was without being informed it included the payment that was getting automatically deducted on May 1st, 2013. After they proceed to give us the numbers and we inform the dealership, my husband called (name)to ask them to stop the payment from going through on the 1st and was told it was too late but they'd mail us back a check with the refund once they got the payoff check from the dealership. My husband called FBFCU today (May 10th,2013) to ask about our money and was told they were not giving it back to us because the payoff amount included that payment for May 1st even though we purchased the vehicle the day before and they had not take their payment. We feel as if they made sure to include the May 1st. payment into the payoff amount, to make sure they didn't pay us back. I feel like we were duped and lied to. Taken advantage of. This isn't the first time we had issues with them. They're also absolutely horrible at answering questions over the phone, deny you answers even if you provide your SSN and make it an issue to change your address if you get moved by the (name). Absolutely a horrible (name). We will never again do business with them and will let all of our NC friends and family not to do business with them either.

Desired Settlement
$454.54 for the May 1, 2013 car payment that was unjustly taken.

Business Response
At the time the payoff was quoted to Mr. *** Fort Bragg FCU had already posted his May 1st payment internally. For all payments where Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union goes out to another institution and electronically claims a payment we post the payment internally one day in advance of the due date. This allows for the funds to be in house by the due date which in Mr. ***'s case is the 1st of each month. There is no way to reverse the transmission for payment once it is initiated. That is why Mr. *** was told it was too late on April 30th to stop a draft that was to satisfy a payment due the next day. If he will go back and review his statement for April as well as the prior months he will notice the statement ending date is the last day of the month yet a payment posting is dated the first of the following month. The payoff quoted to Mr. *** was correct for the 10th of May and did assume the May 1st payment satisfied. We received the payoff on the account on May 6th which did result in an overpayment. The overpayment was deposited in Mr. ***'s savings account on May 6th. There are no additional funds due Mr. ***.
We appreciate the opportunity to correct any misunderstanding the ***s may have regarding the application of the May installment and subsequent application of the check to pay off their auto loan. We can provide a posting history of the account if it is within your policy to display. The ***s can see this information through mobile banking access or we can send them a copy direct. Otherwise the payoff transaction will appear on their May statement. At this point we consider this matter to be resolved.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/2005Business started: 01/01/1961
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Elliott (President/CEO)
Number of Employees

130

Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union is a full service credit union.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union

1638 Skibo Rd

Fayetteville, NC 28303-3480

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.