BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2005

Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union

Phone: (910) 864-2232Fax: (910) 960-0356

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a $28 overdraft fee that I had a Manager an a Customer Service Rep at Fort Bragg Credit Union say they would refund it back to my account.
I deposited $170 on 10-18-15 in at the Fort Bragg Credit Union on Raeford Rd Fayetteville NC in the Atm, that I thought would post on 10-19-15. I had a check for $168 that post to my account and bounce, the bank charged me $28 , BUT THE MONEY WAS IN MY ACCOUNT. I spoke to a Manager name ***** at the Skibo Rd Branch she said they could refund the $28 to my account because they have to physically go to the Atm take the money out Then manually post it to the accounts and most customers are not aware of this. I told her I thought the Atm automatically counted an posted electronically to a account.She told me the $28 would post to my acvount today on 10-20-15. I called back This morning when it did not post an a mean, nasty customer service rep said they would not refund the account for $28. An she would not let me talk to *****. I also sent emails to customer service members service, and supercisor.

Desired Settlement
$28 refund to my checking account

Final Consumer Response
Manager ***** at Fort Bragg Credit Union Fayetteville NC said she would make sure the $28 was refunded she called me yesterday afternoon XXX XXX XXXX

05/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to release automatically deducted funds from our account after they were informed of a new vehicle purchase before the transfer date.
My husband purchased a new vehicle on April 30th, 2013. He called (name) to ask for a payoff amount and was told what it was without being informed it included the payment that was getting automatically deducted on May 1st, 2013. After they proceed to give us the numbers and we inform the dealership, my husband called (name)to ask them to stop the payment from going through on the 1st and was told it was too late but they'd mail us back a check with the refund once they got the payoff check from the dealership. My husband called FBFCU today (May 10th,2013) to ask about our money and was told they were not giving it back to us because the payoff amount included that payment for May 1st even though we purchased the vehicle the day before and they had not take their payment. We feel as if they made sure to include the May 1st. payment into the payoff amount, to make sure they didn't pay us back. I feel like we were duped and lied to. Taken advantage of. This isn't the first time we had issues with them. They're also absolutely horrible at answering questions over the phone, deny you answers even if you provide your SSN and make it an issue to change your address if you get moved by the (name). Absolutely a horrible (name). We will never again do business with them and will let all of our NC friends and family not to do business with them either.

Desired Settlement
$454.54 for the May 1, 2013 car payment that was unjustly taken.

Business Response
At the time the payoff was quoted to Mr. *** Fort Bragg FCU had already posted his May 1st payment internally. For all payments where Fort Bragg Federal Credit Union goes out to another institution and electronically claims a payment we post the payment internally one day in advance of the due date. This allows for the funds to be in house by the due date which in Mr. ***'s case is the 1st of each month. There is no way to reverse the transmission for payment once it is initiated. That is why Mr. *** was told it was too late on April 30th to stop a draft that was to satisfy a payment due the next day. If he will go back and review his statement for April as well as the prior months he will notice the statement ending date is the last day of the month yet a payment posting is dated the first of the following month. The payoff quoted to Mr. *** was correct for the 10th of May and did assume the May 1st payment satisfied. We received the payoff on the account on May 6th which did result in an overpayment. The overpayment was deposited in Mr. ***'s savings account on May 6th. There are no additional funds due Mr. ***.
We appreciate the opportunity to correct any misunderstanding the ***s may have regarding the application of the May installment and subsequent application of the check to pay off their auto loan. We can provide a posting history of the account if it is within your policy to display. The ***s can see this information through mobile banking access or we can send them a copy direct. Otherwise the payoff transaction will appear on their May statement. At this point we consider this matter to be resolved.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.