BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Coastal Communities of North and South Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atlantic Coastal Enterprises

Find a Location

Phone: (910) 791-0777Fax: (910) 325-08384802 Long Branch Dr, WilmingtonNC 28412-7656http://www.atlanticcoastalenterprises.comView Additional Web Addresses! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Atlantic Coastal Enterprises is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Atlantic Coastal Enterprises' rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Atlantic Coastal Enterprises' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atlantic Coastal Enterprises

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After roof was properly completed, noticed roofing nail in one tire of a personal vehicle. Contractor has not returned calls regarding assistance.
Requested roof replacement Summer 2012, to repair damage during hail storm in Fayetteville, NC . Work was done within a reasonable amount of time, and appears to be done quite well. Although the work did not satisfy all of my requirements for repair, it was sufficient for their part.

After noticing their fraction of repair was not covered entirely by the insurance adjustor's estimate, I was misled by the contractor, with them suggesting they would 'work' with the insurance company by submitting extra supplemental detailing further work required. Based on my discussions with the insurance company, these were never received.

After work was completed, I had noticed a low tire pressure on one rear tire of my personal vehicle. I had put air back in the tire, hoping it was nothing but weather cooling off. The air pressure had gone down again, I put more air in, then inspected. Upon inspection I had noticed a roofing nail in the tire. On Dec 1st, I had called the contractor, describing the issue. I was told they were on their way home from an event, and would call when they got home. I never received the call.

I called several times later, during December, and then again in January. I had left messages requesting to resolve the issue from their oversight of not properly cleaning up the site.

Later on (while raking the yard of leaves during Winter), I had noticed more roofing nails in a small group. I had notified the contractor that I had found even more nails. Still no return call.

I feel this contractor has absolutely no intention of resolving this issue with me, as I've given ample opportunities and time to contact me.

Desired Settlement
My car requires both tires to be replaced on an axle at each interval. That is not their issue, it is mine. The fact that I have to replace a tire IS their fault, not mine.

I wish reimbursement for one(1) OEM tire (at retail/shipping/mounting cost, including taxes and fees that deal with disposal). And I will cover the other tire at my expense.

Estimate for the tire at dealership for parts and labor is approximately $700 per tire. I may be able to order personally, and have the dealership mount/balance the tire at a slightly less expense (approx $480 per tire, plus $25 shipping, plus $50 mounting and balancing - due to special equipment).

The car described is a 2009 Nissan GT-R, and has special requirements due to the performance nature of the car, and manufacturer recommendations.

I believe the contractor knew the car tire was going to be relatively costly, and is purposely avoiding any resolution.

I simply wish the car be returned to the state it was prior to their oversight.

Business Response
In response to the customers complaint, we did submit the proper paper work to the insurance company. They wouldn't have received the second check to pay the balance of work performed if not. The insurance company sends out an adjuster the adjuster then makes a determination based on the age of the shingles. This determines the amount the insurance company will cover. We have no control over what the insurance company allows.
We just give our recommendations. We submitted that the roof was in disrepair and a complete roof replacement was recommended! We have no control over how the insurance company deducts for depreciation ( Age of old shingles). We lay tarps all along the home. We parked the dump trailer beside the carport. After the dump trailer was pulled away from the property. We then use a 3 ft magnet to pick up any nails, and rake up any visible debris. Then use a leaf blower to blow any loose stone off the roof. There were YEARS of leafs, sticks, and acorns all around the property. We make a tremendous effort to gather all nails. In my opinion, it was poor judgment on the homeowners part to park the car in the same place the dump trailer was. They have a carport as well as 2 driveways. I feel the customer was neglect to park in the 1 spot were there had been known debris.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Contractor did not read the complaint. The car was parked in the car port after work was completed. There were additional nails found, and we still have them. No way we could have nails in our possession (removed from tire as well) if they picked up all of nails with a 3ft magnet.

It was a simple oversight on the contractor's part. It was not a big deal, until the response was absent. There was ZERO communication, NO attempt to settle what is common sense. If there weren't any nails laying around, there would have been no flat tire.

This is a clear example of, "It's not my fault." Typical of shady contractors who are trying everything to make a buck and leave any responsibility to others. Just pointing this out, so others are aware of this practice. They sold a good show, did very decent work, just unable to own up to their simple mistake.

Mistakes happen, by everyone. It is how they are handled that makes the difference. In my opinion, to ignore one is not the best way.

04/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The consumers called to file a complaint:

The consumers contracted with Atlantic Coastal Enterprises and paid a deposit in May or June xxxx for siding and trim to their house. They paid $1100 deposit. The business has not been to the house to start the job yet. The consumers have tried contacting the business to no avail. The consumers asked Atlantic Coastal for their money back, but they have not sent it yet.

The consumers would like their deposit back.

Desired Settlement
The consumers would like their deposit back.

x
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: (910)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@atlanticcoastalenterprises.com
Mr.****** requested a specialty siding.It was a 3 week wait from the manufacturer for them to make the materials Mr. ****** had chose for the the front gable of his home. There are NO returns. It had been expressed to him and his wife from the first meeting. The day our company was scheduled to start work on their home, Mr. ****** had sent a text message stating he wanted to cancel the job and asked his deposit be returned.It states on the back of his contract #10. If the buyer defaults in performance of the conditions of the contract,then the deposit paid at the time of execution of this contract to the seller,shall be at the option of the seller, be designated liquidated damages and payable forthwith to the seller. Meaning since the products they chose were special order, no refunds on our part. We kept our end of the contract they signed. They had also tried to take charges out of obtaining property by false pretenses.The sheriff said they had no case after I faxed over the contract. We are not liable for the mistake they made, they were completely aware there would be no refunds if they forfeited in the contract.They had the 3 day recession period to cancel, they didn't. They spent the remaining balance on something other than work we were to complete for them. Do not send anymore harassing text messages to me or my wife's phone.Do not continue posting negative remarks about us on the internet.I am a man of my word,I haven't been in business 25 years as well as BBB accredited not to be. We conduct business in a professional manner,you should have thought of your consequences before being rude,ignorant to me and my wife! Grow up!!!! You made a mistake, deal with it and leave my family alone! Case closed

x
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******, my husband went about this in a professional way. He called you multiple times on multiple occasions regarding this matter but as you can say in your "professional manner," you choose to text message him instead. I suppose it was a good thing because now we have written proof that you said we would be receiving monies owed back to us via certified mail. See "Terms & Conditions #4." The first text message we received from you was on July 16th stating that you had received the materials and apologized for not getting back to us sooner. My husband then asked when to expect the check in the mail, you said once the money is credited back to your account that you would be more than happy to send our deposit back. You then begin telling us that we were not the only customers you had. Then why did you tell us on three different occasions that your people would start the job and they never showed up AND when you knew you had prior engagements? If you weren't sure you should have never TOLD US that. Then on July 20, you stated that the deposit will be sent via certified mail then again on August 10th, apologizing for YET another delay. You never specified to us that it would take 3 weeks to order the materials. I try to understand when you say that you conduct business in a professional manner, Sir. However, there was nothing professional about what has transpired. There was nothing rude and ignorant about the way we have conducted ourselves to you or your wife. The only mistake I see here is dealing with Atlantic Coastal Enterprises in the first place. Case not closed, Sir! You will be hearing from us if we do not get our money back. As you stated, "You're a man of your word."
P.S. I'm quite curious to know how you know about our finances or the lack thereof. We still have the money to finish the job. We just want our money back so we can pay for someone else to come to finish what you could never start.

x
Materials were ordered to do the job, which were special order materials. Company was on the way to do the job, but the consumer told her not to come. Company has tried to work with the consumer as much as possible. Consumer also tried to take the company to and it was thrown out, there was no case.

12/16/2011Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract on 7/12/11 to have windows and siding installed in & on my house. I was required to give a deposit of $6500.00. I paid the deposit on 7/26/11. I was told by contractor that the windows would take 2 weeks to order, one day to install then it would take approx 6 days to install the siding. The windows were to be ordered on 7/27/11. I have been calling this contractor since 8/13/11 trying to find out about my windows and siding, all I get when I am able to speak to him are excuses. 8/13/11 I called, left message. 8/14 I called @ 12:30pm left message. 8/14 I received a call @12:40pm from contractor's wife. She said he was out on the boat fishing since he doesn't get much time off. Would have him call me back when he got in later that afternoon. She also said the best # to reach them at was (number). 8/17 Called @ 6:00-6:30 left message windows should have been in by now. 8/18 I called 7 different times this day and left messages on 4 different phone numbers for the contractor. Calls were made @ 9:15am left message,1:30pm left message, 4:44pm left message, 5:28 left message,5:30pm left message, 7:20pm left message,7:22pm left message. 8/19 9:50 called left message, 9:51 called left message, 9:53pm called left message.8/20 Contractor called late afternoon to tell me for the 2nd time that my windows will be in on 8/30 they were behind because of the tornado in April so it was taking longer for the windows. He would call me in a couple of days to let me know what his schedule is like, he said he was trying to finish up the job he was on so that as soon as the windows came in he could come over and start the job. 8/22 I called @ 12:41pm left message. 8/31 2:16pm I called left message. 9/1 I called @ 7:50am left message, I called again @ 9:24am left message. Contractors wife called me on 9/1 @ 8:27pm to tell me that my windows had come in on the truck today. Contractor will call to make arrangements to install. 9/6 I called @ 7:39am, 7:40am, 11:09am,4:36pm,4:38pm and left messages on 2 different phone #'s. My last call to contractor on this date is at 9:00pm when I left a message stating that I was tired of not being contacted by contractor in reference to my job. I felt that he had made this contract null and void with his lack of getting the job started much less done. I told him I was tired of waiting and changing my schedule so that I could be home for them to put the windows in and they not call. I told him I would like for him to come and pick up the siding and return my deposit. Please call me. 9/7 Contractor called and left message on my phone @ 11:51am, telling me that he has been very busy and even more so since the hurricane and he hopes I understand. He will not be able to get to me this week and probably not next week either. 9/8 I called @ 6:52pm left message, 9:00pm I called again and left another message for contractor stating that I no longer wanted him to do the job, I didn't trust him any longer, I would like him to come and get the siding and to return my deposit in cash or cashiers check. Please call me to let me know when he will be by so I can let him into the garage. 9/12 I called @ 11:26am spoke to contractor and asked when he would be by to pick up siding and he said he wasn't picking it up. He said he was doing the job! There were special ordered items. I told him I would pay for the windows with a receipt and he yelled back NO! I am doing the job no matter what! and then proceeded to hang up on me. I have exposed areas on my house that needed to be corrected before there was any more damage done to the house. But this does not seem to be an issue to this person.

Desired Settlement
Since the job has yet to be started I would like for the contractor to come pick up the siding and his advertisement sign and return my deposit. I have already offered to pay for the windows he has refused. So I figure it is fair to just have my money refunded either in cash or cashier's check. I no longer feel as though I can trust his work. I know I can't rely on him to return any calls. This job was suppose to come with a lifetime warranty on the windows and siding. I don't feel that if I needed him to return for any reason that he would. After him telling me that he will do the job no matter what I wanted and hanging up on me shows me he doesn't have the proper ethic to be a business owner.

Business' Initial Response
Yes the contract was signed on 7/12/11. (name) was aware that we could not order the windows nor siding until we received a deposit. Which was 7/26/11, a Friday, late afternoon. The cut off date is every 2 weeks on a Thursday. The last cut off date was the day before we received the deposit. So we placed the order the following Monday, which was 7/29/11. Even though the process wouldn't start till 8/9/11. (name) was very aware this process could take 2 to 4 weeks, depending how many orders our suppler had. She called it seemed everyday from 6:00 am to 11:00 pm starting a week after the deposit was received. Our normal business hours are 8:00 am to 8:00 pm. (name)and me talked to (name) several times on different occasions. We reassured her as soon as our workers were available, The windows were to be installed, once we received them. (name) was aware from the beginning of the process, every material she wanted is special order. (name) knows that a hurricane came and damaged many homes. Some even have trees through there roof. A natural disaster is a priority situation. Her contract is a legal binding document. The terms and conditions states #4 Buyer agrees that seller shall not be liable for delays in or failure to complete delivery or installation of all or any said materials due to fire, strikes, weather conditions, war governmental regulations or any cause beyond control of the seller.#10 states: it is expressly agreed by the parties hereto that should the buyer default in performances of the conditions contained in this contract, then the deposit paid at the time of execution of this contract to the seller, shall at the option of the seller, be designated liquidated damages and payable forthwith to the seller. The job is to start the first week of October. (name) said that's when she would be available. We think she should talk to us in a good manner, no screaming or name calling. We couldn't install materials if they hadn't came from the suppler yet. She expressed a negative attitude, she was kept informed on everything. She expected us to put her in front of everyone. When she seen she couldn't have her way. She became irate. Her job is scheduled to start the first week of October. Sorry for the clash of personalities!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

This is not the solution I have requested. Their statement is just that, a statement. I have spoken to them and again was told that I was going to pay for the job one way or another, either let them do the job or they would put a lien on my house. I am not into the bulling.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1994Business started: 04/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing BD S C
110 Centerview Drive P O BOx 11329
Columbia, SC29211-1329
(803) 896-4686
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Contractors/

NC Contractor's Licensing Board
PO Box 17187
Raleigh, NC27619-7187
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Sarah Bryce (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr Bryan Bryce (Owner)
Number of Employees

26

Business Category

Contractors-General, Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

Atlantic Coastal Enterprises specializes in general contracting services and exterior renovations to include the following:

Siding
Roofing
Windows
Doors
Sunrooms
Additions

Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlantic Coastal Enterprises

4802 Long Branch Dr

Wilmington, NC 28412-7656

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2327 Hope Mills Rd 

    Fayetteville, NC 28304-4229

  • 4802 Long Branch Dr 

    Wilmington, NC 28412-7656(910) 791-0777

  • 638 Shawnee Trl 

    Wilmington, NC 28412-7712(910) 438-0777
    (910) 478-0777
    (910) 265-7998

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in The Coastal Communities of Northand South Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlantic Coastal Enterprises is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/atlanticcoastalenterprises
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on January 1, 2010 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Despite the BBB's efforts to alert the company, they are currently displaying BBB's federally-registered trademark logo in one or more places of advertisement (i.e., yellow pages, newspaper, magazine, website, flyer, etc).

The company's unauthorized use of the BBB logo is against BBB policy and could be construed to mean the company is affiliated in some way with the BBB. Furthermore, misuse of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and could be considered false advertising.

The company is NOT an Accredited Business with the BBB of Coastal Carolina.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.